Nearby Vendors to Consider

About Hushed Commotion

Being creative allows me to express myself in a way that feels natural. I have always explored how the arts can affect and enhance a person’s life, whether it is through sewing, painting, sculpting, song, dance, writing, etc. These days you will find me in NYC soaking up the endless stimulation and infusing that into hand crafted bridal accessories.

I started my line with the goal to create detailed pieces that are elegant and have a bit of a vintage vibe while still fitting into the modern day brides vision of a contemporary wedding.

For more about Thea and a few fun hushedCOMMOTION facts, check out this Q & A article!

For a look into the hushedCOMMOTION studio, check out this blog post! 

Check our Events page to see what events and announcements are coming up!

crafted with love in Brooklyn, NY.

Categories: Wedding Dress

Regions serviced: New York City

Follow Hushed Commotion on

10 Reviews for Hushed Commotion

5.0
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Bride (4)
Veils (4)
Hair Accessories (2)
Sort by:

5.0

Thea is AMAZING. I fell in love with her Paloma belt and was determined to wear it at our wedding-- even before I had found my dress! Finally, I found the perfect dress to complement it and asked her if she might make custom earrings to match. She was quick to draw up two mock styles and was open to my suggestions on which bead/jewels I'd love in each place! They were just perfect. I received so many compliments and will cherish these unique pieces for many years. Thank you, Thea!!!

Profile Picture Kristen, 9/16/17, 8 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
Services Used: Bride
5.0

Thea is INCREDIBLE! I was struggling to find a birdcage veil that was classic without being over the top cutesy. She totally knew what I wanted and worked with me to customize one of her designs to my specifications. Everyone was complimenting me on my veil the entire night. She's amazing!

Profile Picture Dara, 5/13/17, 9 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
Services Used: Veils, Bride
5.0

Thea was so wonderful to work with. She has so many gorgeous pieces and they're much more reasonably priced than most others I'd seen. She made me a custom veil using pieces from my grandmother's veil. It was really special and meant so much to me.

Profile Picture Janis, 10/29/16, 10 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
Services Used: Bride, Veils
4.9

I was so thrilled to have Thea as part of my wedding vendor team, and I cannot sing her praises enough. All of her pieces are so delicate and beautiful, a perfect balance of feminine and whimsical which embodied the exact look I was going for. In making my veil, Thea managed to find the exact tulle that my dress was made out of—even though the color was a very specific off-white, and the dress a designer sample so literally only 1 of 5 in existence. They went together seamlessly. The madison comb, which I also wore, was glamorous and graceful yet subtle enough to not overpower my hair or veil. Finally, Thea is just such a delight to work with! She was always professional yet easy going in all of our interactions.

Profile Picture User7447429, 1+ year ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire, Jewelry
Services Used: Bride, Hair Accessories, Veils
4.7

Thea created a custom headpiece and was so helpful and accommodating throughout the entire process. She took in my vague ideas and suggestions, even a change in wedding dress style, in stride and came up with an amazing piece that I will treasure forever.

Profile Picture Lorraine, 8/26/16, 14 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
Services Used: Hair Accessories, Veils
5.0

I can't even begin to express how talented Thea is and how beautiful all of her pieces are! If you're looking for something soft, whimsical and modern, you will not be disappointed. Every piece is designed and handmade by Thea. After discussing what I was looking for, I met with Thea at her studio, tried on a few things and a few weeks later, my headpiece arrived. It was stunning - exactly what I was looking for. Thanks Thea!

Profile Picture Michelle, 6/13/15, 4 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
5.0

Thea is absolutely amazing! Not only did she create absolutely beautiful pieces for my wedding (Doris birdcage and Ava belt/hair piece with navy ribbon), but she was a joy to work with! I can not speak highly enough - the entire experience was wonderful.

Profile Picture User4878827, 2+ years ago, 2 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
5.0

I do not have enough positive things to say about my transaction with Hushed Commotion. Thea was wonderful to work with on a veil for my wedding. She took one of her existing designs and customized it to my specifications. In person, the veil is phenomenal. It is more beautiful than I ever imagined, and wonderful quality. I literally gasped when I saw it. Communication with this vendor was also impeccable. It would not take more than a few hours after sending an e-mail to hear back. All Hushed Commotion pieces are gorgeous and affordable. Seriously, what are you waiting for?! Thanks so much Hushed Commotion!!!

Profile Picture Autumn, 10/13/13, 3 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
5.0

Thea is amazing!!! I came across her Lindsay hair ribbon (http://hushedcommotion.com/hair-pieces/2012/11/14/lindsay) only a few weeks before my wedding. This piece usually takes 5 weeks to hand-make and ship, but Thea had it in the mail for me in only 2 weeks! She was incredibly quick to reply via email, and customized the ribbon in antique gold - it was PERFECT. High-quality and gorgeous. My wedding was last weekend and I keep receiving so many compliments on it :-)

Profile Picture Krystle, 9/21/13, 5 Reviews
Category: Dress & Attire
5.0

I don't even know where to begin to describe how wonderful Thea from Hushed Commotion was when helping me design my very unique hair piece and veil and an affordable price. I first met her during my hair trial with Stacy Pitt at Styles on B when we were trying to figure out how to find a great, unique hairpiece for my crazy wedding hair without breaking the bank (seriously, why are veils and headpieces all usually so expensive?) and she suggested that I try going to a trim store for the item that I was looking for... well, I followed her advice and found myself completely lost so thought I would contact her directly and see if I could commission a custom piece for a price that didn't make me want to faint. We sat down, worked it out, and on my wedding day, my hair was crazy beautiful. Seriously, I got so many compliments on it on my wedding day and it never could have happened without the imagination and patience of Thea. Heart her.

Bonus: She made my french birdcage veil and it did not cost me an arm and a leg. Serious love.

Profile Picture Lindsay, 7/21/12, 5 Reviews
Category: Unique Services (Other)

Hushed Commotion FAQ

Bride
Bridesmaids
Flower Girls
Mother of Bride
Mother of Groom
Father of Bride
Father of Groom
Groom
Groomsmen
Ring Bearers
Hair Accessories
Veils
Bridal Belts
Bridal Gowns
Customary
Formal Gowns
Garters
Jewelry
Plus Size Gowns
Replicas
Sample Gowns
Shoes
Tuxedo Rentals
Tuxedos
Undergarments
1 AWARD

Photos

62 Photos

My Photo Album

62 Photos
220x220 sq 1394716112087 gold floral wreath hushed commotio
220x220 sq 1394716117265 gold floral wreath with veil hushed commotion
220x220 sq 1394716123749 gold floral wreath with veil hushed commotion wild
220x220 sq 1394716240928 silk flower chapel veil hushed commotion detai
220x220 sq 1394716269019 gold flower and crystal hair comb hushed commotio
220x220 sq 1394716026881 detai
220x220 sq 1394716031139 pearl gold silver ombre headpiece vintage hushed c
220x220 sq 1394716051325 tulle and crystal hair comb hushed commotion sid
220x220 sq 1394716062016 silver leaf and crystal wedding belt hushed commot
220x220 sq 1394716074597 silver filigree and tulle wreath hushed commotion
220x220 sq 1394716094643 pearl and gold double headband hushed commotion si
220x220 sq 1394716084219 pearl bow headband hushed commotion vei
220x220 sq 1394716128968 pearl gold crystal beaded belt hushed commotion de
220x220 sq 1394716156795 gold rose double headband pearl hushed commotio
220x220 sq 1394716147679 gold branch comb hushed commotio
220x220 sq 1394716165242 gold starburst crystal belt hushed commotio
220x220 sq 1394716138561 blusher veil with gold detail hushed commotion sid
220x220 sq 1394716180921 gold teardrop tulle pearl crystal sash hushed comm
220x220 sq 1394716206188 gold flower tulle crown hushed commotio
220x220 sq 1394716214028 silk flower crown hushed commotio
220x220 sq 1394716194314 beaded lace motif gold belt hushed commotion
220x220 sq 1394716224869 purple blue chartruese off white beaded belt hushe
220x220 sq 1394716289826 blush whimsical hair flower by hushed commotion si
220x220 sq 1394716280353 retro feather comb with blush by hushed commotio
+38
Photos
220x220 sq 1394716254303 gold hair flower with crystal and italian embroide
220x220 sq 1394716297708 off white whimsical hair flower by hushed commotio
220x220 sq 1394716307743 retro turban with crystal and tulle hushed commoti
220x220 sq 1394716332632 gold leaf chain indian crystal head piece hushed c
220x220 sq 1394716327071 gold leaf chain indian crystal head piece hushed c
220x220 sq 1394716318696 gold stud flower belt by hushed commotion fron
220x220 sq 1421019607674 201408013 hushedcommotion 90
220x220 sq 1421019599260 201408013 hushedcommotion 106
220x220 sq 1421019581814 201408013 hushedcommotion 79
220x220 sq 1421019589180 201408013 hushedcommotion 197
220x220 sq 1421019573071 201408013 hushedcommotion 77
220x220 sq 1421019694816 201408013 hushedcommotion 112
220x220 sq 1421019685489 201408013 hushedcommotion 35
220x220 sq 1421019668931 201408013 hushedcommotion 86
220x220 sq 1421019661806 201408013 hushedcommotion 176
220x220 sq 1421019653020 201408013 hushedcommotion 170
220x220 sq 1421019741970 201408013 hushedcommotion 95
220x220 sq 1421019733048 201408013 hushedcommotion 62
220x220 sq 1421019638645 201408013 hushedcommotion 137
220x220 sq 1421019645482 201408013 hushedcommotion 141
220x220 sq 1421019678319 201408013 hushedcommotion 145
220x220 sq 1421019630572 201408013 hushedcommotion 55
220x220 sq 1421019723474 gold vine flower wedding halo headpiece hushed com
220x220 sq 1376307391765 gold crown hushed commotion top
220x220 sq 1376307415418 gold pearl vintage belt hushed commotion back pink
220x220 sq 1376307423279 gold pearl vintage belt hushed commotion front
220x220 sq 1376307439005 starburst crystal hair piece hushed commotion fountain back
220x220 sq 1376307451976 velvet belt gold flower hushed commotion side
220x220 sq 1376307462389 leaf crystal headband hushed commotion side 2
220x220 sq 1376307471623 starburst birdcage veil gold hushed commotion side
220x220 sq 1376307486001 gold beaded headband hushed commotion vintage stairs
220x220 sq 1376307504117 silver vintage tulle birdcage veil hushed commotion still
220x220 sq 1376307519888 gold branch headband hushed commotion top
220x220 sq 1376307534318 branch tulle gold hair piece hushed commotion back 2
220x220 sq 1376307547475 birdcage veil french feather hushed commotion down
220x220 sq 1376307563157 vintage headpiece pearl wedding hushed commotion far
220x220 sq 1376307627766 gold beaded head piece hushed commotion
220x220 sq 1376307644803 deco belt wedding hushed commotion front

Map

591 Willoughby Ave, #1, Brooklyn, NY 11206   See On Map
(347) 549-9709 (phone)
By appointment, please email us for a consult: greetings@hushedcommotion.com