Bare Bones BBQ Reviews

18 | Grand Lake, CO
See photos, pricing and details

18 Reviews for Bare Bones BBQ

Recommended by 98%

18
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.9
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8
18 Bare Bones BBQ Reviews
Sort by:
  • C

    Carly · Married on 09/16/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Some of the BEST BBQ I have ever had! Everyone else raved about it too!
    We used Bare Bones for our rehearsal dinner. We picked it up in Grand Lake right when it was due and it was hot and fresh! So reasonably priced too. Thank you all so much!

    Sent on 12/05/2017

    Bare Bones BBQ's reply:

    Hi Carly! Thanks so much for your kind review!! Again, best of wishes for your marriage and Happy Holidays!
  • A

    Andrew · Married on 08/12/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Keith and the Team at Bare Bones were fantastic! Great food and hassle free experience. Couldn't ask for a better caterer

    Sent on 12/22/2017

    Bare Bones BBQ's reply:

    Hi Andrew, Thank you for your 5 star review! We love being a part of our guest's celebrations in the mountains and creating an enjoyable experience from start to finish. We hope we can be of service to you again in the future!
  • J

    Josh · Married on 10/15/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Keith and his staff were incredible! The food was delicious and there was a lot of it, perfect amount for our small wedding of about 72 people. Bare Bones are prompt, professional and boy they cook great food. I can't recommend them enough!

    Sent on 10/20/2016

    Bare Bones BBQ's reply:

    Thank you Josh! Keith really does love cooking and sharing his passion with his customers. We are always thrilled to hear that guest's love the meal as much as we do!
  • D

    Diane · Married on 09/25/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would say go for it. The food was delicious, hot and plenty of it. Staff was great. I would have been red them again in a minute.

  • K

    Kim · Married on 09/24/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you are looking for BBQ in the Granby CO area I highly recommend Bare Bones BBQ. I was looking for someone local to cater my sons casual "meet the bride & groom cook out" and was having to do it all from out of state. They handled everything for me and when it had to be moved indoors at the last minute due to inclement weather they were very flexible. The staff went beyond all expectations and everyone raved about the food. Being from Texas we like to think we know BBQ and this was better then anything I have had in a long time. Plus everyone was so nice.

  • D

    Diane · Married on 09/24/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Love this company and will definitely use again! Food was sooooo delicious, more than enough for our whole group. We could even go back for seconds if we wanted to.... Highly recommend!

  • S

    Shane · Married on 09/10/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We chose Bare Bones to cater our wedding at Winding River Ranch because we had heard from numerous people that his BBQ was outstanding! From the start, we received excellent customer service from Rebecca while we were still coordinating our wedding. All the logistics were very easy and we never felt rushed. On the day of our wedding, Keith and his crew did an excellent job. They were on time, the food was ready to go, the presentation was spot on and the service was awesome! As for the food, everyone loved it especially the St. Louis style ribs, beef brisket and the macaroni & cheese. We couldn't have been happier with Bare Bones and how much easier they made our day! We highly recommend their services due to great customer service and their delicious food. Thanks Keith & crew for helping to make our wedding day so great!

  • K

    Kisha · Married on 07/23/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Bare Bones catered my wedding reception and did a phenomenal job! They were wonderful to work with, flexible with all of my requests, and put together a very professional looking (and delicious) display. My guests raved about the food!! And to top it off, all at a very competitive price.

  • K

    Kori · Married on 06/04/2016

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    You can't go wrong with Bare Bones. They are so friendly and flexible and the price? You can't beat it in the mountains! Honestly it was the best decision I made for our wedding. Everyone RAVED about how wonderful it was. Do yourself a favor and at least book a tasting with them. You won't be disappointed.

  • M

    Marla · event on: 07/15/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I worked with Keith and Bare Bones BBQ for a family reunion dinner in Grand Lake. Keith was great to work with and the whole event was great. The team arrived on time, set up, cooked the food, ensured everyone was served, and then cleaned up. I couldn't have been more pleased with everything. The food options ensured everyone of our family had foods they enjoyed and there was plenty for everyone to eat! The BBQ was fabulous and the team was professional and fun to work. I would definitely recommend Bare Bones BBQ and would use them again.

    Sent on 11/15/2017

    Bare Bones BBQ's reply:

    Hi Marla, Thank you so much for your 5 star review of us! We really enjoy what we do and are so thankful to our customers for their love and support. We wish you and yours a happy holiday!
  • M

    Molly · event on: 08/10/2017

    5
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We hosted a conference for 36 people this past August and had a great experience with Keith and the rest of the folks at Bare Bones. They were very helpful in accommodating and communicating changes, from settling on a menu to guest count updates to some last-minute dietary restrictions. The food was an absolute hit with all of our guests! Would highly recommend if you're planning an event in the Winter Park area.

    Sent on 11/16/2017

    Bare Bones BBQ's reply:

    Hi Molly, Thanks so much for your kind review! We really appreciate your response and hope that we get to work with you again in the future!
  • S

    Steve · Married on 07/15/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was a great Rehearsal Dinner with family and friends. The BBQ from Bare Bones was an excellent choice and I would choose them again.

    Sent on 11/17/2017

    Bare Bones BBQ's reply:

    Hi Steve, Thank you for your kind review! It was a pleasure working with you! Happy Holidays to you and yours!
  • S

    Shannon · Married on 08/27/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    My husband and I used Bare Bones BBQ for our intimate wedding in Grand Lake and were more than impressed. Not only was the food delicious and loved by all (even the vegetarians who got roasted portabello mushrooms), but the staff was extremely responsive throughout the wedding weekend with questions we had.

    Most of all, Bare Bones went far beyond what most catering companies do. At the last minute, we had an issue with the chairs/tables company in Denver just hours before the event, and Bare Bones bent over backward to find us what we needed from local vendors and even had them delivered/set up/taken down at the ceremony. They literally saved the day!

    I would highly recommend using this vendor. You will not regret it!

  • G

    Gosia · Married on 09/09/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Bare Bones BBQ catered our rehearsal dinner at the Winding River Ranch in Grand Lake, CO. They were very easy to work with before the dinner. After the rehearsal they were all ready to go and the smoker outside smelled amazing. Our guests (and us!) LOVED the food. I even went back for seconds! The folks serving the dinner were informative about the food and made sure were were all well fed and happy. Thank you Bare Bones BBQ!

    Sent on 11/27/2017

    Bare Bones BBQ's reply:

    Hi Gosia, We loved being there to help you and your guest's celebrate! Thank you for your kind review and we hope we get to work with you again in the future!
  • S

    stephanie · Married on 07/22/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved our dinner from Bare Bones BBQ!! Everything was delicious and we didn't have to worry about a single thing being set up for us! We especially heard a lot of compliments on the mac and cheese, as we had several people that were vegetarian, so it was great to have such a delicious alternative!

    Sent on 11/14/2017

    Bare Bones BBQ's reply:

    Hi Stephanie! Thanks so much for your kind review! (The mac & cheese is certainly one of our favorites too!)
  • E

    Elizabeth · Married on 10/08/2016

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I chose to go with Bare Bones BBQ after my husband attended a Grand Lake wedding showcase of local vendors. It was great that he could choose which meats and sides based on actual taste. We ended up with 3 meats and 2 sides. We received great feedback from our guests about the food. Bare Bones was also very flexible with us the day of regarding timing. We had to move some things around to accommodate my father who could only stay at high altitude for a short period of time and they were worked with that just fine. They did add on a not small size fee for our reception being on the second floor of the barn which in the grand scheme of things isn't a huge deal but is worth mentioning. Also, about 20% of our guests were vegan/vegetarian so we asked if it'd be possible to substitute out a meat option and just do Portobello mushrooms instead but they said that was not possible. Again, not a huge issue but paying for 3 meat options when 20% of your guests aren't eating the meat at all seems a little wasteful. I would recommend that they put a vegetarian entrée as an option. Overall, we were very pleased with their food and service and would highly recommend them to others. By the way, the macaroni and cheese was to die for....just amazing.

  • M

    marybeth · Married on 08/27/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A very pleasant company to work with. ANd flexible. And food was great! I thought we had over ordered, but it was almost all gone by the end of the night!

    Sent on 11/14/2017

    Bare Bones BBQ's reply:

    Marybeth, thank you so much for your review! We are thankful to have been a part of your family reunion! Happy Holidays to you and your family!
  • K

    Kara · Married on 06/26/2017

    4
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Keith was fantastic, he was flexible the day of the wedding when there was a scheduling issue, and the food was superb! The only reason we are not rating him with a 5.0, is that responsiveness to email questions was delayed at times (think ~48 hrs), and his list of FAQs indicated the clients could provide their own food "upon approval". However, after letting Keith know we were thinking about proving our our appetizers, we were told that they "rarely" approve such a thing. Understandable - however, that information should be upfront and clear to anyone interested in Bare Bones BBQ. Besides that hiccup - we could not have asked for a better caterer! Keith is genuine and he cares!

    Sent on 07/06/2017

    Bare Bones BBQ's reply:

    Hi Kara, Thank you for your genuine review. We are glad that outside of the apps and the response time we were able to meet your satisfaction. We enjoyed being a part of your event and hope that in time, our team will grow to allow for quicker response! Thank you again and we hope you are doing well!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review