Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling Reviews

26 | Watsonville, CA
See photos, pricing and details

26 Reviews for Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling

Recommended by 98%

26
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner

4.9 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 4.9
  • Flexibility 4.8
  • Value 4.9
  • Average response time 4.8

23 User photos

Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 1
Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 2
Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 3
Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 4
Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 5
Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 6
Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 7
+ 17
Sort by:
  • Keri

    Keri Downing · Getting married on 10/15/2020

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Extremely helpful

    The entire visit went as smoothly as I had expected. I arrived at the venue and it was exactly how she had described it. There are several wedding packages and we went over all of them. All of my questions were answered and I left there feeling confident that I choose this venue my wedding would go smooth and worry free.

    Sent on 06/04/2019

    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling's reply:

    Thanks Keri! It was a pleasure to meet with you! We look forward to hearing from you again soon! All the best! Kristie
  • Daisy

    Daisy Avila · Married on 06/01/2019

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Dream come true

    A whole weekend for a wedding?! What more can you ask for?!? An amazing coordinator (Miranda❤️) to help make the day less stressful?! Yes, please!!! BYO alcohol helped us with keeping it open bar, and this was definitely a highlight!!!! Bonfire on Friday night after rehearsal and welcome dinner, Late night meal on Saturday night, and brunch on Sunday! The most beautiful ceremony location amongst majestic redwoods ❤️ along with many MANY amazing spots for photos!!!! The place itself is already so gorgeous that you don't have to go all out with decorating, nature already does it for you!!! And the food is A-MA-ZING! Honestly, our dream come true!!!!

    Sent on 07/04/2019
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 8
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 9
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 10
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 11
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 12
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 13

    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling's reply:

    Thank you for the great review Daisy! We are delighted that you chose Amphitheatre of the Redwoods as your wedding venue and your dream came true!

    Wishing you all the best life has to offer.
    The POL Wedding Team
  • S

    Sonia Z · Married on 10/14/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Wonderful Venue and Staff

    On 10.14.18 my husband and I got married here at Pema Osel Ling, and it was an absolute dream! ALL of the staff was extremely helpful, sweet, and a pleasure to work before and during a day that we will hold very close to our hearts. Our coordinator was Eden, who was great with answering all of my questions and helped with making everything a smooth process. The food for the reception and brunch the following morning was delicious and a huge hit. We stuck to a pretty basic menu even though we had the option to get really creative and incorporate lots of food items, and it was still an incredible meal that everyone loved. Our wedding was on the smaller side with roughly 70 guests, and we didn't want it to feel like we had a lot of extra strangers/vendors at our wedding, but that was not the case at all. Every single person from Pema that we came into contact with was incredibly nice and added such a positive touch to our wedding.

    We had our ceremony at the Amphitheatre of the Redwoods, and it was absolutely incredible! The area was able to accommodate all of our guests and more; however, it had a feeling of being very intimate. We were approved to have dried lavender tossed, and the entire amphitheatre smelled of lavender and it was perfect!
    Cocktail hour was outside of Celebration Hall, and the bartenders provided by Pema were great and kept all of our guests happy (with alcohol that we provided!). For dinner we had everyone seated in the lawn area outside of Celebration Hall. The weather wasn't too cold but we had heaters and everyone was comfortable. Dancing and dessert were inside of Celebration Hall and this provided such a great space for guests who didn't want to be outside. We were worried that the space would feel too big and empty for our guest size, but we felt that it was perfect for everyone to be able to enjoy the venue without feeling too cramped or pressured to do a certain activity. At night we made use of the fire pit, which was a perfect way to wind down the night with our friends and family. It was incredible being able to take a moment to look up and see the beautiful night sky while making smores.

    We had a lot of friends and family spend the night at Pema, which was really affordable. All of the housing from the cabins, to the yurt, and the houses were clean, comfortable and provided the perfect space for people to spend the night. Pema is about 20 min from major hotels and the road to get to the venue is very windy (which was the only "negative" thing about Pema) so it really helped having such nice accommodations for people to be able to avoid unnecessary late night driving on the road. For getting ready, I got ready at the Orchard House and my husband got ready at the Sangha House. Both homes provided plenty of light and space to get ready before the ceremony. The check-in and check-out process for guests was also extremely easy and straight forward which was another added bonus!

    Brunch the following morning was really nice and allowed for extra time with everyone before parting ways. I highly recommend everyone consider doing the brunch, especially because the food was delicious! We had this also at the lawn outside of Celebration Hall and we just reused the centerpieces from the night before which was perfect.

    Almost a month later, I don't remember all of the specifics of the day, but I do remember the emotions and feelings from the day. Everything went really smoothly, and everyone was so kind and helpful - and these are the things that stick with you. We only have positive things to say about getting married at Pema Osel Ling and are so grateful to everyone that helped make our wedding day such a lovely day to remember.

    Sent on 11/09/2018

    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling's reply:

    Hi Sonia,
    Thank you for the great review. We are extremely happy that you and your guests enjoyed Pema Osel Ling.

    We wish you all the best!
    The POL Wedding Team
  • Lauren

    Lauren · Married on 09/22/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Magical Wedding in the Redwoods

    My husband and I are so happy to have discovered Pema Osel Ling for our wedding weekend. We knew we wanted to be outside in the beautiful Redwoods, have our friends be able to stay on-site, and also have the music go past 9pm (which a lot of venues have a hard shut down at 10pm). Little did we know that we would be getting so much more than just this. Miranda was our on-site wedding coordinator and was beyond awesome. She provided us with a timeline and stepping stones we should hit in the 9 months we had to plan for our big day. I honestly have to say that we were not stressed at all during the planning process. She was always available with any questions and provided us with an amazing list of vendors whom we used about 90% from the list. Our wedding weekend was fantastic! Everything ran so smoothly. The food was stellar and everyone was commenting on how awesome the buffet was and could taste the organic quality in the food. We had a bonfire both Friday and Saturday night and the over-night staff was super chill and nice. Being on the grounds here you could feel the positive and loving energy. We are so glad we listened to our intuition and went with Pema Osel Ling for our wedding weekend. It truly will be a memory we will cherish in our hearts for a lifetime. Thank you!

    Sent on 01/14/2019
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 14

    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling's reply:

    Dear Lauren,

    Thank you so much for your heart felt review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your wedding weekend! Pema Osel Ling is a magical property and we are so happy that you experienced the magic! We wish you both the best! Please come back and visit us sometime!

    Love and Appreciation,
    The Pema Osel Ling Wedding Department
  • S

    Sadye · Married on 09/16/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We just got married at Pema 9/16/18 and it was absolutely perfect! When you first arrive at Pema you are immediately greeted by a huge water fountain that just sets the tone for the whole venue. The redwood grove is where we had the ceremony and then did cocktail hour on the patio and dinner on the lawn. The redwood grove is breathtaking, it feels so intimate and cozy, almost like a secret space. Our guests were in awe of the venue and were amazed at the views. One of the best things about Pema is that it comes with a chef and a coordinator! Eden was the coordinator we had and she was the best at making sure everything was done right. She was always so cheerful to be around and had a smile on her face the whole time. She made me feel comfortable and completely relaxed. The food was hands down one of the best meals I’ve ever had! Our guests could not stop talking about the rosemary potatoes and the fresh bread! The staff was friendly and the bartender was awesome! Everyone that works here just seems to love their job and it shows. After we danced all night we went down to the lower lawn to have a bonfire and s’mores! What an amazing time that was to just unwind and soak up the day we all had just had. Our close family and wedding party all had rented cabins and cottages on the property. They are adorable! Waking up in a cozy cottage in the redwood forest is definitely something that should be on everyone’s bucket list. The next morning we saw wild life and listened to the birds sing. The sun came up and the valley below was golden. Our entire experience at Pema was one for the books. I couldn’t have planned a more perfect day or venue to get married at. Thank you again Eden!

    Sent on 09/27/2018
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 15
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 16
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 17
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 18
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 19
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 20
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 21
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 22
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 23

    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling's reply:

    Dear Sadye,

    We are delighted that you had such a wonderful experience. Thank you for the review and wish you both the best!

    ~The POL Wedding Team
  • A

    Alex · Married on 07/08/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    As soon as we visited Pema Osel Ling we knew it was the perfect place for our wedding. We were searching for a venue among the redwoods and Pema did not disappoint! We chose the amphitheater for our ceremony and were surrounded by trees. Our reception was held at the celebration lawn just feet from the ceremony site.
    We worked with Eden who was helpful and professional. This was a destination wedding for us and Eden was very accommodating which made out of state planning stress free!

    Sent on 07/12/2018
  • K

    Kyle · Married on 05/05/2018

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Pema was the perfect venue for our wedding. The venue is stunning and everyone complimented how peaceful and beautiful it is. There were many pretty areas of the campus in addition to the redwood grove, which made for many unique photos. Miranda was amazing. She helped us every step of the way and was always very responsive. Our families enjoyed having the entire weekend to catch up, including at night in the group housing and at the campfire. The houses were very pretty and made for nice getting ready photos, and one of our family members required the housing with disability accommodations and told us the room and bathroom modifications were very helpful. We live far from Pema, so it was great to have a venue that had easy arranging of catering and did not require significant decorating. All of the meals were tasty and met the needs of a wide range of guests. Would highly recommend this venue.

    Sent on 06/27/2018

    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling's reply:

    Thanks for the great review Kyle. We love what we do and we are thrilled that you enjoyed Pema Osel Ling for your wedding!

    Many Thanks from The Wedding Team from Pema Osel Ling
  • M

    MARTHA · Married on 11/11/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    With such a short notice Miranda and the whole PEMA OSEL LING team were able to help my husband and I have the wedding of our dreams!

    Sent on 02/25/2018
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 24

    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling's reply:

    Hi Martha!

    Thank you for the great review. It was a pleasure to be able to host your wedding. We wish you all the best!

    The POL Wedding Team
  • H

    Hannah · Married on 11/05/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I were married at Pema Osel Ling November 5, 2017 and it was absolutely the best day of my life. Eden, our wedding coordinator, was fantastic and so supportive (and responded to all of my emails/requests). The venue was gorgeous!! We fell in love the moment we step on the property. Our ceremony was at the Amphitheater of the Redwoods with the reception at the ceremony hall. The weather changed our plans a bit as far as dinner went but Eden was right on top of it only days before the wedding. We rented the cabins for our guest, selected a bunch of upgrades and rentals but everything was reasonably priced. I highly recommend this venue for your big day! I want to get married again already!!

    Sent on 12/12/2017

    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling's reply:

    Dear Hannah,

    Thank you for the awesome review! Nothing makes us happier than knowing that your wedding weekend was everything you thought it would be! We wish all the best!

    ~The POL Wedding Team
  • B

    Brittany · Married on 09/09/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had our wedding in September 2017 here and the venue delivered everything we wanted from our wedding. The grounds are amazingly beautiful and the Ampitheater of the Redwoods was a special place to have the ceremony.

    The grounds came equipped with 2 large houses, 6 cabins, and lots of camp sites which was great for our wedding as we were looking for a venue with lots of accommodations on site. You can fit about 80 people on site.

    The catering is included when you book the venue and the food was amazing. Food was a very important part of our wedding and we were so happy to find a venue that had a stellar catering department. We were able to customize the menu to our desire and we ended up with dishes that everyone loved.

    We want to give a special thanks to Miranda, who is the on-site wedding coordinator. She helped guide us through the whole planning process and was always available to answer whatever crazy questions popped into our minds. During the weekend she was there to receive our vendors, walk us through each event, and make sure all the events went smoothly and on time.

    Sent on 12/27/2017

    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling's reply:

    Dear Brittany,

    Thank you for the great review. It was so much fun to host your wedding! Keep in touch and let us know if you would like to visit the property in the future. We wish you all the best!

    The POL Wedding Team
  • J

    Jessie · Married on 04/08/2017

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Change of coordinator half way through engagement and not one issue. Very fluid. Everyone was very nice and forthcoming. Although it is pricey, I feel it was worth it. Our Wedding in April 2017 was gorgeous. The food was good, the ceremony site to die for, and the reception site was perfect. It rained the day before and the morning of the wedding. They cleaned up everything perfectly. Not one issue.

    Sent on 04/26/2018

    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling's reply:

    Dear Jessie,

    Thank you for taking time to write this great review! Nothing makes us happier than knowing how much you enjoyed your wedding weekend at Pema Osel Ling. We wish you love and happiness!

    The POL Wedding Team
  • V

    Vanessa · Married on 05/21/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I loved Pema Osel Ling! We wanted to get married outside, in the woods, and someplace that reminded me of my hometown in Maine. This venue has it all! The location is really out there in the woods. It's quiet, peaceful, beautiful, tranquil, but still only a half hour from Santa Cruz if you want to get in some night life. They have actual houses and cabins on location for your guests to stay in. My friends flew in from all over the country and we were able to spend the entire weekend together. Believe me, you will want the extra time together because the wedding goes by so fast!

    Everyone had a great time and kept asking "How in the world did you find this place?" It had everything we wanted in an outdoor venue while still being comfortable for those who may not want to go camping in a tent for a wedding. You get the whole venue to yourself, unlike other public outdoor areas in which strangers could walk into your photos. The staff is really knowledgable and accommodating. I felt that they had my best interest and were great to work with. All our vendors were amazing, so you have plenty of great options in this area. It's just enough "away from it all" while still being comfortable.

    We had a fire pit with s'mores on two nights and all the bridesmaids got to stay in a house on location, as well as my parents. My parents actually said being in one house together reminded them of when I was younger and would have slumber parties, I think it meant a lot to them to feel that way again. If you're looking for an outdoor venue please call them up and schedule a tour. I wasn't sure from the photos (they don't do it justice) and when I was on the tour I said "This is it!". There is even a private honeymoon cabin with it's own private porch where you can sit with your spouse the morning after your wedding and sip tea or coffee. Just listen to the birds and think about what an amazing day you had. If any of this sounds appealing go see Pema Osel Ling!

    Sent on 06/04/2016

    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling's reply:

    Dear Vanessa, Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. It is a treat for us to experience the property and staff through the eyes of the bride. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful experience! Thanks for sharing and we wish you all the best! The POL Wedding Team

  • J

    Jaime · Married on 04/23/2016

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Couldn't have been happier with POL as our wedding vendor for the weekend. They took care of so much which allowed us to enjoy our special weekend. Teddie was very responsive and flexible with our ever changing requests leading up to the wedding. All of our guests were impressed with the venue as well and not to mention how beautiful the grounds are.

    Sent on 05/24/2016

    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling's reply:

    Dear Jaime,

    Thank you for the great review. Our goal is to ensure your happiness and that everything runs smoothly. We are so happy that we provided you that experience. We wish you all the best! The POL Wedding Team
  • T

    Tonya · Married on 05/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    My husband and I got married here in May 2014 and had a fantastic experience. We rented the facility for the weekend, with a rehearsal dinner and bonfire on Friday, ceremony and reception on Saturday, and brunch on Sunday. As we have many family members from out of state, this was a great opportunity for everyone to spend time together.

    They set you up with a wedding coordinator which is extremely helpful. Shaunah was our coordinator, and she led us every step of the way through our planning process. She helped us set up a timeline for the whole weekend, was easy to reach by email (I sent her a million questions throughout the process), and she helped things run smoothly on the wedding day.

    Location: a bit of a drive, limited cell service. I was worried about guests getting lost, but as far as I know everyone made it up there ok! We scheduled a shuttle (The Santa Cruz Experience) to drive guests to and from a hotel in Aptos which was helpful, but it seemed like everyone driving made it up there ok. Just make sure you send out detailed driving instructions! Once you are up there, the location is BEAUTIFUL. You really can't beat it.

    Accommodations: My husband and I stayed in the redwood cottage the whole weekend and loved it. So cute and private, with a little balcony. The Orchard House is beautiful, which is where we had close family stay. Other family and friends stayed in the Sangha house and cabins, and some people even camped with tents. If you're looking for 5-star luxury accommodations, this is not it. But for us and our family, it was perfect.

    Food: Fantastic! The rehearsal dinner, reception dinner, and Sunday brunch were all amazing. A little pricier than some catering companies that staff different venues, but it was so worth it. We were in charge of bringing our own alcohol, but Pema Osel Ling doesn't have corkage fees so we saved a lot of money. The bartender they assigned us was great.

    All in all, our experience was excellent. The entire venue i

    Sent on 02/07/2015

    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling's reply:

    Dear Tonya, Thank you for taking the time to write up this great review! We strive to ensure that your wedding weekend runs smoothly and that you are satisfied with all aspects of your stay. Thanks again and all the best to you! The POL Wedding Team
  • L

    Lori · Married on 08/18/2012

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can't really describe how amazing this place is, except to say that it blends rustic charm, incredible food, and amazing people to create the perfect wedding experience. Both of our families stayed onsite, and a number of guests camped on our wedding night, and everyone had nothing but positive things to say about Shaunah and the team, and the facilities. From the second that we pulled up the driveway, it just felt right. You get the entire site (indoor and outdoor) to yourself, so it's great for guests with kids who can't sit still through a reception. It has very understanding chefs, so even your vegan gluten-free diabetic friend has lots to pick from. And Shaunah is ready to help guide you through the planning process, but also make sure that your dream is realistic and achievable. Bonus: you have/get to bring your own alcohol, so the price tag is extremely reasonable.

    Sent on 01/21/2013

    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling's reply:

    Dear Lori,

    Thanks for the great review. Nothing makes us happier than hear how much you enjoyed having your wedding at Pema Osel Ling. We wish you all the best! The POL Wedding Team
  • User2141021 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Absolutely a magical place, amazing positive energy, everything just lines-up mysteriously... all my guests said this is by far the best wedding and the most beautiful ceremony they have ever been too.. the beauty is breathtaking, and the fact that you can stay and create a memorable weekend for your friends and family is priceless...The experience exceeded my expectations, the staff, the food, the grounds, the energy, the lovely cabins, everything.....I am forever grateful for coming across POL as the location to celebrate my wedding...I highly recommend it...

    Sent on 07/13/2012

    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling's reply:

    Thanks for the great review. Pema Osel Ling really is a magical place. We are so happy that you were able to have such a wonderful experience. We wish all the best life can offer. The POL Wedding Team
  • T

    Taylor · Married on 08/13/2011

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had a fabulous time at our weekend wedding at POL! The staff were friendly, responsive, flexible and completely supportive of all of our weird little ideas to make our wedding unique (s'mores! outdoor pancake flipping! after-party after-party!). It's a gorgeous location, and the perfect spot if you want your wedding to be a mini-retreat with your friends and loved ones.

    Sent on 10/03/2011

    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling's reply:

    Dear Taylor,

    Thank you for the great review. We are delighted that you, your family and friends were able to enjoy all of the benefits the land as to offer. Our goal is to ensure your wedding weekend is everything you want it to be. We wish you all the best. The POL Wedding Team
  • S

    Sireesha · Married on 08/12/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.5
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was an absolutely dream to get married at Pema Osel Ling! My husband and I initially fell in love with the venue because of the amphitheater surrounded by redwoods and the option to have a late-night bonfire under the stars. We later on also loved this venue because of the amazing team we got to work with. Eden made sure to accommodate every thing we asked for and gave us great suggestions when we were stuck. We had our reception on the celebration lawn which comfortably sat 130+ people. Our guests thoroughly enjoyed the appetizers and dinner that was whipped up by Chef Peter and his team. Can't say enough great things about this place!

    Sent on 08/26/2018

    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling's reply:

    Dear Sireesha,

    Thank you for the great review! We enjoyed hosting your wedding and are thrilled that you enjoyed it also. We wish you all the Best!

    ~The POL Wedding Team
  • Laurel

    Laurel · Married on 08/11/2019

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Beautiful, perfect venue.

    We wanted a beautiful, outdoors location, where we could dance until 1:00 and sit out at a fire pit, and stay overnight. Pema Osel Ling, was perfect, and all our guests agreed. Gorgeous, flexible about arrangements, helpful, professional, and.. I could not have asked for a more perfect place. I have no complaints - we compared prices with other venues and found this one to be on par with others with the same set up. I appreciated their help & suggestions with the decor, the ceremony and party. Adrienne, our wedding coordinator for the venue, coordinated swimmingly with other vendors and guests, and really helped orchestrate the timing of the ceremony, etc. And, the food (dinner, and brunch the next day) was really really lovely and good.

    Sent on 08/17/2019
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 25
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 26
  • B

    Breeanne · Married on 08/04/2018

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.5
    • Flexibility:
      4.5
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    When my, then fiance, and I went to visit Pema Osel Ling (POL), we fell in love immediately. The venue is stunning. They care so much about the upkeep of the grounds and it really shows. The event coordinator we initially worked with, Kirstie, was so lovely and really helped us solidify our decision while being realistic about pricing options. Once we had signed the contract we began working with our wedding coordinator, Miranda. She is such a sweetheart and was responsive to the questions I had for her throughout the year of planning. On the day of she went above and beyond to make sure everything was perfect, working with my family and bridesmaids so as not to trouble me on my day. It was truly everything I could have asked for. We had the place to ourselves for the whole weekend and everything from the rehearsal dinner, to the poolside hangout for our guests the day of, to the ceremony, reception, and post-reception (whew! it was a lot!) the entire staff at POL was 100%. Not to even mention the food. I could honestly write on and on about it, but suffice to say the chef is fantastic and we got endless compliments about how great the dinner was. The short ribs... just... do it. Seriously this place is great, if you are realistic about your budget, then there is absolutely no reason not to have your special day here.

    Sent on 10/03/2018
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 27
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 28
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 29
    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling 30

    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling's reply:

    Dear Breeanne,

    Thanks for the great review. We love Love and we love making you happy. We wish you all the best!

    ~The POL Wedding Team
  • J

    J.D. · Married on 05/27/2017

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Pema was a great place for our wedding weekend. The fact that our favorite friends and family could stay on the property with all us weekend made it even that much more special. The staff were great, and Miranda, or coordinator was so easy to work with. My only complaint is that the food left a bit to be desired, but who remembers the food from a wedding anyway...

    Sent on 08/08/2017
  • User4518207 · 2+ years ago

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so glad that we are having our wedding here! Not only is this place stunning, but it is such a unique venue. There is no where else in Santa Cruz county that allows you to have the site for the whole weekend, has on-site lodging for guests, has no curfew, and lets you bring you’re own alcohol (big money saver!). They have been very professional and our wedding coordinator is very responsive and helpful. This place fills up fast so be sure to check it out in advance! Highly recommended.

    Sent on 05/11/2015

    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling's reply:

    Thanks for the great review! Pema Osel Ling is a very special place and we are very happy that we were available to host your wedding. We wish you all the best!
  • N

    Nicole · Married on 06/01/2013

    4.8
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.0

    The food was fabulous and the chef took a lot of requests and changes for dietary restrictions. Our wedding coordinator, Shaunah, was amazing. She was quick to answer any questions and on the day off, she was on top of it and super helpful! She seriously made everything run smooth. The site is breathtaking. All our guests were floored and couldn't stop talking about how beautiful the scenery was. The houses and our cabin were really nice too. Clean and comfortable. The whole experience of a 3 day escape made my wedding experience so relaxing and it was great to have both of our families there spending time together. The only issues we had were with the initial sales person. She seemed a little spacey and gave us a lot of misinformation that we didn't find out about until the last minute and ended up costing us a lot more than we had planned. We spoke to other couples and they said they had the same experience with her as we did. I recommend POL to anyone is who looking for a wonderful destination wedding.

    Sent on 06/07/2013

    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling's reply:

    Dear Niki,

    Thank you for the great review! We are delighted that you and your guests had such a wonderful experience at Pema Osel Ling.

    I apologize if there was something that you were unaware of or did not anticipate as I take every step to ensure that you are aware of our requirements and any additional rental costs during the tour process. I provide each couple with an estimate of costs after the tour and during the contract consultation process we go over each point in the contract together for clarity. Most couples are very happy to receive such a detailed outline of cost during the tour. I apologize that you did not have that same experience.


    With Kind Regards,
    Kristie
  • C

    Christina · Married on 11/07/2015

    4.6
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      4.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    What better time to review POL than our first wedding anniversary? My husband and I were so happy with our fall wedding at Pema Osel Ling. We found POL online and decided on the drive home through the redwoods that it was exactly what we were looking for: a stunning outdoor venue off the beaten path where most of our guests could stay on site all weekend, with lots of possibility for decor, but little fuss. Our wedding coordinator, Kristen, was wonderful in providing recommendations and so flexible with us when we had a few off-the-wall requests. She also ran everything the day-of, so if anything did go wrong I had no idea (which is exactly the experience you want as a bride on your wedding day). We were able to provide our own alcohol, which saved us lots of money, and their catering was delicious. Our family and friends still tell us how beautiful the whole weekend was. Our wedding weekend was exactly what we had hoped for!

    Sent on 11/07/2016

    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling's reply:

    Dear Christina,

    Thank you for the wonderful review and Happy Anniversary! Please feel free to check in with us and schedule a visit to the Amphitheatre for your Anniversary.

    We wish you all of the best life has to offer!
    Kristie
    Sales/Marketing
    831-761-6270

  • User3181956 · 2+ years ago

    4.4
    • Quality of service:
      4.5
    • Responsiveness:
      3.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      4.5

    The Amphitheatre of the Redwoods is a beautiful location for a wedding and we felt really excited and blessed to be able to have it there.

    We had perfect weather and no mosquitos for a 4pm ceremony in the amphitheatre in late July. Make sure you reserve a long time in advance as usually they are booked out for a year unless you're going to be on an off peak day of the week or something.

    The venue is certainly remote and a twisty drive for guests who are staying off property to get in and out, especially when leaving after a long day, so make sure they book their accommodations as close as possible to the site.

    I deducted from the responsiveness rating because it took a while to hammer out the final contract. Almost a month passed between the estimate and getting a contract signed and this caused me some stress and I still don't understand what took so long -- almost nothing changed between the original estimate and the contract-signing estimate. I could not proceed with booking other vendors until we had the venue signed, so this delayed many elements of our planning and created stress.

    The food was very good and we had our reception in the Celebration Hall. There are lots of photos of that space on the venue's Facebook page, so check them out. The venue provided a ladder so we could hang our ceiling decorations.

    This is a good venue if you either have a vendor doing your decor or you are prepared to DIY . . . some of the facilities are a bit rustic.

    Bathrooms could have been kept clean and maintained better during the big day. Make sure you ask about this and tell them to put attention there. Luckily our guests were pretty chill about this kind of thing.

    Margo was our wedding coordinator and once we were in her hands, all went well. She definitely went the extra mile on our big day.

    Thanks Pema Osel Ling, the Vajrayana Foundation, and staff!

    Sent on 08/09/2013

    Amphitheatre of the Redwoods at Pema Osel Ling's reply:

    Thank you for the great review. We will be sure to address the bathroom situation with our staff.

    Regarding the one month time period from Reservation to Contract singing. Our policy states that it is one month from the time of the Reservation Request to the contract signing. This allows for time to create the contract, time set up a one hour teleconference with the couple to review the contract with the Sales personnel, and to complete the final signing. Unless I am missing something, we were within our guidelines.

    Keep in mind that booking a year in advance allows more time to choose your vendors and lessons the stress of planning.

    Thanks again for your positive review!

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review