Edith Meyer Wedding Cakes Reviews

34 | Santa Cruz, CA
See photos, pricing and details

34 Reviews for Edith Meyer Wedding Cakes

Recommended by 97%

34
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.7
Sort by:
  • User3950347 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This was the best wedding cake I have ever had. Edith made us a gluten-free, three tiered chocolate wedding cake with a cheesecake layer in between the tiers, ganache, and a fondant icing. Not only was it delicious, but it was absolutely gorgeous. The decoration was romantic, whimsical, and completely in line with our wedding decor. Thank you, Edith! You are truly the BEST.

  • D

    darcy · Married on 09/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful cake, and the vegan pastries she made to go with it were also all gorgeous and a huge hit. I was so happy with everything. We were a bit vague on what we wanted, but Edith really listened and it all came together even more beautifully than I imagined. Perfect, thank you!

  • J

    Jamie · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I chose Edith Meyer after researching gluten free bakers for my Holman Ranch wedding. Since I don't eat regular cake, the true test is when non gluten free eating people can't tell it's gluten free...and that was certainly the case! When I told people the chocolate cake was gluten free, they couldn't believe it. We also served non gluten free cake, pastries and cookies made by Edith and I heard rave reviews of all of it. Not only did everything taste great, but it was beautiful as well. I highly recommend Edith Meyer for wedding cakes and other desserts. She is fantastic!

  • E

    Esther · Married on 06/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Best cake I've ever had (and I'm picky about my cake) and gorgeous! She did exactly what I asked for in the decor, and was very willing to work with me on the flavors of the cake. We asked for three separate flavors and she was happy to comply! Plus her icing (unlike many icing which are too sweet and oily to boot) had just the right amount of sweetness and a smooth texture without feeling oily. I strongly recommend ordering your cake from Edith!

  • L

    leti · Married on 11/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Edith is amazing as are her cakes. Our wedding came together in the last minute due to a near cancellation from some major medical issues we were having in the family and she was able to make us the cake of our dreams (flavor and style) in just the knick of time! We sent her one image of a what we thought we would like and she made it so much more special than the image we had sent. The cake was truly stunning and the most delicious cake I had ever eaten.

  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 05/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married on May 18, 2013, and Edith did our wedding cake. Both John and I are gluten-free and we were worried we wouldn't be able to find a good gluten-free wedding cake option. Boy, was that worry unfounded. Edith gave us several samples and we tried the chocolate first and both had to confirm that we were eating a gluten-free cake because it was so firm, moist and delicious. It was better than most regular cakes I have had.

    We are so happy we found her and our cake was beautiful and delicious and Edith was so sweet and easy to work with. Our guests loved it so much that several went back for seconds and thirds. Luckily our coordinator put a few slices aside for us so we could have more than just the bites we had at the cutting! It was so yummy and by far the best gluten-free option in the area!!

  • J

    Jessica · Married on 10/27/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wouldn't call Edith a baker, I would call her an artist. Truly the best cake I have ever tasted in my entire life! And past the deliciousness, it was so beautiful, she did such an amazing job! Edith was so sweet and so easy to work with. Which was very nice since I was planning my wedding from out of town. I will definitely go back to her for all my cake needs! You could never be disappointed... Trust me! You won't regret it!

  • V

    Valerie · Married on 09/10/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Whipped cream cake with hazelnut buttercream filling and red velvet cake with chocolate buttercream filling. Both with vanilla bean buttercream frosting. Sound delicious right? It was. EXTREMELY. If the wedding cake is a priority for you this is a sure bet. Beautiful and yummy.

  • Jackie

    Jackie · Married on 09/03/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    edith was wonderful to work with! we ended up doing a very small cake for show/cutting and an assortment of pies for dessert. several guests who are self-proclaimed pie connoisseurs said they were the best they've ever had. plus she uses all organic ingredients and the price was very competitive with other places i looked at. couldn't have been happier!

  • J

    Julie · Married on 07/02/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We almost didn't go all the way to Santa Cruz to taste Edith's cakes, but we're very glad we did. They were really best of the ones we tasted, both in general quality and in flavor combinations offered. The cake was flavorful and had great texture; the icing had just the right amount of sweetness and wasn't too airy as some others . In addition, Edith did a great job and making exactly the kind of cake my daughter-in-law had in mind. The result was both beautiful and very very tasty.

  • M

    Marc · Married on 06/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Truly, Edith Meyer cakes and pies are out of this world amazing. We could not have chosen better for high quality, delicious, and organic desserts. The decoration of our cake was perfect, the presentation of the accompanying pies was stunning. It was truly the most delicious dessert I have ever had. Edith also has Gluten Free options! We had 2 layers of our cakes and 3 pies Gluten Free- they were amazing! Thank You Edith!

  • L

    Elizabeth · Married on 07/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I discovered Edith Meyer at a bridal expo in Santa Cruz. Her cakes were so much better than all of the competetion at the expo. When we met with her to choose our cake and filling, the samples were so delicious, and she was so professional. She shared some of her designs, and I particularly like this whimsical cake with ranunculus flowers made of sugar. She delivered the cake from Santa Cruz all the way to San Juan Bautista. She is a bit pricey, but worth every cent. Our cake was enough for 100 people, and it cost about $800. Many people at the wedding said it was the best cake they had ever tasted!

  • M

    Marcela · Married on 05/08/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love cakes and desserts, so I know that I had to find a really great cake vendor for my wedding. We went to a couple cake places but I was not blown away by any of them. I came across Edith's website one day and loved her philosophy: organic, fresh ingredients, fair trade chocolate, homegrown lemon, etc. I contacted her about tasting and noted that she charges a fee for tasting, but that it would be absorbed as part of the wedding cake cost if you end up booking with her. The tasting was set at her cute house. The ambiance was really nice! (she set background music playing while we taste). I could totally taste how FRESH her cake was. I have always wanted a red velvet cake for my wedding, and as soon as she told me that she doesn't use food coloring and instead uses beets/radishes for the red color, I was SOLD! Cake was absolutely delicious and Edith was a pleasure to work with.

  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 10/24/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The cake that Edith Meyer baked for our wedding was absolutely amazing! It was the most delicious wedding cake we and our guests had ever tasted - deep rich chocolate, yummy vanilla buttercream frosting, raspberry filling. But what really blew us away was that all this deliciousness was local, organic and socially responsible. Edith uses Fair Trade chocolate - I swear, it tastes better knowing that child labor was not involved in its production - eggs from local farmers, organic lemons from her backyard. To have a delicious, fair trade cake would have been enough for us. But Edith's cakes are works of art, too! She helped us envision a uniquely decorated cake that blew our guests away with its artistry. She reproduced the vintage postcards that we used in our decor, and placed them on the cake. It was spectacular!!! With Edith, you really do get to have your cake and eat it, too: delicious, organic, and beautiful!

  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 10/11/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I ADORE Edith Meyer!! Her cakes are not only stunning, but beyond delicious! She does gorgeous designs, and her cakes taste AMAZING (we went with chocolate w raspberry filling, and the lemon poppyseed). Plus, she is the sweetest person you'll ever meet, which makes working with her an even greater pleasure

  • C

    Colleen · Married on 09/26/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Edith took the root of my idea for my cake and then designed and created the cake of my dreams -- it was more beautiful and more delicious than I could have imagined. And we had some unique logistical circumstances with which she had to contend, and Edith took care of every detail. We simply couldn't have been happier.

  • A

    Alicia · Married on 02/19/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Edith was a blessing,she was so patient.I was very pleased with the cake she made for me. Would highly recommend Edith Meyer Wedding Cakes to any one looking for a special occasion cake.

  • J

    Julie · Married on 11/15/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Edith is the best! Her cakes are really works of art. And sooo tasty! She was a pleasure to deal with, and everything went great every step of the way.

  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/14/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Edith Meyer provided the wedding cake, groom's cake and organic sea salt caramels for our wedding. Everyone raved about how moist and delicious the cakes were. Additionally, her cake design is precisely detailed and beautiful. My guests couldn't get enough of her caramels. Edith is dependable, professional, attentive and courteous. She is a talent and her cakes are simply the best I've tasted.

  • J

    Janna · Married on 05/03/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Edith is wonderful! She was extremely easy to work with and very flexible! She works with your budget and uses only organic ingredients! We had a strawberry buttercream filling and she used fresh, organic strawberries (straight from her backyard)! Everyone was raving about the elegant look of the cake, as well as the taste! We even got a watercolor sketch of what she envisioned our cake to look like! I recommend Edith to any bride!

  • K

    Katie · Married on 01/05/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Edith is amazing beyond amazing and a mastermind -- I loved the cake she made for me, and everything was exactly as we wished! It was heavenly to taste (I remember wishing I could sit and sample her natural cake and icing flavors forever!) and she also made it look like a stack of beautiful old leather books with titles of our choosing! we gave her a photo of the kind of thing we were thinking and hoped it would turn out alright -- and she outdid my wildest dreams! It was beautiful -- *chuckles* we had to keep telling everyone it was the cake. Or else people would ask where the cake was, and we'd laugh and say erm, right in front of your face! We really wished we could have finished the extra pieces we took with us to the hotel before heading onto our plane, but I don't think airport security would have looked too kindly on us bringing cake through their scanners... It was delicious and made to the shape of our favorite object ever. Books. Mmmm. Edible books.

  • L

    Lia · Married on 11/03/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We tasted cakes at what seemed like a million different bakeries before we visited Edith Meyer, but as soon as we had taken a bite of the cake and buttercream combinations at our consultation with Edith Meyer, we were sold. Neither of us is usually a big fan of buttercreams, but Edith's buttercreams are amazing! Her cakes are equally delicious. They're fresh and natural and melt-in-your-mouth good. Our tasting with Edith was the last of five tastings that we had that day and it was the only one where we finished every bite. Her cakes blew away the competition -- no other bakery or cakemaker in the area even came close. And to top it all off, Edith is an incredible artist who listens to what her customers want and is talented enough to create works of art that taste as good as they look.

    We had a pretty good idea about what we wanted when we started looking for a wedding cake. We wanted something simple, elegant, a little untraditional (no flowers) -- but most of all, delicious. After all, a wedding cake is dessert, and even if it is gorgeous, if it doesn't taste good then it's failed to be a success. We both love marzipan, so we wanted to incorporate marzipan into the cake, but neither of us liked the marzipan fondants we had tasted at the other bakeries. Edith Meyer was willing to incorporate marzipan into the cake itself, so we weren't stuck with a chewy outer layer on our cake. After trying a number of flavor combinations, we finally decided on two: one was a marzipan cake with espresso filling and chocolate buttercream, and the other was chocolate cake with olallieberry filling and vanilla buttercream. I'm still not sure which of the two I liked more. They were incredible! And the cake was stunning. It was coated in chocolate and covered with fruit instead of flowers. It was exactly what I wanted. I couldn't have been any happier with our wedding cake.

    Finally, Edith is super cool! She's is a pleasure to work with -- professional, helpful, friendly and sweet. She used to work in the corporate world, but decided to start her own business doing something she loves (I can relate). I am very happy she did. I only wish I could order birthday cakes from Edith so that I don't have to wait until someone else's wedding to have another piece of her cake! I may have to go undercover to try to schedule another tasting with her...

  • B

    Betsy · Married on 09/30/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can not say enough great things about Edith and her amazing cakes. I had an idea of what we wanted for our wedding cake but I couldn’t find anything out there that seemed to fit. I finally found a picture in a magazine of an elaborate mosaic tile cake that I loved. I really liked the colors and the intricate flowers on the tiles were beautiful, but knew that it was not the kind of cake most cake vendors could even come close to. Once we met Edith and tasted her cakes we were sold. I gave the picture to Edith and asked her to design a cake for us that had the same basic color scheme. I knew our cake would taste great and I loved the cakes she had designed. When I walked out on our wedding day and saw our cake I was in shock. It was unbelievable! She created a mosaic tile cake that was even more amazing than the picture that I gave her. She came up with the perfect cake, tied in our wedding colors and even painted the delphinium flowers from our wedding arrangements on the tiles. She was incredible throughout the entire process and worked seamlessly with the other vendors to make our day perfect. Even though we hated to see her work of art carved up, everyone loved the cake. My husband liked it so much I surprised him with an anniversary cake from Edith. I highly recommend Edith and can not say enough good things about our experience with her. She has an incredible eye for design, is creative and extremely professional.

  • E

    Emilee · Married on 08/25/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All I can say is WOW! My favorite part of a wedding is the cake, so when it came time for my wedding I went looking for that cake that will blow your socks off. Edith Meyer gave us the most wonderful cake. She gave attention to all the details I was looking for and the taste was unforgettable! My guest where so please there was not a slice left and I even bought more cake then guests.

  • J

    Jen · Married on 06/30/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Edith was an absolute joy to work with. She was warm and pleasant and excited for us and our ideas. She even designed a cake topper based on something really personal to us. It was beautiful and perfect, and DELICIOUS!!! We got so many compliments on both how our cake looked and how it tasted. And I have given her name out many, many times.