Block Rockin' Beats Reviews

58 | Saint Louis, MO
See photos, pricing and details

58 Reviews for Block Rockin' Beats

Recommended by 100%

58
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • T

    Tara · Married on 11/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Excellent!!!

    Tom was excellent. He was beyond helpful throughout the entire planning process, recommending vendors and helping me with the timeline to make it all work. The day of the wedding, he kept the party going and everyone had a blast. Couldn’t recommend him more.

    Sent on 10/27/2018
  • B

    Bridget Travis · Married on 10/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfection!

    Tom was a FANTASTIC DJ for our wedding reception! Guests were on the dance floor from first song! Tom was very professional and easy to talk to. He had great suggestions to help with the planning and flow of things at the reception. I would definitely recommend Tom/Block Rockin Beats for your wedding!

    Sent on 10/30/2018
  • Karen

    Karen S Walker · Married on 10/13/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dance! Dance! Dance!

    Our dance floor was FULL the ENTIRE night! Tom Rotter is the perfect DJ as he can read the crowd and kept them wanting more! He is a professional and not "cheesy" AT ALL! You get what you pay for with Tom Rotter & Block Rockin' DJs. He seamlessly transitioned from song to song throughout the night to ensure the dance floor was packed from beginning to end! You know it's a great DJ when the last song is played and everyone is still there!

    Sent on 10/19/2018
  • M

    Melanie · Married on 10/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The best dj in stl!

    Booking with Tom was THE BEST decision we made for our wedding! He was by far the best (and our favorite) vendor we had. He got back with me right away when I first contacted him and then we set up a time to meet. He was so on top of everything, but also laid back, extremely genuine, and hilarious. My husband and me left that first meeting so excited. Between that meeting and our wedding he was so helpful with any questions or changes I had. We had one final meeting before the wedding to get everything in place. The wedding day came and he was at our reception hours before it started to make sure it was all set up perfectly. At one point during the reception someone requested a song I didn't like and all I had to do was give Tom a look and he took care of it right away. My husband and me were almost sad when everything was over because we loved working with him. Tom is more than just a DJ. He knows the industry so well and gives such good advice on so many different topics. I would 100% recommend him to anyone and hope we can see him or book with him for another event!!

    Sent on 10/26/2018
  • J

    Jacob Long · Married on 09/29/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Perfection, perfection, perfection

    Tom was recommended to us by our event planner and a close friend. From the get go, he was easy to get ahold to, flexible on planning and open to listening to our ideas. We are so happy we hired him to not only take care of our music during our reception, but he also acted as an emcee of sorts. He played exactly what we wanted, read the room perfectly and always made sure the tunes reflected the atmosphere we were going for. On top of that, he was always on time, dependable, organized and professional. I would highly recommend Block Rockin' Beats for your wedding, reception or next event.

    Sent on 10/27/2018
  • A

    Ashleigh · Married on 08/11/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tom was such a good time!

    Dan and I loved Tom so much! Our main goal was to keep people on the dance floor all night and that was exactly what he did for us! He was so pleasant to work with and has a great sense of humor. He also kept the night going beautifully by making sure we stayed on schedule with our speeches and such. We definitely would recommend him to anyone that is looking for a great DJ!

    Sent on 10/29/2018
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 11/04/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tom DJ’ed our wedding in November and it was the dance party we always dreamed of for our reception!! We actually ended up extending our dance floor because we had so many people still dancing at the end of the night. There were people dancing around the dance floor because there was not enough room on the dance floor! It was better than we ever could have imagined. He understood what we wanted and worked within that and read our crowd to keep the dance floor busy literally the whole night. If you want a dance party for your reception – call Tom!!

    Sent on 01/05/2018
  • A

    Amber · Married on 04/01/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our main goal at our wedding was to showcase who we are as a couple and for everyone to have fun. Tom was essential to both of those! He met all of our quirky requests without a problem and also kept the dance floor packed. From the first song to the last the dance floor was constantly full. We've received so many compliments about our reception, even our friends parents have reached out to tell us how much fun they had. Tom is definitely to thank for that!

    Sent on 05/10/2017
  • T

    Teri · Married on 03/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We got so many compliments about the music at our wedding. It was all Tom's doing! We gave him an idea of what we liked (and didn't) and he took it from there. Tom really knows how to work the room, when to play slow songs, when to speed it up, and what's going to get people out on the dance floor. Tom also did a great job setting up the mic for our ceremony. He's a wedding expert and has great connections with other vendors.

    Sent on 04/25/2017
  • D

    DAVID · Married on 03/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tom was an excellent DJ and MC for our wedding. He worked with us beforehand and did a great job selecting the playlist. He really knows what he's doing and he really made the wedding and reception go great.

    Sent on 04/26/2017
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 11/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    First and foremost stop looking and HIRE TOM!

    We hired him based on a referral and were way more than happy the entire expierence!
    Our Dance floor was packed the whole night and he made sure to play some of our requests at just the right time! He was funny and kind the entire experience with him!

    Thanks Tom, the dance floor at our reception was more than we had ever dreamed!

    PS: HIRE TOM- just do it, I promise you won't be disappointed!

    Sent on 12/01/2016
  • E

    Erin · Married on 11/19/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you love to dance, this is the Dj for you. He kept the dance floor (at our daughter's wedding reception) packed all night. Tom was very accommodating from the "get-go". He catered to whatever we wanted. I had so much fun at my daughter's wedding and it was in great part due to "Block Rockin Beats". He also hosted my niece's wedding and my sister's wedding and the dance floor was hoppin' at each reception. If my son's upcoming wedding was in St. Louis, we'd be using Tom again.

    Sent on 12/05/2016
  • A

    Alana · Married on 06/11/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tom went above & beyond to help me pull off my daughters dream wedding!! He was profession, & really made everyone have a Blast at our Wedding Celebration!! Love him!!

    Sent on 06/29/2016
  • K

    Kate · Married on 11/01/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tom is a total joy to work with! From communication, to planning, to perfect execution of the evening, he is absolutely one of the best vendors (top 2) we worked with during the entire wedding planning process.

    At midnight the night before our wedding he was the last person I contacted -- asking him to add in a song my partner wanted ... he responded right away and included it during the wedding evening. Communication was perfect and quick during the entire planning process.

    I (bride) have some strange musical preferences. He got me right away, spot on. He brought me vintage versions of my favorite artist (Tori Amos) during one of our in-person meetings. Music is personal and he gets that.

    He kept the night flowing. Our guests had an amazing time. The dance floor was never empty, always packed. It went by way too quickly but was so much fun and totally perfect.

    So I'm using my own ratings since there are so many choices on these sites (note, I was planning this STL wedding from Seattle):

    Communication - Perfect
    Ability/ ease of paying/ contracting - Perfect
    Execution of crazy bride ideas - Perfect
    Value - For what he delivered and importance of a DJ, I don't think we paid him enough

    On top of it all, I really like Tom, he's just a good guy. We really enjoyed working with him and cannot say enough nice things about him. Stop reading and go hire him!

    Sent on 11/19/2015
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 08/29/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tom was so great to work with and kept the party going all night long. We clicked instantly with him at our first meeting and knew he would be the perfect DJ for us. He really took time to get to know us as a couple and what we envisioned for our reception. We met with him twice and stayed in contact with him throughout the whole planning process. He had awesome song lists for us to go through and pick out songs we wanted played and songs we didn't. From those lists, he got a good idea of what we wanted - a mix of classic oldies and new songs. He could not have done a better job mixing up the songs, reading the crowd and keeping people dancing all night long. The dance floor was PACKED all night and I couldn't believe how many people were still dancing when the reception ended at midnight. It is exactly what we wanted - lots of fun and dancing!!

    Sent on 10/04/2015
  • L

    lynn · Married on 06/20/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I highly suggest hiring Tom for your next event. We hired him for our ceremony/wedding on 6/20/15 , he was referred to me by a friend of mine at work, she had told me "every event I've gone to that he has Dj'd people didn't want the party to end" . She was right! Tom was awesome , we didn't want some cheesy DJ who talked all night or played what he liked or what was popular. He of course gave us suggestions but listened to our likes and dislikes , met with us a few times before our wedding and was always available to us for questions. He made our DJ service personalized to us and our family and friends , he even kept my 80 year old mother dancing all night long! He totally eased our minds about the music for the ceremony and the reception. He was professional, on time and you meet with and hire HIM not someone that works for him. We had an awesome time , everyone danced all night , he kept the tunes spinning and the party hopping and my friend was right ............at the end of the night we did not want it to end . We cannot thank him enough for such a great night and such great service. Thanks Tom. If you need a DJ ... this is the ONE.

    Sent on 07/04/2015
  • K

    Kristina · Married on 04/18/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tom was absolutely amazing to work with. He made everything so easy and simple. The music at the wedding was a hit and he really personalized all the music to our liking. I highly recommend working with Tom!

    Sent on 04/28/2015
  • J

    Jaclyn · Married on 11/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tom was our DJ for our wedding in November and was absolutely fantastic! He was great to work with ahead of time and helped us put a plan in place for the night! In addition, not only did he play great music that kept the dance floor full all night but he organized and kept the reception moving while working with our other vendors to ensure a perfect evening! We didn't have to worry about a thing! We have received SO many compliments from all our guests. This guy is the BEST!

    Sent on 07/21/2015
  • User4036025 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tom was great to work with. He made the reception a lot of fun for us and our guests.

    Sent on 12/09/2014
  • B

    Breanna · Married on 09/27/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tom was our favorite vendor to work with for our wedding. He was easy-going, organized, and professional. He understood everything we wanted, and he handled last minute changes with ease. I would recommend BRB to anyone with complete confidence.

    Sent on 10/06/2014
  • J

    John · Married on 08/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tom of BRB is unlike any other event DJ we’d ever encountered, and we knew shortly after meeting him for the first time that he was a perfect fit for us. Laid back, knowledgeable without being showy, and most of all engaged in making the event “yours”, Tom lets you know right away that he’s there to help you make your event feel like you. We’re pretty particular about our music, and he worked entirely within the confines of our instructions while also combining and ordering songs in a way that read the crowd and kept the party going. We selected almost every song (or artist) on the playlist, and he had no problem tracking down even relatively obscure tracks and, in one instance, even editing the song to remove a section that we didn’t want to hear. He is highly amenable to taking or deflecting requests, depending on your preference. If you absolutely do *not* want to hear certain songs, he’ll handle an audience request for that song gracefully. The staff at our venue commented that they hadn’t seen a dance party that happening in a long while. We did not realize until our wedding that the DJ is the person who is most responsible for making sure that the event runs smoothly and on schedule, so that there is ample time for dancing and partying after all the other typical wedding events (bouquet toss, toasts, dances, etc.). Tom did an amazing job at keeping everything on schedule very smoothly. We cannot recommend him highly enough.

    Sent on 09/16/2014
  • K

    Kelli · Married on 03/29/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    For our wedding my now husband wanted to be involved in anything that had to do with music. We got recommended to go see Tom thru my florist. Not only did Tom bring up things that we didn’t think of (ceremony set up that didn’t need to be moved since it was all in the same venue) but also he was willing to work with us on the price. And the best part, is my husband thought he was the best! All along the way Tom was there the walk us thru what we needed and where we should be in planning. A few days before the wedding I lost my grandmother and even tho I still needed to finalize a few songs for the ceremony with Tom, we let him choose the music. He did perfect!!! Thru the meetings he had gotten to know us and has such talent with music, that after the wedding people asked if he was a close friend! All thru the reception he was keeping us on task, as well as being flexible to things we changed last minute. He had the dance floor full from the 1st song, all the way to everyone shouting ENCORE at the end of the night! Thank you Tom for all you did and please know you will always be a part of the BEST day of our lives!

    Sent on 04/10/2014
  • C

    Cassi · Married on 12/07/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I cannot say enough good things about our DJ Tom with Block Rockin Beats! From the very beginning to the very end he was such a pleasure to work with. And most importantly he made our reception an absolute blast! He had our dance floor packed (with all ages) from the very beginning to the very end of the reception. He made sure to play our "must plays" and then sprinkled in some of his own selections. He did a great job of playing music that suited all age groups. We received so many compliments on our DJ after the wedding and I can't even count how many people told me their feet hurt from dancing so much! Tom really did make our reception a GREAT party! I HIGHLY recommend using Tom Rotter with Block Rockin Beats! He will be my families go to DJ form here on out!

    Sent on 12/20/2013
  • J

    Jamie · Married on 11/09/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Tom was wonderful to work with. Very professional and knowledgeable about the music field. He assisted tremendously with the wedding day timeline as well. We got many compliments from our wedding guests on the excellent dj services.

    Sent on 12/19/2013
  • User3687332 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great DJ to work with and during the reception as well. We gave him an outline and a vision of how we wanted the night to go and he did awesome. People were dancing all night long, so much so that we even extended the night!!

    Sent on 11/18/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review