DJ Derek Tobler Reviews

135 | Charlottesville, VA
See photos, pricing and details

135 Reviews for DJ Derek Tobler

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

135

2 User photos

Order by:
  • K

    Kimberly · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was perfect! DJ, emcee, and dance instructor: he does it all. Not only was the dance floor filled all night, but our guests were blown away by our choreographed first dance. He was professional and organized, and a blast to be around. He kept everything moving smoothly from ceremony to last dance. We worked together to come up with a playlist of songs, and Derek made the perfect suggestions and changes to keep all 150 of our guests happy and dancing for hours. We got endless compliments on our party, and much of it was thanks to Derek. I cannot recommend him more highly. He is a must have for any central Virginia wedding!

    Sent on 06/28/2015
  • User3899344 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was awesome. Derek did the music for our ceremony, cocktail hour and reception. Having great music and a giant dance party were really important to us for our wedding. We really liked Derek's style and he was professional and great to work with. We had a very short must-play list and that was about it - he took it from there and everyone had an amazing time. He was also really flexible and was key in a last-minute rearranging of events at our wedding due to weather. Our guests and other vendors have also commented on how great he was. We highly recommend him!

    Sent on 06/15/2015
  • K

    Kayla · Married on 05/23/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was a pleasure to work with for our wedding at Trump Winery. He made us feel comfortable from the first meeting to the wedding day and we could not have been happier. He didn't say anything cheesy like we have all experienced at someone's wedding and showed professionalism throughout the reception. As Charlottesville was a destination wedding for us, we really relied on reviews for our vendors and they did not steer us wrong with Derek. Book this guy!

    Sent on 06/06/2015
  • shaun

    Shaun · Married on 05/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Derek Tobler was our DJ for our wedding at Pippin Hill on May 1st 2015. From the first initial meeting to the final song, Derek was professional and helpful throughout. He helped my wife and I think about things to consider that we would have never thought of it if wasn't for him. He was extremely flexible in what songs we wanted to hear, and which ones we didn't in case some crazy Aunt started requesting things we would prefer not to hear. He handled our ceremony, worked with the Bag Piper we hired for right after the ceremony and our videographer as well, and of course he handled the cocktail hour and reception. He knew our venue, all of our vendors, the whole process appeared seamless to us and we're really thankful for that. He was able to take our suggestions and add songs around our style of music. One highlight I still find myself laughing about because I didn't immediately realize it when it was happening was a broken glass incident on the dance floor. As I was helping the staff pick up the broken glass I noticed in the background "Walking on broken glass" was playing, I thought it was the funniest thing, and it even cheered up my buddies date who was rather upset about dropping it. Not a bad song to play at a wedding either so most guests didn't even notice why the song was funny.

    All and all my wife and I both would absolutely recommend Derek for any event. If anyone is torn between a band and a DJ, go with Derek for a DJ and take away 1 stressful thing about wedding planning off your plate.

    Thanks again Derek!
    Shaun & Carrie Stanford
    (I don't feel it's appropriate to list pricing but he was more than reasonable and totally worth it, and his pricing is on his website so check it out: http://www.djtobler.com/)

    Sent on 05/11/2015
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 04/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was such a fantastic DJ for our wedding. When we first met with him we knew right away that we wanted him to do the music for our wedding. Each wedding is not just another job to him, but an event that he takes to heart and is honored to be a part of. He made it so much fun, played off the crowd, yet really worked in our requests, including searching for The Avengers theme song for our reception entrance. Derek did the music for both our wedding ceremony and reception. He was very professional and fun, and made our wedding an amazing night that we will never forget.

    Sent on 01/21/2016
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 11/29/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was fantastic. Music was a huge part of our big day and Derek was better than we even could have expected. We had somewhat of an older crowd and he played appropriate music while they wanted to dance, and age appropriate music with our friends toward the end of the night. When people seemed to be vacating the dance floor, he put on songs that drew people back in. He is a phenomenal DJ and we are soooo lucky to have found him.

    Sent on 01/11/2015
  • A

    Abby · Married on 11/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It is my pleasure to write this review for Derek Tobler, Mobile DJ and Emcee. My husband and I were married at King Family Vineyards this November, and we could not be happier with how our wedding day turned out. Derek is a huge part of what made our day so great.
    Derek is very professional but is also a lot of fun to work with. In our first conversations with him, he made us feel comfortable and he really listened to what we wanted for our reception. After meeting him in person, we were even further convinced that we were in good hands. We wanted everyone dancing—and Derek absolutely went above and beyond in making that happen! I can’t believe I was ever even concerned that people wouldn’t dance at the reception. Derek really got a great feel for the crowd and played music that kept everyone on the dance floor all night long. He brought such a fun energy to the evening, and we all had a fantastic time. We loved that he took the time to show our guests the steps to some dances—it was great that everyone could learn and join in! Derek was also a wonderful emcee for the dinner portion of the evening. He made sure he had the pronunciations for all of our family and wedding party member names correct, and he kept everything running smoothly. Everyone knew what was going on at all times and everything was very organized.
    Thank you Derek for all you did to make our wedding day so perfect!

    Sent on 11/20/2014
  • P

    Phillip · Married on 10/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek-

    Sorry I have not put this in sooner. The services you provided for Christina and my wedding on October 27th, 2014 was phenomenal. I had briefly spoke to DJ Tobler about what we were expecting the days previously and on the day of the wedding I lost my phone. I was so tied up with pictures and other ceremony obligations I did not have a chance to communicate with anyone on set up. Luckily Derek went above and beyond any expectations I had. The music was on point to what we had asked for. I am still receiving feedback 3 months later on how that was one of the best weddings for our guest to ever attend. Derek you were a major part of our ceremony, and reception and we thank you dearly for making it happen. I am so glad that we chose you to be a part of special day, and you made it even more special by being awesome. I would recommend Derek to anyone and everyone that is need of DJ services. This guy is second to none.

    Phil and Christina

    Sent on 01/28/2015
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 10/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was amazing to work with! We told him we wanted a huge party and he delivered! All our guests complimented us on how awesome the DJ was and everyone danced all night! He also helped us with our ceremony music bringing speakers for our ceremony/cocktail hour singer which was super helpful! If you are looking for the best DJ he's your guy!

    Sent on 10/26/2014
  • B

    Bethany · Married on 10/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was great! He was so much fun to work with and is a really good and being able to pick music that works for a diverse crowd - which we certainly had! He gave us suggestions that were brilliant and put up with our chaotic and off-beat wedding. Derek is a great balance of being professional but also so much fun with a big personality - but he is definitely NOT one of those sleazy, cheesy DJs. He is the real deal and you would be crazy to not book him for your event.

    Sent on 10/26/2014
  • User3777391 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was absolutely AMAZING!! He was unbelievably professional and everyone was dancing the night away our whole wedding. He provided audio/music for our outdoor ceremony, cocktail hour music, announced the bridal party (pronouncing everything perfectly), and kept the music going the entire reception. He can really read a crowd and knows what would be a great mix for the young and old alike! He even got the party started after we took a large Virginia Tech Hokies picture by playing Enter Sandman knowing that would literally get us all jumping! He also provides dance lessons and I HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend them. We had an hour session two nights before our wedding and our first dance looked wonderful all because of him! You must have Derek at your wedding!

    Sent on 10/08/2015
  • A

    Ainslee · Married on 09/20/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    In coming up with our list of 'most importants' for the wedding my husband and I both agreed that we wanted an epic dance party. Derek was instrumental in making this possible: all of our guests from little cousins to college buddies to parents tore it up on the dance floor!
    He was organized, professional and really easy to work with. We appreciated how he made sure to cover the details for us so that we didn't have to stress over them. The ceremony ran flawlessly thanks to Derek's hard prep work. He also nailed our personal style for the cocktail hour and dinner portion of the reception with very little input (stress) on our end. He made sure to get our 'must play' and 'do not play' lists but guests loved how quick he was to play their requests. Luckily, we planned ahead for more time and Derek was a great sport about staying later. Even with an extra hour no one wanted to leave!
    Just a few weeks after the reception we are still hearing our guests rave about their time on the dance floor. We got so much more than we bargained for in Derek and would absolutely recommend him to couples in the area!

    Sent on 10/07/2014
  • Sarah

    Sarah · Married on 09/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was Awesome!!! He DJ'd for our September 12 wedding at King Family Vineyards and was a huge hit! Everyone loved all the different kinds of music we requested and he took what we said and turned it into a memorable day and night! He tweaked what needed tweaking and made it work for that time (ceremony, recessional, wedding party entrance, etc.) I would highly recommend booking him as soon as you have your venue selected and your date! He books up quickly so jump on it!

    Sent on 09/24/2014
  • A

    Amy · Married on 08/30/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was wonderful to work with! He had tons of suggestions when we asked for them and he kept the reception running so smoothly! The music was perfect and he filled the dance floor. Prior to the wedding he talked through the schedule of events with us and helped us organize the evening. By the time the reception started, all we had to do was relax and let him keep the party going! Thank you so much Derek for helping make our wedding day perfect!

    Sent on 10/02/2014
  • Abby

    Abby · Married on 08/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Derek Tobler is the best. We got married in August 2014 with an outdoor ceremony. Derek set up the audio for the ceremony and it was crystal clear and did not sound like a bad PA system. Having attended other weddings where this was an issue, we were very thankful. Derek worked with us to give dance lessons and choreograph our first dance, which was perfect. He also added some lighting to the event at a reasonable price. Most importantly DJ Derek Tobler was an amazing emcee and provided great music for the entire evening while we and our guests danced the night away.

    Sent on 01/18/2016
  • A

    Alicia A. · Married on 07/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Derek Tobler provided all of the music for our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception, including microphones and additional sound equipment in all locations. The music was fantastic and we danced the night away. He was willing to add music to his library and was very open to all of our suggestions/wants. We are still hearing fantastic feedback from our wedding guests and would recommend DJ Derek Tobler to our friends.

    Sent on 08/04/2014
  • User4218901 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Derek is the best! We researched DC/MD/VA-area DJs very carefully because we wanted to ensure our wedding reception would be an absolute blast with a packed dance floor all night. We interviewed a bunch of folks, and even though Derek was a phone interview he still stood out as the best in the bunch. We are so glad that we chose Derek! He was so professional and he really knows his music. He was extremely responsive over email and was available for several phone calls before the wedding and seemed truly invested in getting to know us as a couple and even communicated directly with our parents and bridesmaids (who organized a couple of surprises on the wedding day). Derek was helpful with our wedding timeline too and had great tips for keeping the flow of the event smooth and fun for everyone.

    On the wedding day he was totally calm and collected and made us feel like we didn't have to worry about anything and could just enjoy the day. He set up the sound system for our ceremony, which was perfect. He played fun music for cocktail hour and dinner, but not too loud so folks could still talk to each other easily inside the venue. When it was time for cake cutting or toasts etc, Derek navigated smooth transitions -- we knew we were in good hands. Plus we really danced our hearts out to some fantastic music during the reception!! He was able to weave together a fantastic mix of music that appealed to all of our wedding guests -- from funk and motown to 80s/90s and current music. We couldn't have asked for a better wedding DJ!

    Sent on 07/02/2014
  • User3823753 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was just incredible and did an awesome job DJ'ing our wedding. Derek made a point to ensure he knew what our vision was and gave us exactly what we wanted on our wedding day. From ensuring everything was set up,perfectly EARLY, to playing our requested playlist to getting on the dance floor to teach various line dance.....he was exceptional. Everything was exactly like we wanted!! Derek was a pleasure to work with. Dealing with Derek was stress free!!! Would highly recommend!!!

    Sent on 09/01/2014
  • J

    Jill · Married on 05/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was one of the very first vendors we booked for our wedding and it was one of the best decisions we made! Derek was so great throughout the whole planning process, super responsive, helpful and fun! Our guests were blown away at the variety of music that he played. He kept the evening running smoothly, we didn't once worry about what was coming next, Derek was all over it! It was hard to see the night end, we could have danced all night thanks to Derek!

    Sent on 06/16/2014
  • K

    Kasey A. · Married on 05/24/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    AMAZING! Derek was so fun, outgoing, and was great to work with. He created such an amazing time for our wedding guests. Not to mention, my entrance was flawless and just beautiful! :) It was just perfect. Our guests just loved every moment of our wedding and they just danced the night away! Derek even gets out of the dance floor with the guests and it was just SOOO fun! :) Highly recommend!!!!

    Sent on 08/18/2014
  • User4139582 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Derek is THE BEST! The DJ makes or breaks the wedding (in my view) and Derek turned our day into an event nobody will forget! Derek is friendly, responsive, full of excellent and creative ideas and both old and young danced ALL night to his perfect blend of oldies and modern music! I contacted Derek because he had DJ-ed a friend's wedding and I was blown away! All of our guests, who hailed from Argentina, Brasil, France, Germany, Australia and beyond LOVED HIM!! And beyond the music, Derek was always helpful, always available to talk, a wonderful person to work with!

    Sent on 05/31/2014
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 04/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    dj tobler has a very good reputation in charlottesville, and he definitely has earned it. he was a fantastic wedding dj. my mom commented that he was the perfect blend of MC- kept the party going, guided guests thru the evening's events, and didn't talk too much or make corny jokes. :) he was extremely professional and we could tell our guests (of ALL ages- from 3 to 89) loved the music and were out of their seats the entire evening. our families come from pretty diverse backgrounds and the mixture of music represented that without feeling choppy. my husband i met at a latin dance class, and dj tobler even did an impromptu 5-minute merengue class with our guests so everyone could participate- SO FUN!
    he also provided our lighting- which was placed around the corners of the reception area to create a soft glow, and also provided us with a monogram that was projected onto the wall behind our sweetheart table, which looked really classy.
    our entire experience with derek was incredibly fun, personal, and professional. if he's not already booked for your wedding, book him now! :)

    Sent on 04/18/2014
  • User3993312 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was great to work with. He helped make our big day easy and seamless. Truly a class act. I would recommend him for any event.

    Sent on 03/25/2014
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 02/09/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was AWESOME. He was very professional and did a great job not only providing an excellent choice of music for the wedding/reception- but really helped keep the flow of events going smoothly during the reception. He made announcements about each event (first dance, cake cutting, etc.) at appropriate times and was extremely courteous and responsive to the wedding guests- if they had music requests, etc. He had really cool lighting too that really made the mood of the reception perfect!! He did a fantastic job- would recommend him to anyone I know in the Cville area that is getting married :)

    Sent on 02/18/2014
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 01/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't say enough good things about Derek. He was so easy to talk to at the beginning of the process and I had heard so many good things that I just couldn't not book him. His setup was discreet and professional and he played the kind of music that we all could enjoy, from age 18 to 85! He found some French artists that we had requested for the reception and our first dance easily and was able to cut them down to a manageable length. We would have loved to have him stay but unfortunately the noise ordinances in the town where we got married say that the loud music has to stop at 11 PM. We set up a playlist for after this time, so Derek very professionally and discreetly took down his equipment and slipped out and left the party going, just like we asked. Really great service all around from a nice and personable guy.

    Sent on 02/04/2014