Skip to main content
Weddings

Duxbury Bay Maritime School Reviews

Duxbury Bay Maritime School

Duxbury Bay Maritime School

Duxbury, MA
4.8 out of 5 rating, 7 Reviews
View more information

7 Reviews

Rated
4.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 97% of couples
  • Quality of service
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Average response time
    4.8 out of 5 rating
  • Professionalism
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Value
    4.9 out of 5 rating
  • Flexibility
    4.9 out of 5 rating

Awards

7

6 User photos

  • B
    Breanne D. Married on 10/01/2022
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Relaxed, waterfront venue in South Shore, MA!

    We had our wedding reception at DBMS at the beginning of October and it was everything we could have asked for! Anita, the event coordinator, was so helpful throughout the process and especially so once we learned it was going to rain day-of. She made everything seem easy and definitely calmed my nerves :) She was so attentive and anticipated our needs before we even asked for things. All of our guests raved about the reception and the venue- I'd highly recommend for anyone looking for a waterfront wedding in a relaxed atmosphere.
  • colleen
    Colleen Married on 06/30/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Perfect day!

    We had our wedding at DBMS just a month ago and I am still on cloud nine; everything was perfect! Despite it raining during the ceremony they had a perfect back up plan and everything went extremely smoothly. Very easy to work with them throughout the planning process and they allowed a lot of flexibility since you bring in all of your own vendors. This also made it easy to DIY and save money in certain areas. Highly recommend!
  • Amanda
    Amanda T. Married on 06/15/2019
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating

    Fantastic venue with great staff!

    We had our wedding at DBMS in June 2019. Working with Anita as our day-of coordinator and planner, everything was great. She helped us to bring our vision to life and made sure we had the perfect day. And we were able to arrive to cocktail hour on a boat! Bonus about this venue: the view of Duxbury Bay is absolutely gorgeous, and the back lawn/patio area are perfect for cocktail hour. Our reception was held upstairs, but the upper deck allowed guests to enjoy the summer night and take in the view all day. Definitely recommend DBMS if you're looking for a hidden gem for a venue!

    *photos by Heather Chick Photography
  • illustration stars

    Are you interested?

    Send a message
  • J
    Jd Married on 08/19/2017
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    The venue is beautiful! The lawn and deck arenowrct for the cocktail reception. The dining room is gorgeous!
  • P
    Pat Married on 06/07/2014
    5 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Duxbury Bay Maritime School (DBMS) offers a wrap-around porch and function room overlooking Duxbury Harbor as well as a beautiful grassy lawn. What a fabulous venue for a reception if you are looking for a classic location in New England. The shingle style building with walls of glass just can't be beat. The event planner was extremely helpful, loaded with suggestions and very flexible. DBMS offer options for caterers and provide full liquor service. There is plenty of parking and the ambience just can't be beat. My daughter's wedding was on a beautiful evening in early June. She was able to arrive by boat and tie up at the DBMS dock. Cocktails and a raw bar were on the lawn and were followed by dinner and dancing in the Clifford Room. There simply was nothing lacking. Don't take too long to consider this venue however as they book up fast.
  • K
    Kellie Married on 05/05/2018
    4.8 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.5 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      5.0 out of 5 rating
    Great hidden gem; located right on the water. Beautiful room and outdoor porch overlooking water.. The staff was amazing and very easy to work with.
  • User4754597 2+ years ago
    4 out of 5 rating
    • Quality of service
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Responsiveness
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Professionalism
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Value
      4.0 out of 5 rating
    • Flexibility
      4.0 out of 5 rating

    Beautiful, just make sure to address these prior to wedding

    DBMS is a gorgeous wedding venue, and we had a wonderful time at our wedding. I would definitely suggest having your wedding here, with one caveat (thus the 4 instead of 5 stars). If I had it to do again, I would 100% hire a day-of wedding coordinator for the following reasons. Unfortunately the person who helped us book the venue/was going to be there to help things run smoothly (so we did not hire a coordinator) ended up not being available the day of the wedding, so we ended up with another person who did not know what was going on at all. As a result, the building was not open on time for the vendors to set up as early as they needed to, and the parking lot filled up with cars not from our wedding so that guests (even family who arrived early) had to walk from down the street. Some decorations that I left with a list of where to put them did not end up being put out. The AC shut down halfway through the reception, and people started leaving because it was so hot. There was apparently a bridal suite available, but this had not been the case when we booked. The person who was assigned to our wedding day did not tell us about this room and told us to leave our things in the offices, which were then locked without the person in sight, although she said she would be there. Another issue was that there was some sort of heavy machinery being run next door throughout the entire ceremony. I think that these are issues that a coordinator could have addressed, so I would suggest this venue but please address these issues beforehand! We had the time of our lives, but these issues were still very disappointing.