Weddings

Black Iris Estate Reviews

Black Iris Estate View more information

7 Reviews

Rated
2.8
out of 5.0
Recommended by 56% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 2.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 2.9 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 2.8 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 2.8 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 2.6 out of 5

4 User photos

Sort by:
  • K
    Kelly Married on 02/24/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Our wedding at Black Iris Estate was everything we wanted it to be. The grounds are beautiful, the service staff was professional and extremely helpful and the food was fantastic. Our day was perfect!!! Thank you Thomas Caterers for doing such an amazing job. We will never forget our special night for as long as we live
  • K
    Karen Married on 10/22/2016
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The mansion and grounds have been completely transformed and updated. We booked at the start of their renovation and were absolutely impressed with the results. The outdoor wedding site behind the mansion is one of the most beautiful outdoor venues I have ever seen...our photos are spectacular. With the flexibility of moving the wedding into the ballroom for inclement weather....it was a no brainer. The ballroom is stunning and the other rooms are beautiful. I would say you have to see it to believe it. This review was from the mother of the bride.
  • L
    Laura Married on 09/03/2020
    Rating 4.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 4.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 4.0 out of 5

    Great experience

    We had our reception at Black Iris and it was overall a good experience and I would absolutely choose them again. The food was great - our guests especially enjoyed the butternut squash soufflé! The facilities are beautiful and provided the perfect backdrop for our special day.
  • Kathryn
    Kathryn K. Married on 06/27/2020
    Rating 2.4 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 2.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.0 out of 5

    Beautiful venue, Low quality service

    I was married at The Black Iris Estate last month- it is a beautiful venue for weddings or any event. The grounds are picturesque and the ball room is just beautiful! The food was also really good, which is not always the case at weddings. I'm not sure you can find a more beautiful venue in the central Indiana region.

    While the venue and grounds are top notch, the staff at the Black Iris were much less accommodating. Being a "covid bride," we had to go through many changes, including changing our date. The Black Iris was pretty inflexible on changing our date, providing us with a handful of dates in 2020. When asked if we could move our date to 2021 to ensure it was safe and we wouldn't have to move our wedding a second time, they stood firm that this was not an option as we had to get married in 2020 (if our deposit was to go towards our wedding date). They moved our date to a Sunday in a different month that is priced less due demand (they have 3 different tiers of pricing based on which month you select) but tried to charge us the same as they would have if we got married on a Saturday in a "high demand" month.

    This wasn't the only scenario where the Black Iris staff was not accommodating- they even scolded us for bringing in a small fruit salad for my 7 months pregnant bridesmaid as we got ready day of as "no outside food or drink is allowed." This was after we spent over $500 purchasing food and alcohol through them to enjoy while we got ready. I understand that event spaces have rules, but making a big deal about fruit salad, and taking part of our damage deposit because of it, seemed overkill to me.

    At the end of the day, the Black Iris is a beautiful venue, but know what you are getting into as far as the level of service you can expect. Maybe I have high expectations, but the service level we received was pretty disappointing.
  • P
    Paige W. Getting married on 07/23/2022
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Crushed Dreams

    Newly engaged I began to search for the perfect place to get married. So of course I found this beautiful place and it was all I could think of is this place. I just had to see it so I begin to email Black Iris and from trying to find a date that was available for 2021 I was told that there were no dates available for July or August for any sat. Laura begins to tell me that they only have a couple Sundays available in both months so a couple days or so goes by and by then I have had conversation about changing said date with my fiancé to a Sunday not sat which I originally wanted my wedding to be on a Sat, then Laura begin to tell me that they are booked up all year I was pretty upset because this is my dream place. So to make a long story short I changed the date to July 2022 so we could get married on the day my fiancé mom died at this beautiful estate it was very important to us to have this date set in stone. So we set the date with Laura and schedule a tour. So I'm so excited the day of the tour and were driving going to Black Iris Estate, ok guys we are not in the same city to remind you guys, so we get there and were looking around and we don't see anybody drive around the building and no cars or anything. We get there a little early so I say to my fiancé , well maybe nobody's here because of covid ok so time comes and goes for her to be there on time. So I let about 15 mins more mins past after the time that she was suppose to show up and I begin to call the company. Someone answers and says that whoever was suppose to show up couldn't because they were sick and that someone else was coming and that they would be there in 15 mins. I'm upset at this point because I'm thinking at this point is this how planning this wedding is going to be on a late schedule. I just wasn't feeling it and then she showed us the grounds and everything. We begin to go over pricing and somewhat of what I wanted for the wedding such as tables, lighting and food and how much she think it would be so I told her I basically wanted to know how much it would be to have unlimited everything with min. of 75 and she says it would be 35,000. I just think it's really silly to have such a beautiful place but such bad service and the prices are at those rates. I will not be getting married here because the beginning process and service wasn't what I would want to have on my wedding day in July 2022
  • Andrea
    Andrea Married on 08/17/2019
    Rating 1 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 1.0 out of 5

    Not Worth It!

    We were married at Black Iris Estate (owned by Thomas Caterers) a few weeks ago. Starting with the positive, the food was absolutely wonderful and everyone commented on how they have never really had wedding food this good. The venue itself is also incredibly beautiful. Our ceremony was in the Willow Chapel and it was honestly something out of a fairytale.

    Now for everything else, the negative.
    First (1), and the biggest issue given the massive impact of COVID, our day of coordinator arrived sick. When asked if she was sick she claimed she was “not sick” but had an minor upper respiratory infection and already went to the doctor, is on antibiotics and it is “not contagious”. If you are sick at all, in a time in which we are all trying to avoid spreading COVID, why come into work at all? We were also JUST with her the day before for rehearsal, without masks. During which rehearsal she continually talked poorly about another couple having there ceremony there that day.
    Second (2) We were told at the rehearsal we would have to do a full clean-up of everything the night of the wedding. When I asked why I could not come get things the next day, I was told due to tours potentially happening, then when I attempted to schedule a time to pick things up Monday I was told they were closed Sundays and Mondays for all visitors. So…even tours?
    Third (3) We were told the day of the wedding about the bracelet system that guests had to adhere to. Not too big of a deal but who wants bridesmaids and groomsmen, and family members, wearing bright green, yellow or red bracelets in pictures? Guests had to sign a waiver and do temperature checks, again, not a problem, however no one followed this protocol for my bridal party, mothers, or hair and make-up team until 3 hours after they had arrive AND were exposed to the sick coordinator!
    Fourth (4) We knew having a wedding in the fall there would be leaves. When asked about clearing them out, we were told groundskeepers would clear them. However, they cleared them at 10:00am and did NOT clear them before the ceremony 6 hours later. I walked down the aisle with leaves in my veil. There was almost nothing done to prepare the grounds for our ceremony. There were even leftover flowers and trash from the wedding the night before.
    Fifth (5) Echoing what another review said, they were incredibly strict on outside food and beverages while getting ready. While I completely understand you don’t want people showing up with a big tray from Costco, goldfish for my 15 month old niece and a granola bar for a diabetic family member shouldn’t have been an issue. This also applied to a very special bottle of wine my fiancé and I wanted to enjoy, just us, for our dinner. I brought this wine up multiple times on several calls and on the day of when I brought it in, our event designer stormed upstairs and berated me about this wine she ‘didn’t know about’. Everyone in the suite was appalled.

    Unfortunately, I could keep going with more and more issues even though we paid for a level of service and that was nowhere near met. Ultimately the venue itself was gorgeous, however the level of service was nowhere near the cost.
  • R
    Richard Married on 09/15/2018
    Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 0.5 out of 5
    Horrible experience with Thomas Caterers of Distinction at Black Iris Estate. We were sold an experience and level of service that was never delivered. First, let's begin with the sales pitch. During the sales pitch, they only used a tablet and never gave us any written sales documents. Now I see why - because it was all smoke and mirrors to get your money. We were told that a "wedding planner" would walk us through every step of the process and even their own website (on the home page) reads: "Planning
    Enjoy a Positive planning experience with our team of professionals who will guide you through every step". First, we booked in October and plan to wed on September 15th. After taking our deposit, we never heard from a "planner" or "Even Designer" as they call it for the rest of the year. We had to reach out to them on December 27th and ask to be contacted. The "event designer" emailed back the next day asking when we would like to meet in APRIL. By her own admission in a subsequent email on January 28th, the first "design" meeting should happen six months prior, yet she was trying to schedule us in April - 5 months out. Her email read: "Design & Planning (6 months prior) Lets Dive in! At this first meeting held at our corporate office 4440 N Keystone Ave; we will discuss floorplan, linens, timeline & vendors. It is a best practice to have a conversation at least 2 weeks prior to this meeting to discuss wedding colors, theme, etc. so I can have sample linens and décor options ordered in to show you." This "conversation" two weeks prior never took place either. When I confronted the owner Vince Early about our issues and dissatisfaction, he flatly refused to refund our $4000 deposit on a wedding that was going to cost at a minimum $34,781.89, but in all reality would have cost over $40,000 because our guest list exceeded their minimum of 135. We simply wanted a refund and it didn't happen. Take your hard earned money elsewhere. They do not deliver as promised.