Annapolis Formal & Tuxedos Reviews

59 | Annapolis, MD
See photos, pricing and details

59 Reviews for Annapolis Formal & Tuxedos

Recommended by 93%

59
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2011 Winner

4.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.7
  • Professionalism 4.6
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.7

4 User photos

Annapolis Formal & Tuxedos 1
Annapolis Formal & Tuxedos 2
Annapolis Formal & Tuxedos 3
Annapolis Formal & Tuxedos 4
Sort by:
  • A

    Amanda · Married on 04/20/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I purchased my wedding gown from Lily's Bridal. I wanted sleeves added. I purchased additional lace, trim and buttons from the designer through Lily's to complete the sleeves, neckline and back. Lily's Bridal put me in contact with Annapolis Formal and Tuxedo in Annapolis because Lily's unfortunately does not offer alterations. I had a fantastic experience working with Flavia and Dora. They were able to add sleeves, a neckline and back to my dress just as I requested. They also hemmed the dress and brought it in because it was too big. It fit like a glove! They worked with me and my mom to bring our vision to life. I was trilled when it was completed. It was definitely worth the money to finally have the dress I had envisioned. I found it very difficult to find a dress with a full top in my size. I would recommend Annapolis Formal and Tuxedo to anyone looking to get alterations. I couldn't be more thankful to Flavia and Dora.

    Sent on 05/04/2018
    Annapolis Formal & Tuxedos 5
    Annapolis Formal & Tuxedos 6
  • H

    Hayes · Married on 04/06/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I purchased my dress from Wren Bridal, and Erica (sales associate from Wren) recommended Annapolis Formal & Tuxedos. I am so so happy I chose them for my alterations!! Every appointment I had was on time, never rushed, and I felt Dora really listened to what I wanted in terms of alterations. My dress came out absolutely gorgeous, I wish I were able to wear it for more than just one night. Pricing was fair, since my dress was 90% lace and tiny beading, I'm sure fine, very detailed work had to be put into these alterations. My dress was even done a week or 2 early! I highly recommend Dora and Flavia for your wedding dress needs!

    Sent on 05/05/2018
    Annapolis Formal & Tuxedos 7
    Annapolis Formal & Tuxedos 8
  • K

    Kate · Married on 05/06/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I am SO glad that I found Annapolis Formal and Tuxedo. My wedding dress was not an easy one to alter- I needed the top taken in a LOT, I wanted the neckline to be turned into a sweetheart, and the whole thing was covered in beads and lace. Dora is amazing. She was patient and careful and the dress came out perfectly. They also have a beautiful selection of accessories- I found my veil and a stunning flower/feather hairpiece (both VERY reasonably priced). Dora and Flavia are so kind and they made the entire experience easy and stress-free. 

    Sent on 06/11/2017
  • C

    Carly · Married on 04/22/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dora did an amazing job altering my wedding dress!! She was able to alter it to exactly what I wanted and it looked amazing!! She didn't rush me during my appointments and was able to make it fit perfectly! She was highly recommended by another bridal salon in Annapolis, and she didn't disappoint! Much love and thanks Dora and Flavia for helping me to have the wedding dress of my dreams!!

    Sent on 05/13/2017
  • H

    Hayley · Married on 12/24/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dora and Flavia are amazing!! Dora basically took both my wedding and reception dress and custom made the for me. I had two separate pieces for my ceremony dress that she combined to make a beautiful dress, and she took my floor-length reception dress with a deep-V neckline that she made into a knee-length, high neck fun reception dress!! I couldn't be happier with the outcome!!

    Sent on 04/26/2017
  • V

    Vicky · Married on 11/05/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    So so happy with my experience with Annapolis Formal. I did get lucky with a beautiful sample Watters gown that fit me well to begin, BUT everything I needed (hem, bustle, veil) was done so well and at such reasonable prices. These ladies are warm and lovely. I felt like I was part of their family when we were there. I even had them hem a bridesmaids' dress for a wedding I was to be in a few weeks after my own. If you are looking for personal service at reasonable prices, this is the place for you to start your search for your gown!

    Sent on 11/18/2016
  • K

    Kirsten · Married on 05/28/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Flavia and Dora were an awesome team to work with! Flavia helped me choose my dress and even held it for me for several months while I was overseas. When I returned and was ready for fittings, Dora worked her magic and made my gown fit like a glove! I fully trusted that she would make sure I wouldn't have to worry about my dress fitting and looking good during my wedding. I would fully recommend going to Annapolis Formal for your wedding dress or for another event!

    Sent on 06/13/2016
  • K

    Kris · Married on 04/30/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I first met Flavia as a bridesmaid helping my friend shop for her wedding dress. The experience put Annapolis Formal at the top of the list when it came time to shop for my own dress, and reading the other reviews on Wedding Wire only solidified my decision. Flavia and her mom Dora were wonderful to work with, really listening to what I was and was not looking for in a dress and helping to collect all my scattered ideas into a selection of dresses to try on. And then once I found "the dress," they were on top of my alterations, and they even took a piece of my dress to sew onto a clutch for my mom. They're wonderful, they're kind, they're not pushy, they're fun, and they know their craft! My sister also got her MOH dress with Falvia, and she was so happy she was grinning like a two-year-old. It was a wonderful experience all around, and I HIGHLY recommend them!!

    Sent on 05/19/2016
  • Renee

    Renee · Married on 02/07/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When I started looking for my dress, I went to Annapolis Formal & Tuxedo because it was conveniently located. Flavia (the owner), Dora (Flavia's mother), and the shop itself ... made the experience beyond my wildest expectations! I never thought I would find my dress at the first shop I went to. The personal service provided and the beautiful selection (across all price points) made me very confident in my purchase. The follow up appointments for hemming prior to the wedding reinforced this. It was the PERFECT dress from the PERFECT shop and I could not have been happier wearing it at our wedding.

    Sent on 03/01/2016
  • S

    Samantha · Married on 11/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I took my wedding dress here to be altered. Everything about all of my appointments was great. The mother-daughter duo really know their dresses and what my dress needed to be hemmed and altered correctly. The shop was small, but intimate and they had a curtained changing room in the back. Every time I went my dress was hanging and ready for me to put on. They steamed my dress and were very flexible with appointments when I was stuck in traffic multiple times.

    Sent on 12/04/2015
  • M

    Meghan · Married on 10/10/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    This mom and daughter duo are amazing. I got all 9 of my bridesmaids dresses with them. They made it easy and affordable. Some of my local bridesmaids got their alterations with them as well and they were easy and amazing. We had some issues with the sizing of dresses and they had no problem helping us out. I can not say enough great things about this company. I would go to them again with any dress order!

    Sent on 10/21/2015
  • D

    Dayna · Married on 10/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dora and Flavia are awesome!! They were very patient with my daughter. She tried on many dresses at other locations and hadn't found the one she LOVED. There was nothing like this dress anywhere else we looked. The lace looked hand crocheted, it had the sweetheart neckline and the ivory color she wanted. Nothing compared to the dress she found at Annapolis Formal & Tuxedos and the customer service we received. Even after the decision was made we stopped by a few times to try the dress on with a few sashes and to keep looking at the dress. Each and every time we saw the dress, we fell more in love with it.

    Thank you ladies for your services and my daughters beautiful dress!!

    Sent on 02/17/2015
  • User3867481 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I purchased my wedding gown and bridesmaids dresses from Annapolis Formal and Tuxedo and I cannot say enough great things about this store. The owner, Flavia, was amazing to work with. I always felt like I got one on one attention and it did not feel as rushed as the bigger dress stores that I looked at. You can tell that Flavia really cares about her customers and when you are in there you feel like you are working with a friend. I came in several times before I was able to finally decide on a dress and Flavia was always so helpful and not pushy at all. She showed me dresses within my budget and even showed me ones at the lower end just to make sure that I saw everything I might be interested in. I found a dress that I liked, but I wanted to try one on in a bigger size because the sample was a little small. Flavia went out of her way to call other places to see if she could get a larger sample in. She was not able to, but I felt good knowing that she was going above and beyond to make sure I was able to find the right dress. I ended up finding the perfect dress and she explained everything to me about the order process and there were no surprises. When my dress came in she called me right away and let me come in to try it on. I also came in another time before my fittings for my mom to see the dress. I had my alterations done by Flavia’s mom, Dora, and her work was impeccable. The dress fit perfectly and both Flavia and Dora ensured that it was perfect before I left the store. All of my bridesmaids live out of town, so I purchased all of the dresses based on pictures and color swatches. When I was trying to decide on colors, Flavia ordered all of the swatches that I asked for and mailed them to me so I could decide which ones I liked best. The dresses came in to the store in plenty of time and Flavia always called right away when they arrived. I am so happy with all of the dresses and I could not have asked for a more perfect dress and dress buying exp

    Sent on 06/22/2014
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 10/05/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had a wonderful first experience at Annapolis Formal, the owners Flavia and her mother, Dora, are very knowledgable and professional. My MOH had called a few dress shops in the Annapolis area to set up an appointment for me to just try on a few styles. I was very nervous and anxious to go anywhere because I had no idea what I liked or what would look good on me. After reading some horror stories and reviews from other shops in Annapolis I was glad to see Annapolis Formal had the most consistent reviews.
    When we arrived they were having a Black Friday sale all weekend, which they had explained to us on the phone. My MOH and I sorted through some dresses and picked out about 7 that I wanted to try on. Flavia explained the sale to us and also told us she would pick a few for me to try on out of their regular inventory. Flavia was very professional, she told me upfront she would treat me how she would want to be treated in my situation, and she did! I got changed into the dresses in a private fitting room in the back of the shop, Flavia stood outside if the curtain and when i was ready for her she would come in. The dress I fell in love with was one that Flavia had picked based on my reaction to others. Both her and her mom were not pushy at all and answered all my questions. I had said I wanted to come back the next day with my mom to show her the dress before purchasing and they were completely understanding.
    After getting the final approval from my mom and the rest of my bridal party I sat down with Flavia and she explained the ordering and payment process. I look forward to working with this shop over the next 10 months and have confidence that I made the right choice in choosing them.

    Sent on 11/26/2012
  • T

    Taryn · Married on 09/21/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dora and Flavia of Annapolis Formal honestly feel like family from the past year. After trying on dresses at Annapolis Formal, I decided on a dress at another boutique from a designer that they did not carry. Still, Annapolis Formal gave me the bridal party discount and I ordered all of my bridesmaid and flower girls' dresses from them- and the minute I got my dress from the other salon I brought it right to AF for the alterations. Dora is such a talented seamstress- she did an amazing and beautiful job on my lace gown, sewed in an additional bustle when I did not like the look of the original one, my monogram, etc. She also altered my sister's bridesmaid dress in 15 minutes after she brought it in the day before my wedding after having another seamstress in NJ tell her she couldn't get it any closer. The whole process with Annapolis formal was easy, and I NEVER once worried about anything related to the dresses or alterations knowing I could trust them. Highly recommend.

    Sent on 10/17/2013
  • N

    Natalie · Married on 08/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I would absolutely recommend Annapolis Formal and Tuxedo to anyone who is looking for dresses or for alterations. They were very accommodating and friendly. My bridesmaids and younger sister all bought their dresses at AFT and my Mom had hers altered there. I wish I had had mine altered there as well because I was very unhappy at the other Annapolis bridal boutique that I used. . .

    We had such a great experience with the mother/daughter team at AFT and I would use them again in a heartbeat!

    Sent on 09/10/2013
  • User3442963 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this small boutique in Annapolis, MD. Flavia and her mother were great to work with, and they made the wedding dress experience so personal and fun (as opposed to other similar-sized boutiques and larger chain bridal stores). They bring with them over 27 years of experience and can transform a lace dress that is about 10 sizes too big into a beautifully fitted petite size with seemingly no difficulty. They offer a great variety of dresses (that I didn't find elsewhere) for very reasonable prices, and only schedule one appointment at a time so that they can provide you with their full attention. They were always professional, flexible with their time frames, and provided prompt and quality services. I truly felt like I had known them for years and I cannot thank them enough for making me feel so beautiful on my wedding day!

    Sent on 08/05/2013
  • R

    Ryan · Married on 06/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had a wonderful experience with Annapolis Formal. I found a dress online that I wanted to try on, but no stores carried a sample (it's a short wedding dress, and therefore not very popular). My mom called tons of stores in Virginia and DC and Maryland, and ONLY Annapolis Formal said they would be happy to make some calls and get the sample sent in.

    The sample came in quickly (they even did a little extra work to find a sample roughly my size). We went in, I tried it on, I cried b/c I loved it so much, and we ordered on the spot. My dress came in a month early, I had two fittings, and now my dress is at home! I can't wait to wear it on my wedding day!

    Both women who work there are kind, helpful, knowledgeable, and not even a tiny bit pushy when it comes to selling their products. They sent us an email with some photographer recommendations (as we had asked them if they had any vendor partners), and I my mom and I both left there feeling very good about where we had ended up getting my dress. We had to drive over an hour each way to get to Annapolis Formal, but it was totally worth it! :)

    Sent on 11/26/2012
  • L

    Laura · Married on 06/01/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Flavia and Dora are not only amazing at what they do, they are wonderful people! I had no idea what I wanted in a dress and was trying on so many different styles. Flavia picked out my dress and it was not one that I would have initially picked... thank goodness she did! Not only did they help me find the wedding dress of my dreams that seems like it was made for me, but they also altered my mothers 1970s wedding dress to wear for a "Love the Dress" shoot we were doing the next day. This dress had puffy sleeves and a high neck. They altered it into a beautiful scoop neck dress with lacy straps. I also gave them another challenge, and that was adding a rhinestone belt to all of my bridesmaids dresses (7 of them). Flavia and Dora completed everything I asked and worked diligently until they were all perfect. They were so accommodating, from personal phone calls to meeting me on hours that were convenient for me. They are both so sweet and have a special place in my heart! Love you both and thank you!

    Sent on 07/02/2013
  • C

    Carol · Married on 04/20/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We live near Annapolis and if you are in the area we would highly recommend this shop. It is owned and run by a mother and daughter and they keep it very personal and make you feel very special. They will work with you and professionally advise and alter your dress/tux/suit to your liking. They were helpful and the quality of service and merchandise was the best.
    Carol

    Sent on 05/16/2013
  • A

    Aeryn · Married on 03/24/2013

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Awesome boutique, awesome people - wonderful experience! I would recommend this small, chic boutique dress store to any bride. You will LOVE it!

    Sent on 07/19/2013
  • A

    Adrienne · Married on 10/06/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had a great experience with Annapolis Formal. First, I found the dress that I absolutely fell in love with. I also wanted a black sash to go around the waist, tie in the back, and fall downward in the back. When the option I liked turned out to be unavailable, Flavia said that if I liked the sash they had in the store when I tried on the dress then they would sell it to me. It worked perfectly, and was a fraction of the cost that the one from the dress designer would have been! When it came to alterations, they were great. I even asked them to make a reinforced bustle, since I knew how easily they break first hand from two of my friend's weddings earlier. The tie she did stayed put through dancing and a pub crawl afterwards.
    I can't tell you how many compliments I got on my dress on our wedding day!

    Sent on 10/10/2012
  • L

    Laura · Married on 10/05/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The ladies at Annapolis Formal were such a pleasure to work with. They made me feel comfortable when trying on my dress. I got a gorgeous dress that wasn't overly priced.

    Sent on 11/04/2012
  • J

    Jess · Married on 06/23/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I had a wonderful experience at Annapolis Formal working with Flavia and Dora -- it was the one salon I felt instantly comfortable in. I tried on a few dresses I thought I would like, and then Flavia brought in a couple of suggestions, one of which was the dress I ultimately bought. They weren't pushy, and didn't insist on coming in the dressing room with me to put on the dresses, which was a huge bonus in my book. They were incredibly accommodating, especially with last minute alterations, and were on top of orders for the bridesmaids' dresses and groomsmen's tuxes. I didn't worry about anything while working with them, and would highly recommend their shop!

    Sent on 07/04/2012
  • T

    Tracy · Married on 04/21/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The owners were so easy to work with and everything was beautiful! Thanks!

    Sent on 04/24/2012

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review