DAR Memorial Continental Hall Reviews

26 | Washington, DC
See photos, pricing and details

26 Reviews for DAR Memorial Continental Hall

Recommended by 91% of couples

4.5 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.6
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.2
  • Value 4.4
  • Average response time 4.7

Awards

26

6 User photos

DAR Memorial Continental Hall 1
DAR Memorial Continental Hall 2
DAR Memorial Continental Hall 3
DAR Memorial Continental Hall 4
DAR Memorial Continental Hall 5
+ 2
Order by:
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 09/15/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The DAR was our dream wedding venue, and Susan (and the rest of the team) was wonderful to work with. From the initial tour to view the space, to the day-of execution, the team at the DAR really knows how to do a wedding and we felt 100% confident putting our big day in their hands. The Portico and the O'Byrne Gallery had a real wow-factor for our guests. Even though we didn't need to use the rain backup plan, the additional spaces that would have been available in case of bad weather were just as lovely as the outdoor spaces. We'd recommend the DAR to any future couples who are looking for a beautiful venue with a great team behind it.

    Sent on 09/24/2018
  • Elaina

    Elaina · Married on 10/20/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love, love, love. This space is just beautiful and so multi-purpose. If you haven't toured the site in person, DO! Their website photos don't do it justice, the location is gorgeous in person and right in the heart of DC. The DAR has several spaces that rent by the hour so you can mix and match your spaces to fit your event. The portico is a fab covered space for an outdoor dance floor (even into the late fall!). Plus you can dance under the towering Washington Monument (Doesn't get much more DC than that.). The event staff at the DAR are very responsive and are delighted to have you. We loved having our wedding here and the ability to come back and visit the historical site whenever we want for years to come. (We even had DC food trucks pull up right outside which made for great catering.)

    DAR Memorial Continental Hall 6
    DAR Memorial Continental Hall 7
    DAR Memorial Continental Hall 8
    DAR Memorial Continental Hall 9
    DAR Memorial Continental Hall 10
    DAR Memorial Continental Hall 11
    Sent on 07/03/2018
  • H

    HUGH · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue for our wedding. Elegance meets class, meets beautiful memories!!! Mrs Blankenship was easy to work with and made it easy for us to plan our DIY wedding. Our guests were amazed at the beauty and enchantment of the building and we had tons of room for getting ready. We used the portico and obynre for our reception and dancing and the fornt pation for our ceremony. Awesome venue!!! Definitely recommended!!!

    Sent on 09/20/2016
  • User4772320 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding on the portico and O'Byrne Gallery and it was gorgeous. We also used the portico balcony for the first look that had great views of the Washington Monument. The staff at DAR were very friendly and accommodating.

    Sent on 05/04/2016
  • User5529184 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DAR is a spectacular venue for any event. We held a wedding the evening of rain and thunderstorms and the team worked so effortlessly with our caterer (Main Event) to achieve the perfect evening. Susan was consistently responsive and flexible to our needs. Strongly recommend this venue!

    Sent on 10/16/2015
  • B

    Brad · Married on 08/08/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We used DAR Continental Hall for our wedding reception on 08/2015, and couldn't recommend it more! We worked with Susan Blankenship, and Susan made the entire process painless. Susan provided a list of vendor's that were familiar with the layout at DAR, but was also open to us selecting alternative vendors. Moreover, Susan went above and beyond on numerous occasions to help make our reception painless and amazing.

    The venue itself is stunning, especially the patio with the views of the Washington Monument. Our guests loved the blend of history and intimacy that DAR provided, and the space accommodated our 100 guests comfortably.

    We'd recommend DAR and Susan to anyone who wants a beautiful reception in the heart of DC!

    Sent on 05/07/2016
  • User4121505 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DAR is an absolutely beautiful wedding venue. We held both our ceremony and reception at DAR Memorial Continental Hall. The ceremony was outside on the Portico area, with a cocktail hour in the Library, followed by dinner in the O'Byrne Gallery and then back out to the Portico for dancing. DAR is located right on 17th Street and overlooks the National Mall. There is a fantastic view of the Washington Monument in the background. It is a classic venue for a DC wedding. The entire building is beautiful. And, the event staff at DAR are professional, responsive, friendly, and accommodating. Everything went flawlessly. If you're looking for a unique, beautiful, and historic venue then you should visit DAR.

    Sent on 08/18/2014
  • E

    Emily · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married on the Portico and had our reception in the O'Byrne Gallery with dancing on the Portico and it was perfect. The building has stunning architecture which is very photogenic, the O'Bryne Gallery is gorgeous and the location is great. The event coordinator Peggy, who gave us suggestions on vendors and was very helpful throughout the process, retired just before our wedding, so I was worried something would go wrong. But the woman who helped us in her absence, Paula, was wonderful also. Everything went smoothly on the wedding day and our guests seemed to really enjoy the venue.

    A couple notes about the location: the Washington Monument is visible from the Portico and makes a great backdrop for photos. We had our guests stay at the Willard, which is a short walk (or cab ride) away, and the walk between the hotel and the venue took guests right past the White House, so it was all very "DC." One thing I did not anticipate about getting married in the middle of DC though is that there is a lot going on right outside the venue which you can't control. For instance, a raucous concert started in the park nearby just before our outdoor ceremony and drowned out our harp music and readings at a few points during the ceremony. All we could really do was laugh about it! And, when we took photos on the front steps before the wedding, lots of tourists stopped to take photos of us. No big deal, but something to keep in mind.

    Also note that because of the marble on the Portico, you cannot serve red wine or other red drinks (you can have red wine served with dinner in the Gallery but there is an extra fee).

    Overall, it was the perfect venue for us and we have no regrets.

    Sent on 08/31/2014
  • N

    Nerisa · Married on 09/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my wedding at the DAR recently and it was amazing. Peggy Martz is the venue coordinator and she was excellent. We are based overseas and she was flexible and worked with us when we were in town to visit the venue and make plans with vendors. She has great recommendations and contacts in the DC area and is more than happy to help out any bride who is having trouble finding the right vendors. She is very astute and caught on to a family member who was upset at our no-children policy and informed us of the situation so that we could manage the situation. Her kindness and professionalism is great and I highly recommend this venue to any bride who wants a formal and totally DC wedding.

    Sent on 09/18/2012
  • Mia

    Mia · Married on 08/25/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Peggy and Paula at the DAR were outstanding. The venue was beautiful, and they helped execute our rain plan perfectly. We used the portico and the OByrne Gallery and set up our photo booth in the Pennsylvania foyer and they all were beautiful spaces. You have a gorgeous view of the Washington Monument and that's pricelesss. They definitely earned 5/5 stars - one thing to note, though, is that there's no restrooms on the first floor so guests have to walk (or elevator) to the 2nd floor to use the ladies/men's rooms... Just something to note, but it doesn't take away from the beautiful backdrop and gorgeous interior!

    Sent on 08/27/2012
  • E

    Ellen · Married on 03/24/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    To have my wedding reception at DAR was a "pinch me" moment. Our cocktail reception was held in the O'Byrne Gallery with dinner in the National Library and it couldn't have been more splendid. Our guests kept raving about the location and said that DAR "set the bar for DC wedding receptions" -- We couldn't agree more! Peggy was a joy to work with. She and her staff were so helpful and attentive during the entire planning process. We loved having our reception at such an iconic location and would recommend it to any bride and groom!

    Sent on 03/26/2012
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/09/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is the best value in downtown Washington DC! We had a church service in downtown as well and for its location, views, and amenities it can not be beat. We used the balcony for a reception, the Gallery for a seated dinner, and the went back outside to use the Portico and balcony for dancing and entertainment. The architectural beauty and installed lighting require no additional decoration or needed cost. This can be used in both fantastic weather and rain without the need of a tent.

    DAR is used by movie productions as the White House fo its similar resemblence. Salt with Angelina Jolie was partly shot there and the day after our wedding Transformers 3 was shot there. If anything you can always watch those movies and see where you had your reception!

    Peggy was fantastic, refreshingly straighforward, and always took care of us. She has been in the business a while and gave great suggestions on how to utilize the space.

    Sent on 09/30/2011
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 11/10/2007

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn’t have asked for a more perfect wedding reception location! The cocktail hour was held in the Pennsylvania Foyer, followed by dinner in the O’Byrne Gallery, and then guests returned to the Pennsylvania Foyer for dancing and the cake cutting. Although it was a little chilly outside, guests could go outside on the portico and look at the spectacular view of the national mall. We also had photos taken upstairs on a balcony with the monuments and autumn tree foliage in the background. DAR’s Continental Hall is exquisite--our guests are still talking about it (and so are we). From the first day we went to the look at the site up to the wedding day, DAR’s event staff was exceptional. They made recommendations on vendors, provided us options for great photo spots and room set-up, and made the overall planning process simple. We wouldn’t change a thing.

    Sent on 12/05/2007
  • D

    Clare · Married on 09/17/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The DAR is a fantastic venue and was great for our wedding. Peggy, who was our contact when we set everything up was incredibly responsive and made it really easy for us to arrange our wedding from abroad. She also let us deliver some things early, which made the day-of SO much easier.

    As for a venue, it would be hard to find one more beautiful or so perfectly 'DC'. We had a lot of foreigners at our wedding and they kept asking who we 'knew' to be able to hold a wedding at such an incredible spot with such a cool view. Dancing outside in the portico was also incredibly memorable.

    Because its a historic venue there are a few 'rules' such as no red wine out on the portico, but we had it at dinner just fine and it was well worth the sacrifice!

    Sent on 09/27/2011
  • E

    Liz · Married on 05/21/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DAR may not be flexible with their rules, but for good reason. The place is perfectly maintained and a beautiful place for a wedding. The coordinators are wonderful and professional and I could not have been happier with the venue.

    Sent on 09/20/2011
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 10/23/2010

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution is the perfect place to host a DC wedding. You can't ask for a more beautiful building or backdrop. The event coordinator at DAR is another major reason we chose to go with this venue. She is professional, responsive, but most importantly knowledgeable. Because it's a historical building, DAR does have several restrictions for hosting a wedding. However, the event coordinator was very willing to offer alternative suggestions for creating the wedding of our dreams (ex. no cranberry juice mixer; use white cranberry, etc.) She is well connected to area vendors and knows how to organize wedding day logistics. I felt very reassured knowing she and her team were running the show (especially because we did not hire a wedding planner.) The event team at DAR is well worth the money of renting the space!

    There are a ton of ways you can organize the space at DAR to suit your wedding design. We used the Portico and Gallery areas for our ceremony and reception. Since we had a large guest list, we chose to do a cocktail reception which opened more space for dancing and mingling. I highly recommend this option especially during the warmer months when people can enjoy the view of the Washington Monument and relax outside. Overall, we had a great experience at DAR and highly recommend this vendor.

    Sent on 11/12/2010
  • K

    Katharine · Married on 09/26/2009

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had my cocktail hour in the library, the dinner in the O'Byrne Gallery followed by dancing under the Portico. Even though it rained, all of the guests remained dry under the portico. The rain really provided a more intimate feeling. This location is absolutely stunning and is a secret gem of Washington, DC. We looked high and low for the perfect location and not only did we find it at D.A.R., but the staff was very helpful and always willing to answer questions and provide direction. I would recommend D.A.R. to anyone looking for a classic Washington, DC feeling with charm and history. It was the perfect backdrop to our military wedding, the pictures were beautiful!

    Sent on 01/12/2010
  • M

    malka · Married on 09/05/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The DAR may not be perfect for everyone, but it was perfect for us. The classical beauty, the rich history, the everpresent patriotism, the 'DC-ness', the variety... It was such a special venue, one that lives up to the grandness of the day and one that lasts in the photographic evidence.

    We used basically every space we could! People were particularly impressed by the library. And the Washington Monument as a backdrop to the ceremony couldn't be beat.

    Peggy was just fantastic. She is straightforward and no-nonsense and extremely kind and helpful. And she has seen enough weddings to have good tips and suggestions.

    Sent on 06/28/2011
  • A

    Ariel · Married on 08/24/2013

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is one of the most beautiful venues in DC. I loved that we could get married and dance out on the portico. The setting is just wonderful and gives your affair an elegance that I had not expected. Peggy at DAR is helpful and great to work with. Like others have said the venue does not provide tables and chairs etc. and is not exactly flexible with its parking arrangements. The venue also has strict arrival times and although we arrived when we were allowed to be there the building manager interfered with our photos because the set up was going on. We were aware of the set up and were safely out of the way and wanted a few photos that took advantage of the venue's beauty and natural light. Despite this annoyance, we had a wonderful time and the venue was just perfect for us.

    Sent on 10/03/2013
  • J

    Julie · Married on 05/07/2010

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DAR is absolutely beautiful for a wedding! Peggy was very helpful in walking us through everything. It's a little pricey (doesn't include any tables/chairs, etc.) and they mostly only allow same day deliveries (Peggy did let us store the alcohol in her office). But it was a great venue and we couldn't have picked a better location!

    Sent on 04/27/2011
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 03/28/2009

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    DAR is a beautiful wedding venue. Our guests were wowed by the grandeur and location. We had our ceremony on the Portico, the cocktail hour in the Foyer, and the reception in the O'Byrne Gallery. They do have a lot of rules, but I think you're going to get that with any historic venue, and it is worth it. None of the rules are unreasonable.

    Sent on 04/28/2009
  • E

    Erika · Married on 09/08/2007

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love the DAR! The setting is beautiful. We had our cocktail hour on the Portico and the reception in the O'Byrne Gallery.

    The only downside, they do have lots of rules, but the setting was worth it.

    Sent on 10/02/2007
  • 2

    Krystle · Married on 08/22/2009

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    DAR and its staff are truly exceptional and the space is like no other that you can find in downtown D.C.! Peggy and Paula were both helpful, accommodating and great to work with. They both are very responsive via email and phone. DAR, like many other historic buildings has many limitations/strict rules so be sure that you read all of them before booking. Given its location, the price (I think) Is reasonable and worth every penny. On our wedding day we were supposed to be outside for the ceremony but it rained so we had to set up in the banquet hall and it was still beautiful, and intimate. Since part of the portico is covered we were able to have our cocktail hour in the covered section of the portico and it worked just fine! If you are looking for a unique, gorgeous, historic, downtown location I would stop by DAR and see what they have to offer, and make sure you check out the period rooms while you are there!

    Sent on 09/09/2009
  • J

    Judy · Married on 10/15/2010

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Very beautiful but expensive location. They have alot of rules (as do most places) and they also charge extra if your vendors need more time to set up. I think if you are having a $50K+ budget for your wedding this would be a great option. Anything less and you should look someplace else.

    Sent on 11/02/2010
  • P

    Pamela · Married on 09/29/2007

    2.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    This vendor is a little tough to review because in my personal opinion there is no other ceremony or reception site like it in the Washington, DC area. It was exactly what we wanted, and everyone absolutely raved about the location and the site. However, dealing with this vendor was very difficult. They are very rigid in their rules and do not deal with changes very easily. Also, they found some emergency building repair that needed to be done, so they had to put up scaffolding on the front of the building making it so we couldn't use the circular driveway or have our guests enter through the main foyer, which was something we were really looking forward to (the foyer is beautiful and the front doors are huge and grand!). They never once apologized for this inconvenience or offered any form of discount even though our entire site fee was JUST for the building itself. Their only solution was to say we could get out of our contract and go somewhere else. This was 2 months before the wedding!!! All our vendors were booked, our invitations were out and there is no way any other venue in Washington, DC would be available for a late September wedding 2 months before!! How was that supposed to be any consolation! I was really very disappointed that they did not offer any discount and even charged me for the extra half hour we extended our event instead of waiving that fee due to the inconvenience and not getting everything we paid for when we signed the contract. When I pushed the issue, I was told that no other bride had been complaining about the change, so I just basically needed to get over it, basically implying that I was being a complete bridezilla, which I really never considered myself! When you pay this much for a vendor, you expect exceptional service and understanding. This is, unfortunately, not what I received.

    Sent on 10/16/2007