Duxbury Bay Maritime School Reviews

5 | Duxbury, MA
See photos, pricing and details

5 Reviews for Duxbury Bay Maritime School

Recommended by 95%

5

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.7

3 User photos

Duxbury Bay Maritime School 1
Duxbury Bay Maritime School 2
Duxbury Bay Maritime School 3
Sort by:
  • colleen

    colleen · Married on 06/30/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect day!

    We had our wedding at DBMS just a month ago and I am still on cloud nine; everything was perfect! Despite it raining during the ceremony they had a perfect back up plan and everything went extremely smoothly. Very easy to work with them throughout the planning process and they allowed a lot of flexibility since you bring in all of your own vendors. This also made it easy to DIY and save money in certain areas. Highly recommend!

    Sent on 08/01/2019
    Duxbury Bay Maritime School 4
    Duxbury Bay Maritime School 5
    Duxbury Bay Maritime School 6
  • J

    JD · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The venue is beautiful! The lawn and deck arenowrct for the cocktail reception. The dining room is gorgeous!

    Sent on 08/26/2017
  • P

    pat · Married on 06/07/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Duxbury Bay Maritime School (DBMS) offers a wrap-around porch and function room overlooking Duxbury Harbor as well as a beautiful grassy lawn. What a fabulous venue for a reception if you are looking for a classic location in New England. The shingle style building with walls of glass just can't be beat. The event planner was extremely helpful, loaded with suggestions and very flexible. DBMS offer options for caterers and provide full liquor service. There is plenty of parking and the ambience just can't be beat. My daughter's wedding was on a beautiful evening in early June. She was able to arrive by boat and tie up at the DBMS dock. Cocktails and a raw bar were on the lawn and were followed by dinner and dancing in the Clifford Room. There simply was nothing lacking. Don't take too long to consider this venue however as they book up fast.

    Sent on 06/11/2014
  • K

    Kellie · Married on 05/05/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great hidden gem; located right on the water. Beautiful room and outdoor porch overlooking water.. The staff was amazing and very easy to work with.

    Sent on 05/19/2018
  • User4847791 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Beautiful, just make sure to address these prior to wedding

    DBMS is a gorgeous wedding venue, and we had a wonderful time at our wedding. I would definitely suggest having your wedding here, with one caveat (thus the 4 instead of 5 stars). If I had it to do again, I would 100% hire a day-of wedding coordinator for the following reasons. Unfortunately the person who helped us book the venue/was going to be there to help things run smoothly (so we did not hire a coordinator) ended up not being available the day of the wedding, so we ended up with another person who did not know what was going on at all. As a result, the building was not open on time for the vendors to set up as early as they needed to, and the parking lot filled up with cars not from our wedding so that guests (even family who arrived early) had to walk from down the street. Some decorations that I left with a list of where to put them did not end up being put out. The AC shut down halfway through the reception, and people started leaving because it was so hot. There was apparently a bridal suite available, but this had not been the case when we booked. The person who was assigned to our wedding day did not tell us about this room and told us to leave our things in the offices, which were then locked without the person in sight, although she said she would be there. Another issue was that there was some sort of heavy machinery being run next door throughout the entire ceremony. I think that these are issues that a coordinator could have addressed, so I would suggest this venue but please address these issues beforehand! We had the time of our lives, but these issues were still very disappointing.

    Sent on 09/28/2019

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review