DJ Derek Tobler Reviews

135 | Charlottesville, VA
See photos, pricing and details

135 Reviews for DJ Derek Tobler

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

Awards

135

2 User photos

Order by:
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 10/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Derek Tobler brought down the house with the music selection, MC'ing, monogram spotlight, flow of the night and great equipment. My wife and I's musical taste would not be considered Top 40. DJ Tobler worked with us to craft a selection of music that appealed to our tastes and the those of our guests. From #1 singles to obscure B-Side hidden gems, DJ Tobler was able and willing to help find us the right songs for all of our most memorable moments. DJ Tobler kept the party going, made amazing intros for the bridal party, played classic rock; all the while being extremely professional, curtious and helpful. My wife and I would highly recommend DJ Tobler for any wedding or event. No matter what your musical proclivity may or may not be, DJ Tobler will find the right mix or music, energy and structure to keep the party rolling!

    Sent on 02/20/2018
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 09/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was the first vendor I booked because I knew I wanted the best. Hiring him was such a good call. The entire wedding ran seamlessly (because he was a fantastic MC) and people were on the dance floor the entire night (which is exactly what I requested). He listened to our requests, but then also got a feel for a crowd and produced an awesome soundtrack. He also was able to edit our first dance song for us. Stop looking and call Derek immediately.

    Sent on 10/30/2017
  • C

    Camille · Married on 09/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was fantastic to work with. Not only was he incredibly timely and professional in answering questions and responding to emails, but he was also very helpful and kind. In the weeks leading up to the wedding he took care of any and every detail needed, and on the day of did an incredible job. Our guests loved his presence and music choices, and so did we. Would 10/10 recommend him!

    Sent on 11/21/2017
  • H

    Heidi · Married on 07/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek is the best of the best and you will not be disappointed! I've worked with many DJ's over the years, and been to many weddings with sub-par DJ's trying to emcee the event--not the case with Derek. He's top notch and fun, and kept the pace of our reception moving along. Derek considered our playlist 100% and added extras to keep the party hopping. His equipment is also upscale and did not take over the venue. Added bonus was working with him as an awesome dance teacher and his patient coaching with my new hubby as we learned our first dance! Don't hesitate in contacting him--you definitely want Derek's personal touch and experience at your event!

    Sent on 08/20/2017
  • B

    Briana · Married on 07/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the first time I emailed Derek requesting information to our last dance on the night of our wedding, he was extremely responsive and professional. Of course my husband and I picked a song on Utube that we fell in love with and insisted be the exact one used for our first dance. Derek was able to make it happen and it sounded great! Throughout the night he incorporated our requests and I never once worried about the music. I highly recommend him!

    Sent on 09/11/2017
  • Addison

    Addison · Married on 06/16/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was one of our favorite vendors we worked with! He had the dance floor perfectly filled from the first song to the end of the night. Several guests have commented to us that they have never seen a DJ so professional and good at making everyone have a great time. He knew exactly what song to play when the time was right without direction from us. Bottom line: Derek's professionalism, sound quality, timing of songs, and ability to keep the dance floor packed were PERFECTION. Derek was SUCH a joy to work with!

    Sent on 06/28/2017
  • Mike

    Mike · Married on 05/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was an absolute delight to work with and he made our wedding so much fun! During our first meeting, we knew within 5 minutes that he was "the one" for us! He was easy to talk to, listened to our requests and gave us lots of options and recommendations. He even offered dance lessons!
    We held a few meetings with Derek to discuss our style and requests. We provided him with a basic list of first dance and ceremony selections, along with "must play" songs, and let him take charge of the rest. We had zero reservations about handing over the reigns because he made us feel so confident of his abilities. He was extremely helpful when it came time to make the timeline, giving us ideas on how to keep the party flowing without awkward pauses or down time.
    Derek set up both indoor and outdoor equipment, providing us with music and microphones for the ceremony and his setup was pleasant to the eye, not detracting from the look and decor at all. He arrived with plenty of time to meet with our officiant and get things ready to go. His announcements were great and his voice was perfect! Derek kept the party going and we had a GREAT time. I'm over the moon that we connected with him and highly recommend his services to anyone who will listen!!

    Sent on 06/06/2017
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 05/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek is amazing!! He DJed our 5/5/17 wedding. Our wedding date changed and he was super flexible and responsive. Not only did he keep everyone on the dance floor for the big day, but he even let us borrow his truck to drive through the mud and get to the vineyard for pictures. We couldn't have been more happy with our choice to use him!

    Sent on 07/21/2017
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 12/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was an AMAZING DJ! He is a true professional and we were so fortunate to have him as part of our big day! Throughout the planning process, Derek was easy to talk to and made sure everything was perfect for the wedding. He nailed our music choice/requests and our guests couldn't say enough good things about the music for the day. He really understood the vibe we were going for and is truly talented. Every vendor I worked with said how wonderful he was, so I knew before the wedding he would be great, but he really went above and beyond. He was the perfect fit for us. Thank you so much, Derek!!!

    Sent on 01/14/2017
  • H

    Hannah · Married on 10/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Planning my October 2016 Virginia Wedding from Rhode Island wasn't easy. Vendors that were flexible and professional made all the difference. Derek was one of those people. Based on the reviews I fully trusted him at booking. It wasn't until we talked 6 weeks before that wedding that I knew I made the right choice! Derek was incredibly knowledgable, understanding, and decoded my sometimes contradicting opinions on music and agenda. On the day of the wedding he was well versed in what the days events even despite slim to zero direction from the venue. Derek kept everyone dancing all night and made all the difference in harnessing the joy and celebration of the day. We can't thank him enough!

    Sent on 12/07/2016
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 09/16/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek was a true joy to work with. During the planning process he was extremely helpful in helping us figure out what music we wanted to have and met with us in person to figure out a perfect plan. A few days before the wedding he gave us a dance lesson for our first dance. Everyone was super impressed by our dance moves! We were both very excited to show off our moves and after our lessons with him my husband was interested in doing more!

    Derek was truly amazing throughout the whole night. He did an awesome job mixing in the oldies and the new songs, just like we wanted and he kept the party going! Both our photographer and videographer said to us that they don't usually see that many people on the dance floor all night long and we know that a large part of that was due to Derek! Everyone kept coming up to us after the wedding to tell us how much they enjoyed the music.

    On top of all of that, Derek is just a great person. He is extremely warm and easy to talk to and just overall a very nice guy. Even during the planning process, when other vendors would ask us who we booked for DJ, we would tell them that we had booked Derek and every single one of them said "Oh yes! Derek! He is by far the best! GREAT choice!" This literally happened at least 3-4 times! We HIGHLY recommend Derek as your DJ.

    Sent on 06/08/2017
  • W

    Whitney · Married on 07/03/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Nearly a year passed between our first meeting with Derek and our wedding day. In that entire time, I was truly impressed with his responsiveness, professionalism and positive attitude. The music at our wedding was one of the most important pieces of the puzzle and we could not have been happier with Derek. My husband and I, plus all our guests, hardly left the dance floor. Song choice and transitions made for one heck of a party! Additionally, he was key to driving the "program" for the evening. We knew exactly when it was time for special dances (first dance, father/daughter, mother/son), cake cutting, speeches, etc. without having to check the time. It made for a stress-free, fun and memorable evening. Everything we could have wanted. We HIGHLY recommend Derek for anything requiring a DJ!

    Sent on 07/28/2016
  • User6885387 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the first meeting my daughter and I had with Derek, he seemed the perfect choice for her wedding DJ. He listened to her choices, made suggestions and seemed to really care. We were impressed with his professionalism, his responsiveness, his talent, as well as the dance lessons he provided. The wedding guests danced on and on as Derek DJ'd the night away. Kudos and thanks, Derek for a job well done.

    Sent on 06/25/2016
  • Q

    Quanjun · Married on 05/14/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek is the best ! he did an excellent job for my daughter's wedding. He is very pleasant and professional. He was very patient with us and gave great recommendations. He came in early to set up his equipment and he made the entire wedding day smooth and easy. Most importantly, he kept the crowd excited and on the dance floor, he even got on the dance floor and showed a few killer moves. We could not be happier with our decision to have him as the DJ and will recommend him to anyone who is looking for a DJ for their wedding or other big event.

    Sent on 06/04/2016
  • E

    Eileen · Married on 05/01/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Whoaaaaaaaaaaa!!! Derek was the absolute best! We felt so good communicating with him and then we felt even better after our first meeting! He's a rock star and will leave wanting more time to dance.

    Top 5 reasons to get Derek as a DJ:
    1. Professionalism
    2. Awesome recommendations when your struggling for songs
    3. Gets the crowd going/keeps them dancing
    4. Gives clear direction during the key transitions in the wedding
    5. Killer dance moves!!!...that make your guests wish you could dance like him.

    These are just a few....
    Please do yourself a favor and stop searching and pick Derek!! You will be so happy you did!!!

    Sent on 05/11/2016
  • User6740383 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek did an amazing job at our wedding. He took our general likes and dislikes and created an amazing night of music out of it. Our guests loved the song selection and he did a great job playing to the crowd and keeping everyone happy and dancing. The quality of his music, speakers, and microphones were great, so every speech and toast could be heard perfectly. We highly recommend working with Derek, you'll get exactly what you want doing so. We also took dance lessons with him which were fun and incredibly helpful.

    Sent on 05/20/2016
  • J

    Justine · Married on 04/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek came recommended to us by our officiant (Reverend Gaye Einstein), who is also out of Charlottesville. As soon as we contacted Derek, he was professional, responsive, and extremely forthright - we knew we made a great decision! We got married in Richmond, VA and Derek was more than willing to travel without an additional fee. His price included ceremony music, reception music, and wireless uplighting in the color of our choice which was STUNNING! During our meeting with him closer to the wedding date, he helped guide our thoughts and select the right music for each moment at our wedding, and he provided suggestions as needed. He is truly talented and great at his job, everyone at my wedding could not stop raving about how wonderful the DJ was - and I agree! From start to finish, Derek made the entire process smooth and easy and we could not be happier with our choice to hire him for our big day. Your wedding is probably the most extravagant/expensive event you will have, and truly working with him was money well spent. If you're looking for an AWESOME DJ who is also a really down to earth person, reliable, and know's how to get the party going - Derek Tobler is your guy!

    Sent on 04/21/2016
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 02/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you're reading this, you're thinking about a DJ and your search should stop here. Derek made our day so special and was an incredible part of our wedding! I didn't have a wedding planner so he worked with me to keep the entire night on schedule by announcing activities so everyone could watch/participate. He listened to what my fiancé and I liked and even played some of our favorite contemporary artist during the buffet. Our dance floor was never empty. He played music we loved and music our guest could dance to. He even gave us a dance lesson the week before so we didn't look like fools during our first dance. Above all he is personable, responsive, and so very easy to work with. He made our wedding unique to us and completely unforgettable.

    Sent on 03/04/2016
  • User6159756 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek did a tremendous job. He helped us construct our playlist beforehand, made suggestions when we did not know what songs were played, let us know what was popular at the time, and what genre of music everyone of all ages would appreciate. On the day of, he performed his MC duties better than we could have imagined. He directed everyone around and made sure the reception didn't miss a beat.

    Sent on 01/06/2016
  • M

    Matt · Married on 12/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek rocked our wedding! His song selection was exactly in line with what we wanted and he was very easy to work with throughout the process. He also didn't miss a beat playing the correct song at the correct time for the various reception events. We got great feedback from our guests after the wedding too. All in all, you can't go wrong with him!!

    Sent on 12/19/2015
  • J

    Julia · Married on 11/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We could not have been happier that Derek was our DJ for our wedding. He was always responsive, helpful, professional, and was willing to meet with us twice leading up to the wedding in order to talk through details. He provided and set up all equipment, and played beautiful music during our ceremony and cocktail hour, and great party music for the reception that got everyone dancing. We strongly recommend working with Derek!

    Sent on 11/30/2015
  • User5617588 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek, hands-down, was the best vendor at our wedding! He was an absolute pleasure to work with! We would recommend him to anyone! He has a wonderful personality and really reads the crowd on the dance floor. He is incredibly fun, organized, and simply AWESOME!!! He listened to all of our requests, was great on the mic, and kept people dancing all night long!! He is, and will continue to be, one of our best memories from our wedding day!

    Sent on 11/15/2015
  • L

    Laura · Married on 10/03/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Derek did such a great job with the music for our wedding. He was easy to reach by email and phone. He did a great job picking music for the assortment of guests based on a phone conversation and a few "must plays" I gave him. He also gave me an outline of musical selections I should have for the ceremony and reception so I didn't forget any special moments. We danced all night and loved every song he played!

    Sent on 10/07/2015
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 09/26/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We recently had Derek DJ our ceremony and wedding and he was absolutely perfect. I was a little nervous at first without experiencing him on the job before and meeting for the first time at our wedding but as soon as he started playing the first song, I turned to my friend and said "this guy is good!". He was very professional, played every song that we requested and he really had a feel for the group and what songs to play and when. I couldn't be happier with using him as our DJ. DEFINITELY RECOMMEND.

    Sent on 10/03/2015
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DJ Tobler is amazing! He was a highlight of our wedding, and all of our friends are still commenting that it was one of the most fun wedding dance parties that they've ever been a part of. He is extremely professional, fun, and flexible, and he catered to our every wish! He made the music flow perfectly, and he made it all seem effortless. I would recommend him to anyone - book DJ Tobler, and you and your guests will have an amazing time!!

    Sent on 07/09/2015