Cathy Bolkcom, Non-denominational Officiant Reviews

104 | Davenport, IA
See photos, pricing and details

104 Reviews for Cathy Bolkcom, Non-denominational Officiant

Recommended by 99%

104
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • D

    Debra · Married on 07/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cathy was amazing! She took such a personalized interest in us and our story. She was such a calming influence and kept everyone incredibly organized. The day was more than I could have dreamed and we couldn't have had such an amazing day without her! I would recommend her to ANYONE getting married!

    Sent on 08/13/2016
  • J

    Jason · Married on 07/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    There is no one better to make you feel comfortable and prepared for your wedding day. Cathy was recommended by a friend and we couldn't be more thankful we found her. From the first meeting until the very last moment of our wedding, Cathy was amazing! She made our ceremony more special than we could ever imagined by taking our story and making it very personal and heartfelt. Whatever you are looking for in an officiant, you will find it with Cathy.

    Sent on 07/22/2016
  • User6868447 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cathy was a consummate professional. She took time and personalized the service to the point where many guest thought we had known each other for years. She continually followed up and set us at ease. We would highly recommend Cathy.

    Sent on 06/21/2016
  • C

    Candice · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cathy did an amazing job! We received several compliments on our ceremony. She made it personal to us in a creative way. We would definitely recommend Cathy to anyone, we are so glad we picked her!

    Candice and Levi Ritchie

    Sent on 07/07/2016
  • J

    Jodi · Married on 04/26/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cathy is such a fabulous officiant! In the days approaching our wedding day last week, she was flexible and easy going. My husband and I have a difficult schedule but she made the time and effort to be there for us by working with us over FaceTime. She made every effort to make our day special and beautiful in every way. We had our small ceremony on her gorgeous property and the ceremony was everything we had envisioned. We absolutely enjoyed working with her and I will recommend her to everyone in the future.

    Sent on 05/19/2015
  • K

    Katy · Married on 04/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved Cathy as our officiant! This was both my husband's and my second wedding, so we wanted a fairly casual, yet meaningful ceremony. Cathy was highly recommended by our contact at our venue, so we contacted her. Luckily, she was available on our date. She took the time to meet with us a couple of times to hear our story and how we wanted to personalize our ceremony. Everything went very well! She was well organized and prepared, and most of all, Cathy is very friendly and pleasant! Her pricing is also quite reasonable. I really feel that Cathy believes each ceremony is important and meaningful!

    Sent on 07/28/2016
  • User6482390 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I planned our wedding in the QC area a month before our wedding and we are from Chicago. Cathy was recommended by our venue and we are ecstatic that she was! From the first email exchange, Cathy was attentive,kind, and understanding. Because we couldn't meet in person, Cathy met with us on Skype to review what a typical ceremony would be like and how we could personalize it. A few weeks later, we met Cathy in person the day of our wedding. She understood that my husband and I didn't want to see each other before the ceremony, so she arranged with the hotel that we came in through different doors. During the ceremony, Cathy spoke of us like she knew us for years, and that made our ceremony special.

    Our guests loved our ceremony and so did we. Cathy made it a memorable experience for our special day. We higly recommend using Cathy!

    Sent on 03/14/2016
  • L

    Laura · Married on 01/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cathy was amazing, splendid, superb. She interviewed us extensively about our lives and our history, and then shaped that raw material into a wonderful narrative about our relationship which she read at the ceremony. It was so moving, and so meaningful to us. And she did this all in the space of a week, since we put the wedding together on short notice. She is also a warm and lovely human being, just the kind of person you want near you at such an emotional time. I can't imagine our wedding without her, and I can't recommend her highly enough.

    Sent on 01/20/2016
  • S

    Stephen and Hong · Married on 12/11/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cathy was great! She helped us plan exactly the wedding we wanted, simple yet memorable. As it was just the two of us attending, she recommended an ideal locale and arranged for the required witnesses. The service itself was perfect--poignant, loving, and tender. And it went off as smooth as silk! Cathy is not just a true professional (she is!); she is warmhearted and caring besides. We recommend her highly!

    Sent on 12/30/2015
  • K

    Krystle · Married on 09/19/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cathy did an amazing job of getting to know us as a couple, helping to keep our family organized during rehearsal and the day of the wedding, and providing a very personalized ceremony that stuck true to what we'd envisioned. We could definitely tell this wasn't her first rodeo-- she has experience that showed throughout the planning process and the day of!

    Sent on 12/29/2015
  • Katy & Nathan

    Katy · Married on 08/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cathy was absolutely the best officiant we could have wanted. People kept pulling us aside at the wedding to let us know what a unique service we had. Cathy interviewed us both and her attention to detail helped our guests know us as a couple and individuals. She was funny, tender, and sincere. She was organized and we felt at ease knowing we could follow her lead. I can't tell you how many comments we got about what a unique and heartfelt ceremony Cathy gave us in the months following. Our photographer has worked at a few other ceremonies alongside Cathy and side "She's my favorite!"

    HIGHLY. RECOMMEND.

    Sent on 01/12/2016
  • A

    Ashleigh · Married on 07/25/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cathy was absolutely wonderful! We contacted her one month before our wedding and she was extremely organized and helpful even with the short time period she had to work with. We met her for coffee and she gave us a list of readings, poems and songs to choose for our wedding. She also spent an hour hearing about our story. She wrote everything down and used it to personalize the ceremony. We've gotten so many compliments about the wedding. Cathy made it so personal and funny which really matched our personalities. I've never been to a wedding that was filled with so much laughter. It was wonderful and helped my husband and I feel more relaxed. I can't say enough good things about Cathy and would truly recommend her to anyone. She's very professional, organized and really cares about planning the perfect ceremony.

    Sent on 09/04/2015
  • K

    Kelly · Married on 07/04/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cathy did a tremendous job. She really has a passion for what she does. She was very helpful in all aspects of helping us plan the ceremony we wanted. The first meeting with her was a get to know you kind of meeting. She wanted to hear our story of how we met, our families and how we knew we wanted to be married. Not all officiants will take the time to get to know the couple they are going to be marrying. We would definitely recommend her to anyone we know who is getting married

    Sent on 01/03/2016
  • T

    Tori · Married on 06/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone in my family has been married by Cathy. There was no question when it came to the efficient we wanted to have on our wedding day. She is very organized and clear on how she sees the flow of the ceremony but she wants your full input. Her focus is fully around the couple. When she meets with you, she really wants to know your story as individuals but also as a couple. She remembers everything and really incorporates it well into the ceremony. She does an amazing job at telling the story and captivating the small details. She also keeps the ceremony fun and upbeat- after all it is supposed to be a celebration! If there are any hiccups during the ceremony, she does an amazing job at keeping composure but also easing the minds of the bride and groom- reassuring them everything will be ok (we had a minor emergency happen during our ceremony with a member of the wedding party. Cathy kept calm and kept us calm while asking if there were any doctors in the room or if anyone knew medical history). She stayed so professional during the whole thing, it really helped ease our minds as well. Once everything was taken care of, she was able to capture everyones attention again and continue with the service- never missing a beat. She was truly fantastic. During a wedding, nerves are high and Cathy does an amazing job at calming you down while you're standing in front of everyone you know and love. It was such an amazing day and she played a huge role in making our wedding extra special and true to who we are as a couple. I would recommend her to anyone!

    Sent on 06/23/2015
  • C

    Chase · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cathy officiated our wedding on May 30, 2015, and my husband and I just can't say enough nice things about her! We found her randomly on WeddingWire, as we were getting married in Iowa where we weren't too familiar with vendors. Her reviews were wonderful, and we also loved that she has experience and has been an advocate for same-sex marriage her entire career.
    We reached out to her and soon had our first Skype conversation with her. We were living in NYC at the time, and she is based out of Davenport, Iowa. She was super flexible with scheduling a time to talk, seeing that we were so far away from each other. We Skyped with Cathy for about an hour and a half where she asked us questions about our relationship and story and how we imagined our ceremony being. Cathy is SO easy to talk to, and we had so much fun reminiscing about all of the wonderful times and milestones in our relationship. After the call, she also sent us tons of examples of ceremony structures, readings, blessings, etc. to give us ideas to work with.
    We finally met Cathy in-person in Iowa during our rehearsal, and she is just the sweetest. She explained everything to us and the wedding party with grace and a great attitude and made us feel so comfortable. She even coordinated with our wedding suits to make sure she didn't clash (which we obviously appreciated)!
    The big proof to Cathy's trade was her storytelling. I can't explain how well she told my and my husband's story, based on our Skype conversation a few months prior. She had us (and the guests) laughing, crying and everything in between! She told our story so eloquently, and we couldn't be more grateful. It was exactly how we hoped it would be, and all of our guests couldn't stop talking about how special and unique the ceremony was!
    Overall, we would 110% recommend Cathy to officiate your wedding! She will craft a unique and wonderful ceremony that tells your personal relationship story in such an amazing way. She is WONDERFUL.

    Sent on 06/23/2015
  • User5190576 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cathy met with us five months prior to our wedding to get to know us and determine our expectations of her. She spent an hour and a half talking to us so she could get to know us better and she worked to create an atmosphere at our wedding that we'd feel comfortable. The ceremony was wonderful. It was light hearted, but very professionally done. She did an excellent job and we'd highly recommend her!

    Sent on 06/19/2015
  • User6097861 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When we decided to get married our thoughts were to keep it small and simple. We didn’t want to host a large traditional ceremony and even finding a brick and mortar church that had an open evening so soon wasn’t going to happen; so we looked to Cathy for her services. She’s great and provided exactly what we wanted. Her property and home are beautiful, we had our wedding on her back deck overlooking the large pond, which was perfect since it was screened- in which kept out the bugs and had ceiling fans which kept us all very comfortable on an 80+ degree day in Iowa. We selected what to say to each other, vows, ring ceremony, and of course the traditional benediction and affirmations of marriage. The whole ceremony took less than 30 minutes, even with lots of pictures. Looking back on that day we wouldn’t have wanted it any other way – Cathy is a pleasure to work with and we will always recommend her to anyone looking for Wedding Officiant services​. 5 stars across the board."

    Sent on 12/28/2015
  • J

    Jeni · Married on 05/09/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cathy was wonderful! Completely exceeded our expectations! At our first meeting we felt completely comfortable with her, the conversation was so easy, and she was extremely helpful for us as we did not exactly have a direct plan for our ceremony. She provided many suggestions and sample documentation and tailored everything just to our needs and wants. From then up until the wedding she was very responsive and helpful along the way. On the big day she just blew us (and all of our guests) away. We laughed, HE cried, and everyone got a greater sense of my husband and I as a couple. It was truly an amazing ceremony thanks to Cathy, and something we will remember and cherish forever!
    Thanks again Cathy!
    -Tyler & Jeni

    Sent on 08/26/2015
  • User6098022 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cathy made our day easy and stress-free!! She was very accommodating and performed the ceremony exactly like my husband and I imagined it!!

    Sent on 12/28/2015
  • A

    Ashley · Married on 11/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Cathy do our wedding. When planning she went over a lot of different options and gave us good ideas. She did a bilingual wedding for us that turned out beautiful. Cathy put a lot of time and effort into our wedding ceremony and it showed. We wanted a simple wedding and Cathy added small details that made the ceremony amazing. I will definitely be recommending Cathy to everyone I know.

    Sent on 11/19/2014
  • A

    Alicia · Married on 09/06/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were wanting a small special wedding that we could put together quickly. Cathy did a wonderful job with meeting our needs and being flexible with our time restraints. We had the wedding at her property which was beautiful. Cathy took photos for us as well and they turned out great. It was the perfect wedding and we cannot thank Cathy enough for allowing that to happen!

    Sent on 09/10/2014
  • L

    Laurie · Married on 08/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfect is the first thing that comes to our mind when we think of our wedding that Cathy Bolkcom had for us. There isn't 1 thing that we would change, Cathy was so calming when the nervousness began to set in. Cathy helped us from beginning to end, being from Ohio we didn't have any idea of who or where to have the wedding. We found Cathy and she suggested "The Land" which is at her home. What an amazing setting, we would highly recommend having your wedding there. I would highly recommend Cathy for your special day

    Sent on 09/02/2014
  • User4258049 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We want to say thank you for all your service , and for helping us for make our dreams come true. Thanks for being so helpful, kind and friendly. We and our friends very much enjoyed sharing with you during our time at your house. And we hope you continue helping our community by organizing many weddings. Thank you!

    Sent on 07/18/2014
  • L

    Laura · Married on 06/30/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cathy did an amazing job of officiating at our wedding. My husband and I were getting married at a location where neither of us lived and Cathy was always flexible in communicating with us online and meeting us when we were able to visit the wedding site. Neither my husband nor I had met Cathy before we asked her to officiate, but she developed such a unique service and talk for our ceremony that many of our friends who we've known for years said they felt like they knew us even better after she performed our ceremony. It was such a personal ceremony and really fit us. Cathy allowed us to design the ceremony as well, picking our own readings and unity ceremony/verse. She also provided some great suggestions for us which turned out very meaningful to our family. I had so many complements on our wedding ceremony and Cathy's talk.

    She was also very helpful during the rehearsal to keep things moving and make sure everyone knew what they were doing. From the flower girl to my husband and I, we were all prepared for the big day.

    Sent on 07/31/2014
  • A

    Amy · Married on 06/28/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Cathy’s Calm: by Steve and Amy Blair
    Wed on: 6.28.14



    Cathy is a family friend, so we knew we wanted her as our Wedding Officiant. Her abilities as a calming and wise influence really showed, and impacted our entire experience with her. I tend to be very nervous about most things. But Cathy had a way of settling our nerves. She gave me her hand and said, “Here. Put your worries in my hand.” I will never forget that.

    Therefore we had no worries going into an excellent ceremony officiated by Cathy. She told Steve’s and my story. She united us.

    Sent on 07/08/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review