Black Bear Inn Reviews

35 | Arnold, CA
See photos, pricing and details

35 Reviews for Black Bear Inn

Recommended by 100%

35
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

4 User photos

Black Bear Inn 1
Black Bear Inn 2
Black Bear Inn 3
Black Bear Inn 4
Sort by:
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 10/26/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a very small service, consisting of Wendy, Bruce(Inn keepers), pastor Miles and his wife Kay. Wendy recommended Miles, who was a local pastor. My husband and I went up to Arnold and met Miles and then were married a few weeks later, he was a perfect fit for us. Bruce, who is a trained chef, made us a cake and it turned out we had the place all to ourselves. This was small and private, the weather permitted us to be on the front lawn area. This was my dream wedding, even before we began to plan, and maybe even before he asked, I imagined getting married at the Black Bear. When we first met we stumbled across this Inn, with it getting dark and cold, and with us seeing a Bed and Breakfast sign on highway 4. Can't wait to return on our one year anniversary!

    Sent on 02/15/2015
  • User4447946 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wendi and Bruce hosted our Wedding at the Arnold Black Bear Inn on October 19, 2013. It was the absolute best day of my life! With the most amazing man by my side, we couldn't be happier to have chosen the Black Bear Inn as our venue to celebrate our union. From the intimate ceremony in the picturesque lower meadow to the dinner outside under the sparkling white lights, it was a romantic day filled with love, laughter and FUN! Our guests were impressed with the level of service and the beautiful private setting. We had the place to ourselves for the weekend and it truly felt like we were getting married at "home". Wendi and Bruce are gracious and wonderful and we couldn't be happier with our special day. Absolutely perfect. I would absolutely recommend this venue for your special day!

    Sent on 10/04/2014
  • M

    Mary and Gian · Married on 07/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the perfect wedding at The Black Bear Inn. Not only is the Inn itself gorgeous, but the grounds are picture perfect. Seriously- our pictures came out amazing with the big trees and foliage! The wedding on the meadow was beautiful, the backyard where we had the reception was intimate with a rustic chic vibe. All our guests remarked at the loveliness of the location and several have asked me about it since to go back and stay. The owners Wendi and Bruce were fantastic to work with and just down to earth, fun people. We are so happy with our choice to have our wedding there and can't wait to go back to celebrate our anniversary!

    Sent on 10/15/2014
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 06/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Black Bear Inn is a beautiful venue. We got married five months ago and our guests still talk about how beautiful it was. Wendi and Bruce, the owners, were very helpful. They have a lot of experience hosting events and helped us plan a wedding that went smoothly.

    Sent on 11/04/2014
  • R

    Ronald · Married on 05/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can not say enough good things about Wendi and Bruce and The Black Bear Inn. They gave us the most perfect wedding ever and although it was small everyone that came agreed that it was wonderful.
    Wendi worked with us and was always there to help. Whenever we had a question or a problem Wendi was able to take care of it.
    Bruce should have his own 5 star restaurant, he is that good. The dinner he made for our wedding guest was the best dinner we ever had in Arnold.
    The Inn it self is breathtaking, with a number of places to have the wedding inside or out. If you decide to book your wedding there you will not be disappointed.

    Sent on 10/10/2014
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 05/04/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Every bride feels they chose the best venue but my venue was truly THE BEST! All of our guests went on and on about the beauty of the natural setting, the cleanliness and class of the Inn itself, the feeling that you were staying the weekend at a relative's mountain cabin and getting to spend real quality time with your family and friends. Black Bear Inn's proprietors go out of their way to make you feel welcome and catered to. The 5 rooms are unique yet all are beyond comfortable and relaxing. The food Chef Bruce creates is outstanding. Chef Bruce and his wife Wendi cooked our rehearsal dinner and "day after" brunch (we hired Lunch Lady Catering for the actual wedding). Both meals were amazing. Our wedding day was so beautiful and we will treasure it forever. We'll visit Black Bear Inn for many anniversaries to come.

    Sent on 05/24/2013
  • M

    Marleen · Married on 06/25/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We couldn't have chosen a better venue for our wedding!! It's obvious how beautiful the grounds and Inn are, but Bruce and Wendi were there for us every step of the way!! I'm still to this day getting compliments about how beautiful our wedding was and how sweet the owners were. They will always hold a special place in our hearts. Thanks Wendi and Bruce for all you've done.

    Sent on 10/10/2014
  • R

    Regina · Married on 06/04/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A beautiful (and affordable) wedding location. Many locations to hold both ceremony and reception based on weather conditions. Bruce and Wendy put a lot of effort into making the wedding experience memorable and they are helpful and responsive every step of the way. A great place for a forest wedding setting without having to go to busy Lake Tahoe! Highly recommended. You will have a beautiful backdrop for the big day!

    Sent on 10/03/2014
  • J

    Jenika · Married on 11/14/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    From the beginning to the end of our entire wedding planning process, Wendi was responsive, courteous and answered all of my MANY questions/concerns. I had zero experience planning a large event, and at some points felt overwhelmed. Wendi gladly stepped in and offered advice. Its very rare to experience excellent customer service, but Wendi and Bruce are experts at making their clients' special day flawless!! Our guests commented on how they felt "at home" at the Black Bear Inn. I am so glad we chose this venue, I would have never received the same level of service anywhere else. It was not only a perfect wedding day, but the entire weekend. Our friends/family that were lucky enough to stay at the Inn had nothing but praises. Thank you Wendi & Bruce for making our wedding day truly AMAZING!

    Sent on 11/24/2015
  • R

    Rebecca · Married on 10/03/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We heard about The Black Bear Inn through Gold Country Bride and immediately connected with Wendi via phone. Our communications from then on were excellent, and when we came to see the venue we fell in love! Since we were from out of town Wendi used a mix of phone and email communications to stay in touch, get the contracts processed, and keep up with the details. Wendi helped recommend and coordinate with several other vendors. The day of, everything went perfectly smooth, the venue was in tip top shape and the food from Chef Bruce was amazing! Overall my experience was fabulous- Bruce and Wendi made our special day perfect and easy. Thank you again so much! Highly recommended.

    Sent on 11/21/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review