About Music Pro: Bands, DJs, Musicians Reviews

260 | San Diego, CA
See photos, pricing and details

260 Reviews for About Music Pro: Bands, DJs, Musicians

Recommended by 99%

260
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2019 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2018 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2017 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2016 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2015 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2014 Winner
WeddingWire Couples' Choice Awards 2013 Winner

5.0 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 5.0
  • Professionalism 5.0
  • Flexibility 5.0
  • Value 5.0
  • Average response time 5.0
Sort by:
  • A

    abi · Married on 06/07/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A shout out to Gary and About Music Pro. He was our DJ/MC and pianist and provided a great string trio for our recent wedding ceremony and reception. Gary was incredibly kind, helpful, and professional throughout the entire process (regardless of how many times we changed our minds about things). He was amazing as a pianist and DJ/MC. I look forward to using him again for future family events!

    Sent on 06/17/2015
  • L

    lacey · Married on 05/30/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gary did an amazing job at our wedding. He is by far one of the Best DJ /musicians I’ve ever seen. He made our whole event run smoothly. Everything was timed perfectly! All of our guests commented on how much they enjoyed the music and everyone was dancing (even those who normally don't dance!) He worked with us every step of the way to make sure that the music reflected our style and would still be fun for everyone.

    Sent on 06/10/2015
  • R

    raine · Married on 05/24/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Having About Music Pro at our wedding exceeded all expectations we had. Along with the flawless execution of our ceremony with guitar and violin duo, Gary was able to read our crowd throughout the evening. During the reception, he kept them extremely entertained, filled with energy, and on their feet most of the night. Gary’s attention to details, timelines, and his ability to customize his performance to fit our needs make him extremely unique in the highly competitive wedding/event entertainment arena. We recommend Gary and About Music Pro. We would hire them again in a heartbeat!

    Sent on 05/27/2015
  • W

    wendy · Married on 05/17/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    A friend at work recommended Gary Rich. He was very professional, on time, and incredibly responsive. We used him for both our wedding and reception. He picked the perfect mix of music for each, was able to keep the energy up for the entire duration of the event, and even created a custom mix for our wedding. We loved working with him, and the event was extremely successful. He did a fantastic job!

    Sent on 06/03/2015
  • S

    Sara · Married on 03/14/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gary was an excellent choice for our DJ. In addition to our reception, he also played a guitar at our ceremony at a separate location. He was very professional and punctual to make sure everything went smoothly. He met with us several times in person and on the phone prior to the wedding day to go over suggested playlists and hear our requested songs. He was great about also having a "do not play" list, which was great for stopping some of those annoying songs some crazy cousins like to ask for! Gary did a great balance of playing the songs we requested at the right time and also taking additional requests from family and friends. His uplights were also a nice addition to our venue sight and made for some beautiful photos in the background of our dancing. We would recommend him for your wedding ceremony/reception!

    Sent on 04/19/2015
  • M

    Michelle · Married on 02/06/2015

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gary was the DJ for our wedding and did an amazing job! He was so flexible and easy going and everyone complimented the play list he created. I would absolutely recommend him to everyone!

    Sent on 02/26/2015
  • M

    macy · Married on 11/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Thank you, Gary! We really appreciated how dedicated and great you were throughout our Wedding Day! You played every song we love and requested. You got our entire party to dance non-stop all night long! We are so grateful you were able to be part of our destination wedding in San Diego. Music is a great part of our lives, and you made our wedding come to life with all the music played at our ceremony and reception. We were able to utilize your songs played and add them to our wedding video, in which our memories can last a lifetime. I hope everyone gets the opportunity to see you work your magic! Thank you Gary for making our wedding so magical!

    Sent on 12/19/2014
  • E

    ella · Married on 11/08/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We are so happy we went with About Music Pro for our wedding! They were very helpful from the first time we approached them and throughout our wedding weekend. Our DJ even helped us make an incredible dance mix for the performances of our first dance. He was super nice and was very professional and punctual. He showed up at our event early to setup and was ready to get the party started! We loved that he kept everyone out of their chairs and on the dance floor. Our family and friends were really happy to be dancing to their favorite songs! About Music Pro was able to provide us with a great DJ, along with excellent MC services, and lights. We would highly recommend Gary and his team to everyone!

    Sent on 12/10/2014
  • G

    grace · Married on 11/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I can only say good things about Gary, at About Music Pro. He was our DJ/MC and pianist he was great from the start. He was responsive to my questions via email, flexible with meeting in person, and excited about the songs we wanted to play. He was great about changing our time frame to an hour later, which really made a difference at the end of the night. He had all the right equipment to make the transition from the ceremony to the cocktails, to dinner, and then to dancing. He took requests at the reception and played them within minutes. His timing was on point as the MC, and kept the night moving forward on time. He had everyone dancing late into the night, and everyone talked about how great the music was!

    Sent on 11/14/2014
  • User3214057 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gary Rich gave us a great wedding. He is an exceptional musician playing all the acoustic songs we requested for our ceremony and then the piano during our cocktail hour. He then became our DJ for the reception. It was so convenient to have one person doing everything and doing it so well. We would recommend Gary very highly.

    Sent on 12/11/2014
  • A

    ava · Married on 10/31/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    About Music Pro was recommended by our event caterer as we were having no luck finding a quality DJ & musicians we felt comfortable with and one that was within our budget. They were professional, detail oriented, flexible and very thorough. The musicians played the entire request list we asked for during the ceremony and cocktails. DJ Gary had all our guests on the dance floor and everyone had a great time!. He had a great personality, likable, and is very easy to get along with. We highly recommend About Music Pro services.

    Sent on 11/05/2014
  • S

    sophia · Married on 10/25/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I've worked with About Music Pro for more than five years; booking entertainment for wedding, corporate events and private parties. They have always provided top notch entertainment, and have also been extremely helpful in giving great suggestions for each event. So, if you know exactly what you want, or have no idea at all - they are the place to go!!
    The most recent event was a 5-day company conference. I needed multiple entertainment for 4 different parts of this conference. I feel like the entertainment that was provided: Live bands, Disc Jockeys and solo entertainers by About Music Pro, "made" these events! They took each part of the conference from just a fun, nice little reception/banquet, to first class event with a "Wow" factor!

    Sent on 10/29/2014
  • A

    avery · Married on 10/17/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    From the very beginning of the planning process to the big day , About Music Pro was perfect in every step of the way for our wedding ceremony and reception. The owner, Gary Rich, showed that he genuinely cared about us and that his main goal was to make sure that our event turned out exactly the way we pictured it.
    He helped us do an agenda and a time line one month before, and crafted it to the feel and flow we were looking for. He was the guitarist for the ceremony and cocktails & had his four piece band for the reception. They were exceptional and really rocked the party. They all were friendly, professional, and kept the event running smoothly. We had several comments from guests on how amazing the music was. We were extremely pleased with the service we got from About Music Pro!

    Sent on 10/23/2014
  • A

    ashley · Married on 10/12/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    About Music Pro provided music for our wedding. We could not have been happier! Gary was our DJ & Musician and he did an amazing job! He was very polite and helped guide us through the whole event. I had several obscure requests and he had all of them! He preformed flawlessly at our ceremony & reception. The music selections were exactly what we wanted and the atmosphere was tremendous! Thank you for the great memories!!

    Sent on 10/15/2014
  • User4774732 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gary was a pleasure to work with. He played acoustic guitar for my ceremony began 30 min. behind schedule. The day was 98 degrees in El Cajon however, his music was so beautiful and calming. I received many compliments on his guitar playing and his selection of music for the reception. He also played live music for cocktail hour and then switched to DJ/party mode for the reception. I had a mixed crowd when it comes to age and he selected songs for all generations. He also did a great job facilitating the events during the reception such as the toast, first dance, cake cutting, garter/bouquet toss, etc. I would definitely recommend Gary and About Music Pro!

    Sent on 02/08/2015
  • S

    sabrina · Married on 10/03/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Our wedding planner recommended About Music Pro to us, and we are so glad that we went with them. They were very professional to work with, yet they still had a good sense of flexibility and adaptability, and I could definitely tell that their priority was to put the spotlight on us. I would highly recommend About music Pro to my close friends and family. If you are getting married and need a great DJ and/or live music, I would go with About Music Pro.

    Sent on 10/08/2014
  • K

    kylie · Married on 09/21/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    About Music Pro was fantastic. We hired them based on the great reviews we found online. Every good thing we heard them was true. We met Gary and hired About Music Pro over a year before our wedding. He made the process anything but a chore and kept up with communication. On the day of the event, Gary was timely, professional, and efficient. Besides playing music that kept the guests dancing all night long, he kept us on schedule for the evening. If you are looking for a DJ-Musician for a wedding or any other event, stop your search and go with About Music Pro!

    Sent on 09/24/2014
  • B

    bonnie · Married on 09/19/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gary (owner) at About Music Pro is hands down the best DJ-Musician we have ever experienced at a wedding! He was the DJ and musician for two of my relatives who recently got married and their dance floor was packed all night long. When it was my turn to get married, we knew we had to talk to Gary! We still met with a few other companies, but About Music pro definitely had the best rates and a good vibe. Gary was super friendly and great to work with. We truly feel like he's an expert in his field. Gary was flexible and responsible. He followed up with us when necessary which we really appreciated and he helped us add a few creative touches like songs for the ceremony and for our introductions and first dance. The dance floor was PACKED the entire night and everyone was talking about what an amazing party we had. We gave Gary about 10 "must-play" songs and then gave him the freedom to read the crowd and choose the rest of the music. I've had so many people ask me for his play list because they loved the songs he chose! If we had to do it all over again, he would 100% be our DJ again! You honestly can't go wrong with him!

    Sent on 10/01/2014
  • L

    lori · Married on 09/14/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We had Gary for our wedding and reception and he was simply amazing! Gary was our DJ and part of the string trio and he was extremely professional and approachable. He was the perfect host for our ceremony and reception. When it came to getting people on the dance floor, he not only kept the party going all night, but also was able to capture our music taste perfectly based on the sample music list we provided prior to the wedding.b We got tons of compliments on what a great DJ and String Trio we had and can't wait to refer Gary from About Music Pro to others!

    Sent on 09/17/2014
  • L

    lauren · Married on 09/05/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We worked with About Music Pro for our wedding and they were spectacular! Our DJ was so high-energy the whole night and made sure he got name pronunciations/order of bridal party, perfect, and the music played was just what we wanted. He kept all of our guests happy with requests, He really did a fantastic job and we got a ton of compliments from our guests. This company was really easy to work with and even gave me the DJ's cell number to get in touch for a last minute detail I needed to confirm. Super job. Thanks again!

    Sent on 09/10/2014
  • J

    jenelle · Married on 08/30/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    About Music Pro is the best. Gary was a great help in planning our agenda and song selections and making us feel comfortable through the whole process. Our ceremony and cocktail guitarist was Eric and he played our entire request list flawlessly. Our DJ & MC was Ed and he was absolutely amazing. Not only is he super friendly, but also he was so helpful leading us through the wedding reception. The mix of songs he prepared was perfect and would highly recommend him. If you read this, Thank you Gary, Ed & Eric.

    Sent on 09/03/2014
  • H

    Heather · Married on 08/16/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gary was so professional. We appreciated his quick responses via phone or email. He took the time to meet with us up front to get a feel for us and our music interests as well as idea of how the reception would flow. We gave him a playlist for the cocktail hour and reception and he abided by them. The volume wasn't too loud through the night. People could still have conversations and he wasn't on the mic at random times other than the times he needed to be, for party announcements.
    Gary was affordable and had lights to add to the package so we didn't have to go and use another vendor. Thank you, Gary!

    Sent on 08/27/2014
  • A

    andria · Married on 08/15/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    I wish it was possible to give About Music Pro more than five stars. They were AMAZING! Our DJ & Musician Gary was communicative and excellent at his job. He quickly responded to all out emails and phone calls in the months and weeks leading up to my wedding, and when it came down to the day, he was so engaging as our emcee and ceremony musician and so good at his job as a DJ, that friends and family are still raving about our music to this day (weeks later). Judging from the other reviews, all of About Music Pro DJs & Musicians are wonderful, but I have to say, if you get the privilege to work with Gary Rich, you should know you are extremely lucky. Thank you, Gary!

    Sent on 08/21/2014
  • M

    mellissa · Married on 08/02/2014

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gary was the best DJ/MC and musician for our wedding! He was so easy to work with. He definitely got it right. The music at our ceremony and reception was perfect, and our guests were so pleased, even with the music played during dinner! After dinner, Gary got the party started and everyone danced all night. He was awesome and we would highly recommend him to anyone who needs a DJ and musician for their wedding. He was so flexible too- we didn't get him our songs for the father/daughter and son/mother dance until the night before, and he was still able to make sure our night was seamless and flowed just right.

    Sent on 08/14/2014
  • User4317828 · 2+ years ago

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    Gary and two other musicians played at my wedding ceremony and cocktail hour and they were fantastic. The music was great and flowed really well. Gary was also extremely responsive via phone and email which was very reassuring. I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a musician! He's great!!

    Sent on 08/12/2014

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review