Castle Hotel & Spa Reviews

31 | Tarrytown, NY
See photos, pricing and details

31 Reviews for Castle Hotel & Spa

Recommended by 97%

31
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2010 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.8
  • Average response time 4.7
Sort by:
  • S

    Joe · Married on 07/15/2007

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The most wonderful venue! A beautiful courtyard, majestic rooms, and the most attentive staff! I wish we could get married again, just to be here.

    Sent on 05/20/2008
  • C

    Carla · Married on 02/18/2012

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I had our wedding at the Castle in February this year - the venue itself was gorgeous and all our guests enjoyed the unique touches of the reception. Since it was during the winter we wanted an interior which would sparkle in candlelight and resemble traditional banquets. We had cocktails in the Great Hall, then a three course sit down dinner downstairs in the reception hall, and dancing & dessert back in the Great Hall. The spaces fit 100 guests perfectly! While planning the wedding, I was concerned with many of the details about the reception (I did not hire a wedding planner) - however, the few days preceding the day, the staff of the Castle were a tremendous resource and helped to decorate the venue exactly to order. Scott Woldman was a huge help and pleasure to work with - and helped my 92 year old Grandmother through out the evening. The venue is not cheap - but the food was amazing and worth the price. The Castle is also a reception hall which is continuously being used - however, on the day of the wedding, the attention to detail was a pleasant surprise!

    Sent on 04/29/2012
  • C

    Carol · Married on 04/30/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    LOVED this venue!! The service provided was amazing and made my day even more special than it already was. I felt like a princess :)

    Sent on 05/27/2010
  • F

    Liliana · Married on 10/18/2008

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.5

    They were wonderful to deal with. They even provided a master of ceremonies who did a great job. Half way through the organization, the person who was dealing with our wedding left the castle, and the replacement glided in seamlessly and did a great job. On the downside, they do not have a handle on the bills they issue - they issued the bill twice for the wrong amount of people attending.

    Sent on 11/18/2008
  • User3474112 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The Castle was a wonderful venue--beautiful, amazing food, wonderful work staff, all very professional. We were disappointed with the maitre-d', who was rather disorganized and not trustworthy. The wedding coordinator was also good up until the last hour and a half of our wedding, at which point she became less available, as she had already left us to plan for the next wedding of the day. With that said, we would still highly recommend the Castle, and perhaps a designated wedding planner to ensure that everything goes smoothly and according to plan.

    Sent on 06/11/2014

    Castle Hotel & Spa's reply:

    Thank you for choosing Castle Hotel & Spa for your special wedding day. While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the award-winning cuisine and spectacular setting, we want to resolve your issue with the "coordinator". However, we do not know who you are and cannot reach out to you. We encourage you to contact us so we can help put things right... Thank you.
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 10/09/2011

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Overall we were very pleased with my daughter's 10/09/11 wedding. The Castle is an exquisite venue and will satisfy any bride who dreams of being a princess for the day. The food is wonderful, the ambiance remarkable and the wait staff was exceedingly polite and professional.

    However, we had a miserable experience with their sales director. He was often rude and condescending. Although the reception rooms are magnificent, they are small. We had 88 guests; any more would have been a tight fit. It was also quite hot in both rooms. Not sure if they have airconditioning. If not, a summer wedding could be uncomfortable.

    There was no one directing the guests to the wedding site once the valets took their cars and in fact, some guests were ushered into the garden, while the wedding was being held in the Great Hall. This was difficult for some of our older guests who had difficulty walking. The staff at the reservations desk took no notice of the guests milling around the lobby.

    I would recommend this venue to brides looking for a chic, old-world venue, but they shouldn't necessarily believe that they won't have to take an interactive role in the preparations. If my daughter hadn't noticed on their website that a tasting was being held, we would have been forced to choose our menu without ever seeing or tasting a thing.

    Sent on 02/10/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review