Big City Wedding Band Reviews

97 | Boston, MA
See photos, pricing and details

97 Reviews for Big City Wedding Band

Recommended by 98%

97
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8
Sort by:
  • User3043976 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Everyone loved Big City!!! We had them play an extra hour because no one wanted to stop dancing!

    Sent on 02/05/2013
  • J

    jan · Married on 12/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I found Big City Party Band great, Ken was the most accomodating person, friendly, talented, He did every thing we asked him to do and more, All my guest have asked me the name of the band, they said he was fantastic, The singers were wonderful. He made my wedding a complete success.
    chris and Jan

    Sent on 12/15/2012
  • H

    Holly · Married on 12/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I've got only two words to wrap up the phenomenal reception that we had. BIG CITY!! The music at our wedding was off the charts. We were receiving positive feedback all night long about the band! They knocked people's socks off with their music. We could not believe how great it sounded. The selections were exactly what we wanted. We were looking for classy jazz during dinner with a few Christmas songs and some dance music as the night progressed. We could not have chosen a better mix. The crowd was up all night and didn't want the music to end. People felt like they were at a live concert. Great job to Ken and his band. We don't know what to say as we are still in amazement! Thank You!!

    Sent on 01/03/2013
  • J

    Jill · Married on 10/07/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are still on a high from our son's wedding this past Sunday and the Big City Wedding Band has much to do with the lingering feelings. Our family and friends are still talking about the band!

    Not only have I attended many celebrations and heard many wedding bands, but I have also worked with one of the best NY metro area band organizations for years. In my opinion, your band is up there
    with the BEST!

    Living in the NY area with the wedding taking place in the Boston area, was not the easiest task for finding vendors and making arrangements, but you helped make the process go smoothly. After finding your band on the internet, doing research, listening to Big City's CD, speaking to references and, most importantly, after speaking with YOU, we knew that your band was the one for our simcha.

    We were looking for a band that would provide the kind of Jewish wedding that we envisioned, and during the proceeding months, you listened to our vision, to our concerns and offered your expertise to planning and scheduling the upcoming evening. While we may have been a little concerned that the band's repertoire of "Jewish music" seemed limited, your Hava Nagila was energetic and joyous! And you beautifully performed "Jerusalem of Gold' which, as you know, has personal significance for my family.

    The songs requested for the "First Dance" and the Parents' dances were not easy pieces but your band performed them with so much feeling and flawlessly. Of course, the entire evening was filled with beautiful music throughout. Each and every selection played was outstanding, and you had everyone up and dancing till the very end!

    If someone were to ask if I would have done anything differently in terms of songs played, the way the reception was run, etc., my answer would be a resounding NO!

    Jill and Larry C. (parents of the groom)
    Fruitlands Museum; Harvard, MA

    Sent on 10/11/2012
  • User2647989 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What can we say, these guys ROCKED the place!!!! From learning our first dance to all of the requests that we had for you guys, you really exceeded our expectations in every way possible. I was a little hesitant about having a live band at first, as we wanted to have a lot of dance music, but they played several current dance songs in addition to all the great older ones. And anything they couldnt/didnt want to play (like MMMMBop for my wife who is a huge Hanson Geek) they had on a playlist during their break. Overall, I would book them again and pay much for the service they provided!! Great job guys, I hope to see you at another wedding someday!!!!

    Sent on 10/04/2012
  • B

    Brett · Married on 09/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    These guys are AMAZING! They listened to our song choices and played everything we asked! I cannot explain how awesome they sounded as well as their willingness to accommodate unusual requests.

    Stop reading other reviews and book these guys!!!

    Sent on 09/17/2012
  • L

    Lauren · Married on 09/15/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Big City was fantastic- they played all the songs we wanted and none of the ones we didn't! Our guests haven't stopped talking about how much fun they had dancing the night away thanks to their amazing performance! Do not hesitate to hire this band for your wedding!!!!

    Sent on 09/28/2012
  • N

    Norman · Married on 09/08/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Big City's Performance at our wedding was truly outstanding. The band played a flawless list of music and were very receptive to the guests of our wedding. All the band members were very bright and enthusiastic which seemed to set the tone for a very high energy fun filled event! We couldn't be happier with our "Big City" experience!

    Sent on 09/19/2012
  • User2661367 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Big City band was the absolute best, best decision we made regarding vendors at our wedding. Their repertoire is enormous - they can (authentically and convincingly) play from all genres, from your classic big band tunes, to blues, pop, and rock. I made some specific requests for songs we would love to hear during the reception and not only did they play them, they ROCKED them. The musicians are all warm, friendly people who went out of their way to make sure our day was perfect. The attention to detail, professionalism, skill and musicianship are all top notch. Our guests couldn't stop raving about how great the music was and how it made the party. We had to shut down the dance floor after the last dance - everyone was still going strong thanks to the awesome music!!!! We couldn't be more grateful to Ken and the band for making our day so special.

    Sent on 09/17/2012
  • A

    ashley · Married on 09/01/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just had our wedding two days ago at The Estate at Moraine Farm in Beverly, and I had to jump on here and write their review before we leave for our honeymoon tomorrow morning! My wife & I had never heard them play live prior to our wedding, so of course we were praying theyd be good. Well, they werent good, they were FANTASTIC!!! All of our family & friends haven't stopped talking to us about what a fun wedding we had -many thanks to the amazing band! We chose the 6 piece option and we couldn't be happier with their performance! From our initial meeting, to our final Skype meeting, all the way to the night of the wedding Big City was beyond professional, and extremely flexible with our song requests - they even learned our first dance song for us, and sang it beautifully! There wasn't a dry eye in the house when we danced to it! Big City is a band I fully intend to tell every engaged friend of mine to book! They had our guests dancing ALL night long!!!

    Thank again!!

    Ashley & Courtney F.

    Sent on 09/03/2012
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 08/04/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Big City Wedding Band was THE best choice we made in our wedding planning. Their talent is unsurpassed, and their sound was enjoyed by all of our guests. We have heard so many compliments on their behalf from our family and friends. We hope to refer them to friends so that we can hear them play again at more weddings! Their sound quality, vocals, and performance were perfect. They were also easy to correspond with during the whole planning process, and adapted to our musical preferences, while at the same time added their own flair to make a perfect playlist for the crowd they were entertaining. We also greatly appreciated their willingness to learn songs that weren't already in their extremely large and diverse playlist (and not only learn the song but nail it in the performance!). They are sure to please at every event! Thank you for helping to make our wedding so memorable!

    Sent on 08/28/2012
  • H

    Heather · Married on 07/28/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Big City Party Band provided the music for our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception. We were so impressed with the quality of their sound and song choices, and our guests could not stop raving about the music they played. They're awesome!

    Sent on 08/12/2012
  • User2544937 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This band exceeded all of our expectations- and those expectations were pretty high to begin with. From dealing with my last-minute changes, to adding in some Spanish for my non-English speaking in-laws, to reading the room like experts and adjusting accordingly, to leading a fantastic pseudo-karaoke dance party that was perfect for my family, they delivered and then some. I would strongly recommend this band for wedding receptions. They are VERY good at what they do.

    Sent on 07/23/2012
  • J

    James · Married on 07/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Now that we are back from our honeymoon and finally got back into the swing of “normal life,” we’ve had a chance to reflect on our wedding. Everyone including ourselves had such an amazing time, and having the Big City Band perform was undoubtedly one of the biggest highlights. The performances were absolutely spectacular! The quality and talent of these musicians is second to none. During the reception, if the guests were not busy eating, then they were on the dance floor. The group did an outstanding job of feeling out the crowd, knew exactly what everybody was wanting, and delivered! As we have been talking with some of our guests after getting back from our honeymoon, every single one of them commented on how amazing the band was. We are so happy we were able to have the Big City Band perform at our wedding, and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend them to others.

    Sent on 08/10/2012
  • T

    Ted · Married on 06/23/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Big City Party Band was recommended to us for my daughter's wedding by another band who was already booked for that date and I'm glad they were. I felt confident from my first contact with Ken that they were the band for us. My daughter and her fiance contacted Ken a couple of times prior to the wedding to go over the music they wanted and it couldn't have been better. The dance floor was full most of the night and I had so many compliments from our guests.

    Sent on 06/29/2012
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 06/23/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Big City Band was an excellent choice for our wedding. From the planning stages to the event itself, we were given a lot of personalized attention that helped to make the day so special. They played a great range of songs from the classics to current hits and really kept the energy going throughout our reception. Our guests kept commenting on how great the band sounded and how it really made a difference in how fun our reception was.

    Sent on 07/13/2012
  • L

    luke · Married on 06/09/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Big City was simply amazing. Working with Ken in helping put together our wedding was one of the best decisions we made. Big city made sure everything went according to plan. They had set a plan of action and worked with it throughout the whole day. The music at the ceremony went perfectly. We had some last minute switch-ups during the bridal party entrance and they handled it seamlessly. They took the time to learn how to pronounce everyone's name. And finally the Music during dinner and dancing was fabulous. Live entertainment gives the party just a little extra juice ... people were on the dance floor from start to finish. Our guests had so much fun that at the end of the last dance they chanted "One More Song" Big City Obliged and gave us an encore with "Shout" .
    Big City is a fantastic band, M.C., and entertainment. They know what they're doing and do it well.

    Sent on 07/16/2012
  • B

    Barbette · Married on 05/26/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was a pleasure doing business with Ken Shano and the Big City Band. Ken was easy to contact and quick to respond to our concerns and questions via email and phone. A few months before the wedding he skyped with our daughter and her future husband in order to get to know them a little and to go over the specifics for the big day. Big City is truly "committed to making each event the unique celebration it's meant to be!" The music at the wedding reception was exceptional. The musicians and the vocals were outstanding. We couldn't have asked for a better time. Thank you Ken and Big City!

    Sent on 06/26/2012
  • J

    Jessica · Married on 04/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Music makes the day and because of the Big City Party Band our day was perfect.

    Sent on 08/08/2012
  • C

    Colleen · Married on 12/31/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Big City was an awesome band to do business with. The bride had several specific requests that did not follow the traditional events that commonly occur at weddings. The band honored her requests. Our guests were always on the dance floor and we received many, many compliments about the music. They helped us ring in the new year in style. We even had a birthday on 1/1/12 and the band played Happy Birthday for the sister of the groom. Lastly, since we have musicians in our family, the band graciously cleared the way for the brother and father of the bride to sing a couple of their songs. I would highly recommend them!

    Sent on 01/04/2012
  • E

    Erin · Married on 12/31/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Big City Band played at my wedding reception on New Year's Eve. They did a fabulous job and kept our guests on the dance floor all night! They honored our dance requests and were flexible with last-minute changes to the flow of events that we had arranged ahead of time. I would absolutely recommend them to others. They are a GREAT value!!

    Sent on 01/21/2012
  • V

    Jill · Married on 09/18/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We feel so fortunate that we chose Big City Band to play at our wedding! They sounded so amazing--everyone wanted to dance. Many friends told us that they were the best wedding band they'd ever heard. Ken Shano, their manager and also a member, worked closely with us to plan the perfect reception start-to-finish. Each member was very talented, responsive and clearly happy to there. They customized their performance to meet our needs and made really gerat suggestions. We wholeheartedly recommend Big City Band to others!

    Sent on 10/08/2011
  • K

    Karen · Married on 09/17/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When Mark and I were planning our wedding, our main goal was for people to dance and have fun, and we definitely chose the right band to get it done. The band was so good that people got up and started dancing to the music while the first course of dinner was being served, and the dance floor was full from the minute dinner ended until it was time to go… and that’s with extending the band an extra hour and a half! Our guests came up to us all night long to tell us how great the band was, and how much fun they were having. We were afraid to go out to get some air, because every song was too good to miss. Our wedding surpassed our wildest dreams. While we were on our honeymoon, we heard that people couldn’t stop talking about our wedding. One of our guests was back at the venue the following week, and the staff was talking to them about how much fun it was.

    We were a little nervous about not having seen the band play live beforehand… but they were so great, and they can play such a wide range of musical styles. We were blown away by the band’s rendition of Miles Davis’ All Blues, during dinner. We almost felt like we didn’t have a band because it sounded more like we had each of the original artists at our wedding, playing their songs. They were that good.

    It was great working with Ken to plan everything because he had so many great suggestions, like how to get everyone up dancing from the get-go. It was also really convenient that we were able to do almost all of our communicating over the phone and email, and only had to meet in person once.

    We’re so grateful to the Band and Ken for making our wedding such an amazing experience!!

    Sent on 10/31/2011
  • M

    Jill · Married on 06/11/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The Big City Party Band performed at my daughter's wedding this past weekend and they were fabulous!!! Everyone danced the whole night away. So many guests commented on what a great band they were.
    They also provided the music for the wedding ceremony and during the cocktail hour which was also great. Would definitely recommend them for your wedding.

    Sent on 06/14/2011
  • J

    Jillian · Married on 05/23/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I really cannot say enough good things about this band! We spoke to Ken many times before the wedding, and he really made sure to take the time to get to know us, as well as the type of wedding reception we wanted, to ensure a great time for our guests. The band's play list is phenomenal, we were so delighted with how many great songs we had to choose from! I can honestly say that the majority of our guests were on the dance floor the whole night...there was no awkward period of just a few people out there at first trying to get others to join in. From the very first song, the dance floor was packed! We received endless compliments on the bands behalf, and still do 2 years later. We were so pleased with Big City Party Band that we are hiring them again for a 50th birthday party! We want the party to be a success, and there was no doubt in our minds who to hire for music for that to be possible! I would recommend this band to anyone with no hesitation! We could not have been any more pleased!

    Sent on 10/28/2011

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review