Skip to main content
Weddings

Alison D. Photography Reviews

Alison D. Photography

Alison D. Photography

Arroyo Grande, CA
Rating 4.7 out of 5, 13 Reviews
View more information

13 Reviews

Rated
4.7
out of 5.0
Recommended by 95% of couples
  • Quality of service
    Rating 4.8 out of 5
  • Average response time
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Professionalism
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Value
    Rating 4.7 out of 5
  • Flexibility
    Rating 4.8 out of 5

Awards

  • 13

20 User photos

  • Ashley
    Ashley Married on 11/13/2021
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Absolutely amazing!

    Alison is a an amazing photographer! She captured both our engagement and wedding photos. She makes picture taking fun and lively, and provokes genuine smiles with laughter. On the wedding day, she even exceeded expectations by triaging questions posed to myself (the bride) and encouraging the person asking to direct their question to the most appropriate person. All in all, working with Alison was a stress free experience and I’d definitely book her again!!
  • Samantha
    Samantha W. Married on 09/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Brilliant Photographer!

    As I'm sure you can tell from all the other reviews, Alison is absolutely amazing! We got engaged at a remote waterfall in Oregon and wanted to have our engagement photos done there and she was a real trooper and made the trek all the way down there in the rain and the perfects were perfect. She was a blast to work with as well as her associate. Honestly, look no further! We highly recommend Alison to anyone looking for an awesome photographer with a great sense of humor!
  • Carissa
    Carissa J. Married on 07/14/2019
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    The best choice we made for our wedding (besides getting married)

    Alison was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding. I am so, so grateful that she captured our engagement and wedding photos.

    My mom was a wedding photographer & I used to be her assistant, so I knew I was going to be really picky about the photographer I chose. I wanted a photographer who would use light well and pose us naturally, and who I could trust to capture the important moments. And Alison was seriously the perfect choice.

    Alison is extremely skilled at her craft. Our photos are full of natural light and warm color, and they capture all of the emotions I felt on that day. I feel so happy when I look at my photos. They are beautiful, and she captured every detail. She even handled my husband's HUGE Hispanic family in one gigantic group shot.

    Working with Alison is really fun, too. She connected with us easily right away, and hanging out with her -- whether driving around for our engagement shoot or taking our bridal photos -- is so easy and relaxing. She kept us laughing and made our photos a genuinely wonderful experience. My husband and I still laugh about inside jokes we formed with Alison on our engagement shoot. I definitely can't say we made inside jokes with any other wedding vendor!

    I could go on. We will cherish our photos forever. I am so happy I chose her, and if I had to do it all over again, I'd make the exact same choice.
  • S
    Sarah Married on 05/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5

    Organized, Beautiful, Just what we wanted!

    Alison made the process so easy, helping us prep before hand so I literally didn't have to worry about any of the photos day of. My family was so impressed with her organization. I LOVE LOVE LOVE how our photos turned out. Everyone oooohs and aaaaaahhs over them. I already have them framed and printed all over the house, we will cherish hem forever!
  • K
    Kelly Married on 03/17/2018
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Alison was amazing from beginning to end! Our phone conversation from the get-go sold me. She was completely invested in figuring out exactly what I wanted and her creative juices were already flowing. She got to know me, and the family dynamics before the wedding so that we were all super organized come wedding day.
    Weather ended up being an issue on our wedding day (cold and windy with a tented ceremony) she was able to change all of our planned photo locations within just an hour and they came out beautifully! She is a problem solver and so talented. She also scored extra points when she hurled herself in the way of a spilled drink headed straight for my wedding dress! It was amazing- super hero status! I love her and I love her work. Hire her.
  • B
    Brady Married on 08/26/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Alison is sweet, professional, accommodating and all around amazing! I had the pleasure of working with Alison for our engagement shoot, rehearsal dinner and wedding photos. She was always punctual (even with the long travel time to our venue in Sonoma, CA), upbeat and ready to jump right in. She got my husband to look natural in photos, which is not easy! We chose to have all of our our couple and family portraits done before our ceremony at 2PM in the peak sunlight (worst lighting) of the day, and they still turned out amazing. She coordinated with other vendors and helped out in more ways than I would have ever expected. I can't recommend Alison enough!
  • E
    Emmalee Married on 04/22/2017
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I cannot say enough good things about Alison! She was the best choice I made by far for my wedding! Originally I wanted to book her due to the fact that she was affordable and fit within our budget, but once I met her and saw her beautiful work there was no way I couldn't use her. Her upbeat and fun personality made taking photos so easy and fun! My husband HATES his picture taken but after experiencing a session with Alison he couldn't wait for her to shoot our wedding. Her work is phenomenal and we are so lucky we found her! Her photos make a beautiful addition to our home. I would recommend Alison 10 out of 10 times. She is absolutely amazing!
  • User2284862 2+ years ago
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Alison was a great addition to our fabulous wedding experience. From setting up my boudoir photo shoot to becomming a stand in "bridesmaid" at my rehearsal, she was always up for the task and willing to be flexible. I would definitely recommend her to anyone looking for a reasonable, but AMAZING, photographer!
  • G
    Gabriella Married on 05/29/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    She was amazing and the prints are beautiful will use her in the future forsure. Made our day complete.
  • L
    Liz Married on 04/19/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I couldn't ask for more from Alison. She was able to work with our budget and she was able to captures all the special moments that meant a lot to my husband and I. Completely loved her ideas on certain poses, she was able to work with our schedule, and took extra pictures that I would not have thought of. She is very professional and was able to bring out the best of our wedding with the pictures she took. We cannot thank her enough....Thank you Alison!
  • C
    Charla Married on 01/17/2015
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    Alison was so great to work with! She gave us pictures that we continue to love and cherish! She brought out the best in all of us! On our wedding day she was a great support and invisible when it was time to focus on bride and wedding!! We absolutely love her and would recommend her to anyone who wants a fresh new perspective!!
  • A
    Alyx Married on 09/20/2014
    Rating 5 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 5.0 out of 5
    I have one word for Alison: AMAZING! From our engagement photos to our wedding photos I am left completely speechless, she captured every moment with so much beauty! I am forever grateful for the images she has given us that will last us our life time!!
  • A
    Anonymous Married on 02/04/2019
    Rating 1.6 out of 5
    • Quality of service
      Rating 3.0 out of 5
    • Responsiveness
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Professionalism
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Value
      Rating 1.0 out of 5
    • Flexibility
      Rating 2.0 out of 5

    Not happy with our choice

    Very disappointed with Alison's work. Once we signed our contract she seemed like she "checked out" and was very uninterested in shooting our wedding. She was extremely difficult to get a hold of, missed appointments and cancelled on us more than once. No creativity with the pictures - all of our formal photos were taken in one or two areas on the beautiful property where we got married. Virtually no photos with our families, etc. She disappeared during the reception and we had to ask friends to take pictures for us using their phones. She didn't get the pictures to us by our agreed upon date in the contract.. very unprofessional. Very unhappy with our choice and would not recommend her.