21 Reviews for Cakeland Designs

4.3
out of 5.0
Sort by:

5.0

I wanted a wedding cake that was pretty and delicious, one that guests actually ate and enjoyed. I got all of that from Cakeland. Instead of having one big cake, we had a cake table with several small cakes. I was overjoyed at how lovely the little cakes looked, and everyone at our party complimented us at how delicious they tasted. I grew up in Puerto Rico and having some flavors of the island was important to me. Among our different flavors, Amy made us a cake with homemade mango filling, made from the mangoes in her grandmother's garden. It was beautiful and delicious and a detail that I will never forget.

Profile Picture Madeline, 12/30/15, 7 Reviews
Category: Wedding Cake
1.2

I found this vendor on wedding wire, I sent her an email and some reference pics of cakes, she contacted me within reasonable time, a day or two. She gave me a quote of $375, I sent her a money order per her request because it was the only form of payment she accepted, she acknowledged the receipt of the money order and then she proceeded to sketch some cake designs, I then get an email telling me that her messenger lost 5 money order including mine and if i had the receipt and of course i did, she said she had the insight into usps and if I went to the post office they would issue me a new one. We'll it wasn't that easy I went to the post office, filled out a money order inquiry form paid $6.10 processing fee and let her know, that it would take 60 days she said ok, we continued working on the sketches and she sent me the contract and made some upgrades on the sketches because of the inconvenience of the money order, well I asked her to make some changes to the contract to reflect the $6.10 from the fee from the post office and after that i sent her about 3 emails within 3 days and didn't hear from her, finally I get an email from her saying that she couldn't give me the customer service that I needed and she was cancelling the cake order and would mail me the $6.10 sorry for any inconvenience, well now I have to find another cake vendor and come up with another deposit cause I'm out $187.50 from the money order and that it will take 60 days to get my money back and that's if I'll get my money back, I don't trust that she didnt cash that money order. I don't recommend this vendor or trust her. Totally unprofessional! She should've stood by this cake order, it was her irresponsibility that "lost" the money order in the 1st place.

Profile Picture jissell, 7/10/15, 2 Reviews
Category: Wedding Cake
4.6

I received a great cake with good design and good flavor.

Profile Picture L, 12/12/14, 4 Reviews
Category: Wedding Cake
5.0

Amy was very responsive and easy to work with, she even sent us cake samples which was a major plus! She took my ideas into consideration and gave us sketches of the final product to be sure we were happy with the design. The final product was just how we envisioned and very tasty.
Would highly recommend!

Profile Picture Aaqila, 5/25/14, 5 Reviews
Category: Wedding Cake
5.0

Wonderfully done and delicious! Amy is so talented and so easy to work with. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Profile Picture Leire, 1/4/14, 4 Reviews
Category: Wedding Cake
5.0

Thank You Amy for such a beautiful and delicious cake. She did just what I was expecting and more! Everyone loved the cupcakes!!! Highly recommended!

Profile Picture Liza, 12/29/13, 4 Reviews
Category: Favors & Gifts, Wedding Cake
5.0

Beautiful cake and it taste amazing! Best cake ever!

Profile Picture Alexandra , 10/19/13, 7 Reviews
Category: Favors & Gifts, Wedding Cake
3.8

My cake was by Amy Cabrero of Cakeland Designs. I also did not have a ton of vision here with the cake. I told her clean and modern and have at it. We discussed some designs and sketches when we sat together and the end cake was pretty, if not the best looking cake I’d ever seen, and not really anything like the drawings she had shown me. Like I said, not a big deal to me. I will say that the sugar flowers were beautiful and the cake tasted AMAZING. Super moist and flavorful! So, I was happy with that!

Profile Picture Kim, 6/15/13, 8 Reviews
Category: Wedding Cake
4.8

Amy was wonderful!!! I was planning a wedding and balancing my job during an extremely hectic time for the organization. Because of this, my time for wedding planning was limited and I was so behind in approving designs. But Amy was patient, she gave me several options and even mix and matched designs I liked from a collection of designs. She sent me samples and gave suggestions to add that special touch.

I didn't want a traditional cake but did the cupcake tower and small cake on top. It looked great, tasted yummy and EVERYONE was raving about them. I am very much a person that pays attention to details and very specific about what I want. Amy met my expectations and then some. I would definitely recommend Amy.

Profile Picture User1254606, 2+ years ago, 5 Reviews
Category: Wedding Cake
2.7

The cake looked great, but tasted dry and flavorless. Amy sent samples via mail, which were slightly dry but I thought that was just because they were shipped from Puerto Rico to the U.S. Not so - the actual cake was even drier and less tasty. The design was easy, however, as I wanted something similar to one she had already done and had on her website - she definitely delivered on presentation.

The main issue I had (other than the dryness) was that Amy wouldn't make changes to the cake after 2 months before the wedding - who knows their final headcount 2 months out? She also wouldn't grant my request to have a small cake for presentation plus an additional sheet cake to feed guests (which I wanted to do because I figured that would taste better). She was also not terribly responsive as it got closer to the wedding - she never let me know if we were all set with the cake so I had to have my planner call her, but in the end it got there on time and looked great.

If you want great presentation but don't care about taste, I'd recommend Amy. Otherwise, look elsewhere.

Profile Picture User1571760, 2+ years ago, 9 Reviews
Category: Wedding Cake
5.0

This cake was great. We had a destination wedding and she even sent us samples of cake to try before we chose a cake flavor. She worked with us to get a perfect design which was exactly what we were looking for. She had the cake ready for our reception well before we arrived. Amy was wonderful and would definitely recommend her services to anyone!

Profile Picture Felicity, 6/25/11, 5 Reviews
Category: Wedding Cake
5.0

Amy's cakes were delicious and beautifully made. She was so attentive as to what my vision and budget was. She was pleasure to work with!!

Profile Picture Lisa, 6/18/11, 4 Reviews
Category: Wedding Cake
3.9

I agree with a previous bride: the cakes are beautifully decorated but my guests were not impressed with the taste of the chocolate and vanilla as it seems like they turned out pretty dry. Her moist pound cake and carrot cake seem to be her better flavors. Unfortunately, the top tier of the cake was slightly crooked, which, probably happens a lot with baked good in PR's humid weather.

Profile Picture Aurea, 2/20/11, 5 Reviews
Category: Wedding Cake
4.4

Amy worked with me to develop a design that incorporated elements from our invitation. The cake was onderful to look at and eat!

Profile Picture Heather, 11/13/10, 5 Reviews
Category: Wedding Cake
3.4

Cakeland designs was recommended through my wedding planner. I checked out their website and they have very beautiful cakes. I was excited and knew I wanted one of those. I had emailed them a picture of what I would like, which was a one tier cake with my colors worked in and flowers atop the cake. I was given a quote for $160 and it was for a cake that would serve up to 18 people. According to the website information from what I calculated it should have been half that price at $5.00 a serving for a wedding cake. I had suggested to pay them through pay-pals rather than sending a money order through the mail that would have taken over a week to receive and because of that they have to pay a fee which they put on me for the extra $4 which I thought was not the best business move. However, cutting it at the smallest pieces possible there was 16 servings. It was a very small 6 inch round all white cake with fondant and a couple of flowers on it. It was very professional looking with a wonderful presentation. I could have gotten passed the price and size of the cake; BUT I was surprised because when we finally ate the cake I was very disappointed, it taste like slightly moist cornbread cake with a lemon type cream holding the fondant on. I could not believe that this pretty cake wasn’t as equally tasteful. Although my husband did like the cake and we did save a piece to eat on our one year anniversary, I think I would have rather bought a huge cake for $40 from Sams club that would have had a better taste. Sorry but if you are looking for presentation only, I think they would do fine.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Andrea, 8/6/10, 3 Reviews
Category: Wedding Cake
4.7

I live in Chicago but was planning a wedding in Puerto Rico. I did some research online and when I saw Amy's cakes, I knew I wanted her to do our wedding cake! She was able to coordinate everything via e-mail which was so helpful. I sent her a picture of a cake that I really liked, and she asked if I wanted it to be exactly like that or if she could do an interpretation of it in her own style. Her version was even better than the original! The only reason that I did not give her a perfect 5/5 is because it took a really long time to get the samples by mail (the first time she sent the incorrect flavors), but the final product was perfection!

Profile Picture Lindsey, 7/24/10, 2 Reviews
Category: Wedding Cake
1.6

This situation was by far the most disappointing. She was recommended by my wedding planner. When she responded to my first email and call it took one week. When I reached out to her 3-4 months before the wedding it always took a week or more to get even an acknowledgment of my messages. The only reason I still went with her was because of the planner. However, the planner later regretted that.

After we paid the deposit and less than 2 months before the wedding, Amy went radio silent until about 2-3 weeks before the wedding. We still didn't have a design. It was so bad my planner had to stalk her and threaten going with another vendor. I was so upset because the design was rushed, I didn't get the cake I really wanted. DO NOT use Amy!

Profile Picture Tiffany, 6/6/10, 9 Reviews
Category: Wedding Cake
5.0

Amy Cabrero & the staff @ Cakeland Designs provided us with the most beautiful cake for our wedding! She took our vision and created something beyond our dreams. It was simply perfect. She provided excellent professionalism with a touch of heart. We STRONGLY recommend her to any couple looking for a baker. At the last minute she added something to our cake when our cake topper was discontinued. The monogram she created was perfect!

She will undoubtedly go the extra mile to make sure you have your dreams come true. Thanks Amy for all you did!!! We still talk about it.

Jesmar & Bryan Hungria

Profile Picture User706258, 2+ years ago, 5 Reviews
Category: Wedding Cake
5.0

Cakeland Designs was a dream to work with. From the first email to the final Amy (the owner/baker/designer) was very prompt in terms of responding to emails as well as sending us our cake samples (we had her send samples from PR to NYC, and yes they were fresh). I loved the convenience of paying for samples as well as our initial deposit through paypal, which seems like a rarity when dealing with other wedding vendors. The ease of payment was great! The first time I tasted the cake samples I knew we were going with Cakeland, there were a few other samples that we were waiting to receive, however I was sure those wouldn't measure up, and after tasting the samples we confirmed that they did not. Not only are the cakes delicious but the designs are impeccable. The designer pays so much attention to detail, and you've got to love that! Our wedding guests loved the cake, and I must say I missed out on tasting the armaretto layer of our cake :(, but the pieces I were able to taste were divine. I adore Amy, and am grateful for all she did to make my wedding day a dream come true!

Profile Picture Brie, 4/15/10, 1 Review
Category: Wedding Cake
5.0

Amy created a beautiful and creative cake for my wedding. She was very professional and gave wonderful ideas. She went above and beyond and even mailed cake samples to my home when I told her I was unable to attend a tasting. We had endless praise about the cake design and the taste. You can not go wrong working with Amy!

Profile Picture Valerie, 1/2/10, 5 Reviews
Category: Wedding Cake
4.2

I had a specialty cake.....and it was simply beautiful. However, it was not tasty at all. It was very dry. I would recommend her if you are looking for a show piece.

Thanks,
L. Jean & Douglas: Washington, DC
11/21/09

Profile Picture Jean, 11/21/09, 5 Reviews
Category: Wedding Cake