Weddings

Artisan Cake Company Reviews

Artisan Cake Company

Artisan Cake Company

Portland, OR
Rating 4.7 out of 5, 40 Reviews
View more information

40 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 94% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 40
Sort by:
  • J
    J. Married on 12/29/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    WOW! Liz of Artisan Cake Company made a cake for my anniversary and I couldn't have been more thrilled with the attention to detail and level of precision. Using entirely edible materials and fondant (which is normally strange tasting but in her case was delicious), she created an adorable scene of something we that is very meaningful in my relationship, complete with realistic characters. Every detail was there, right down to the little white crests on the waves and the color of our eyes. Based on how detailed it was, I would have been forgiving if it didn't taste good, but instead, it was incredibly DELICIOUS!! The cake was amazing. Fluffy, not too sugary, completely luscious!! She created expert layering that left the cake looking perfect after several hours out of the fridge, even on a hot day. This made my special day so much more memorable. I will absolutely count on Artisan Cake Company to make my next celebratory cake!!
  • Jessica
    Jessica Married on 09/28/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Liz and team at Artisan cake company made our wedding cake experience a super memorable one and created a wedding cake like no other! With sugar peonies encircling our three tier cake and vintage lace detailing lining each layer (Seriously, how do that do it?!) They create art, sculpture, love and deliciousness and made us light up with smiles when we first cut our cake together. A total joy of a moment. We are still hearing compliments and highly recommend Artisan Cake company for your next event!
  • J
    Jen Married on 07/18/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    My fiancé suprised me with a cake from here yesterday for our 5th anniversary. When the cake came out my jaw dropped! It depicted a scene of us kayaking and the detail was amazing. The figures looked so much like us, I thought they were made of clay! I was so impressed at how the cake seemed to capture our spirits. When it was time to cut into the cake I shed a little tear because it felt like I was cutting into a piece of art. Now, I would have been completely forgiving if the cake didn't taste good, I mean the thing is beautiful. But to my suprise and delight, it tasted AMAZING. The frosting was light, the cake had a addictive consistency. This was an amazing cake through and through. It made our anniversary celebration so much more memorable.
  • Stephanie
    Stephanie Married on 08/24/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I love love love loved our cake! Liz did an amazing job and her sugar flowers were gorgeous! She worked on sketches to help my dream cake come to light. It was so pretty that I didn't want to cut it but glad we did. It was delicious and the fondant superb! All our guest just loved it :) I highly recommend this bakery! Especially if you want a personal unique touch to your cake.
  • User1328833 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    It's rare in today's world to meet someone who is an artist through and through and who is dedicated to their craft. But Liz is a true artisan...an old world professional with so much knowledge and experience to share. If somebody asked me for recommendation as to who could make him a cake that would never be forgotten, I would recommend Liz.
  • R
    Regan Married on 06/21/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We contacted Liz when we knew that we wanted a cake shaped like a bust of Ludwig van Beethoven. We are both musicians and many of Beethoven's loving words to his immortal beloved were included in our wedding. It seemed like a perfect idea, and Liz made it come to life. We met with her soon after I contacted her and we told her our ideas ahead of time. She had done research and already had ideas when we had our meeting, which we loved. We could really see she was passionate about her work. The morning of our wedding she arrived even before we did and the cake was already on display. We could not believe it. It looked just like him; scowl and everything. He was perfect. And he was absolutely delicious :) Everyone was very impressed. We would definitely do business with her again. It was a joy. Thanks, Liz! You rock! Just like Beethoven!
  • S
    Suzanne Married on 05/04/2013
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I absolutely loved working with Elizabeth of Artisan Cake Company. She was extremely prompt in responding to my many inquiries and was easy to work with even though I was planning from a distance. At the cake tasting, I felt like I was chatting with an old friend and she seemed to understand right away just what we were looking for. The cake was absolutely delicious and our guests couldn't believe that the beautiful succulent plants on it weren't real!
    Artisan Cake Company offers an incredible range of flavors that were all amazing and Elizabeth seemed happy to do any custom combinations I might want. Her work is exquisite and she is a joy to work with!
  • M
    Micah Married on 10/07/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I like cake just as much as the next guy but when I decided to get married I knew I wanted something special. I contacted Artisan Cake Company and Liz said she could help me with my cake needs. My (now) wife and I gave her very little direction about what we wanted, but told her we were going for a fall themed wedding. When Liz walked through the door we were absolutely blown away by the cake and the cupcakes.

    The cake was a work of art, especially the custom made toppers proudly perched on top of the moist fondant. Each cupcake held a beautifully crafted sugar leaf that was so detailed and realistic many of the guests asked if they were safe to eat!

    Not only were the cake and cupcakes nice to look at, they were the best tasting wedding cake/cupcakes my taste buds have ever touched. We chose carrot cake for our wedding cake and it did not disappoint.

    Throughout the entire process Liz was cool, calm and professional. She knew what she was doing and exuded her skill with extreme confidence. Communication was open, honest and clear and we had little doubt of anything going awry with the cake.

    Months later family and friends are still talking about the work of art that was our wedding cake. We are completely satisfied and thrilled with Artisan Cake Company's work. I'm not a polygamist so I am saddened I cannot order more wedding cakes for my eyes to behold and my mouth to eat. Instead I have taken to celebrating little known holidays. Yesterday was national desk day, time for a cake! Next week is International Clip Your Toenails Day, time for a cake!

    No matter the event, holiday, season or reason; Artisan Cake Company has a cake for you.
  • J
    Jillian Married on 08/18/2012
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Liz's beautiful cake was a highlight at my reception. To this day I still have guests talking about it! During the planning process I exchanged several emails with Liz and she was always quick to respond. I was so excited to see my cake. Liz did not disappoint. In fact, she blew it out of the park. Highly recommend!!
  • User920621 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I chose Artisan Cake Company to make my wedding cake, and I couldn't have been happier with the decision! I only had a couple things I wanted on my cake and let her decide on everything else for the cake design. I can't get over how outstanding it was. It looked beautiful and tasted heavenly. The sugar flowers were so out of this world! And after tasting this cake I can't even eat cake without comparing it to this one. Perfectly moist and flavorful! Just writing this review makes my mouth water.

    Since this experience was totally amazing I decided I would use Artisan Cake Company for my birthday, and my daughters first birthday. My birthday cake was almond and started caramel! Who else does that?! It was delicious. And as for my daughter's cake, WOW! I knew what Liz could do but when I saw my daughter's birthday cake I was floored.

    If you want something totally amazing then use Artisan Cake Company because Liz and her baker will go above and beyond through a black hole and come up with this amazing piece of art you can eat! Artisan Cake Company is my one and only choice for cakes. I can't wait to get a second wedding cake, and many more birthday cakes!
  • Erica
    Erica Married on 09/03/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Not only did Elizabeth create a beautiful cake for our wedding, she didn't blink an eye when I had to call her up in a panic because my previously booked cake lady fell ill. She even honored my previous cake quote and then made it four tiers instead of three!!

    She has great attention to detail and arranged the flowers my florist left for her beautifully. Not only that, the CAKE WAS DELICIOUS!! All four differently flavored layers. Yum! I recommend the carrot cake and the lemon! :)

    Thanks Elizabeth! I was getting compliments from my girlfriends even while upstairs still getting ready! I was the very last person to see the cake and I loved it.
  • K
    Kristi Married on 07/16/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Liz did an excellent job on our wedding cake! First of all, she was super enthusiastic and excited for me during the whole process, which in turn made me even more excited for my wedding. She made my fiancé (now husband) and I feel very special. She was also super understanding about our limited budget and worked with us so we got a cake that we were VERY pleased with for a price that we could afford. I was impressed with her creativity, and also the way she took the time and care to incorporate the little details of our wedding into the design of our cake. Not only was our cake gorgeous - it was delicious! We got layers of chocolate cake with vanilla frosting, and vanilla cake with chocolate frosting. My husband swore that he hated fondant - until he tried the kind that Liz made. It was so good! It didn't taste like gummy chewy clay like so much fondant does. Her homemade fondant is delicious! Liz was on time with delivering the cake to our wedding, and it arrived in pristine condition. I am thrilled with how the cake turned out and the service we received! I highly recommend Elizabeth Marek and Artisan Cake Company, she was super professional and I feel like she put a lot of time into making sure I was absolutely satisfied with my cake - which I was!
  • Kelsey
    Kelsey Married on 03/26/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot even begin to tell you how absolutely blown away and thrilled I was with my wedding cake. It was beyond amazing. Liz not only created a 4 tier, delicious masterpiece, she also went above and beyond and made us the most amazing custom cake stand that lit up and accented our cake beautifully! Liz has amazing talent and will take your ideas and make them soooooo much more than what you hoped for. I think you would be hard pressed to find another cake artist in the Portland Area (or beyond for that matter) that has the skill and passion that Liz does. I highly (HIGHLY) recommend Artisan Cake Company for any event!

    Artisan Cake Company's reply:

    Thank you for your wonderful words Kelsey! Your wedding was beautiful and the venue was amazing! I would love to see photos of the cake after the lights went down :-D I am so happy to hear you and the hubby were pleased :-D ps, those mint chocolate chip cookies look ah-MAZING :-D
  • L
    Lee Married on 02/19/2011
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Getting ready to celebrate our 30th Anniversary, my wife and I decided to throw ourselves a celebration complete with re-commitment ceremony, open bar, dancing and a fancy cake. We chose Artisan Cake Company because of Liz Marek's impressive portfolio and obvious love for what she does. We gave her some pretty vague and generalized ideas for the cakes and hoped for the best. When the cakes were delivered, we couldn't believe what a fantastic job she had done! She incorporated just about every element that we had suggested and turned our ideas into a beautiful (and delicious) representation. Speaking of delicious; Liz made both Red Velvet and Spice cakes for us and my wife and I were astounded by the texture and flavor of each variety. Going into the process, i had feared that we would have to choose either taste or presentation but, with Artisan Cake Company, we were able to get the very best of both!
  • E
    Emily Married on 10/02/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    The cake we got from Artisan Cake Co. was AMAZING. It was the talk of the party even before we cut into it. It was everything I could have hoped for! It looked gorgeous and tasted wonderful too. I could not have asked for better service, from the very first email requesting information to the professional set-up and delivery of the cake. Thank you again, Artisan Cake Co, and I will definitely be using you in the future for my fancy cake needs.
  • K
    Kirsten Married on 10/02/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I put my cousin in charge of the cake for a Baby Shower we co-hosted and she ordered from Artisan Cake Company and it was the hit of the whole shower. Not only was the cake perfect in every detail, it tasted amazing! I'm now looking for excuses to order from them again... lol!
  • M
    Dustyann Married on 09/11/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    We loved our wedding and shower cakes so much we refer to them as food network super cool wedding cake show quality in looks and taste. When we sat down to talk about what we were thinking Artisan Cake co. got excited about the ideas we had and the pictures we brought with us to show her of the looks we were hoping for and instead of saying whats one or two of these ideas are your favorite she found a way to include almost every idea we liked. A lot of other brides that came to my showers and wedding were amazed at the looks of our cakes and so many pictures are around these cakes. I just wish my wedding day wasn't so busy i could have looked at them longer. We are so very happy with the looks and flavors of our cakes. Between all three events we had 9 yes 9 flavors of cake. All were amazing. We will most certainly use Artisan Cake co. for future, want to order cakes events and gatherings. Everyone at Artisan is super easy to talk to and work with. Thank you Artisan Cake co. Liz and team for such beautiful works of art on our very special wedding day and shower cakes. You made the cake part of planning and waiting so worth every bit of waiting for our special day. We look forward to our next cakes. Keep up the awesome job and having so much fun. Much Love, Aaron & DustyAnn Wimer
    WE LOVE OUR ARTISAN CAKES.
  • C
    Cynthia Married on 09/11/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I really want to thank you Liz for providing me and my fiance with such a wonderful cake. She really cared about us and gave us exactly what we were looking for! She was detailed, creative and really easy to work with. I would recommend her to any bride who is looking for something different than the every day old blah cake :)
  • J
    Jeanine Married on 08/15/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Elizabeth Marek made a gluten free AND vegan wedding cake for my son and his wife in August of 2010. Ms. Marek listened to Cody and Leah's needs and wants for their wedding cake. They gave her their ideas of what they wanted but when the time came for the finished product it well exceeded all of our expectations. The cake was just beautiful and the taste was absolutely delicious. I had never seen a cake like that before. No one could tell that it was gluten free and vegan. The cake was nice and moist too. Ms. Marek showed the marks of true professionalism by contacting us in advance and letting us know that she was working on the cake. She made herself available to us. She traveled an hour (one way) to come to the wedding site and set up the cake. On time. No worries whether it would make it or not. We are so impressed by Ms. Marek's professionalism, perfectionism, talent and creativity. We truly feel honored that she made our cake. I highly recommend Ms. Marek and her company for any of your cake needs.
  • R
    Marissa Married on 07/18/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    we had our wedding on july 18th and the cake turned out so amazing ive never seen something with such beauty and the taste was hands down the best ever!! the cake looked better than the picture did!! thanks liz and ur staff for the best cake in the world!!
  • S
    Stephanie Married on 05/15/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Liz at Artisan Cake Company made my wedding cake EXACTLY how i envisioned it. The cake was the center piece of our dessert table and it looked so amazing.

    I was extremely pleased with my service and would recommend Liz to anyone looking for a custom designed master piece, made of cake :)
  • A
    Ashley Married on 05/01/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I met with a lot of cake vendors and Liz Marek is hands down the absolute BEST! She is insanely affordable, extremely talented, and incredibly responsive and professional. I appreciate everything she did and will return to her for all my cake needs.
  • A
    Ashley Married on 05/01/2010
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Liz did the most incredible job on all 170 mini cakes for my wedding. Two tier with metallic accents in the most delectable flavors of all time! I will gladly go back to Liz for any event I can find an excuse to get a cake for! She is the best.
  • L
    Lorena Married on 11/07/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Thank you Liz for the most beautiful wedding cake! The orchids and soft green simple trim were perfect for the bride and groom who were wanting a very "nature" inspired wedding. You did an outstanding design and we appreciate your efforts on such a short notice. It was fun to watch the guests enjoying not only the decorations, but also wanting a second piece because the flavor was fabulous!
    Brian and Lorena - Monmouth
  • K
    Jen Married on 10/10/2009
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Liz is a very warm and kind person who makes you feel comfortable to express what you truly want. She is very creative and full of ideas to help make the cake you want for you wedding. You will find her extremely resourceful and full of good information. You would be lucky to have Liz's cakes at your wedding.