Five Crowns Restaurant Reviews

96 | Corona del Mar, CA
See photos, pricing and details

96 Reviews for Five Crowns Restaurant

Recommended by 97%

96
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8

33 User photos

Five Crowns Restaurant 1
Five Crowns Restaurant 2
Five Crowns Restaurant 3
Five Crowns Restaurant 4
Five Crowns Restaurant 5
Five Crowns Restaurant 6
Five Crowns Restaurant 7
+ 27
Sort by:
  • S

    Shaylyn · Married on 08/15/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having my wedding at the Five Crowns was a dream come true. The location was beautiful, the guests loved the atmosphere and the food was absolutely delicious. Our wedding was on a very tight budget and Margo worked with us to make everything affordable without sacrificing quality. The attention to detail and quality of service was also outstanding. Margo personally served my husband and I our dinner plates, champagne and cake! I definitely recommend the Five Crowns when looking for a wedding ceremony and reception location, especially for couples planning a garden-style wedding.

    Sent on 09/09/2009
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 05/23/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an absolute great experience! We received a great value. Margo was incredible. She helped us find our vendors and she worked well with our other vendors. She helped our wedding run smoothly. All of our guests complimented us on the restaurant's decor and ambiance. We received countless compliments on the food. I would highly recommend this venue to others and we plan on returning to this location. We even received VIP points on all of our food purchases for our wedding, so we ended up receiving 10% back on all of our food at our reception!

    Sent on 05/30/2009
  • Stacy

    Stacy · Married on 05/16/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Five Crowns Restaurant turned out to be the perfect venue for our wedding. After a great deal of research we chose Five Crowns and we are soooo glad that we did. First, Margo, the event coordinator there, is amazing. She was very nice, helpful, totally on the ball and was available any time we needed to talk to her or make a visit to the site. She always remembered our previous conversations, was very organized and was an extremely gracious hostess on the day of the wedding. Nothing fell through the cracks and I was never worried that it would. She was so reliable and I felt completely at ease that things would go smoothly, which they did. The venue itself is awesome! If you choose to have a daytime wedding (which we did) you get the whole restaurant and garden site to yourself which makes for a very private and intimate occasion. The garden where the ceremony takes place is absolutely gorgeous and perfect for a small to medium size wedding. We had 55 guests which I think is ideal for this venue but it could hold maybe 10 more and, conversely, wouldn't feel too large if you have fewer guests. The food could not be beat! We got so many compliments on the food as well as the venue choice in general. We had the buffet and not only was the food delicious, but the presentation was lovely as well!! The venue was beautiful and intimate, the food was outstanding and memorable, the service was impeccable and the day absolutely perfect. I know some people wouldn't be too quick to book a daytime wedding, but it actually worked out very well for us. There wasn't that anxious anticipation all day long since there ceremony was done by 11 am and we got to just spend the rest of the day having fun with each other and our guests. Also, it actually gave us an opportunity to have an after party at home with closest friends and family that wanted to continue to celebrate the day with us.

    Sent on 06/03/2009
  • M

    Kasey · Married on 04/25/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I researched venues for three months prioir to booking the Five Crowns and no one offered as much for such a great price. We had had access to the entire restaurant and garden for the whole day, along with wonderful food and service, it was an amazing day. Margo Brask was a pleasure to work with and helped us along the way with all our arrangements, my wedding day ran smoothly and was so organized we were really able to sit back and enjoy ourselves. The ambience of the place is so romantic and the staff is super friendly, it was a pleasure to work with them to create my perfect wedding day!

    Sent on 07/02/2009
  • W

    William · Married on 08/15/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding day went exactly as planned and Five Crowns and Margo Brask played a very large part in making that happen. We rented the entire facility for our mid-day Friday wedding and everything was absolutely perfect down to the smallest detail. There were no surprises and our guests were catered to by the staff. The Five Crowns team works with you and your vendors to make sure everything is perfect. I would highly recommend Five Crowns for your wedding. You'll be surprised at the affordability and won't be surprised by the great quality that you'll be expecting.

    Sent on 06/05/2010
  • User5444296 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I just had my wedding there 9/13/15 and it couldn't have been more perfect, Allison and Adam were so helpful and professional and the staff the day of were exquisite. All my guests have continued to rave about my wedding, the service, and food. If I could do it all over again, I wouldn't change a thing.

    Sent on 09/16/2015
  • Alyssa

    Alyssa · Married on 12/30/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our rehearsal dinner at The Five Crowns and it was absolutely perfect. The greenhouse was elegant and cozy at the same time. Alison Robbins treated us like family and even replied to our emails and calls after hours on several occasions. Not to mention, the food was delectable! I highly recommend this venue for a wedding event!

    Sent on 02/14/2013
  • E

    Shauna · Married on 01/30/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Margo, our wedding coordinator, was always responsive with phone calls and emails, in addition to setting on-site appointments. Her enthusiasm was there from start to finish and she helped make the entire process, seamless. Having Margo there to assist with the timing of events and with the vendors was a huge help, and we would recommend this venue to anyone.

    The luxury of having the entire restaurant to ourselves was a huge plus, especially because it is both indoors and outdoors. This allows guests to overflow into all of the rooms, giving them a different scenery, which is a nice change than to be restricted to one large hall. The only downside was that we only had the restaurant until 4 p.m., since we opted for the morning ceremony/reception, and the time just seemed to fly by...but I suppose that would happen even if we had the restaurant until closing. Our day was absolutely, perfect.

    Sent on 02/04/2010
  • Vanessa

    Vanessa · Married on 08/26/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding day was perfect at Five Crowns. Service was great and everything was on time. Alison was very professional and was able to answer my question in a timely manner. Everyone was amazed by the food and the environment. It's just a nice place with a lot of character. The price compared to other vendors that we looked at was very reasonable. Plus you get money back if you join the rewards program. So we'll be back soon! Couldn't have asked for a better place.

    Sent on 09/11/2017
  • S

    Sara · Married on 11/22/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We spent weeks trying to find the perfect setting for our vintage, Victorian-style wedding, and the Five Crowns was absolutely it! It is a beautiful restaurant and pub just a short walk from the beach, set back on a lovely lane. Even though it's right next to PCH it feels like a whole other world inside. There is an awesome rustic pub on one side, a beautiful restaurant, a large greenhouse dining room, and a small lawn out back. There's even a dining room upstairs which we were able to use as a bridal suite, complete with a full-length mirror. We were married on the lawn (which has a lovely arbor that can be decorated) and had the run of the place for the reception. We opted for a morning wedding and a reception which ended at 3:30pm to make this possible - since the restaurant is open for dinner, we would have been limited to the greenhouse area at night. This ended up being an amazing choice for us, because our guests could wander the entire (beautifully decorated, fireplace-lit) place, AND it was less expensive. Plus it allowed us to take more pictures afterwards down on the beach during "magic hour".

    Alison (the events manager) was amazing to work with. From the very beginning she was quick to respond and addressed all our concerns and questions with kindness, fairness, and helpful suggestions. She didn't push her own opinions on us, but she has many years of events experience, so her insights were extremely useful. The whole process would have been even more stressful without her guidance! She wasn't able to be there on our wedding day, but her entire staff from the coordinators to the wait staff were SO helpful, professional and courteous. Even though I wasn't personally great with organizing the schedule, her staff helped the day run smoothly. They even helped communicate with our vendors so that our families didn't have to deal with those details. Thanks, Alison and team!

    The food was a huge hit.The menu was just amazing, tailored to us.OMG, SO GOOD!

    Sent on 12/29/2014
  • A

    Alexa · Married on 11/08/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the pleasure of holding our rehearsal dinner last November at Five Crowns in their Garden Patio, and it was such a wonderful experience we came back for brunch the day after our wedding! We've always loved the look of the Five Crowns — right out of an English fairy tale — and of course the Lawry's prime rib is spectacular. We were also pleased to discover that their event coordination is top-notch; Allison Robbins put together a great event, and the staff was incredibly helpful, flexible and responsive. Everyone had a great time, and we got to linger over drinks well after closing with our out-of-town guests, enjoying the kind of lengthy conversations you don't always have time for on the wedding day itself. We highly recommend Five Crowns, and we look forward to enjoying meals there (and at their sister restaurant the Tam-O-Shanter) for years to come!

    Sent on 05/18/2015
  • User3500999 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Five Crown provided a wonderful romantic atmosphere for my perfect wedding. We have about 57 people attend our wedding and used the Garden Room and outdoor patio. It fit us very comfortably. If you are looking to have a huge wedding of over 100 people I would also reserve the adjoining room next to the garden room. The wait service was spectacular during our cocktail hour and lunch service. The only small comment I would make that needs improvement is their responsiveness. The venue was supposed to be open at 9:30am for the wedding party to start getting ready, and we had to call them in order to open up, also the wedding planner was not available to attend the wedding, so we were kind of on our own with all the other vendors we used ie. chairs, cake band etc. Other than that we had a wonder wedding at this beautiful venue. Thank you so much.

    Sent on 06/01/2014
  • A

    Adam · Married on 11/08/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    We recently had our wedding and reception at Five Crowns and everything was great! Five Crowns' wedding coordinator Alison is very accomodating and really worked hard with our vendors to make sure everything went off without a hitch. Even though we had additional decorations, the greenhouse and patio area are beautiful with nothing added to them.

    Our guests complimented us on the meal and dessert many times throughout the evening, and the staff was always happy to help and very attentive to everyone's needs.

    Overall I would definitely recommend Five Crowns to anyone who's thinking of having an intimate wedding / garden theme wedding with excellent food.

    Thanks!

    Sent on 11/25/2013
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 01/18/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was referred to Five Crowns Restaurant and Alison Robbins by a friend in the business. I was very pleased with every encounter I had with Alison and the seamless process. I highly recommend not only Five Crowns for your wedding venue, but working with Alison who was very professional. All the details were taken care of!

    Sent on 02/22/2013
  • K

    Ken · Married on 07/31/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Couldn't have had a better experience. Beautiful venue and excellent buffet. Couldn't get our guest to leave!

    Sent on 08/05/2010
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 10/10/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved having our reception here! We used it only as the reception after an offsite ceremony and it was perfect for our 75 guests.

    Looks amazing at night, and it was easy and a good value to use their existing decor, tables and table settings (cutting way down on decor cost). The staff can't be beat - they are phenomenal. We also loved working with Allison.

    Only downside is the price - it's super expensive and that's for both food and alcohol. But, if you're looking for non-wedding food (like truly a delicious dinner) which is what we wanted, it's worth every penny.

    Sent on 10/19/2014
  • S

    Shelley · Married on 07/17/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Five Crowns staff and service was terrific. Margo Brask was attentive and treated my entire party - including the entertainers - like valued customers. Food was excellent. Slight disappointment with sound system (music could not be heard well in ceremony area) and lack of staff to run music/sound system so all invited guests and vow renewal party could enjoy ceremony. Guests all reported having a wonderful time!

    Sent on 07/21/2011
  • C

    Cheryl · Married on 10/15/2011

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Great venue for a small wedding. Great service, value and location.

    Sent on 10/22/2011
  • User3278171 · 2+ years ago

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Five Crowns was a great venue! We had our wedding in the greenhouse, patio, and lawn areas and everything was simply stunning. We used all their tables, chairs, linens, etc. for the reception, but we did rent chairs from an outside company for the ceremony. Alison, the event coordinator for Five Crowns, really helped us put everything together, including great recommendations for menu and wine list. We did need a good amount of assistance in planning from our planner, but Alison was great in getting what we needed. Also, the staff on the day of was amazing. The food and service were spectacular and everyone had an AMAZING time. Overall, there was a little frustration in the planning process, but the venue on the day of turned out in every way that I imagined! It was perfect.

    Sent on 05/24/2013
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 11/25/2017

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    Five Crowns ruined our wedding day. Don’t get married here.

    2-3 weeks before our wedding, Alison said they couldn't honor the appetizer minimum in our contract (20 per item) and that we'd have to increase our orders to 100 per item (this would have cost us another $6,500!!!). She also said the valet parking rate went up from $4 to $6. Talk about a bait and switch.

    All of our decor was planned around an all-white tent with 5 crystal chandeliers (1940's theme) which is what Five Crowns sold us on. But 2-3 weeks before our wedding, Alison sends a photo of the most hideous wood lighting fixtures I've ever seen (they looked like upside-down spiders) and tells us—surprise!—this year they're going with "French bistro" and there will only be 2 of these horrible lights.

    On rehearsal day, we realized they installed clear plastic ceiling and pitch panels effectively turning the tent into a blazing hot greenhouse. So we had to scramble at the last minute to find someone to install white panels on the ceiling and filter out the sunlight. That cost us another $1,000!

    But the worst part was walking down the aisle, seeing my groom, and smelling garbage. We couldn’t cover all of the clear plastic with such short notice so they had to open some of the side panels to let air in – their dumpster was open and overflowing so the smell was blowing into the tent.

    I don't know how many hours we wasted or how much sleep we lost fighting Five Crowns on all of this. They finally gave in on maintaining the prices/terms of our contract, and reverted back to the original space design we were sold on (except the tent panels), but we should have NEVER had to fight at all.

    Because of the smell, they agreed to a 25% refund. For ruining the day I had looked forward to my entire life. When I think about my wedding day, I experience anger, disappointment and heartbreak instead of joy – I can't even print our photos. No amount of money will ever fix what they did to us.

    Sent on 01/17/2018
  • B

    Bonnie · Married on 09/06/2014

    0.0
    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    I have never written a review for anything before, but I have to say that our evening at the Five Crowns for our son and his fiancé's rehearsal dinner was so exceptional that I decided to let people know what a quality experience it was. I met twice ahead of time with their professionals and everything was set up even nicer than I'd imagined when we arrived. The food was SO GOOD and the service, remarkable. I'm even writing personal thank you notes to our servers. They went way out of their way to make sure every detail was perfect.

    Sent on 09/05/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review