Chef By Request Reviews

132 | Lisle, IL
See photos, pricing and details

132 Reviews for Chef By Request

Recommended by 93%

132
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.6 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.7
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.5
  • Average response time 4.5
Sort by:
  • S

    Sharron · event on 12/07/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Excellent - server, bartender, chef and food!

    Sent on 01/03/2014
  • C

    Cassidy · event on 08/25/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef by Request was very flexible and provided multiple options to stay within our budget. We had 90+ people over for a housewarming/birthday party and were overwhelmed on how to feed everyone. They saved the day and provided outstanding service on top of amazing food. We got many compliments and multiple people asked for the name of our caterer. I would highly recommend Chef by Request to anyone looking for a caterer with great selections, attentive service and more.

    Sent on 01/08/2014
  • T

    Tripta · Married on 12/15/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great food and service! When we were delayed on the way to our tasting Danielle kindly stayed late so we could still taste everything. Although we used a different bakery for the cake, the Chef by Request staff still helped us cut and serve it during the reception.

    Sent on 01/03/2014
  • User3777362 · event on 12/15/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    the food and service was outstanding. would highly reccomend Chef by Request.

    Sent on 01/03/2014
  • H

    Heather · Married on 09/15/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful food for comparative value in Chicagoland. Service staff were outstanding and dealt with surprises at venue flawlessly. Would use again in a heartbeat! Only improvement could be in pre-event communication that would've better prepared myself and the venue as well as the day of service staff.

    Sent on 03/18/2014
  • E

    Eric · Married on 08/17/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef by Request rocked our wedding! We had some unique and special request and they worked with us to make it the best day of our lives! They were fun and easy to work with. Even when we had to make some last minute adjustments(more people RSVP'd then we planned for) it didn't phase them. They had the food and decorations looking great! They also collected our handmade custom center pieces at the end of the night and held them in their facility until we were able to come get them. We were lazy and didn't pick them up until 2 months after, but they saved them and didn't fuss. Chef by Request is the only catering company in the Naperville/Lisle/Aurora area I would work with. These guys rock!

    Sent on 01/09/2014
  • A

    Ahmad · Married on 06/16/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose Chef By Request to be our catering vendor for our wedding on June 16, 2017. We booked them about 9 months in advance and we were very pleased with their service and highly recommend them.

    Pros: Chef By Request has a wide variety of options for your wedding meals. They have many themed menus and are very flexible as they allow you to mix and match options from different menus. We set up a taste test session for their Mardi Gras menu and we fell in love with this place as soon as we tasted these samples. They gave us so much food in the taste test that we didn’t need to eat dinner that night. They were very accommodating and offered special meals for our wedding guests who were allergic to our menu or vegetarians/vegans. At the wedding, they helped to flip the room from ceremony to reception and were efficient at keeping everything moving once dinner was served.

    Cons: Communication with Chef By Request left much to be desired. It was hard to get a response from our contact when we needed something, as she was very busy. We could hardly get her on the phone and email responses came in at least a week or two after we reached out.

    Other than that, Chef By Request was very accommodating and helpful and the food was magnificent. We’ve had many guests tell us that it was the best wedding meal they’ve ever had. We recommend you give them a try as they have options for any type of food you might want!

    Sent on 07/09/2017
  • J

    J · event on 08/17/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great service. The food was excellent. We hosted apx. 50 people (young and old) and everyone commented on the quality and variety of the food. The Chef was very friendly and so was the waiter. I highly recommend the BBQ Pork - we had a large variety but the BBQ Pork was the winner hands down.

    Sent on 01/02/2014
  • User3798791 · event on 06/08/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent caterer. I have done 3 - 4 events at home with Chef By Request. Originally referred to me by a former boss. Food is excellent. Presentation excellent. Sales associate excellent and offered tips on hosting, food selection, timing, attendance, etc. Wait service excellent. One exception was the June 2013 event the waiter put away the food early and left before the event was over! My fault for not reviewing the contracted hours and stopping him. Caterer was made aware, apologized and offered to rectify it. We will happily have Chef By Request again!

    Sent on 01/09/2014
  • K

    Kathleen · Married on 06/01/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Chef By Request catered my daughter's wedding and they did an absolutely wonderful job! They worked with our budget and provided professional and courteous, staff, quality food and rentals, and superb customer service! Katie was a joy to work with and we would highly recommend CBR! Thank you CBR for helping to make Jessica's wedding a success.

    Sent on 06/04/2012
  • D

    d · event on 12/12/2013

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    this was my third time using Chef by request.

    they continue to exceed expecations and the quality of the food, service and attentiveness was superior

    Sent on 01/10/2014
  • D

    Debbie · event on 12/07/2013

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our sever was incredible!!! She went above and beyond. The food was fabulous and presented beautifully. We were very pleased with everything and would recommend Chef by Request to anyone! Thank you!!!

    Sent on 01/09/2014
  • User3780232 · event on 05/13/2011

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Originally not available at time requested. Received all call back later same day, and the Manager spoke with her cook staff working out details to get to acceptable compromise! They added a bonus for my slight inconvenience! Set up was fast and professional. Food delicious!

    Sent on 01/04/2014
  • K

    Julie · Married on 12/16/2005

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    AMAZING!! everyone loved the meal prepared for them!!

    Sent on 09/01/2008
  • B

    Belen · Married on 06/15/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    My wife and I were very pleased with the help and service of Katie at Chef by Request in the whole planning process. She made it easy to agree on a delicious menu and take care of a lot of logistical details with other vendors. On the day of our wedding, all of the CBR staff was friendly and super helpful in a lot of extra ways making sure that our guests were satisfied and that the event went smoothly.

    Sent on 06/25/2014
  • S

    sarah · Married on 01/15/2008

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    food was absolutely amazing and price was not too much.

    Sent on 02/20/2009
  • N

    Nick · Married on 06/29/2013

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everything was fine. the only issue that we had was that no wine was served during speeches/toasts additionally we requested that the bottom rhinestone portion of the cake holder be saved for sentimental reasons and that was thrown out. My wife was really upset about that.

    Sent on 01/09/2014
  • User3776638 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I absolutely loved chef by request and I greatly enjoyed working with David. He is an awesome chef, the food was amazing and the best server I ever had was Ruben. Unfortunately I wish I could give all five stars but the wedding planner I worked with, Danielle, was not on top of her job. As nice of a person that she was, she really dropped the ball on a lot of things with my wedding. I would how ever use this caterer again.

    Sent on 01/03/2014
  • User3775607 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The food was fantastic! I had many guests who are in the food business state that it was the best food at a wedding they ever had. The presentation was also excellent. Everything the day of the wedding could not have been more perfect. However, the wedding planner Danielle, who is extremely nice, is next to IMPOSSIBLE to get a hold of and when you do she often gets your order incorrect. It is a bit pricey but you get what you pay for and it was well worth it.

    Sent on 01/02/2014
  • B

    Barb · Married on 10/06/2012

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    This was actually a gathering at our home between the church and reception for our son's wedding. We have used Chef by Request. before, in May, 2012 for a very special celebration of our daughter becoming a doctor. We highly recommend them for delicious food and very good service. We actually can't wait to have another event we can use them for!

    Sent on 01/02/2014
  • J

    Julie · Married on 07/18/2011

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      0.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A friend recommended Chef By Request after we were unable to find a suitable caterer for our wedding reception. We couldn't have been happier! They were easy to work with, had a flexible menu, beautiful presentation, and of course the food was delicious! Our wedding was an intimate (75 people) garden affair and Chef by Request was the perfect choice!

    Sent on 01/03/2014
  • V

    VAMC · Married on 04/18/2008

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    very good.

    Sent on 02/20/2009
  • L

    Lisa · event on 11/09/2013

    3.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The service was excellent, the food was delicious. I did mention that the steaks were very difficult to chew. So I would probably order something else in the future. Also it may be helpful if the items were labeled so guest know what they were trying.

    Sent on 01/02/2014
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 06/04/2011

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      0.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We recently used Chef By Request for our wedding. We chose them because we had wanted to do a informal "Chicago Style" meal, be able to provide our own alcohol, and bring a home-brew that my husband brewed. They let us do all three! The food was outstanding. We received so many compliments on the beef sandwiches and polish sausages. Guests told us they were the best they'd ever tasted (and both of our families are life long residents of Chicago)! They ended up putting out our "late night snacks" (mini Chicago Style pizza's) with the main course, but they did rectify the situation by ordering Lou Malnati's later in the evening for us...so they do get bonus points for that! The staff was very nice and professional.

    The only complaint I have is that it was almost impossible to get a hold of the catering planner Danielle. For two weeks, my husband and I called her every day because we had some questions on some things. The majority of the time we got a message indicating that her inbox was full. If we were able to leave a voicemail, we didn't get any response. She eventually got in touch with us and we were able to go over things. They also charged us $150 for glassware that was gone in one hour. They then ran out of plastic cups and ended up using the cups I had brought for our lemonade stand before the wedding.

    All in all, they did provide a delicious, quality meal, at a relatively affordable price.

    Sent on 07/18/2011
  • H

    Heather · Married on 10/19/2012

    3.0
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      1.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Food was great, planning and communication was poor. As the bride, I had to break from photos to help set up the tables correctly. Other spaces in venue not utilized as planned.

    Sent on 01/04/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review