Canyon View Reviews

20 | San Ramon, CA
See photos, pricing and details

20 Reviews for Canyon View

Recommended by 89%

20
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

4.4 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.4
  • Professionalism 4.4
  • Flexibility 4.3
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.5

9 User photos

Canyon View 1
Canyon View 2
Canyon View 3
Canyon View 4
Canyon View 5
Canyon View 6
Canyon View 7
+ 3
Sort by:
  • Angelica

    Angelica · Married on 04/26/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our Wedding

    My husband and I are honored to have experienced the pleasure of working with Canyon View and making our wedding day perfect. We had both our Ceremony and Reception there. Throughout the planning (especially during the few months prior to our wedding back in April) I've contacted them several times, almost every week but the ladies of Canyon View are so patient, nice and always so welcoming to answer our questions.

    We had a tight and busy schedule during our wedding day (with all the picture taking, the scheduled activities like guest performances, cake cutting, ect), but the Canyon View Team made sure to check up on me and my husband on anything that we need like water if we get thirsty. I appreciate it a lot.

    We received so many compliments from families and friends about our Wedding day. They loved how gorgeous the whole property is from the inside and out, the delicious food, the wonderful service and the beautiful view looking out the hills from the outside courtyard, especially during sunset.

    A big thank you again to the Canyon View team.

    Sent on 07/13/2019
    Canyon View 8
    Canyon View 9
    Canyon View 10
    Canyon View 11
    Canyon View 12
  • E

    Erika · Married on 09/10/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I got married here in September and it was absolutely gorgeous! We loved working with Saneta. She helped us so much with planning and really gave great advice on everything to do with the venue. The venue is large and was recently renovated. We are still getting comments on how beautiful the outdoor ceremony was and how great the food was! The sunset photos are amazing. The bring your own bar option also saved us tons of money. If i had to do it all over again, i'd still choose Canyon View :) Great experience!

    Sent on 01/08/2017
  • N

    Norbu · Married on 07/13/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My brother and I both had our weddings here at the Canyon View on the same weekend (7/11/14 and 7/13/14) . At first, we were a little worried that two weddings at the same venue could turn out to be boring, repetitive and familiar since both of us had a lot of common guests attending both our weddings. After we talked to Saneta, we were not only sure that this wouldn't be the case but it would turn out to be two awesome weddings in one weekend. It's been about three weeks since the weddings, and all of us are still talking about how awesome the wedding was. Our guests are still talking about how the venue was really beautiful, the food delicious and the service - excellent!

    I highly recommend this place if you plan on getting married here. The location, the view, the parking and most importantly the Canyon View team makes for a guaranteed fun and successful wedding!!

    Sent on 07/30/2014
  • T

    Ten · Married on 07/11/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Both my brothers had their wedding reception at the Canyon View and we worked with Saneta for both weddings. She was such a pleasure to work with and unlike a lot of other wedding halls, Canyon View is super accommodating. We're Tibetans and have certain requirements for our wedding ceremonies, like bringing in our own sweets and home-made cookies to serve guests when they arrive. Saneta was so understanding and super respectful of all our needs. What more can one ask for for their wedding. The wedding planning and the weddings themselves was a huge success. Our guests complimented us on picking such a beautiful venue and was very impressed by the Canyon View staff. Even though we worked with Saneta for most of the planning, on the wedding day- we got to work with Sara and Sabrina, too, who were so friendly and sweet. Plus, we had a lovely waiting staff and bartenders (Carlos and his friend- you guys were amazing!), too. The warmth of the staff was very important since more than 50% of our guests were from out of town and we wanted the wedding to be a extension of their east bay experience. And in all honesty, for both the weddings, Canyon View staff was family!

    I would recommend Canyon View to anyone looking for a stress-free wedding. The location is beautiful, there's plenty of parking and the staff is super accommodating. I've been to dozens of weddings and have been part of planning a few other weddings for friends and family at other locations. So far this place has been the best! Thanks Saneta- you really are the bestest! And we're so happy to have gotten a chance to work with Sabrina and Sara, too (even though for a brief time, it was quite a memorable one!).

    Sent on 07/30/2014
  • S

    simona · Married on 11/02/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I love Sabera and her staff! So technically my event was not a wedding but my daughter's bat mitzvah... I have also hosted 3 other banquettes and Canyon view over the last 5 years and am now planning my younger daughter's bat mitzvah in 2015! The staff is great. The venue is gorgeous. I could not ask for a better location and more friendly people!

    Sent on 11/12/2013
  • J

    Jonas · Married on 10/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wife and I just married at this venue on October 14, 2013. The Canyon View is absolutely amazing. No additional extras required. The moment we walked in we knew this is the place for us. The view at back of the venue is picturesque and it can be used for the wedding pictures. It has a great view of the city from the high vantage point.

    The initial meeting was with Sabrina and towards the end our coordinator was Saneta. Saneta was very accommodating and paid attention to details. Everything we wanted was addressed. The food and desert was fabulous and was on time.

    If you are looking for a place with a good view, excellent service, and low cost this is it.

    Sent on 10/17/2013
  • E

    Edelee · Married on 09/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married here at this wonderful place on Sept 14, 2013. I can say that we were so glad that we picked this place for our venue because the place was awesome and Sabrina and Saneta (our venue coordinators) are beyond amazing! Words can't describe how this mother and daughter combo treated me nicely. They are very helpful and they really went above and beyond of what was expected from them.
    I came across Canyon View back in 2012 when I was looking around for a venue. We probably looked at 3 different places. Canyon View was the first one we saw and it was love at first sight. The view of the valley from the back was breathtaking and would be a nice backdrop for people who will be taking pictures but most importantly I felt an instant connection and hospitality from Saneta, who helped us from the get-go with the different options that we can choose from. She was amazing to work with! Aside from that, Canyon View was the only place we looked that offered a BYOB (bring your own bar) option. Saneta never once tried to sound like she was upselling the venue to us. She really laid out before our eyes how much we will spend if we were to choose this option from that option, how much will it be if we bring our own bar versus if we were to use their bar option. I liked that! Numbers before my eyes was great! In other words, we got a bang for our buck by choosing Canyon View. Throughout the wedding planning process I would email back and forth with Saneta or I will call them and they are very responsive. Not sure what people are saying regarding them being unorganized because I never once felt like they were. Whenever we make revisions on the contract, they will send me a revised invoice. I made sure to make notes of my requests for our final meeting based on our email exchanges. I worked with Sabrina during our final meeting and they made everything happen for me. I am truly grateful for that.
    I would recommend Canyon View!!!

    Sent on 09/24/2013
  • K

    Karen · Married on 10/12/2012

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Although not highly advertised we found this location on line and chose it as the site for our daughters recent wedding on October 12th. We wanted to do their wedding and reception in one location to utilize the time frame needed to have a wedding that
    guests can enjoy without driving to multiple locations. Except for a few requests that we made that we couldn't do ( Sabrina explained why and it made perfect sense to us) we were accommodated in every other request that was made. If the weather was going to be rainy they have a back up plan to move wedding inside. ( We know that at a local winery in Livermore, for a late set up inside it cost another 15K. Wow Canyon View has it all. The food was great . We did the buffet and many guests went back for seconds which they loved. The salmon was a big hit. They also offer a dessert buffet along with the wedding cake. Because of that we were able to take wedding cake home with us where we enjoyed it even more the next day for a family gathering.

    We would recommend 5 stars for the Canyon View Event Center... the service was outstanding, the staff so pleasant to work with, the location so easily accessible to our guests. The parking belonged only to our guests. The
    rest rooms clean and beautiful and the view absolutely spectacular. As the sun was setting the view became almost breath-taking. Our photographer had never used this location before and he didn't even have the need to take the bride and groom away to get fabulous pictures. Our daughter and new son were able to enjoy every aspect of their well planned event and told us to give it the highest review possible.

    Thank you Canyon View family for making their wedding a day to remember for all of us.

    Ray and Karen Paladichuk ( parents of the bride)
    Melissa and Sean Keel ( bride and groom)

    Sent on 04/23/2013
  • R

    Regina · Married on 09/25/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Mark and I got married here September 25th 2011. Yes this is lonng overdue, but never too late to write a review especially if there are such great memories and words to say.
    Sabera and Alex were so helpful throughout the whole year of planning! Whether it was a phone call, or an email... I always got a reply right away! If we needed to come in for some reason, they were always available! Basically communication is the key to the wedding of your dreams. And that's exactly how I felt on our big day....
    Everything was perfect when we arrived, just like we planned...from the tables, flowers, colors, chairs, bar, food, cocktail hour, lighting... she even made sure I was on schedule if I was running behind for cake cutting! Found my husband when we were taking group pictures.... =) Definitely above and beyond what I expected.
    Now for the venue.... this place has everything you can ask for...
    -a beautiful back area to get married at with a wonderful view
    -a menu to choose from buffet or sit down prices vary of course
    -dance floor
    -fire place
    -area to get ready
    -own servers
    -own bartenders
    what more can you ask for? the list goes on and on! If you are planning on getting married, I strongly recommend this venue! Happy planning!

    Sent on 06/17/2013
  • E

    Erika · Married on 07/23/2011

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My wedding has come and gone, and boy was it a success! The venue is just beautiful. Sabrina was so flexible throughout the planning and even on the wedding day. I'm sure I pushed her buttons a few times, but she always responded with a smile. She may come off as rude, but she really isn't!!! I have so much respect for her because the venue has events every weekend, imagine all the people she has to interact with especially crazy brides (i wasn't one myself). Its difficult to keep within policies which are set to preserve the venue as well as abide within the law. Be nice to her, it'll help you a long way.

    Throughout the planning, I contacted Canyon View both by phone and email. When I say I contacted, I mean 5 to 6 times a week, a little too much you think? Well both Alex and Sabrina were SO welcoming to our questions.

    Our guest to this day, still talk about how gorgeous the view was, the delicious buffet (prime rib, yum!), our open bar (they allow you to bring your own) and the venue itself. The place is spacious enough, we had 250 people, so there was a lot of room to move around.

    When you book, make sure you know what you want. They are straight to the point with how much everything will cost so there aren't any hidden fees.

    Compared to other venues in San Ramon, you will get more bang for your buck here.

    I love this place! Thanks for making my wedding day dreams come true!

    Sent on 12/21/2011
  • J

    Jinny · Married on 10/20/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Canyon view was a great venue to have both our ceremony and reception! The views of the San ramon hills were exceptional and the weather was actually perfect for our fall wedding. The reception itself is huge! We had a little over 200 guests and you can't even tell. There was still a lot of room to walk around, no tables were crammed next to each other. Don't need to decorate much Bc the place itself is beautiful! Saneta and her team were great from start to finish! Everything on our wedding day was close to perfect!

    Sent on 11/03/2017
    Canyon View 13
    Canyon View 14
    Canyon View 15
    Canyon View 16
  • B

    Brandi · Married on 07/24/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding is 2 months away but our venue so far has been fantastic. Very quick to respond to questions and very accommodating. The venue menu tasting and vendor fair was awesome with lots of great vendors and the menu had a lot of options. We have another meeting scheduled for next month to confirm all the details and make our final selections. I'm extremely happy with our venue and would suggest them to anyone.

    Sent on 05/25/2015
  • M

    Maureen · Married on 01/04/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I recently had my wedding here at Canyon View. I was skeptical on having any wedding in January due to the weather, but I must say, that I had the most beautiful and perfect wedding! First, Canyon View is a wonderful venue and since it is a family business you definitely feel that family vibe vs the typical corporate setting place. With that being said, Saneta and Sabrina were very helpful with customizing my special day. We had over 300 guests that fit comfortably...amazing location with the best view in San Ramon, beautiful settings and a very professional staff! We had a buffet style dinner which was perfect. My husband and I come from Islander cultural backgrounds so food is the most important thing at weddings. The FOOD WAS AMAZING!!! It was not typical wedding food - you could tell the food was made with love. In addition, they welcomed us bringing in our own additional cultural food. Overall, Canyon View is definitely a place that left a great impression on our guests and we hope to use them for any future events!

    Sent on 01/17/2014
  • Valerie

    Valerie · Married on 04/06/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Facility:

    Canyon View has a beautiful view, ample parking, and the interior designs and lighting make for a gorgeous wedding reception. The bathrooms were clean, and the chairs, tables, linen, etc. were all in good quality.

    Food:

    We selected the buffet option, with prime rib and salmon as the two main dishes. My wife and I were both happy with how the food tasted, and then became even more pleased as we received positive feedback from several guests and family members afterward.

    Service:

    Even though we selected the buffet option, we had requested for our parents and grandparents to remain seated (while the other guests stood in line) and be served during dinner. This specific request was fulfilled. The servers also fulfilled our other specific request to go around to each table during dinner with wine that we had brought in ourselves and serve those guests who wanted wine with their meals.

    General Advice:

    Be organized and very specific on your end (either you, if you are doing the planning, or your wedding coordinator/planner) with all the agreed on details and requests. My wife and I went as far as to draw up a specific blue print of the event center with the exact placement of each table and exactly how many adults, child, and infants we wanted at each table. We sat down with Sabrina, the manager, and went over exactly what we wanted, and double and even triple checked to ensure there were no misunderstandings on ALL the details. Sabrina is very accommodating, helpful with her experience managing the facility, and easy to work with. I think some of the not-so-favorable ratings/comments may have been due to miscommunication and misunderstanding with Sabrina. So please be clear, concise, and follow up with what you want your event to be like. Sabrina will work with you. But you/your coordinator need to be on the ball both before the event and on the day of.

    Sent on 04/23/2013
  • Kathleen

    Kathleen · Married on 06/20/2009

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sabera was easy to work with and she had a lot of contacts that could assist with the wedding in general. THe day of seemed to go smoothly and she was there to answer any questions.

    Sent on 06/29/2009
  • A

    Alexandria · Married on 06/28/2014

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    We had out father's 100th birthday party here at, Canyon View and we could not have been any happier. Not only is the venue it's self GORGEOUS, especially at night, but the service we received was wonderful. Planning a party of such meaning meant at of indecisive decision and Saneta was there to not only put up with our changes she even helped by making suggestions that added a great touch to the event. The food was excellent, the servers were friendly and helpful, especially to our elderly guest, and the bartender was amazing! Mexican parties are usually big, loud and very festive with dancers, mariachi band and loud music and Canyon View went above and beyond to make sure not a thing was left out and that we were well accommodated.

    The party was a compete success and as mentioned before we could not have been happier else where. We picked the perfect spot to commemorate our Fathers special day. I still have friends and family to this day complimenting me on what a elegant party we had. In 3 my husband and I will be celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, another big event. I'm looking forward to working with Saneta & Sabrina once again to plan our perfect day!!

    Sent on 07/24/2014
  • Evelyn

    Evelyn · Married on 04/28/2012

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Great view! My guest loved it, good parking space and the place looks so elegant

    Sent on 05/13/2013
  • F

    Fouad · Married on 08/03/2019

    1.6
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Sabrina has the worst customer service of anyone you will ever deal with. I'll keep it brief you can go to yelp for a full explanation. If you ask for anything favor like coming in after 3pm they will use that against you like they're doing you a favor. If you show up 5mins late they will hold it against you. Every email you sent they will use it against you. If you say 1 bad thing against them they will call you a liar. And if you try to negotiate, or work around anything they will literally reply with "If you dont like it what are we wasting our time for". They only want to do business if it is easy for them. In all my venue searching and talking I have never dealt with such terrible individuals

    Sent on 07/08/2018
  • A

    Angel · Married on 10/09/2016

    0.6
    • Quality of service:
      0.5
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      0.5
    • Flexibility:
      0.5
    • Professionalism:
      0.5

    We just had our wedding in here early October. The venue is beautiful, without doubt, inside and outside. Everything is nice with a big parking lot. However, Sabrina at Canyon view did her best to ruin my mood on the wedding day. She is truly terrible!

    1. $15k does not even include a spoon, wine glass, cocktail glass. The chiavari chair is an upgrade. The red one is $4/each but the white or silver one is $12/each because they want everyone to rent the red one to match their new hardwood floor. I rather you say $17k and includes all the necessary utensils.

    2. The cake cutting was another fee. However, after we cut the cake. My groomsman have to ask Sabrina a few times before they take our cake to slice it. But they didn't pass it to each table, instead they just throw it in the back of the venue -_-

    3. On the contract, it says we have a coordinator on site. However, on the wedding day, Sabrina disappeared most of the time. When she appears, she was to give us troubles or just sitting there and play with her phone.

    4. Our florist told Sabrina that they left some new folded boxes in the bridal suite so that I can take the centerpieces flower home. Sabrina FAILED to let us know when we were packing. Until the next day, I told my florist that I feel so sad tossing all my flowers, she said that she told Sabrina about the boxes! If Sabrina doesn't like her job, why didn't she just tell the florist to talk to me?

    5. During the wedding, the bartender told Sabrina that we are almost run out of soda. My friend was there to witness it. Sabrina just said "I don't care, not my business." Okay...I know whatever we bring in, you won't touch it, but why not say it in a more polite way?
    Overall this is a very beautiful venue. However the service was terrible! One of my guest said she really likes the place and was going to book for her wedding. I stopped her. I strongly recommend people DO NOT book this venue.

    Sent on 10/21/2016

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review