Anderson Japanese Gardens Reviews

110 | Rockford, IL
See photos, pricing and details

110 Reviews for Anderson Japanese Gardens

Recommended by 95%

110
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner

4.8 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 4.9
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.7
  • Value 4.7
  • Average response time 4.8

13 User photos

Anderson Japanese Gardens 1
Anderson Japanese Gardens 2
Anderson Japanese Gardens 3
Anderson Japanese Gardens 4
Anderson Japanese Gardens 5
Anderson Japanese Gardens 6
Anderson Japanese Gardens 7
+ 7
Sort by:
  • L

    L · Married on 07/16/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A wonderful venue! Great staff!

    Sent on 08/04/2016
  • S

    Shelli · Married on 05/29/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Book it,. The venue itself is beautiful and a real treat for guests who have never been there before. I am still getting compliments on the beauty of it 2 weeks later. The staff were so helpful in making sure I wasn't stressed and worked together perfectly on coordinating everything. We also got a year family membership which is definitely a plus.

    Sent on 06/12/2016
  • P

    Pam · Married on 05/28/2016

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    If you're looking for an absolutely beautiful venue with staff that make you feel special and treat you and your guests with the utmost respect, you need to book your wedding at Anderson Japanese Garden. The photos we took before and after the ceremony are gorgeous. All of my guests were gushing at how beautiful the ceremony was and what a fantastic venue we had picked.

    Sent on 06/14/2016
  • R

    Robert · Married on 10/31/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely amazing setting...only thing I would suggest is maybe a smaller(amount) wedding package for those who are only having 10 or less guests attend. Unfortunately, when I took my bride there to initially propose, as soon as I seen the place, I knew that would be where we got married, no matter the cost. But the smallest "package" still included up to 40 chairs for guests. Again, maybe just a slightly discounted rate for people who know they're only having 10 or less guest. Well worth the money for us either way.

    Sent on 11/12/2015
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 09/25/2015

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I knew from the moment we toured anderson gardens that we wanted to have our ceremony there. The pictures you will have to remember your special day alone are enough to book this wonderful venue. Top that with amazing people to work with to make the day as least stressful as possible and it's the perfect place to say your I do's.
    If you are thinking about having an outside wedding but you are sure,ake sure you check out Anderson Gardens. It is truly and amazing and beautiful place and the people make it all that much better. I can.pt praise them enough for all they did.

    Sent on 10/10/2015
  • M

    Melissa · Married on 10/04/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Not only is the garden beautiful, but the staff is wonderful. My husband and I planned our wedding 100% by ourselves, and we didn't know what to expect! We showed up for our practice rehearsal, and we were greeted with not one, but three staff members who told and showed us exactly what to do! The day of our wedding ran just as smooth. The staff is very well trained and organized and made sure our day was perfect. Due to the gardens beauty, we didn't have to decorate anything, which is a plus if you are on a budget.

    Sent on 10/06/2014
  • G

    Gretchen · Married on 06/21/2014

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anderson was a beautiful venue to have our ceremony at. Although it rained during our wedding day and they transitioned us into the lobby, the room was still beautiful. It was just a bummer to specifically pay extra for the pavilion and to have the gardens to ourselves only for it to rain.

    Sent on 07/20/2014
  • E

    Erin · Married on 06/07/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anderson Japanese Gardens was the perfect choice for our wedding venue. They are extremely experienced and incredibly organized. I felt confident that my event would run smoothly and it did. The price was great for the value. The staff was so attentive, every time I looked up there was someone there to ask if I needed anything. The pictures could not have been more lovely which such beautiful scenery. My guests were thoroughly impressed.

    Highly recommended.

    Sent on 06/11/2013
  • A

    Andrea · Married on 08/31/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anderson Japanese Gardens is the most beautiful outdoor venue to hold your wedding ceremony. Our photographer, Erik Anderson, took the most stunning photos. Our experience with the wedding coordinator was fantastic and the staff assigned to our wedding were so professional and organized that it made our day go better than expected. We are so grateful to Carmen and Christine for handling all the stressful elements of the day. One note of consideration is to plan your photography so you have plenty of light to take your photos after the ceremony.

    Sent on 09/03/2018
    Anderson Japanese Gardens 8
    Anderson Japanese Gardens 9
    Anderson Japanese Gardens 10

    Anderson Japanese Gardens's reply:

    Thank you Andrea! It was our pleasure to help create your day!
  • D

    Danielle · Married on 06/02/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Going early to meet right before the rehearsal was a great time saver as we sorted out a bunch of details (such as line up, where people are coming in at and how) before the rehearsal so people weren't just standing around while that gets sorted. Also, we walked around the gardens a year out from our date and circled any locations we wanted to have our pictures taken to make it easier and quicker the day of.

    Sent on 06/12/2018

    Anderson Japanese Gardens's reply:

    Thank you Danielle, it was a pleasure celebrating your day with you!
  • E

    Emily · Married on 07/12/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The staff was so helpful at the rehearsal and the day of the event. They really know what they are doing and are so organized!

    Sent on 07/30/2014
  • User3594823 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Beautiful scenery and many options for choice of backgrounds for ceremonies. Not many options if inclement weather, only one outdoor pavilion that cannot be used if another wedding is set up for that day.

    Sent on 10/10/2013
  • R

    Rachel · Married on 09/22/2018

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    Gorgeous venue. My daughter got married there on September 22,2018. It was absolutely perfect. The rehearsal was a bit confusing but ended up perfect for the wedding. Highly recommend Anderson gardens!

    Sent on 10/12/2018
    Anderson Japanese Gardens 11

    Anderson Japanese Gardens's reply:

    Hi Rachel,
    Thank you for the feedback about the rehearsal. We will be sure to work on this for future events. We are so happy the ceremony was perfect!
  • N

    Naomi · Married on 07/01/2017

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    The site was absolutely as stunning as any pictures you find of it. The staff at Anderson was great throughout our planning process, our rehearsal, and the ceremony. I wanted to have a touch of my heritage as part of my wedding and Anderson definitely gave us what we were looking for. After our rehearsal the staff allowed the photographer more time to take the dress out and get photos of it hanging so that we wouldn't have to find time to do so on the ceremony day. They were very good at taking us and the photographer around key areas throughout the garden to produce some of the most beautiful scenes for our photographs. The staff communicates well together making sure that the bridal party didn't accidently run into the groom's party as we requested to have a traditional "first look" moment at the altar. Our guests felt very welcome and were well directed to the correct location for the ceremony. Sarah was great in making sure to communicate the limitations of decorations, flowers, etc. that the garden has to prevent damage to the property or the buildings. It was a little on the pricey side but well worth making room in the budget for. They make sure not to schedule more than 1 wedding event in the day to ensure there is no overlap in guests, or wedding parties, so you will have the garden exclusively at the time of your ceremony.

    Sent on 07/21/2017
  • G

    Greg · Married on 09/29/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    Our wedding at AJG was fantastic! The staff was super helpful and all our guests we're blown away at how beautiful our ceremony was. It was a fantastic value as well. Only complaint was that my mother is wheel chair bound and it was tough to push her along the path to the ceremony, but that path is part of the beauty of the garden, so it's to be expected. We we're very happy with all aspects of the wedding. Thanks Anderson!

    Sent on 10/05/2014
  • J

    Jennifer · Married on 08/15/2014

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely beautiful venue with very responsive and pleasant staff!

    Sent on 08/24/2014
  • K

    Kristen · Married on 10/05/2013

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding was absolutely beautiful. Sara did a great job of accommodating our needs and making sure everything was the way we wanted.

    Sent on 10/19/2013
  • User3576922 · 2+ years ago

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sarah was very pleasant to work with. She was very informative and efficient. The vendor booklet was a great guide. The gardens are adsolutely beautiful and serene. It was a perfect venue for us and our guests. The staff that guided me and my family on the wedding day were very supportive and conforting. Thank you all for making our wedding day go smoothly.

    Sent on 10/02/2013
  • L

    Lindsey · Married on 08/07/2010

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We were able to talk to them and have the ceremony and dance outside, which was amazing. Overall, it was beautiful and the pictures looked amazing.

    Sent on 03/28/2011
  • User5354433 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      3.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautifully kept and maintained garden. Great pavilion that guests can sit in for the ceremony. Many photo opportunities. For the price they should block off the lawn and path behind the ceremony so the random people arnt in your wedding ceremony photos forever. Staff was fantastic and very helpful.

    Sent on 08/17/2015
  • N

    Natasha · Married on 10/11/2014

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Anderson Gardens was a wonderful place to have a wedding Ceremony at, i just wish that we could of had our wedding reception there also.

    Thank you

    Sent on 10/29/2014
  • C

    Crystal · Married on 06/08/2013

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Anderson Gardens is the most beautiful place to have a wedding. The views are breathtaking, the staff is friendly and everything went smoothly from getting ready in the downstairs area to walking down the long garden path to the alter under the pavillion. Everything was perfect!!

    Sent on 06/11/2013
  • User5376809 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Sara and Kara were fantastic to work with! Both took the time to go over everything with us several times to make sure all our needs were met and the small details were in place.

    Sent on 08/24/2015
  • User5334694 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Should block off area behind the ceremony while it is happening. Its rude to have random people in ceremony pictures that the bride and groom will have forever. Otherwise the staff was amazing and the garden is always beautiful.

    Sent on 08/10/2015
  • User3559492 · 2+ years ago

    4.2
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful place for a wedding, but the time for pictures is limited. You rent the space for 2 hours and the time goes too fast, & it is hard to get all the photos you want.

    Sent on 09/25/2013

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review