Catholic Weddings Out of the Pews Reviews

45 | Summerville, SC
See photos, pricing and details

45 Reviews for Catholic Weddings Out of the Pews

Recommended by 99% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

45

11 User photos

Order by:
  • K

    Kaitlyn · Married on 03/03/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Father Bob was great!! He made our big day perfect and went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and special! We got tons of compliments on his wonderful ceremony!! Thanks so much, Father Bob!!

    Sent on 03/07/2017
  • K

    Kristi · Married on 08/27/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We planned a destination wedding on the beach in Charleston and Fr. Bob came highly recommended by our venue and wedding planner. It was important for us to be married by a priest. We met with him approximately 6 months before the ceremony and discussed things. Fr. Bob was a joy from the moment we met. He performed a beautiful ceremony. It was everything we hoped for!

    Sent on 09/08/2016
  • K

    Kevin · Married on 06/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Father Bob is amazing. He has a warmth and charisma that instantly makes him part of your family. He accommodated a very complex set of needs with me living out of state, and both my wife's and my own schedules being crazy. His ability to bring faith and God to the venue was critical. And he was supportive and humorous when we were stressed or nervous.

    Sent on 07/10/2016
  • User6587473 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Father Bob made our daughter's wedding a perfect celebration of the Holy Sacrament of Marriage.
    Our daughter was able to have the spiritual component of her wedding in the venue of her choice. Not only was it exactly the kind of ceremony our daughter and her husband dreamed of, the guests were impressed with the ceremony and Father Bob's message of love and grace.

    Sent on 04/12/2016
  • User4888189 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was wonderful working with Father Bob! He was so personable, kind, funny and dedicated to making sure that our ceremony went exactly how we wanted it to go. Our guests have not stopped raving about him! We would DEFINITELY recommend using Father Bob as an officiant! He is awesome!

    Sent on 04/14/2016
  • M

    MJ · Married on 04/09/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We live in France and wanted to get married here while visiting with my best friend here in Summerville. Getting married in a Catholic Church proved complicated because of all the paperwork required, the approval of the Diocese, and the short timeline we were constrained by. Father Bob was a God Sent! He was personable, friendly, and very entertaining. He not only performed our wedding ceremony in my friend's beautiful garden, but he also baptized my 2 y.o right after!!
    My husband and I were very pleased with him! All of those in attendance were filled with emotions due to the beautiful ceremony Father Bob performed. We will forever be grateful for him and the priceless service he offers ... Catholic weddings w/o all the restrictions of the "traditional Church".
    Gina & JB

    ORIGINAL REVIEW IN FRENCH: nous venions de France et nous voulions être mariés par un prêtre catholique pendant notre séjour à summerville. Mais cela était compromis car tous les prêtres catholiques que mon amie (habitante sur place) trouvés , demandaient une préparation, organisation et des papiers qui étaient très compliqués pour nous. Heureusement que nous avons trouvé ce prêtre catholique parfait pour nous. À l'écoute et en toute simplicité, il s'est déplacé au domicile de mon amie et nous a marié dans le jardin comme nous le souhaitons. De plus il a baptisé notre fils à la suite de la cérémonie de mariage. C'était magnifique avec beaucoup d'émotions ! Merci encore!

    Sent on 05/08/2016
  • H

    Heather · Married on 04/08/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were delighted to have Fr. Bob as a central part of our special day. He gave us the exact ceremony we wanted and was well loved by not only is but our guests as well.

    Sent on 04/19/2016
  • W

    Willdea · Married on 11/27/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Father Bob was a great part of our wedding. He performed a Catholic ceremony and he came to outperform venue. Spice our first meeting, he guided us through the entire process. He provided excellent professional and personal services, giving us advice and needed and necessary.
    He was very accommodating and he included all the details we wanted in our ceremony. It was absolutley perfect for us :)
    We highly recommend his services to all couples who want to have a their marriage blessed and a Catholic ceremony that fits you.

    Sent on 12/22/2015
  • User5565004 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Father Bob was awesome, from help with preparing and discussing things to last mintute Date changes, Father Bob handled everything with unsurpassed professionalism, confidence, wonderful charm and humor. He preformed our wedding at White points garden in the gazebo a wonderful place to get married.
    For me, Father Bob was the prefect angel to have preformed my wedding. Loved his southern charm, wonderful smile, white hair, blue eyes with a huge smile. Would highly recommend him for any Wedding.

    Sent on 10/28/2015
  • P

    Patricia · Married on 10/05/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our daughter and her fiance wanted to be married in the church and not at the reception venue. We were finally able to locate a Catholic church where this was possible, however the wedding is subject to the approval of the Charleston diocese. The bride & groom were required to take various classes & garner the approval from their resident diocese. They sent out their invitations one they had approval only to find out that the preparation of the packet would take 8 weeks, and once it was received in Charleston it would take another 3 to 4 weeks with no guarantee that it would also be approved by the Roman Catholic diocese in Charleston. This brought the time line right up to the wedding date. The church informed us that they would be unable to marry the couple without local diocese approval. This couple still wanted a church wedding, we were desperate. Our wedding planner came to the rescue by suggesting Father Bob. Father Robert OConnel saved the day. A kind and gentle man with great sense of humor who finds his calling in helping others. Help us he did, he suggested a beautiful historic chapel downtown. Due to the historic flooding from hurricane Joaquin that weekend, churches in Charleston were closing their doors, vendors were cancelling a they were unable to make it to venues. Summerville where Father Bob lives suffered even more due to the flood waters. We were unsure we would even be able to access the venue. Father Bob simply stated that he was high and dry and he would be there, wherever that may be as that is what plans B & C are for. Fortunately the skies cleared enough that we proceeded as planned, well until another unnatural disaster happened ... The dress. The ceremony was delayed a half hour, during which time Father Bob entertained the guests. Everyone raved about him, they loved him as much as we did. He was a hit at the reception too. I can't say enough good things about him, because this space is limited to only so many character

    Sent on 10/15/2015
  • V

    VanessA · Married on 09/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We live out of state so did the majority of our communicating with Father Bob via phone or email. He was quick to respond and helpful in making our ceremony unique to us. Father Bob came to our rehearsal and was invaluable to us and our bridal party. We absolutely loved having Father Bob perform our wedding ceremony and spend the evening at our reception. We highly recommend him to be apart of your special day.

    Sent on 10/04/2015
  • H

    Hilary · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Father Bob help make our wedding unforgettable. He was always available for guidance and comfort. Since Father Bob is a member of the American Catholic Church, we were able to get married without all the traditional rules. He performed a wonderful outdoor ceremony for us employing a mix of reverence with a touch of humor. I would highly recommend him and his services for anyone looking.

    Sent on 10/18/2015
  • User3686646 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We love working wit Father Bob! He is awesome!

    Sent on 04/19/2016
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 10/10/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My family has been members of his church, St. Padre Pio, in Summerville, SC for a few years now and as soon as I met Father Bob, I knew I wanted him to officiate our special day. His love for all people is immeasurable and all at our wedding could attest. Father Bob has the most positive and infectious personality that made our nerves calm and we were able to soak in all of the sweet moments as we said our vows. Father Bob attended the rehearsal as well as reception as he blessed our food that we served. I would certainly recommend for all those who are looking for a officiant who is nonjudgmental and will open his heart to you as he does for all! Thank for Father Bob!

    Sent on 10/05/2015
  • User5493842 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Working with Father Bob was a true pleasure. From the moment that my finance (now wife) and I met him during the planning process, we knew that he was someone that we could relate to very easily. Being from out of town, we did not have a priest in the Charleston area that could preside over our wedding ceremony. Our wedding planner recommended that we reach out to Father Bob, which turned out to be one of her best suggestions. He took the time to get to know the both of us, understanding our story. We would highly recommend Father Bob for any couple in search of a down to earth, friendly, Catholic officiant for their upcoming nuptials.

    Sent on 10/04/2015
  • User4167993 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Father O’Connell left everyone from the bride to beach bystanders in awe. A beautiful ceremony with much love and a touch of humor. Everyone was so moved! Well done!

    Sent on 06/05/2018
  • E

    Emily · Married on 10/22/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Father Bob is simply amazing! He came all the way to Atlanta for my daughter's wedding after it had to be relocated due to the hurricane. He was adored by all of the guests - he was like part of the family by the end of the weekend! I cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed having him perform the ceremony. I truly, truly recommend him to anyone who is looking for an officiant. He is the best!!!!!!

    Sent on 10/31/2016
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/02/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Father Bob was a joy to work with and our guests loved the heartfelt ceremony. We would recommend him to any couple looking for a Catholic ceremony outside of the church walls.

    Sent on 09/17/2017
  • J

    judy · Married on 04/30/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fr. bob was just what my daughter and new husband wanted for their wedding. He was professional , spiritual and had the right touch of humor to make the day special. He talked by phone(we had a destination wedding) several times, understood their desires for a casual yet meaningful service, and delivered. He was flexible with the small hitches we had and added a calming touch when nerves threatened to take over!!! I cannot thank him enough for his beautiful service.

    Sent on 09/30/2015
  • K

    Kristin · Married on 04/08/2017

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Father Bob is an incredibly kind person with a warm personality. We genuinely liked him as a person and felt comfortable having him as our priest. Our guests also loved his sense of humor. :)

    Sent on 04/17/2017