Dustie's Catering Reviews

19 | Grand Rapids, MI
See photos, pricing and details

19 Reviews for Dustie's Catering

Recommended by 76%

19

3.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 3.8
  • Professionalism 3.8
  • Flexibility 3.7
  • Value 3.9
  • Average response time 3.9
Sort by:
  • P

    Peggy · event on 07/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Book Chef Dustie for any event that you want your guests to experience food, service, and catering beyond anything that can be imaged! His personality and staff are so accommodating that he can anticipate your needs before you! Leave your dreams to this Chef. He will deliver!

    Sent on 07/16/2015
  • M

    Maria · event on 06/13/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "He was amazing Whole crew was great Very professional on time Will recommend him for any occasion food was great."

    Sent on 07/15/2015
  • User5263655 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "Dustie's Catering is an exemplary organization and get my full recommendation for outstanding service, delivery and follow through. They deliver everything they promise and MORE! The food was Michelin Star quality and I would seek their food anywhere I could find it. The menu has the finest ingredients, healthy and organic and the presentation is spectacular (I will post pictures when my photographer has completed the editing).

    Scott and Keireth were friendly, professional and very knowledgeable about the menu and bless them they did all the dishes (Thank you, thank you).

    Chef Dustin is wonderful and a pleasure to work with and has greatest personality.

    So all I can say is the whole experience was OUTSTANDING. My wedding meal was definitely memorable and you will have all your expectations fulfilled if you choose to have them cater your function.

    I will them well for the future. THANK YOU xxxx"

    Sent on 07/15/2015
  • C

    Carol · Married on 05/16/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dustin and his staff where extremely tentative, he assured us that everything would run smoothly and we are so pleased to say it did! His food quality is impeccable for being in a foreign kitchen than he is used too at his facility. It was by far a blessing to work with Dustin and Scott. His food was fresh, flavorful and very filling! So pleased!! Would recommend anytime! I wish I could have used Wedding Wire to help but I am not as technically cloned being an older bride myself; but now we know!

    Sent on 07/16/2015
  • K

    Kathy · event on 04/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "Heart to Heart Hospice contracted with Chef Dustin Morrell to cater our Grand Opening event in Grand Rapids, MI. I was impressed with the presentation of the food and how professional his staff was that stayed during the event. They were helpful and did everything they could to make the event run smoothly and they were friendly and smiled as if they too were having great time! The food was great! Nice variety and most all of the 60 guests that we was present commented later how good the food was. Only complaint was that their was a lot of food and everyone volunteered to take home left overs because the food was delicious!! Thanks Dustin for the great job. You made the event successful! We will without a doubt use your service again and would not hesitate to recommend others to contract catering services with Dustie's Catering!"

    Sent on 07/15/2015
  • T

    Trevor · event on 02/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "Overall this catering experience was everything we could have expected and more. Both Chef Dustin Morrell and his team were very professional with an excellent twist of fun. The timing was great, food was fantastic, and the entire service was very pleasing. Good job to him and his team, keep up the good work."

    Sent on 07/15/2015
  • J

    Julia · event on 12/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "Dustin did a fantastic job! We truly enjoyed having him in our home. He prepared a delicious and healthy meal for our 10 guests and helped the evening run smoothly and flawlessly. We would not hesitate to hire him again for his services!"

    Sent on 07/15/2015
  • User5263655 · event on 11/29/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dustie's Catering was very responsive, their food was so spectacular and the service we received was top notch! Great Job Dustie's Catering!!

    Sent on 07/15/2015
  • G

    Gary · event on 10/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "Did a nice job. Nice selection and very tastey!"

    Sent on 07/15/2015
  • A

    Anita · event on 06/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "Dustin made omelettes and waffles with all the fillings and toppings,a and provided to staff to help with an open house. The food was excellent and Dustin was professional and responsive."

    Sent on 07/15/2015
  • S

    Sonia · event on 12/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "Dustin is an excellent, creative cook."

    Sent on 07/15/2015
  • R

    Ryan · event on 10/08/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    "He makes really good food love what he dos to it and his deserts are the best but for me is the cheesecake its to die for"

    Sent on 07/15/2015
  • C

    Chef · event on 09/10/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is Iron, great and there is Master; when you think of Master you tend to think of high ranking, skilled, proficient and an overcomer. When you think of great one tends to think of outstandingly superior as well as skillful. However, when you think of Iron, what's the first thing that comes to your mind inflexible and unyielding, right? So, a great chef who Masters the world of Culinary Arts, (who is proficient, has facility and dexterity that is acquired or developed through training and/or experience) is a Chef who yields the greatest flavors to a world of non- discriminatory palates. This chef is flexible, extraordinary, innately positive, desirable and valuable; creative using his knowledge of food and cooking techniques to create something that's savory, delectable, dainty, delicate, delicious, luscious and agreeable to the all the senses, seeking palates from 0 to 109. What would the world be without such a great Master Chef whose name is Dustin Morrell? Quotes
    Chef Kim
    Bakery/Pastry Chef

    Sent on 07/15/2015
  • A

    Aram · Married on 12/28/2014

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    "Dustin and his staff did some things well. They showed up for our daughter's wedding on the day of the event in plenty time to get set up, they were courteous and professional, and our guests ate appetizers, the meal, and desserts. The food was good, also.

    Sent on 07/15/2015
  • User4525935 · 2+ years ago

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      1.5
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    Working with Dustin was a complete nightmare from start to finish. The other poorly rated wedding reviews are almost identical to our experience. Dustin could not properly explain any of his quotes and each time he sent us one they were wildly different quoting for different items for different amounts. He overcharged us in total 16 thousand dollars from our credit cards and threatened to pull his out wedding service if did not remove the dispute of the erroneous charges. It took months working with our credit card companies to get it the amounts back on our credit cards. Beware of giving a credit card number to a vendor.
    Just a few things we have in the contract writing which he did not fulfil
    • Food for all guests - We asked for food for 350-400 people and did not have enough to feed the 300 that attended.
    • 20 people did not get any food at all. Another 20 only received a portion of what was supposed to be offered.
    We agreed and paid for a whole pig to be smoked and cooked on site. Instead a week before the wedding we were told it was not going to be possible without further explanation other than his trailer mysteriously broke down and would have to be cooked off site. As for the actual dinner service itself? My family and friends had to set up all the linens, bars etc. Dinner was slow and unapologetic We asked for two lines to be set up for our guests to make the service go quicker instead because I am sure he realized there was not going to be enough food only one line was set up which made what was supposed to be an hour service turn into a three hours. The chicken we asked to be smoked cooked on site was not smoked but propane grilled and sent out to guests raw then brought back and sent back out burnt. The Mac and cheese was completely dry. The rice was a clumpy mess and completely over cooked. Coffee, Tea and water was not provided as was agreed to in the contract. He agreed to give us some money back which know will never get sent back to us

    Sent on 12/22/2015
  • User6904137 · 2+ years ago

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Cannot comment at this time. Will at a later date

    Sent on 06/30/2016
  • C

    Cynthia · Married on 09/03/2016

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    DO NOT GIVE THIS GUY CASH-YOU WILL NEVER SEE HIM AGAIN AND BE LEFT HANGING FOR YOUR RECEPTION BANQUET AS WE WERE!!!!!!
    HE IS A CROOK!

    Sent on 08/22/2016
  • User6850920 · 2+ years ago

    0.4
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      0.5
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    We are a rental company in Grand Rapids, MI that Dustin rented catering equipment for his weddings last summer/fall. He paid with a check that was returned NSF. He has made no effort to pay his balance adding up to $4,000. He only makes excuses for the extremely poor business practices he continues to make. We have tried to contact his business partner (and husband) in attempts to communicate, but he has since divorced him due to some of the same problems. Dustin is a disgusting individual who is only focused on making a dollar, and screwing everyone he encounters along the way.

    Sent on 06/17/2016
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/13/2014

    0.2
    • Quality of service:
      0.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.0
    • Professionalism:
      0.0

    We used Dustie’s Catering for our Sept '14 80-person wedding. We're posting this review because we don't want another couple to go through what we went through. We were very disappointed in the service & quality of food we received. Dustin was incapable of providing the agreed upon service. Unfortunately, as a result -the catering experience was a nightmare.
    Just to give a few examples: All of the food was cold. The menu did not match the food that was served. The serving sizes were VERY small. It took almost 3hrs for dinner to be served. During the reception Dustin told our wedding planner that he did know how and therefore would not cut/serve our wedding cake (even though we have an email agreement from over 7 mos before the wedding saying that he would). He did not bring plates for wedding cake. He only brought 60 water glasses even though we had 80 guests. The bar service Dustin provided was also a disaster. We paid for 3 bartenders and only 2 were there – Dustin would not refund our money for the 3rd bartender. At one point there was only one bartender working, and she walked off in the middle of the reception leaving the bar untended.
    These are just a FEW examples of what a nightmare the catering service was. After the wedding we addressed all of our concerns with Dustin. His response to our review blatantly ignored several of our concerns. Not once has he admitted to any wrong-doing. His default response has been (and likely will be) that there was a 'lack of communication/understanding' between both parties, however this is not the case.
    Ultimately, the experience he promised in the months leading up to the event differed hugely from the actual experience. Couple to this his sporadic communication, poor attention to detail and deviations from the original agreement and you can see why this was easily the most difficult part of the entire wedding process. It seems that this a classic case of over promise and under deliver.

    Sent on 10/25/2014