Belle Meade Plantation Reviews

66 | Nashville, TN
See photos, pricing and details

66 Reviews for Belle Meade Plantation

Recommended by 96%

66
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2012 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.5
  • Value 4.6
  • Average response time 4.9

8 User photos

Belle Meade Plantation 1
Belle Meade Plantation 2
Belle Meade Plantation 3
Belle Meade Plantation 4
Belle Meade Plantation 5
Belle Meade Plantation 6
Belle Meade Plantation 7
+ 2
Sort by:
  • A

    Allison · Married on 03/12/2011

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I was initially hesitant in booking Belle Meade's carriage house for my reception, as I felt like it was a little bit cliched. It's a very sought after spot in Nashville, and I was worried that the space wouldn't create the right tone of intimacy and elegance I was after!

    At the end of the day, I'm so glad I ended up going with Belle Meade, because the space is extremely versatile. Anything we wanted to do fit in well, and the space was easily made our own. Linda, the events coordinator, was an absolute pleasure to work with and made the entire process easy and stress free. The guests loved the venue, and didn't want to leave! This ended up causing a little bit of tension as we would have been fined had we not pushed everyone out the door right at 11:30!

    Sent on 03/18/2011

    Belle Meade Plantation's reply:

    Allison~ Thank you so much for the great review! I love that your guests wanted to dance the night away with you! Best wishes my dear =) Linda
  • Michael

    Michael Downer · Married on 06/22/2019

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful Venue!

    We got married at the end of June in the Boxwood Garden and it was stunning. Our guests were raving about how beautiful it was. There are a few restrictions on what you could and could not do, but nothing deal breaking (no sparklers, no flowers thrown by the flower girl, etc.). They were one of the more expensive venues that we spoke to, but you get what you pay for, and you save a bit on decor since the venue is so beautiful.

    Sent on 07/09/2019

    Belle Meade Plantation's reply:

    What a treat! We rarely get a groom's review. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us and future couples know your experience first hand. The very best wishes for a happy future together! ~oxox Linda
  • M

    Marilyn · Married on 10/18/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    How can you complain with such a beautiful venue as the backdrop for your wedding?!? The entire day was wonderful. Linda is quick to respond to any questions a bride may have, big or small and does so with a smile. I didn't give them a full 5 stars on value just because the price tag for the venue and chairs/tables is steep considering you have to ala carte all the other details, the bridal suite is very small, and there isn't a groom's space on the grounds. That being said, they let you bring your own alcohol and don't force you to use the restaurant on site for your catering which can help offset some of the venue cost. When all is said and done, we knew what we were getting in to with the pricing and it was well worth it to have the amazing time we had and the rave reviews from our guest as they too got to experience the mystique of Belle Meade!

    Sent on 12/09/2014

    Belle Meade Plantation's reply:

    Thanks so much for taking the time to give us a thorough review. Love your word "mystique" of Belle Meade Plantation - we totally agree. It has a unique spirit all its own that enables its guests to really enjoy their time there! Best wishes to you in your married life! ~oxox Linda
  • User3480567 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Great venue, only downsides were that the barn can get a bit hot in the evening (even in late September) and they have some strict rules about when the music must stop and what parts of the property you can and can't use.

    Sent on 08/21/2013

    Belle Meade Plantation's reply:

    Hello and thanks for reviewing Belle Meade Plantation! Your reviews help us know how we can improve on an ongoing basis! Sorry to hear that you got a little warm at your event. Sometimes the doors might be left open by guests or vendors a bit too far and the air conditioning isn't permitted to work it's best for our guests. We would also love to be able to party on into the night for your very special day, but the city has a noise ordinance on us in our neighborhood that makes festivities end at 11:00p.m. We thank you again sharing your Big Day with us and wish you all the best in your married life!!! oxox~ Linda
  • M

    Megan · Married on 08/16/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    this venue is absolutely gorgeous. The Garden was perfect for our ceremony! An August wedding outdoors can cause for some anxiety about the weather and heat, but the garden is totally shaded and was so comfortable for an evening wedding. It was great that we were able to have the wedding and reception in one place which made for a smooth transition for the evening! Its a bit unfortunate that the event has to start after 5:30 and end at 11. It makes for an incredibly quick night! But everything was beautiful. The garden is gorgeous and really helps to cut down on how many flowers you need... they are already there!
    Make sure you plan on getting ready somewhere aside from the plantation. The bride room is the size of a large closet and the men would have to get ready in a public bathroom. Again, this is an historical site so I'm sure the original owners were not planning for wedding parties.
    Linda was great and very quick to respond to questions. The vendors they request you to use were just fine. My only concern was the rain plan. We had 175 people which was perfect for outdoors, but if it rained we would have had to pay extra for the tent ($1000) which is already set up and looked like a permanent structure (it was there throughout our whole event). I thought that was a tad ridiculous, but luckily we didn't have to use it and it wasn't an issue. Its an expensive venue and I thought that was a bit of a racket to tack on that much of a cost for an unforeseen circumstance. Maybe the contract has changed since then. Be sure to ask.
    This venue is just beautiful and is a perfect backdrop for a wedding! We are so happy with the way everything worked out and would definitely recommend this venue to anyone!

    Sent on 10/29/2014

    Belle Meade Plantation's reply:

    Thanks so much for you review! It helps brides to hear your first hand experience of your venue and vendors. Glad you loved your Big Day at Belle Meade Plantation - We were happy to assist you throughout the planning process in any way we could!
    As far as the tent goes, we don't actually own that structure -- it is the property of a tent company in town, but we are able to get a better tent rental for our brides in unforeseen circumstances of $1000 because we let them keep it on our site "just in case" for our brides' sakes. A clear span tent of that type and flooring would normally run closer to about $10,000 if a bride had to have it set up for her event.
    ~ We are thrilled everything went off with flying colors and wish you all the best in your wonderful marriage! ~oxox Linda
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 11/12/2010

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    In using this venue, it is clear why it’s a Nashville favorite. The grounds are gorgeous photo ops are extensive. We took photos at their barn, historic Carriage House, gardens, bridge, and yes, in the creek.

    Sent on 12/12/2014

    Belle Meade Plantation's reply:

    Thanks for the review! Glad you got some amazing photos to keep your memories forever! ~oxox Linda
  • S

    Stephanie · Married on 08/12/2016

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Belle Meade Plantation is a gorgeous venue. We had our ceremony in the garden and reception in the carriage house. Everyone commented on how beautiful it was!

    Sent on 08/25/2016

    Belle Meade Plantation's reply:

    Thanks for the review, Stephanie! Glad to know your wedding was so beautiful!
    ~oxox Linda
  • rebecca

    rebecca · Married on 10/08/2011

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful location! And even has a rain plan included :)

    Sent on 11/06/2011

    Belle Meade Plantation's reply:

    Thanks for the great review! oxox Linda
  • S

    Sarah · Married on 04/17/2010

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Belle Meade Plantation is stunning any time of the year, and their Event Coordinator, Linda is AWESOME!! She is super happy, and super nice, and talks to you as if you are the only bride she is dealing with (altough they have at least one wedding every weekend during the summer).

    I had a lot of compliments on chosing the place for our ceremony and reception. We had a few decorations, but the grounds and buildings themselves are cool enough.

    After looking at what felt like every place possible in Nashville, the cost for what you are provided with is pretty good, especially considering the historic value of the property. They have a few rules for what can and can't be done, but they are completely reasonable. They book up way far in advance, so be ready to either set your date farther out than you hope, or at an off time of year.

    Sent on 10/05/2010

    Belle Meade Plantation's reply:

    Thank you sweet, Sarah! We loved working with you to plan your perfect day at Belle Meade Plantation! oxox Linda
  • User5478531 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful venue! We had our reception here only and it was a great space. The vendors we worked with were all familiar with the venue so that made the set up and planning easy. Very little decorating is needed as the venue is beautiful on its own. I do have one complaint from the night that could have probably been mitigated but not sure where it fell short. We paid for all this beautiful lighting in the reception hall area and after everyone was up and dancing for the night, I asked my coordinator to see about turning the overhead lights down but she could not find the attendant that was suppose to be on property. So, our party went on with the bright overhead lights on. Not sure if thats their policy though. Again, didn't ruin the night but would have been nice to have the lights down to maybe get more people on the dance floor. Overall recommend it. It was certainly at the top of our budget for the venue but it's hard to come by anything much cheaper in Nashville for that kind of venue and location.

    Sent on 12/09/2016

    Belle Meade Plantation's reply:

    Thank you so much for your review of our space! We are pleased you had such an awesome time celebrating with your friends and family!!! Sorry that one thing with the lighting wasn't what you planned on, but glad you didn't let it slow the fun down =) ~oxox Linda
  • A

    Alexandra · Married on 05/28/2018

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married here. We opted to get married during peak season because of the beautiful garden. Unfortunately, due to rain we were unable to get married in the garden. Photos under the rain back up plan (tent) are not pretty. What I was most disappointed in was that the plantation closes to the public at 5PM-You are able to start your ceremony at 5:30PM because it is private to you at that point because you pay for it! Not the case. My husband and I were *trying* to have an intimate moment reading letters to each other before the ceremony while the photographer and videographer captured it around 5:30PM. There were at least 10-12 tourists standing around taking pictures of us-talking so loud the videographer had to pause us because it was interfering with her audio. There was a tour guide talking with them and watching us too. I had to ask everyone to leave the property because it was closed and our wedding was private. They stood around and continued to take pictures (the tour guide did not leave either or encourage guests to leave). My sister had to get bossy and demand everyone leave the property because we needed to start the wedding. Not what I wanted to be dealing with! If I had to do it all over I would have chosen a different venue. On a perfect sunny day with tourists (and employees) who follow rules I'm sure it would be more worth it. These things you cannot guarantee. Expensive venue for things that can't be promised.

    Sent on 07/12/2018

    Belle Meade Plantation's reply:

    Alexandra - We are regretful that this happened and caused you displeasure on your wedding day. We try our best to create an environment that is both beautiful and relaxing for you to enjoy your Big Day. We sincerely hope your ceremony and reception with your friends and family was wonderful! We also appreciate your honest review. We always strive to better our service and property to our special guests and their events. Best wishes to you and your new husband. oxox ~ Linda
  • User4095884 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This is a beautiful venue with a great space for the ceremony and reception. Linda has been wonderful to work with and very helpful in the planning process. The venue is pretty flexible about most things (catering, byob, DJ, etc.) the only thing they are not flexible about is using their preferred vendors for lighting and valet parking. It is a bit pricier, but such a beautiful space that it is well worth it.

    Sent on 01/05/2015

    Belle Meade Plantation's reply:

    Thank you for your review. It's so helpful to hear what we can improve on directly from our brides ♥♥♥ Best wishes to you! ~oxox Linda
  • User4144705 · 2+ years ago

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    I won't even talk about Linda Mahon (the point of contact for the plantation) because she is awesome. She responds to emails immediately and really knows her stuff. ABSOLUTELY GREAT - no complaints at all.

    The venue is beyond gorgeous and was absolutely perfect for my big day. There were only two things that would have made my day run smoother. Having a set up time starting at 3pm is an insanely short and impossible turn around time for vendors to complete the work necessary to pull of weddings with a budget more than $15,000. It really seemed a little steep to have to pay an extra $2,000 to have the event space starting at 8am. But as they say, time is money. Also - having the bathrooms so far from the reception space was difficult for guests when it was pouring rain during my wedding. We had to purchase golf umbrellas to keep guests dry.

    Overall, my wedding was absolutely magical and I wouldn't have had it any other way! There are so many possibilities that the layout provides you can really use your creativity to create an event personal to you.

    Sent on 09/11/2014

    Belle Meade Plantation's reply:

    Thanks so much for your response, Sweet Bride! We love that your wedding was fantastic overall. We love getting feedback because it can only help us get better each time. We wish you all the best in your new marriage ♥♥♥ ~ oxox Linda
  • User3393989 · 2+ years ago

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      3.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Beautiful venue, but not especially accommodating. Their lack of flexibility caused unnecessary stress when trying to coordinate with various vendors who needed to arrive earlier than the time specified in my contract.

    Sent on 07/29/2014

    Belle Meade Plantation's reply:

    Thank you for your review! We love that you loved our site. Sorry that you did not agree with our polices concerning vendor timing. We strive to make it a good experience with our touists and private events alike so that they can both enjoy our non-profit museum.

    We do thank you for choosing our venue and wish you the very best with your marriage ♥♥♥
    ~Linda
  • User4405028 · 2+ years ago

    3.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding turned out beautiful; however, it gets pricy very fast. You have to use specific vendors in some cases, and they're quite expensive.

    Sent on 09/16/2014

    Belle Meade Plantation's reply:

    So glad your wedding turned out gorgeous for you on your Big Day!! Sorry that you were displeased with your overall budget spending =( Since we only had two required vendors - special event lighting & valet parking for your wedding - we had hoped that flexibility that we have for our brides to choose their own caterer, bring in their own alcohol, flowers, music, dress, cake, draping, favors, coordinator, bartenders, rental companies, photographer, videographer, etc. and be over their whole budget would allow brides the freedom they need to make the budget choices that would allow for them to have the best budget outcome for their perfect day. Thank you for your review. It always helps us to strive to work harder to make things more perfect for future brides just like you♥♥♥ We wish you the very best in your marriage! ~oxox Linda
  • User5511370 · 2+ years ago

    2.2
    • Quality of service:
      2.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      2.0
    • Flexibility:
      2.5
    • Professionalism:
      2.5

    We loved how the venue looked but it was not worth how much money we spent for it. The ladies over the wedding planning took way too long to respond back to any questions we had and weren't always clear with their answers which made things even more confusing. They also weren't always available to talk in person so giving them my floorplans was a nightmare. If you only want a venue for looks, this is definitely the one for you. You're definitely only paying for pretty scenery

    Sent on 10/24/2016

    Belle Meade Plantation's reply:

    Congratulations on your recent marriage! I apologize for your unfortunate experience. We appreciate your feedback and are doing our best to ensure the success of our future events. Best wishes to you and your new spouse! :)
    ~Belle Meade Events

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review