Details Wedding & Party Planning Reviews

23 | Ellington, CT
See photos, pricing and details

23 Reviews for Details Wedding & Party Planning

Recommended by 97%

23
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2009 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.8
  • Professionalism 4.8
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9
Sort by:
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 06/29/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Lynda for the day-of for our casual park wedding and she went above and beyond our expectations! We couldn't have done it without her! She was organized, had great ideas, and listened to our thoughts and gave us everything we could have wanted. She always made herself available to us and understood everything we were looking for. She worked so hard the day of the wedding, our guests were remarking at how incredible she was. It was so nice to have a stress free day, and that was all because of Lynda!

    Sent on 07/02/2013
  • Kathryn

    Kathryn · Married on 10/10/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lynda was great as the day of wedding planner. She was organized and made sure the day ran smoothly and even helped bustle my dress. I highly recommend her.

    Sent on 12/01/2010
  • M

    Melinda · Married on 08/07/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lynda was a fantastic wedding coordinator. Our wedding had a lot of moving parts: the wedding was taking place inside a city-run park, there were no in-house vendors, the ceremony was on the beach while the reception was inside, etc. Despite all those challenges, Lynda did a wonderful job "day of." Among other things: she did everything we asked for and more; she didn't get flustered; she knew when to bring things to our attention; she got along well with our many vendors; she never wanted to steal the spotlight. All in all, she was a true professional.

    Lynda was also great leading up to the wedding. Unlike some of our vendors, Lynda always responded promptly to our (many) e-mails and phone calls. More than that, she has a wealth of knowledge when it comes to wedding and party planning.

    We can honestly say that this was some of the best money we spent on the wedding.

    Sent on 09/09/2010
  • P

    Patty · Married on 07/24/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lynda with Details Wedding and Party Planning was the best part of my wedding experience during the whole process. She is an amazing person with great perfection! She will not give you something that is not perfect or done the way you want it. I had no problems with her at all. Our personalities blended well and she was always willing to help me no matter what time or day of the week it was.
    I called her 10 times a day and she always picked up my call. Lynda was very patient and understanding with me. I loved everything she did with my wedding and wouldn't change it for the world. I would recommend her to everyone who is planning a wedding.
    Her prices are not expensive compared to other planners. I love her!

    Sent on 08/12/2010
  • Kim

    Kim · Married on 07/17/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lynda did a great job planning our wedding. She listened to our needs and desires and brought so many of her own great ideas to the table, as well. On top of all that, she is a wonderful person to get to know - - she's kind, helpful, funny, personable and so very responsible. The only downside about hiring Lynda is that after the wedding, you don't get to work with her anymore! We would highly recommend Lynda to anyone shopping for wedding planning services

    Sent on 07/27/2010
  • V

    Valerie · Married on 06/26/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lynda is amazing. I live across the country in Seattle and needed a wedding planner to help me coordinate a wedding in Connecticut at a friends house for 100 people plus children. Every detail, from the decor, food, photographers and social coordinator for the children, to the budget, invites/guest list, managing all vendors and on going communication with our host -Lynda was incredibly professional, extremely detail oriented and never missed a beat. I would highly recommend Details Wedding & Party Planning - and specifically Lynda for any wedding or event you'd like to plan. She was wonderful to work with, has great taste, was always cheerful and pleasant to deal with, and most importantly, kept me calm when I became overwhelmed with all the planning, and willing to lend an hand with all matters. It was a perfect day and I have Lynda to thank for all her hard work and effort. THANK YOU LYNDA!!

    Sent on 08/04/2010
  • K

    Kathryn · Married on 06/12/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used Lynda as a day of coordinator and were thrilled with the service that we received. Lynda helped us come up with the plan for the day and executed all the details perfectly. Our wedding site was a blank canvas and Lynda coordinated the entire setup. Though she was only day of coordinator she was very helpful in recommending vendors and giving advice. She gave us perspective on working with vendors and how to handle transactions smoothly. Issues were handled without disturbing our day. She catered to our every need, including making sure that we had drinks during photos etc. By far the best decision we made regarding our wedding.

    Sent on 06/14/2010
  • E

    Elba · Married on 09/19/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Lynda from Details was one of the most enjoyable parts about planning my wedding. Lynda was available by both phone and e-mail and her response time was great. She turned my vision into reality with respect to the decoration and was wonderful in dealing with all of my guests. I would recommend her to anyone with a moment's hesitation.

    Sent on 01/25/2010
  • J

    Jackie · Married on 09/04/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lynda was the best investment I made for our wedding. I live across the country and hiring her made my wedding planning experience amazing. She took care of everything for me and went out of her way to make sure that I did not stress about anything. She was a pleasure to work with and fun to be around. The difference with Lynda than other wedding planners is that she truly cares about her brides and will go the extra mile to make sure their day is perfect. I could not recommend her more and am grateful that she was part of our special day!

    Sent on 01/21/2010
  • T

    Tara · Married on 08/15/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I contracted Details for services just the day of our wedding, but Lynda and Caryn went above and beyond what we expected. They were so helpful with meeting with last minute catering changes and making a wedding on the hottest day of the summer, seem like a much needed breeze. I would recommend Details to any of my friends.

    Sent on 01/21/2010
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 08/07/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lynda Houghtaling and Details Wedding & Party Planning were absolutely amazing. She was experienced, knowledgeable, organized beyond compare, patient, kind and responsible. As a former film production executive, I have very high standards in this regard. And she surpassed them. i recommend her without any hesitation whatsoever.

    Sent on 01/23/2010
  • B

    Brandy · Married on 07/25/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had such a wonderful experience with Lynda. She really made my dream wedding come true. I love you Lynda. Your the best......

    Sent on 01/20/2010

    Details Wedding & Party Planning's reply:

    Love you too Brandy!
  • T

    Terressea · Married on 06/13/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lynda was able and willing to answer all my concerns. Lynda was always available to meet with me and go over any new ideas for the wedding or any concerns for the wedding. She always kept both the bride and myself (mother of the bride) calm and focused. I felt that if it wasn't for Lynda I myself could have possibly had a heart attack with all those little details that one forgets about. Lynda left nothing out and went beyond what was expected of her. My daughter (bride), myself and my husband highly recommend her.

    Sent on 01/24/2010
  • J

    Judy · Married on 06/06/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We decided to hire a wedding planner because we were overwhelmed with everything we had to do We made some plans but needed help with the others. As a 40 something bride many of my friends forgot how to plan a wedding. Lynda helped break everything down and take care of details and eliminated all the stress so that we didn't loose sight of the whole reason why we were getting married. I would definetly recommend Details Wedding and Lynda.

    Sent on 01/20/2010
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 06/29/2008

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have nothing but wonderful things to say about Lynda! Hiring her was one of the best decisions we made in the planning process. She went above and beyond being a wedding planner and really became a good friend, offering support, advice and insight when I needed it the most. She was always willing and eager to help with anything I needed, and frequently checked in to see how we were doing and to see if we needed anything. The day of the wedding, she kept everything running smoothly. I felt completely at ease the day of the wedding, knowing that if anything unexpected happened, she would handle it. At the very end of the night, she even dropped a ton of stuff off at our house so that we wouldn’t have to worry about it getting it there the next day. I just cannot say enough good things about her!

    Sent on 08/18/2008
  • K

    Kerry · Married on 12/15/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lynda from Details Wedding and Party Planning was wonderful. She and her team were exteremely helpful and took away much of the anticipated stress from the planning process. She had great ideas and was able to make them become a reality, even staying within our budget. They went above my expectations and I highly recommend Lynda and her team.

    Sent on 07/08/2008
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 05/21/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I hired Lynda as a day-of coordinator for my 5/21/11 wedding. We hired her because she is organized, inspired, and fun to be around! She easily and quickly 'got' the vibe of our wedding and started throwing out ideas at our first meet-up, even though it was fairly "offbeat" by wedding industry standards. She never batted an eye, however, and when it came down to the day of she was confident, honest, and efficient. She was thoughtful (brought us iced tea during the formal pictures), flexible (took on a lot of catering responsibilities since we didn't have an official caterer), and always cheerful (even when it looked like rain on our outdoor venue up until the day before). I can't thank her enough for all her hard work - it was worth the money to have my family free to relax and enjoy the party. No wonder she's so sought after!

    Sent on 05/29/2011
  • M

    Megha · Married on 07/03/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Lynda was very responsive, and helpful from day 1--she offered to do things that were outside our contract just because--including our placecards and table numbers (super helpful in the final weeks leading up to the wedding!). She also had great ideas and helped in that sense as well. I had an Indian wedding, and it was all new for her, but she jumped right in and gave it her all.

    Sent on 09/07/2010
  • R

    Rosalyn · Married on 06/14/2008

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Lynda was fantastic to work with and eased alot of my stress. She was extremely helpful and went above and beyond for our wedding.

    Sent on 07/13/2008
  • P

    Teresa · Married on 09/25/2010

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Details Wedding & Party Planning was just fabulous at our wedding event. Lynda was very available, extremely helpful in making decisions and giving me direction when I was lost as to what decision to make. Every vendor she suggested was perfect for our day, it was so worth having a wedding planner just for that, it took the stress away of finding a vendor and not really knowing if they are good or not. She know the industry and is confident and very professional when you are meeting with vendors. If she doesn't know and answer to a question you might have she will find the answer and get right back to you.

    The day of the wedding was flawless. I am not sure if it went that way but I didn't have to worry about a single thing but enjoying the whole experience. She kept everything organized and flowing.

    Sent on 10/23/2010
  • K

    Katie · Married on 12/02/2006

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Our wedding was really good, and I'm glad that Lynda got rid of alot of our stress!

    Sent on 03/13/2009
  • B

    Barake · Married on 09/28/2007

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Our wedding was very very good. We could not have done it without Linda and the help from her.

    Sent on 03/21/2009
  • B

    Beth · Married on 10/03/2009

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Lynda was our Day-Of Coordinator. We had 2 locations and a bunch of logistics that I did not want myself or my family dealing with on the day. We sent her detailed instructions and pictures of centerpieces, decorations, etc. and everything turned out beautiful. Her team was great and very sweet during the reception (making sure we had food and drinks in between the dancing).

    Sent on 10/21/2009

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review