Barefoot Minded Reviews

113 | Lahaina, HI
See photos, pricing and details

113 Reviews for Barefoot Minded

Recommended by 99%

113
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.9

5 User photos

Barefoot Minded 1
Barefoot Minded 2
Barefoot Minded 3
Barefoot Minded 4
Barefoot Minded 5
Sort by:
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 08/02/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We lived in Maui years ago, so when we decided to come back for our wedding we wanted to band to convey our island style. Barefoot Minded did such an amazing job during our ceremony, cocktail hour, and luau/reception.They covered our favorite songs and even played some of their incredible originals. Their relaxed, island-style music was a huge hit and everyone commented how perfect and professional they were. We DEFINITELY recommend them! Mahalo! -James and Brittany

    Sent on 12/06/2012
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 06/04/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband is from New Zealand and I am from New York, Maui was the perfect middle point for all our family and friends to meet for our wedding. And Oren and Junior were the perfect pair to play our wedding melody. They learned two new songs originally from New Zealand only two months before our wedding and played them perfectly. Everyone who attended the wedding could not sing their praises enough and neither can we. They brought such a happy and fun vibe to our wedding and we are so happy they were there to help make our day one of the best of our lives! Mahalo Oren and Junior! -Andy and Elizabeth June 2012

    Sent on 12/06/2012
  • P

    PHI · Married on 06/03/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had the pleasure of having Oren and Junior play for our wedding at Merriman's on June 3, 2012. Their ukulele and guitar skills were truly entertaining and their fresh, unique, and upbeat music style created the perfect backdrop for our outdoor venue. Our guests loved them! We highly recommend this duo for any event. Mahalo Oren and Junior!
    - Phi & Brent Lewis June 2012

    Sent on 12/07/2012
  • C

    Cathy · Married on 04/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Oren & Junior to play at our daughter's reception at Merriman's on April 21st 2012. Let me say that they were the highlight of the night as we and all our guests danced out on the deck. More importantly Oren & Junior learned two songs-requested by my husband--one for his father/daughter dance, and one for us. It was definitely over and above the call of duty and greatly appreciated. Their range of music is perfect for any type of wedding. We are big Zac Brown Band fans--and they played some of that music as well. Our daughter and husband wanted a specific Jack Johnson song-- "Better Together" which they also played to perfection. We would highly recommend them for any event. -Frank & Cathy Riggs

    Sent on 12/06/2012
  • Heather

    Heather · Married on 03/04/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I used Barefoot Minded for the ceremony of my wedding. They were incredible. They even learned a song for the processional free of charge and played it beautifully. They also played multiple other songs before, during and after the wedding. I wished I would have paid to extend them to the cocktail hour because I received so many compliments from guests

    Sent on 03/30/2012
  • A

    Allison · Married on 09/15/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    All of our wedding guests still rave about the music at our reception. They do such an amazing job!!!

    Sent on 12/13/2012
  • User6224492 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Fantastic Duo- Loved every bit of there service from email responsiveness, pay structure to the performance on the day. Highly Recommend

    Sent on 01/17/2016
  • E

    Efi · Married on 04/28/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Barefoot Minded was a fantastic addition to our Maui wedding at Merriman's in April 2017 during our ceremony and cocktail hour! From the moment I contacted Oren, he was very responsive, professional, and very helpful with suggestions and feedback. We didn't get a chance to really enjoy their music, as we were taking photos during that time, but guests gave great reviews and really enjoyed the vibe they created! Another bonus for choosing them is there are lots of audio and video recordings of them online (unlike most Maui musicians), so you really know what to expect! Oren was also great about sending us audio/video of specific songs we were considering when he had them available, which was super helpful. At the end of the night before he left, he made sure to say goodbye and congratulate us. Overall, we had a wonderful experience with Barefoot Minded and would not hesitate to book them for any event!

    Sent on 05/11/2017
  • S

    Sonia · Married on 03/31/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hired Oran as a solo ukulele player and singer for our ceremony as part of a package. He was great, and played the songs we chose beautifully. Many of the guests came away commenting how wonderful the ceremony music was. I happily recommend these guys to others.

    Sent on 04/22/2016
  • H

    Haunani · Married on 11/22/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Overall my husband and I, as well as our guests really enjoyed their entertainment. People kept inquiring and commenting about barefoot minded in the weeks that followed.

    Sent on 12/17/2014
  • S

    Sue · Married on 06/17/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Oren's music added so much to our wedding. The friendliness and willingness to help us do some things that are a little (that took extra effort on their part) was a huge blessing and we very much appreciated it. We picked the song "I'm a believer" for our exit song and I wondered how it would sound with only a few instruments - it was perfect! Everyone was dancing out the aisle.

    It is amazing what music can come from a guitar and a ukulele!! We had a beautiful sunset ceremony and a cocktail hour on the lawn afterwards. They were friendly, professional, talented, fun, and a joy to work with. We mixed a little rock, island music, and a Christian song and they pulled them all off wonderfully.

    Sent on 06/27/2014
  • C

    Clayton · Married on 03/14/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Junior from Barefoot Minded played our beach wedding, and he was PHENOMINAL! Extremely friendly and gave our wedding the perfect laid-back vibe we were looking for. All our guests thought that he was one of our other guests that just wanted to play at our wedding for us. We also got to meet with both Junior and Oren at one of their gigs prior to the wedding, and their whole set had a great beachy, island feel to it. They were very accommodating to our song requests as well. We wholeheartedly recommend them to anyone looking for great live music!

    We only awarded 3 stars for the responsiveness rating because we initially had challenges getting in contact with Barefoot Minded. Luckily, once we did establish contact it was smooth sailing!

    Sent on 05/15/2015
  • P

    Patty · Married on 07/01/2017

    1.8
    • Quality of service:
      1.5
    • Responsiveness:
      2.0
    • Value:
      1.5
    • Flexibility:
      2.0
    • Professionalism:
      2.0

    My Daughter was married recently ar Merriman's Maui. We choose Barefoot Minded Duo for the after dinner dancing and music from Merriman's select group of vendors. The Duo was scheduled, through Merriman's event team :(, to play from 8-10 pm. First off, they played the wrong first dance song. Oh well, if that is the worst thing that happens, we can deal with that. But, at 9:30 they stopped playing suddenly and packed up and started walking out. Of course, the Wedding coordinator at Merrimans had already left for the evening (another very disappointing thing). The Father of the groom had to go after them and only one guy came back to play more. This completely disrupted the reception because people thought it was over, and we had not even had the late night burgers that were planned or the sparkler send off that was occurring at 9:50 pm at the end. Be very careful when booking these guys through Merriman's and make sure you have someone present running the reception i.e. Wedding planner to ensure things go smoothly and the band satisfies the obligation that was booked and paid for. On another note, we had Marvin Tevaga for the ceremony and cocktail hour and he was amazing. We would have booked him for the whole event had we known the Barefoot Minded Trio was going to be unreliable and unprofessional!

    Sent on 08/07/2017

    Barefoot Minded's reply:

    We're so disappointed to hear that you were dissatisfied with Barefoot Minded. We truly take our clients' special occasions to heart and always try our best to make sure everyone has an awesome event and a memorable experience. All of our Five Star Reviews are a testimony to our great sound, our professionalism, responsiveness, and our attention to detail. Unfortunately, I do believe there might have been some miscommunication as we were hired, contracted and paid to play from 8-9:30pm. We also have an email request for the first dance song and notes documenting the particular song request, which is what we played. After playing our last song, we thanked the bride, groom and other family members as we always do and certainly did not pack up and rush out. It was only after we were chased down by a family member that we realized something was wrong. Clearly there was miscommunication as he thought they hired us until 10pm. Unfortunately, my music partner was unable to stay, but I went back as a courtesy and played another 20 minutes for no charge as I truly care and wanted to make sure your daughter's day was perfect. Again, I am so sorry there was a miscommunication and truly wish your family the best!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review