A Cape Cod Wedding Minister Reviews

5 | Yarmouth Port, MA
See photos, pricing and details

5 Reviews for A Cape Cod Wedding Minister

Recommended by 75%

5

3.7 out of 5.0
  • Quality of service 3.6
  • Professionalism 3.4
  • Flexibility 3.7
  • Value 3.8
  • Average response time 4.2
Sort by:
  • Katherine

    Katherine · Married on 06/30/2010

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    It was a little tricky finding a minister to perform a same-sex wedding, but we're so glad we found Rev. Nancy.

    She made it so easy to customize our ceremony, and was flexible and extremely prompt in returning emails and calls. She hand-guided us with everything from getting a marriage license to where to find good food on Cape Cod! :)

    Thank you for a BEAUTIFUL ceremony and the marriage certificate, Rev. Nancy!

    Sent on 07/08/2010
  • Laura

    Laura · Married on 09/12/2009

    5.0
    • Quality of service:
      5.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      5.0
    • Flexibility:
      5.0
    • Professionalism:
      5.0

    We loved Rev. Nancy! She made sure both my husband and I were comfortable with everything and was available to answer questions as they came up. Rev. Nancy helped us design a ceremony that fit our needs. Even though it rained on our wedding day she made the occasion memorable. I would highly recommend Rev. Nancy if you are looking for a professional and caring person to marry you.

    Sent on 09/30/2009
  • Monica

    Monica · Married on 06/04/2011

    4.0
    • Quality of service:
      4.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      4.0
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    We chose Nancy to officiate our beach ceremony. She was really great through the planning process – she sent me sample readings & ceremonies to give me ideas. She was quick to respond to all my questions. I got so many compliments from people on how beautiful and personalized the ceremony was. I do want to warn other brides that she was late to our ceremony by about 15-20 minutes. She was not answering her phone & did not call me or the wedding planner to let us know she was running late. Turns out she had another ceremony at 4:30pm (my ceremony was at 5:30). I do understand that this is her business and that its normal that she would have more than 1 ceremony per day but she booked them way too close together. I would still recommend her to other brides because in the end the ceremony was beautiful, but make sure you know what her schedule is for that day is and have her give you a guarantee that she will be there at least 15 min prior to your ceremony.

    Sent on 09/12/2011
  • Shanae

    Shanae · Married on 07/15/2017

    3.6
    • Quality of service:
      3.0
    • Responsiveness:
      5.0
    • Value:
      4.0
    • Flexibility:
      3.5
    • Professionalism:
      3.0

    Rev. Nancy was very responsive. She returned emails and phone calls within the same day, which was great in calling my nerves as the bride to be. She has a lot of experience officiating weddings and took into account how my now husband and I wanted the flow of the ceremony to go. She did a great job of explaining the different cultural rituals in our ceremony to our guests. Prior to the wedding she also gave us documents with suggestions for rituals and wording of the vows to choose from which was helpful. She could improve the formatting of the documents and email communications. It was hard to read with the different text sizes and colors in the documents. At times it did not seem like our requests we're being organized and tracked, there was quite a bit back and forth over details for the ceremony although the information was already given. During the ceremony my name was mispronounced by the minister. I corrected her and she did not repeat the mistake but I did not expect the name of the bride to be mispronounced. She put together a nice card with our personal statement in our card box but it would have been a nice touch to say goodbye to us and tell us that she was going to place the document in the card box. She submitted the legal documentation quickly and we were able to pick up our marriage license in a timely manner.

    Sent on 08/31/2017
  • Samantha

    Samantha · Married on 06/01/2019

    1.0
    • Quality of service:
      1.0
    • Responsiveness:
      1.0
    • Value:
      1.0
    • Flexibility:
      1.0
    • Professionalism:
      1.0

    Missed the wedding and the rehearsal

    I have been dreading writing this review and have talked myself out of writing it because I hate hurting people, especially those who do good in the world. I am only writing this fair and honest review because I want other brides and grooms planning and paying for their own wedding, like we did, to be aware that anything could go wrong and you could lose some money and have some heartaches no matter how well you plan ahead.
    I think Reverend Nancy is a good person, but she failed to make it to both our scheduled and agreed upon ceremony rehearsal and the wedding day, yes both days, which we had paid for ($400 total - 200 of which is nonrefundable, even though she did not follow through with our agreement).
    We hired Reverend Nancy and signed a contract and mailed payment to her in November 2018; our wedding was June 1st 2019. She never received the first check in the mail, or the second, which is pretty bizarre. So I contacted her again and we agreed to meet in person. I met with her at her house this spring and hand delivered our payment, which she did deposit. Reverand Nancy and I went over the ceremony I had written, sat together in her living room, and when I left we had a plan and both seemed to be on the same page.
    A week before the wedding, she called to add some lengthy additions and changes to the ceremony, and sadly, we had to repeat ourselves and reiterate several important things in the ceremony that had already been finalized, as if she had forgotten our meeting... which caused a bit of last minute stress worrying that our ceremony might not go the way we planned. And sadly, it did not.
    The day before our wedding, she did not make it to the rehearsal. Our family and friends were there waiting, I called the reverand a few times for an ETA- first she said she was stuck in traffic, then 45 minutes later said she thought it was an hour later than it actually had been planned... even though we had just discussed it on the phone the day before. So, she promised to be there early for the actual wedding ceremony the next day on June 1st. We had to rehearse the ceremony without her.
    On our wedding day, I arrived at the venue in my gown, ready to go, the wedding party lined up on time to process down the aisle. We called Reverand Nancy a few times up until 10 minutes before the start time that afternoon to check that she was okay and on her way. She told me she was stuck in traffic again, then couldn't get the directions, got lost, was stuck in traffic still, then was close by and said she was just down the street at 3:50 PM.
      4 PM passes... 4:10 PM passes, now later. I was hiding in the car in my gown so my groom wouldn't see me. Family and friends gathered around the car, keeping me calm, offering to take over for her. At 4:15 she still had not arrived, it was running really late, so we made the decision for our friend, who happened to be an officiant, to perform the ceremony. He had a digital copy via email and read our vows from his smart phone behind a podium. And we were married, finally.
    It turned out to be a beautiful ceremony and we were married by one of our best friends, so in all honesty it probably turned out just the way it was supposed to.
    But because the Reverend, for whatever reasons, failed to perform the agreed upon services we paid for, I did ask for our money back and we are only getting half. I forgive the situation and we are very happily married... but I feel this review needs to be shared for other future brides and grooms.
    Please be aware you may not get what you paid for. Be safe and have a plan B.  Additionally, she did not call or reach out to explain or apologize for 2 weeks- I had to call her to ask if she was okay, and I would rather not publicly share what she said because it would just make her look worse.
    She also deleted an honest and truthful review written by my maid of honor, as our friends and family were very upset that our reverand missed the wedding with no excuse except for traffic and a failed GPS. So I am writing this because, as the bride, it is important to share my experience.

    Sent on 06/16/2019

    A Cape Cod Wedding Minister's reply:

    I am writing back in responce to Samantha's comments above.
    She didn't tell you what I told her happened yesterday when she called me.. I left my home and was on my way to her wedding site at noon ( wedding was to be at 4pm) when my GPS stopped working. I turned around and went back a few miles to the Police department and they gave me written directions. I had 2 calls from the bride (one before my GPS crashed and the other when I was on my way again with written directions from the police station. She knew I was on my way and almost there about 2:30 . Just before the exit I was to get off at, the traffic
    stopped. and a car pulled up beside me and the passanger rolled down his window. The had a mask on over his face and a hat on his head. I couldn't see the driver. The car was lower than mine. He told me if I wanted to live I was to turn around and go home now, I was not wanted at the wedding . I took the next exit and headed home. I stopped a few miles down and tried calling the bride to tell her and her phone was of! I was horrified. In all my years performing ceremonies I have never experienced anything like this before. I ended up going to my doctors office a few days later as my heart was still beating heavy!. I told all this to the bride when she called me the other day. So am horrified to see the bride still blames me for not showing up! I have been a clergy for many years and never experienced ANYTHING like this before.

By clicking "Request pricing" I agree to sign up and accept WeddingWire's Terms of Use.

Write a review