Weddings

By Sandy Mendez Reviews

By Sandy Mendez

By Sandy Mendez

Playa del Carmen, MX
Rating 5.0 out of 5, 17 Reviews
View more information

17 Reviews

Rated
5.0
out of 5.0
Recommended by 100% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 5 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 5 out of 5

Awards

  • 17
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2022 Winner
  • WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2020 Winner

39 User photos

Sort by:
  • Erin
    Erin M. Married on 12/19/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Don't hesitate- book with sandy!

    Sandy is INCREDIBLE!

    First off, we had to postpone our wedding twice, which was stressful, but Sandy was our most responsive, kind, and patient, and helpful vendor. Sandy was so accommodating through all the planning, and through my trial the day before our wedding. She took my notes on my trial style and the included restyle and revised them perfectly to create the most beautiful wedding day hair.

    I have naturally curly/frizzy hair (and like to hide it!!) and was very worried about the humidity in Mexico. My hair stayed perfect ALL DAY- through a beach front ceremony, through rain, and through insane wind. Literally did not budge- my husband was astonished. Sandy is truly a wizard.

    Last but not least, all my bridesmaids and my mom looked amazing. I have stood up in 6 other weddings and this was the first time I have seen everyone like their hair. My mom has thin hair and Sandy was able to create a beautiful style that looked so full and modern too.

    Overall, hiring Sandy was the best decision I made.
  • Y
    Yvonne M. Married on 11/13/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The most beautiful I have ever felt!

    Finding a MUA and hair person for my destination wedding seemed impossible until I found Sandy and her team! They handled my large bridal party of 13 gracefully and seamlessly! My hair and makeup was on point!!!! And so was everyone else’s!! I don’t have all my wedding pics yet so I only wish I could show you a photo so you envision Sandy’s (and her team’s) amazing capabilities!

    By Sandy Mendez's reply:

    Beautiful Yvonne! Thanks so much for your kind words I really appreciate them! Thanks for trusting us, it was an honor being part of your special day! I send you lots of love!
  • T
    Toniann M. Married on 05/02/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    AMAZING! If you want to look your best on your wedding day book Sandy Mendez!!

    Sandy & her team were an absolute DREAM! They listened, they cared & they delivered! I am SO HAPPY I found her on Instagram! Sandy & her glam squad were the only part of my wedding day that went smoothly & I would book her services again & again! Talented, punctual & professional! Highly recommend!!! 💛💛💛
  • K
    Kali M. Married on 01/09/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Dreams Playa Mujeres Wedding 1/9/21

    My husband and I got married at Dreams Playa Mujeres on 1/9/21. Sandy and her makeup artist Geni did our hair and makeup. Due to Covid-19 we had immediate family only attend the wedding, so they provided services for myself and the women in our families. Everyone brought inspiration pictures and Sandy and Geni completely exceeded their expectations for both hair and makeup. As for me, I am at a loss for words over how beautiful they made me look/feel on my wedding day. They paid such great attention to detail and set aside two hours for just me to make sure I had the perfect look on my wedding day. My sister in law has been in many, many weddings and at the end of the night told me how impressed she was with Sandy’s team and that she has never been in a wedding where hair and makeup paid such great attention to not only the bride but also everyone else in the wedding to make sure we were all happy. After finishing everyone’s hair and makeup they stayed at the end to do touch ups and fix anything if needed. They did not leave until everyone was completely satisfied. My hair does not do well on humidity and it is nearly impossible for me to have a good hair day while on vacation, however Sandy knows the exact products and styling tools to use and my hair didn’t move an inch on our day regardless of all the wind we had. I woke up the next morning and still had tons of volume in my hair even after sleeping on it. I am so happy I went with Sandy and her team for our wedding day and would recommend them a million times over to anyone needing hair/makeup services for any event- especially for a wedding!
  • Kusi
    Kusi P. Married on 11/07/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    WOW!! Best hairstylist I've worked with ever!

    Sandy was an absolute sweetheart and the best hair stylist I’ve ever had work on my hair. Communication wise prior to the wedding, Sandy was quick and very detailled with I appreciated. I’ve gotten my hair done multiple times for formal and special events in Los Angeles and the Bay Area in California and I loved how my hair didn’t feel extra heavy or look stiff. It looked natural, healthy & elegant, just like the inspo photos I had sent Sandy ahead of time. Her team did a great job with my bridesmaids, mother and mother in law and a guest who wanted her hair done. Everyone was filled with complements for Sandy & her team. Sandy and her team were so sweet they even left behind bobby pins and a mini hair spray bottle in case of any additional touch ups. She was punctual and provided the best input for myself and the other girls regarding our hair style choices and the weather that day. The final look was absolutely perfect and just how I imagined. I loved how she paid attention to details to make sure every strand came out perfectly. There was absolutely nothing Sandy and her team could have done differently, they were the best!
  • Jane
    Jane A. Married on 09/19/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wonderful!

    Sandy's team did an amazing job! I received so many compliments and felt absolutely gorgeous on my wedding day!
  • Lindy
    Lindy M. Married on 05/24/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Amazing Hair Stylist!

    Sandy is such a talented hair stylist! I showed her a few inspiration pictures I found on Pinterest and asked that my hair be loosely-curled, textured, low bun with a lot of volume. I have fine, thin hair so making it appear to have volume is a skill! I brought Bellami clip-in extensions for her to use and the finished product was gorgeous! It held the full day and even when it loosened with the humidity, it was still beautiful and comfortable. Sandy knows what products work well to combat the humidity and she uses the best styling tools. I was shocked that the day after my wedding, my hair didn’t feel damaged at all! She’s such a professional and so good at what she does! She’s also a very sweet woman and I loved having her with me on my special day.
  • D
    Dylana S. Married on 03/15/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    LOVED the Sandy Mendez team!!

    Sandy, Zoe & Team were one of the best parts of my wedding day. I had a huge wedding party (8 girls, plus mother of the bride, mother of the groom and grandmother of the bride), and not only did we finish getting ready early but everyone felt absolutely beautiful. My bridesmaids are still trying to figure out how to get you guys to NYC! Sandy and Zoe made sure the morning was calm, fun and that our glasses were never empty of a mimosa. I really appreciate the time they took out of the whole experience to get to know our own styles and personalities, and were able to tailor the hair and makeup from inspirational pictures to suit our own skin and hair best! Thank you so much - highly recommend this team!!
  • A
    Amy R. Married on 03/07/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Such a gem!!

    Sandy was so awesome...she came super early to get me ready for photos, and was super prepared with everything you could think of (lighting, a chair, etc.). She asked me a lot of questions to make sure she understood what I was looking for, and came up with great suggestions when I wasn't sure what I wanted. Her work is amazing & she's such a sweetheart as well!
  • Caroline
    Caroline O. Married on 02/01/2020
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    My favorite hair and makeup ever!

    Sandy, Zoe and their team are amazing. They did a trial, hair and makeup for my welcome party and then my wedding day hair and makeup along with all of my bridesmaids and moms. I showed them a few pics and described what i wanted and they nailed it. They were more than happy to make changes and try different things in the trial but i didn't even need to. Everything looked perfect for my welcome party and wedding and lasted well in the humidity. My bridesmaids agreed that it was the best hair and makeup we've ever had done. And they were super sweet and relaxing to be around on a potentially stressful day. Highly recommend them! I wish they were closer to me so i could hire them again!!!

    By Sandy Mendez's reply:

    Caroline! Hope everything went amazing on your day!!! Thanks so much for your words I truly appreciate them!!! I wish you all the love and happiness in the world!
  • A
    Adriana M. Married on 10/06/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Wedding day dreams made a reality

    Sandy and Zoe far exceeded my expectations. They made all my wedding dreams come true and I felt absolutely gorgeous on my big day. Sandy perfectly executed my vision of how I wanted my hair to look. I showed her one picture and she was able to do it perfectly. Not only that, but she added my extensions in for length and the hair held up all day despite the extreme humidity. I opted for Hollywood waves, and I have extremely straight hair, so I was amazed at how well it stayed all day.
    Zoe was just as amazing. I asked her for a modern 90’s matte look and she perfectly executed. I can’t say enough good things about both of them! Thank you so much!!!!
  • Caitlyn
    Caitlyn T. Married on 09/09/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Highly recommend booking Sandy

    As someone who is a professional wedding vendor myself (makeup artist), I was very nervous to hire someone for my hair as I have pretty high standards. I was also nervous because I live in the US and got married in Riviera Maya, and was not going to be able to do a trial. I booked Sandy after coming across her work on Instagram and really loved the glam waves she does - which is the look I wanted. I am so happy I did! She arrived to my venue early, did hair and makeup for a couple of my guests, then did my bridal hair - she absolutely crushed it! She took her time on my hair - I think about 2 hours - and styled it to perfection. I got married outside on a very hot and humid day and my hair stayed perfectly from the ceremony all the way until the end of the night -- even through down pouring rain! I'm not sure of the products of technique Sandy used to get my hair to stay perfectly (without looking hair sprayed) but she clearly knows what she is doing! Highly recommend booking her for your wedding day.
  • Crista
    Crista M. Married on 06/21/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Professional Hair Stylist

    Sandy is the best in the game!! She did my hair for my wedding day in Playa Mujeres, Mexico in JUNE and I still can't believe how it held up between the humidity, sweat, dancing, heat, etc! I have extremely thick, long hair and Sandy handled it with ease and made sure my up-do didn't budge the whole night. Since we didn't do a trial, Sandy made sure I was 100% happy and was willing to change anything. She was very accommodating, professional, and prompt to respond to e-mails throughout the whole planning process. I can't recommend her enough!
  • Marisol
    Marisol T. Married on 06/01/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    La recomiendo muchisimo

    Sandy es súper profesional y de verdad supero mis expectativas, creo el look que estaba buscando y me duro toda la noche. Mi familia que también arreglo quedaron súper contentas con su trabajo. La recomiendo ampliamente aparte de su excelente trabajo es una excelente persona
  • Soky
    Soky S. Married on 01/20/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best Hairdresser EVER!! Sandy is amazing

    Sandy is simply the best!

    I’m from California and used her services for our wedding in Playa Mujeres (Cancun). I am a makeup artist and was convinced I was going to do my own hair on our wedding day... especially because I’m so picky! Quickly then I realized I didn’t want the stress. So after searching and “interviewing” 4-5 hairdressers in the Cancun area, I knew Sandy was the one with her quick replies and when she had questions from me about my hair type and the treatments she recommended. No other hairdressers (or agencies who just book you and send whoever they have free) took the time to get to know me and my hair.

    She was flawless, professional and I was SO happy with my trail, my fun high ponytail for my welcome party AND my wedding day glam hair that did not even move with the CRAZY wind on the beach... and yes, I am crazy I wore my hair down on our wedding day ON the beach and I would do it 1000 times again with Sandy as my hairdresser. Seriously, wearing my hair down was so important to me and my hair looked flawless even at the end of the night. She also took care of 5 other women in our group with great detail (and an assistant)

    I would highly recommend Sandy to anyone and urge you to book her :)
  • E
    Esthela Married on 11/09/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Best of best

    Love the make up and hair do ... extremely professional, excellent brands. I recommend
  • C
    Courtney R. Married on 07/18/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Mrs Courtney Reid

    Sandy you made my wedding day, I am so glad I choose you as my wedding hair stylist. We all loved our hairs, and you were so efficient and professional. Thank you so much xxx