Big Ray & the Kool Kats Reviews

114 | Charlottesville, VA
See photos, pricing and details

114 Reviews for Big Ray & the Kool Kats

Recommended by 100%

114
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0

9 User photos

Big Ray & the Kool Kats 1
Big Ray & the Kool Kats 2
Big Ray & the Kool Kats 3
Big Ray & the Kool Kats 4
Big Ray & the Kool Kats 5
Big Ray & the Kool Kats 6
Big Ray & the Kool Kats 7
+ 3
Sort by:
  • J

    Jen · Married on 10/11/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Big Ray and the Kool Kats helped make my Wedding an INCREDIBLE experience. So many of my guests told us that our wedding was the most fun that they had ever attended and I know that Big Ray had so much to do with that! He had our guests dancing from the beginning through the end of the night! He and his band are so engaging and extremely fun to watch and dance to. He was also very accommodating when we asked for special requests and was very easy to work with. If you want guests to talk about how great your wedding was for DAYS after the event, Big Ray is definitely the way to go. Worth every penny! Thanks Big Ray!

    Sent on 10/15/2013
  • L

    Lynn · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Big Ray & the Kool Kats are the ultimate professionals. Ray is an unbeatable Master of Ceremony and he has an impeccable ability to read the crowd. The band has a fabulous sound and are so flexible and willing to go the extra mile. I know if we have Big Ray playing...the wedding will be a home run.

    Sent on 10/15/2013
  • K

    Katherine · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Big Ray and the Kool Kats helped make our wedding a brilliant success. We first heard the band at a friend's wedding, and were extremely impressed with the level of talent. When it came time to find a band for our own wedding, we turned to Big Ray, and were fortunate to schedule them for our big day. We were greatly impressed with professionalism that they showed throughout the process. Big Ray and the Kool Kats went above and beyond on our wedding day to make sure everyone had a phenomenal time. The band kept everyone dancing the entire evening and covered wide variety of musical styles and eras. We wish we could pass on all of the compliments from our family and friends who spoke in such glowing terms about the music. Thank you again for putting on a great show!

    Sent on 10/18/2013
  • D

    Dina · Married on 09/14/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am a professional event planner and have had the pleasure of working with Ray and his band on three occasions. He always goes above and beyond to create a remarkable evening for my clients.

    Sent on 09/23/2013
  • User3512760 · event on 08/30/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great command of the evening. Good communication before event.

    Sent on 09/05/2013
  • P

    Peggi · Married on 08/03/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Big Ray & the Kool Kats performed at my daughter's wedding. I booked them based on my daughter's request as she had seen them at a friend's wedding. Throughout the year before the wedding, I spoke with Ray several times and my daughter spoke with him and emailed him song requests. He is extremely open and easy to work with--willing to do whatever he can to accommodate your requests and answer questions. The night of the wedding, from the moment the band took the stage, the guests were dancing and singing--non-stop! The band is very talented with great voices and instruments. There was something for every age group. My son is a singer and Ray even spoke to him before the wedding to set-up a couple of songs that he could sing with the band--which thrilled our family. Every person I spoke with that night and after commented on what a fabulous party we hosted--and that the band was the best they had ever heard. I would highly recommend Big Ray and the Kool Kats for any function!!

    Sent on 09/06/2013
  • K

    Katrina · Married on 07/27/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ray was amazing--went above and beyond with EVERYTHING! First class act!

    Sent on 09/03/2013
  • User3516546 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had seen Big Ray at a wedding last year and had high expectations which he exceeded , a great band gdv

    Sent on 09/06/2013
  • S

    Susan · Married on 12/05/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This band was amazing! It is pretty expensive to book the full group (and we also booked the jazz trio for the cocktail hour), but the music was so good! They did a wonderful job selecting songs that would cater to the particular group they were performing for, and all the guests loved having them and were on the dance floor the whole night. They can pretty much play whatever you would like them to, you just have to ask!

    Sent on 12/13/2015
  • N

    Nancy · Married on 11/15/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    They were Fabulous!!! played everything we wanted were very flexible and easy to work with

    Sent on 02/09/2015
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 08/31/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ray,

    We always love working with you and your team! Such a wonderful event at Tuckahoe Plantation and we appreciate all of your hard work in always making our events a great success!

    The Easton Team

    Sent on 09/03/2013
  • G

    Gina · Married on 05/12/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Ray is a delight and the band had everyone dancing all night. There was the perfect mixture of oldies and hits and it was so fun! The crew was so professional, worked within a very tight schedule and a very tight space to make it all so perfect.

    Sent on 05/14/2018
  • P

    Pryce · Married on 05/09/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    With Big Ray and the Kool Kats you get what you pay for...and then some. They are easy to work with and professional from start to finish. Once the party starts you will have to wait in line to find an open spot on the dance floor. Their selection is broad and they are most accommodating when it comes to playing requests. Occasionally they will sneak in a current his to take the party to the next level, while never losing sight of the classic dance standards. We have had Big Ray play for us on a number of occasions and hope we can keep him coming back.

    Sent on 11/19/2015
  • S

    sheila · Married on 12/13/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My son's wedding was a little unusual because he and his bride wanted a very formal romantic reception. They had their hearts set on Frank Sinatra music and some soft holiday sounds. But his bride was Cuban so a little Latino Salsa was incorporated too. Big Ray's band was perfect for us. The cocktail music was soft with just 3 pieces playing while the reception was a great collection of Frank Sinatra's music with the best - number one - by far- Sinatra voiced singer. He was handsome and made a wonderful appearance. The girls who accompanied him were dressed in the finest bling bling dresses. One of the girls is Hispanic herself so her renditions of Latino music was perfect. Mr. Ray was able to coordinate all of these unusual needs with me in the most professional manner. My only regret was that the celebration had to end ...the wedding guests could have listened to this band for hours. Whatever your needs, you will never be disappointed with this most talented group of musicians.

    Sent on 01/20/2015

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review