J Squared Weddings and Events Reviews

41 | Stephens City, VA
See photos, pricing and details

41 Reviews for J Squared Weddings and Events

Recommended by 100%

41
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • A

    Angela · Married on 09/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim and Jason were honestly amazing! From the pre-wedding planning, to the day of when I had no clue what was going on before the ceremony, they were so on-point and flexible! They were as professional as you can get at a country wedding (I didn't want anything super formal, but could tell they were very professional). Jason went out of his way to learn lots of line dances to teach at the reception (by my request) and all the guests had a BLAST doing some country dances! It really doesn't get much better than these guys. If you want stress free, fun music at your wedding (and don't want to pay a million dollars), definitely go for DJ Jammin Jim (and Jason!) thank you both so much!

    Sent on 10/29/2014
  • J

    Julia · Married on 09/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim and Jason were perfect! They were careful to make sure they got all our family members' names right ... which can be tricky with a bunch of Chinese and Italians. Their attention to detail is notable -- they seamlessly transitioned from the ceremony to cocktails to dinner and so on. Our processional took longer than we had expected; Jim looped the track and no one even noticed! They kept us on schedule throughout the night -- and kept the party going until we were ready to drop.

    Sent on 09/16/2014
  • User4188962 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jason and Jim went above and beyond what we expected. They were extremely professional and flexible throughout the entire process of working together, and conducted the reception flawlessly. They also perfectly captured our musical tastes - no small feat considering a Backstreet Boys fan was marrying a hip hop/classic rock fan. They also worked together extremely well with a family friend who provided live music during the ceremony. I highly recommend them.

    Sent on 06/20/2014
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 05/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My finance and I were getting married in Northern VA and were not familiar with any DJ services in the area since we live in Cincinnati. DJ Jammin’ Jim came highly recommended by our venue wedding planner. So we decided to give them a call. Once we spoke with Jim we didn’t have to hope we choose the right DJ anymore, we knew we had gotten the best! Jim was so helpful in planning our wedding music and timeline.

    Jim initiated a phone call with us where we meticulously planned our event.
    The music played was in line with our requests and fit our wide demographic.
    The guys were knowledgeable, professional, and FUN! They provided great insights and lead us in the right direction based on their experience.

    We highly recommend Jammin’ Jim for any event. From the early planning stages through the final wedding song DJ Jammin’ Jim put in the effort and genuinely strives to make your event amazing.

    Sent on 06/26/2014
  • K

    KateLynn · Married on 05/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim was such a pleasure to work with during the whole process of my wedding! From the meetings to the actual day he was constantly helpful, and continued to show us what a wonderful choice we had made choosing him as our DJ. I recommend Jim to anyone looking for a DJ that's main purpose is to help make your day as special as you would like it to be! He was flexible to stay an extra hour and played so much good music! I will be keeping him in mind for future parties and occasions! Thanks Jim for all you did to make our day special!!

    Sent on 06/19/2014
  • C

    Charlotte · Married on 04/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very professional and you can tell they enjoy this job. Jim and Jason were the DJ and M.C. for my wedding at a local vineyard. My wedding was very small and as always seems to happen at a wedding, something didn't go as expected and one of the caterers was late. Jim was on top of it, and did a better job than the coordinator in keeping me informed with what was going on while keeping the whole event running along smoothly so the guests were unaware. Jim is the voice on the mic, and Jason is in charge of the music. I gave them a very wide variety of what my now-husband and I liked to listen to at home, and they listened and took great care to tailor our music to our tastes -- from pop hits to instrumental Disney music to what was keeping guests on the dance floor. Highly recommended!

    Sent on 07/26/2014
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 10/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim was a wonderful DJ during our wedding. He remained on top of the timeline, even when things got pushed back an hour, and managed to maintain the most important elements for us. He was extremely responsive throughout the entire process and a delight to work with. Call DJ Jammin' Jim and you will be glad you did! (Great for those on a stricter budget, like we were.)

    Sent on 10/31/2013
  • J

    Jordan · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jim came highly recommended to us by 2 different people: a close friend and our wedding coordinator. We had not yet contacted Jim to be our wedding DJ, but I was fortunate enough to meet him by chance-through my work as he welcomed his daughter into the world. Jim was so laid back through the planning process all the way until we asked him to stay and play 3 extra hours(!). He keyed in to our style of music and did a fantastic job keeping the dance floor going-all the way until 1:30 in the morning. He helped us bring our vision of the ultimate reception to life. We are so grateful to Jim for sticking around for us as the party kept going. We would recommend Jim to anyone looking for a classy, fun, and unforgettable time. We are still getting compliments on the music/DJ!

    Sent on 11/09/2013
  • H

    Hilda · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you so much Jim for the wonderful service that you provided for our wedding! Although a large rain storm caused our ceremony to be moved indoors, we appreciated your flexibility and helpfulness. From assisting with boutonnieres to assisting with last minute chair set up due to the rain, we really appreciated all your assistance! Although we had a small wedding, music was a very important part of our day. We wanted our guests to have an enjoyable evening of dancing and socializing in a comfortable atmosphere. Even after giving Jim a hefty list of songs that we thought would appeal to our guests, Jim expanded our selection to include excellent dance music. The bridal party had difficulty staying off the dance floor for the rest of the evening! Jim also did a fantastic job of providing appropriate music and timing of the night’s activities for our guests. Our family and friends could not stop talking about how much fun they had at the wedding and this was largely in part to the services Jim provided. In the weeks prior to the wedding Jim was very helpful by checking in with us and reassuring that all would go well on our upcoming day. Thank you Jim for your exceptional service and we could not have been any happier to have you be a part of our special day!

    Sent on 10/08/2013
  • A

    Alycia · Married on 09/15/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so glad we chose Jim McConnell! He was very thorough with his preparation and was extremely patient with us while we tried to figure out our song list. He also met with us in person and scheduled multiple calls with us to make sure everything was in order and that all names would be pronounced correctly. We highly recommend Jim for your event. He was fun, courteous, professional, and an overall joy to be around. We are glad he was with us for our special event, he made our day that much better!

    Thanks Jim!!

    Sent on 09/25/2013
  • User2643370 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Jammin' Jim was a WONDERFUL find!!! We were so overwhelmed in finding a DJ, but found Jammin' Jim as half the price of most and then easily decided on him after talking to a few DJ's because he was the most professional, flexible and responsive. Jim is truly the BEST!!! Jim checked in with us both over the phone and over email, sent us a VERY detailed reception planner and was helpful with his guidance, yet also very open to any ideas we had for the reception. He called three times the week before to go over the reception timeline each time and practice names. He came early on the day of, set up in two different locations with no help needed from us, had subtle covers for all his equipment, played the PERFECT songs to keep people dancing for 2 entire hours, and was so helpful in making so many last minute changes, including the entire order of our bridal party! Everyone commented they had never seen a dance floor so packed at a wedding and that it was the most fun they had ever had. Jim was professionally dressed in a nice suit, spoke very clearly, played all of our songs without a hiccup and was truly a genuine nice guy. Look no further for a DJ, Jim is very reasonably priced, experienced, knows how to read crowds and an extremely positive guy :)

    Sent on 06/16/2013
  • User3314790 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Although we had a simple marriage celebration, music was a very important aspect of our gathering. Jim did an exceptional job of providing appropriate and meaningful music for our guests. We anticipated that our guests would do very little dancing, but a great deal of visiting. We gave Jim a list of songs that appealed to us and our guests, and he expertly expanded the selection. He created a warm, relaxing environment for introductions of old friends and new family members meeting for the first time. Many commented that they loved and enjoyed the music, and that it was perfect for the setting. Jim is also very attentive to flow and was able to adjust our schedule during the event to ensure the smooth transition from one activity to the next. Guests remarked that there was no downtime and complimented Jim in person and to us as well. His setup, attire, and demeanor are highly professional and unobtrusive in the event setting. Thank you so much, Jim! We could not have felt more comfortable working with you and would do it all over again!

    *Note: This event actually occurred on 9/1/2013.

    Sent on 09/21/2013
  • N

    Nikki · Married on 05/25/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had an amazing wedding ceremony and reception in no small part due to DJ Jammin Jim! Jim takes his services very seriously, and is a meticulous planner. Our wedding had some very conceptual and specific moments to it, and Jim was not only fully on board with every idea, but he executed them to perfection. He listened to our ideas, offered his own expertise, and blended the two seamlessly. He was very respectful to our music tastes and knows what songs are hits with every age group. You will not be disappointed with him!!

    Sent on 06/10/2013
  • A

    Amy · Married on 05/18/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired DJ Jammin' Jim for our wedding cocktail hour and reception. Jim did a great job providing the music for our wedding. We had so much fun on our wedding day thanks to the great music. We received a lot of compliments throughout the night about our "great DJ" and "awesome music choices!" We were very happy. Jim was definitely on point with the type of music we wanted based on just a few songs we gave to him prior, and the transitions were seamless. He was very professional and his DJ-ing had all the guests partying! He did an excellent job and we would be happy to recommend him to anyone who needs a DJ.

    Sent on 06/06/2013
  • O

    Olga · Married on 05/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was a pleaser working with Jason and getting our play list ready for the wedding. He was able to find some Russian songs that I thought it would be impossible to do. During the wedding, he was very attentive, followed the program, made announcements, made sure that people were paying attention during cake cutting, toasts, etc. He made sure to play our most favorite song when we were at the reception sight. We were very impressed and happy with his service.

    Sent on 05/17/2013
  • N

    Nasko · Married on 02/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having a very short time to plan for our wedding, we overlooked the DJ and it turned out to be a bit stressful to us since we only had 3 weeks to find one. We kept searching online and started calling those around the area where we live with no luck. When we came across DJ Jammin' Jim, we contacted him and he gave us a reasonable and competitive rate. We were very happy to have found him. Planning was done over the phone and email due to our lack of time, but phone conversation didn't hinder the planning at all because Jim was so committed to making sure that everything would go according to how we wanted it. He provided us a reception planner, which made it easy for us to visualize how the flow of the program would go. He was very open to our music preference and understood the importance of it to my Bulgarian family and friends. We talked to him again when the wedding day was closer to review every detail and adjust whatever changes we had in mind to meet our needs. On the wedding day, Jim dressed up professionally and ensured that everything went according to the plan. We again had a little additional request but he didn't mind and was very flexible. All throughout the reception, he kept everyone on the dance floor by playing the right music continuously. Everyone had fun and was very happy, and Jim definitely played a key role in the success of our party. We are so happy and thankful for having him as our DJ. Based on his performance, professionalism and commitment, we highly recommend him for any event.

    Sent on 03/06/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review