Bula Akamu Reviews

190 | Kailua Kona, HI
See photos, pricing and details

190 Reviews for Bula Akamu

Recommended by 100% of couples

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 4.9

Awards

190

28 User photos

Order by:
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 03/31/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We can't talk enough about how much we loved this guy! So friendly and accommodating! We had him for an hour, but wished we could have had him here all night serenading us!!! Our wedding music was perfect, Over the Rainbow for a processional and Ho Hey for a recessional, along with a first dance of Thinking Out Loud. He was super professional and very helpful with our event in general, I couldn't recommend him more!

    Sent on 04/11/2018
  • J

    Jimmy · Married on 03/17/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Highly recommended. Everyone at our wedding really enjoyed the entertainment and experience. It all went as planned, Perfect!!! Bula is brilliant.

    Sent on 03/30/2018
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 02/21/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bula was super helpful in working with us to refine our music selections. We really wanted traditional Hawaiian and island type vibe for the ceremony and it was exactly what we had envisioned. We received so many compliments from our guests on his amazing performance. He has a wonderful talent and helped set the perfect tone for our ceremony. He also worked with us to purchase cd's that we could provide to family as a memento of our wedding day. We highly recommend if you are looking for a musician!

    Sent on 03/24/2018
  • D

    Dawn · Married on 01/27/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I couldn't have been happier to have Bula serenade our wedding guests. He really has unbelievable talent and gives an absolutely phenomenal performance! I would highly recommend him for any event!

    Sent on 02/05/2018
  • L

    Lazia · Married on 01/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0


    Bula is an amazing & talented musician! My husband and I definitely wanted live music for our wedding. Since we were planning a destination wedding it was important for us to do our research. We listened to him on YouTube and immediately knew we had to have him! Fast forward to our wedding day – right before walking down the aisle, I heard him start singing our chosen song “Can’t help falling in love” by Elvis Presley, and I immediately felt a flurry of emotions. His voice and instrumental playing perfected the ambiance, and made my walk down the aisle forever a beautiful moment. All the songs we chose for him to perform were amazing, and we could not have hoped for a better musician that met all our expectations. He continued to play during our cocktail hour, our guests enjoyed him greatly, and even after our big day he is still talked about. Without a doubt we recommend Bula – thank you so much for adding your talent to our special day!

    Sent on 02/02/2018
  • E

    Erin · Married on 01/18/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bula was an outstanding addition to our wedding!

    Sent on 02/02/2018
  • M

    Moorea · Married on 01/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bula came highly recommended by my wedding planner. After going back and forth a bit we decided to go ahead a hire him and I am so so grateful we made the decision to do so. You truly get what you pay for and Bula was worth every penny! He had an incredible song list to choose from including recommendations for the ceremony etc. As far as the day of our wedding- he absolutely blew it out of the water! He is a stunning and powerful performer, his renditions of the songs he sings are unique and totally his own, but stay true to the essence of the original. There is nothing “cheesy” about this wedding singer, and he is incredible at what he does. He was polite, professional and easy to work with. He has a good array of his music on YouTube that you can check out that gives a good feel for his style- and after my experience I can say he is even better live! If you’re getting married or having an event on the Big Island, I don’t think you could do any better than Bula. I received so many compliments on his performance after our wedding!

    Sent on 02/03/2018
  • R

    ron · Married on 12/29/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We highly recommend! we hired Bula to perform during the ceremony, the cocktail hour and the dinner hour. We also hired hula dancers and lei greeters thru Bula. We wanted someone who could play slack key guitar, sing falsetto / Hawaiian style and also play nice stuff like norah jones during dinner hour... Bula exceeded all of our expectations, was easy to work with and most of our guests commented later how good he was. Highly recommend, worth every penny!

    Sent on 01/12/2018
  • K

    Kylee · Married on 11/17/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Someone who does it all! Hawaiian music, reggae, pop, rock, anything! He can do it! He is very talented! Could not have been more happy to have him sing and play ukulele/guitar at our wedding!

    Sent on 03/13/2018
  • M

    Matthew · Married on 11/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bula was the perfect complement to our wedding vow renewal at beautiful Kukio Beach. If you want to add music to your ceremony or celebration, simply contact Bula, and he will do his best to make it happen no matter where you are in Hawaii!

    Sent on 11/12/2017
  • C

    Crystal · Married on 11/02/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bula's gift of music is truly a blessing! He made our wedding so much more special with the true authenticity of Hawaiian songs!

    Sent on 02/02/2018
  • E

    Erin · Married on 10/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bula was amazing! He played for our ceremony and half of our reception and everyone loved him. He also gave us an autographed cd which was great. We highly recommend him!

    Sent on 02/11/2018
  • A

    Ami · Married on 09/23/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was married in September at The Royal Kona Resort. Bula was our musician for the ceremony, and he did not disappoint. He played an instrumental version of a song for us, and it was beautiful, as was all of his music. I had seen videos of him playing at weddings, but they did not prepare us for how wonderful his music would really be.

    Sent on 10/11/2017
  • Martha

    Martha · Married on 08/25/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Outstanding to work with and such a great talent

    Bula played at my son’s wedding and his talent added so much to the day. In addition he provided a sound system for the officiant, a conch blower for the ceremony and hula dancer for the cocktail hour. Loved working with such a great professional team.

    Sent on 12/20/2019
  • J

    Josh · Married on 08/19/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bula was amazing! I'll admit we had high expectations after reading the reviews and watching Bula's videos, and yet he managed to exceed our expectations. We could not have been happier to have Bula performing at our wedding ceremony. Our ceremony was perfect and Bula was such a big part of that... we cannot recommend him highly enough. Bula is the real deal! Mahalo again Bula!!

    Sent on 09/11/2017
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 08/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bula is an incredible musician

    Sent on 08/27/2017
  • K

    Kelsey · Married on 07/28/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bula was an absolute dream to work with. My husband and I live in Virginia and coordinated the whole event with him over the phone and through email. He was super responsive and always said yes to our crazy and different ideas. He even flew in from a different island. He truly made our wedding day the best day ever, and we couldn't imagine it without him!

    Sent on 10/27/2017
  • J

    Jazmin · Married on 07/27/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    On behalf of my husband and I we would like to thank Bula very much for share w us in our special day !., you were amazing..

    Sent on 02/07/2018
  • Q

    Qiana · Married on 07/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bula is a professional and amazing musician!!! If you are looking for someone for your wedding, he is the perfect choice!

    Sent on 10/27/2017
  • H

    Hugh · Married on 07/14/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bula played at our wedding in Hawaii, in July 2017. Everything about the experience was excellent. Very responsive communication from the beginning, we had him learn and play a special song for us, and his music perfectly complemented the rest of our wedding.

    Sent on 10/29/2017
  • K

    Kevin · Married on 07/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bula's music is incredible and he was smiling the entire time! He helped to make our wedding day absolutely amazing!

    Kevin Maris

    Sent on 08/22/2017
  • A

    Adam · Married on 07/07/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    For this being the best day of our lives, we picked the best of the best. Thank you so much BULA! I must tell you to stop looking elsewhere. Bula is your guy. His performance will bring tears to your eyes. (Caution)

    Sent on 10/31/2017
  • J

    Jon · Married on 07/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bula made our Wedding Welcome Reception an amazing event. What he did at the end of the event, which I don't want to disclose so not to ruin the surprise for his future clients, was so memorable. Our friends and family thought that he was awesome and so as his hula dancer who helped entertain our group. We had over 100 guests and they easily included everyone at the party! My wife and I are so glad we chose him as the entertainer for our Welcome Reception.

    Sent on 11/01/2017
  • A

    Analisa · Married on 06/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Bula perform our ceremony and reception music for our June 2017 destination wedding in Hawaii! It could NOT have been more PERFECT! He was amazing and added such a wonderful element to our ceremony and reception. He even performed a special song that my husband had requested for our couple's dance. The song was new to him, but he performed it like a professional. We highly recommend him for your wedding or other event. Love you Bula!

    Sent on 10/28/2017
  • C

    Clint · Married on 06/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bula was awesome! Worked with us on our song list before the wedding and agreed to learn a song that was very special for us. He also stayed for additional time at a reasonable rate and really made our wedding amazing. This dude is the real deal.

    Sent on 10/31/2017