First Discount Travel Reviews

64 | Cincinnati, OH
See photos, pricing and details

64 Reviews for First Discount Travel

Recommended by 97% of couples

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

64

3 User photos

Order by:
  • M

    Melanie · Married on 04/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great service. A+ I will probably use Jerry at First Discount in planning trips in the future.

    Sent on 05/10/2012
  • C

    Carol M. · Married on 06/12/1971

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Australia & New Zealand

    We were a bit overwhelmed planning a trip to Sydney, Australia to visit family and to celebrate our 50th Wedding Anniversary. Braden stepped up to the plate, figured out what we were interested in doing, and then managed to plan a trip of a lifetime. We were thrilled! When he asked what was our favorite part, I couldn't decide, because it was all fantastic. Braden also alerted many of the tours and hotels that it was our 50th Anniversary and there were many little extras added on to make our trip even more special. Thanks, Braden!! You really made this trip of a lifetime an awesome experience.

    Sent on 02/17/2020
  • Heather

    Heather · Married on 00/00/0000

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    WOW! Absolutely perfect!

    Wow, wow, wow! Holly was SOOOO AMAZING with helping us plan our honeymoon! She was recommended to us by a friend because she helped plan their honeymoon over five years ago! Planning a wedding during a world pandemic, planning a honeymoon is just as hard if not harder with all of the rules, regulations, and requirements that were/are changing daily. Holly kept up on everything and notified us via email or call as soon as she heard ANYTHING that may impact us! Holly was so great to work with! She was professional but also very personable and friendly. We loved working with Holly and cannot wait to have another opportunity to work with her again in the future!

    Sent on 07/26/2020

    First Discount Travel's reply:

    Hi Heather! Thank you for your wonderful review of Holly and the service she was able to provide. This has been one crazy year for sure, and we are happy to hear Holly was able to make things less stressful during the pandemic. Congratulations on your marriage, and we can't wait to send you on an amazing anniversary trip :)
  • User4816454 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are working with Holly, and she is great. She asked the right questions to help get us started, then offered several suggestions and ultimately helped us narrow down our choices for our honeymoon. She has been prompt in her email responses and fun to work with. She offered her honest opinions without being pushy. Once we decided on our spots, she took care of booking our hotels and flights.

    Sent on 04/11/2015
  • J

    John · Married on 07/16/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great Trips, Advice, and Assistance

    Jess has been our family agent for several years. She's been great making suggestions for destinations and accommodations that have suited our needs and desires. Looking forward to more trips. I highly recommend her and FTC.

    Sent on 07/16/2019
  • J

    John · event on: 01/14/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent planning and advice from Gerry Katz!! Our vacation to Mexico wit over 40 friends went off, almost, without a hitch! Great Resort and we all had a blast!! Thank you, Gerry!!

    Sent on 01/22/2017
  • K

    Kathleen · Married on 08/23/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Jerry was able to find a resort that fit our style and we had an amazing time! Highly recommended!

    Sent on 10/12/2014
  • User2970324 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were very happy with this vendor and the service they provided to us. Very helpful!

    Sent on 10/28/2013
  • B

    Bill · Married on 12/31/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We personally worked with Holly at First Discount Travel and she was great. She got us a lot of information, pictures and options. I will definitely seek her out for help with big trips, as our honeymoon was.

    Sent on 01/16/2013
  • M

    Marie · Married on 09/29/2012

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First Discount Travel was great to work with. They made it easier to navigate through all of the different resorts and help us make a decision on where we would spend our honeymoon. Jerry Katz was quick to respond to any questions or concerns we had and made us comfortable with our decision.

    Sent on 10/14/2012
  • R

    Robin · Married on 04/25/2014

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Holly did a very good job explaining the different options and locations. She returned calls and emails quickly and was a delight to work with. The one suggestion we would make is a more expidited way to recieve honeymoon gifts from our registry. It is difficult to use the honeymoon gifts that come through close to the actual honeymoon after we had already paid it off.

    Sent on 04/28/2014
  • User2742992 · event on: 10/18/2012

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Jaylean and Holly were very responsive to our needs. When we encountered Hurricane Sandy while on vacation, Jaylean did all she could to make sure we were on the first available flight(no small feat). I can not thank her enough for getting us home quickly and assisting my husband with boarding passes. It was wonderful to be able to call and have her right there to help us. Thanks Jaylean! Holly, I would also like to thank you for taking time to answer my questions and give me travel tips. Our family had a fantastic vacation.

    Sent on 10/29/2012
  • User5183925 · 2+ years ago

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      2.5
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    This is a late review, but my fiancé and I visited this travel agency some months ago. Although the lady we were working with was pleasant and seemed competent, the office itself has major issues. It seems that there is no receptionist, as every time you call the office, you get a different person and can remain on 'hold' for quite some time. That also led to long wait times to reach our agent and get a response. When visiting the office, I was so put off by the lack of décor, tiny room that housed all the agents in close proximity, and VERY dirty bathroom, carpets, desks, etc., that we decided to book elsewhere. Although this business may have a good product, I believe that they need to invest in the working process and aesthetics of their office if they want to beat out their competitors.

    Sent on 06/17/2015

    First Discount Travel's reply:

    Hello User5183925, we are very sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations. We are happy to announce that our office is all newly renovated. We have even expanded in to the space next door, so we are larger, and the new office is absolutely beautiful! We really hope you give us another chance, and come visit the newly renovated First Discount Travel :). We would love to send you on an amazing anniversary trip :). We do not have a receptionist because we want everyone to be greeted by an agent that can assist them right away, and we apologize that hold time were longer than expected. Certain months of the year we do get bombarded with calls, and we do our best to get to you as quickly as possible. We look forward to serving you in the future!
  • User3623908 · 2+ years ago

    1.2
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    I don't know if it was the agent we got or what but this service was not very helpful at all. We were wanting to go to an all inclusive resort for our honeymoon and the agent was not very helpful. The only thing she did was browse the internet for us to find prices and info which we already did ourselves. Literally the only value we got out of it was not having to pay for our honeymoon all at once and we got a booklet of all our travel info. I'm glad the service was free or I would have not been happy about it at all.

    Sent on 11/20/2014

    First Discount Travel's reply:

    We are saddened to hear you felt we did not provide you with the experience you were looking for, and greatly apologize. Our mission is to ensure you have the most amazing honeymoon possible, at the best price. The tour companies we work with are accessed through online booking engines, so most everything we book is confirmed online. In addition to the many tour companies we work with, we also check the discounted online agencies to make sure we are offering the lowest price possible. In some cases, the online agencies do offer lower pricing because their business model is built on quantity, not quality. We are able to offer you the lowest price, while providing personalized quality service. We have over 20,000 personal photos in the office, so that we can show you what the resort and beach really look like before it was photo-shopped. In addition, we offer the lowest deposits in the industry. We can lock in your all-inclusive honeymoon with air and hotel for $588 in most situations. The online agencies require payment in full at the time you book it. Without knowing the specifics of your honeymoon, such as the resort you stayed at or the agent you worked with, it’s hard to really figure out why you were unsatisfied with your experience. We do have a lot of honeymoon couples that walk in the door and know exactly where they want to stay, and have been searching the internet extensively. In those situations we hope to be able to add value by recommending tours, showing personal photos of the resort, and offering “cancel for any reason” insurance. Again, we are sorry you feel we did not meet your expectations. We would love for you to call us, and give us more details on the experience (You may ask for Deanna Katz. She is one of the owners). We take all reviews seriously and want to learn what we could have done better, and strive even harder to make sure every client has the honeymoon experience of a lifetime.