33 Reviews

Nearby Vendors to Consider

About Charo and Mike

photography for grownups.

Charo and Mike are two of the most experienced photographers in the area, with over 15 years and nearly 500 weddings in our portfolio. 

We specialize in documentary coverage of unique weddings.  Our hands-off approach keeps your wedding day running on time, with minimal (if any) posing and absolutely no staging of moments.  We don't believe in faking your wedding day, and we won't do it.  If you're looking for lots of posed photos and reproductions of Pinterest folders, we are not a good match for your wedding.

Our primary specialties include:

  • multi-cultural weddings
  • elopements and very small/intimate weddings
  • Desi weddings
  • "punk" and alternative weddings
  • destination weddings
  • LGBT weddings

We look forward to learning about your wedding!

 

Categories: Wedding Photographer

Regions serviced: Wilmington, Raleigh

Follow Charo and Mike on

33 Reviews for Charo and Mike

4.9
out of 5.0
Filter reviews by services used:
All Reviews
Second Shooter (1)
Additional Hours (1)
Boudoir Shoot (1)
Engagement Shoot (1)
High-Res Images (1)
Multi. Locations (1)
One Event/Day (1)
Digital Files (1)
Prints (1)
Sort by:

5.0

Such a lovely couple. She really does make you feel super special and she is on top of all the details. Love them.

View Vendor Response
Profile Picture Judith, 6/24/17, 5 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

We had such a great experience with both our engagement and wedding session. We were able to relax, have fun, laugh and fully enjoy the time spent. The pictures turned out beautifully and we want to wallpaper the house with them. So many great memories that Charo and Mike were able to capture. Thanks to you both!!

Profile Picture User7556904, 1+ year ago, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

Charo & Mike were absolutely the best photographers ever! I fell I love with their work before I even worked with them. I was very picky when looking for a photographer but my husband found them and I fell in love with their work instantly. Even better was that nothing ever felt forced. The moments they captured were real moments not staged or told what to do. But real moment at our wedding. They captured our guests personalities without getting in the way. They both have wonderful spirits and I recommend them to everyone! They responded to us so quickly and helped us feel at ease leading up to the big day. Thank you so much for capturing our special day that we now to get to relive over and over again through your photos!!!

Profile Picture Rosa, 9/17/16, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

I hired Charo to photograph my very intimate non-traditional wedding (less than 15 people on a restaurant patio) and wanted naturalistic moments captured, not the typical wedding shots of the dress, the ring etc. She totally got that, got me and who my husband and I are. She was super cool to chat with up until the wedding and made me feel at ease during the day with her warmth and sense of humor (and emergency make-up tips!). The photos came out beautifully and captured the spirit of the day perfectly. Somber at times, goofy and silly at others. I would totally recommend her!

Profile Picture R, 4/21/16, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Charo an Mike are AMAZING! They are great listeners which makes a world of difference. They were able to meet the needs of our wedding an accommodating to our requests including a few Holga images, haha. Charo was great with communication and was very easy to talk to an so easy going which was great on the day of the wedding. Our guests even commented on how nice they were. They are true ninjas as well, they were able to capture so many beautiful moments from our day with turn over being swift and the images were everything we hoped for and more. I can't thank them enough for capturing all the moments that made up our wedding. Having them was the easiest, best and most stress free decision we made.

Profile Picture Cassandra, 9/5/14, 1 Review
Category: Photography
5.0

There are so many amazing things to say about Charo and Mike, and so many reasons to hire them. They embody the perfect balance of professionalism and fun, all while putting everyone at ease. Charo arrived at my hotel room as I was rushing to prepare for my wedding and immediately dove into a day with my crazy family and friends. I sometimes forgot she was there, unless she was telling a hilarious story at a much needed moment. Mike rolled with the guys around town and caught some of the coolest images of the day. Both exceeded our hopes for what wedding photographers could be.

The images they captured are beyond amazing. They were able to observe and snap so many quiet, intimate, meaningful moments that every time I look at the pictures I find myself transported back to that day and the emotion I felt. The quality of the pictures continues to thrill me. Nothing felt staged or fake, and for that we were rewarded with pictures we will cherish forever. I would hire them a million times over for my wedding, and honestly I plan on hiring them again in the future (they are also great at family portraits)!

As the cherry on an already wonderful sundae, Charo and Mike themseleves are both incredible individuals and a powerhouse couple who are kind, funny, and fun to be around. I would relish the opportunity to work together again, and my husband and I find ourselves talking about how great they are frequently. I cannot recommend them enough to anyone who wants gorgeous, authentic memories of their wedding day!

Profile Picture Katie, 5/25/14, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

As I said to Charo when she sent us our pictures, "I have no words..." That said, let me explain why you need to hire Charo and Mike. First, they contacted me within hours of me reaching out to them. No big deal, right? Wrong...they called me on Labor Day on their way to a family outing. Charo took the time to get to know us and what we were looking for. Her emails felt more like I was talking to an old friend than a vendor who I hadn't met. All of this put me at ease, which was important because I was planning this from 8 states away. On the day of the wedding, Mike hung with my husband and took amazing pictures of him getting ready and the whole scene. He caught some of the most amazing "little things." Charo hung out with me and the girls and managed to gently guide all of us through the time leading up to the ceremony...no small feat. Throughout the ceremony and reception, they blended in, like they were hardly there. But, they were...and their beautiful images proved it. Here is where I have no words. They captured the very essence of our day...the smiles, the hugs, the knowing glances, the laughter and the love. Friends who weren't there told me that the pictures made them feel as if they were. We got to first see the pics online and we declared virtually every one as our favorite. Then, we saw them on their blog and that was even more breathtaking as Charo and Mike really know how to tell a story with their pictures. Then, as part of the package, we got all of the images on disk. More fun! We've already printed and framed our favorites and look at them every day. Thanks to Charo and Mike, we get these beautiful images through which we get to relive this amazing day. I have no doubt that 20 years from now, we will look back and be so glad that Charo and Mike were a part of our day. Stop looking for other photographers...just call them or email them now. I promise, you will be thrilled that you did!

Profile Picture Connie, 5/24/14, 4 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Charo and Mike did everything they could to make my day easier. They provided helpful guidance before and during the event from how I would enter to reminding me of my posture the day of :) . The shots they captured were intimate, real, and exactly how I remember the day. I can look back at my photos and re-live each moment again and again. I couldn't be happier to have such priceless little gems from one of the most joyous events of my life.

They both really care about their clients as real people. Their passion paired with their exceptional technical skills translated into beautiful works of art I will treasure for the rest of my life.

Profile Picture Courtney, 4/12/14, 4 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Charo and Mike are fantastic, professional and fun to be around. The pictures are phenomenal and don't look like generic canned wedding pictures.

Would love to work with them again or even just hang out with them.

Profile Picture Hersh, 10/27/13, 2 Reviews
Category: Photography
5.0

Just like most brides, my wedding day flew by...I barely remember a thing. That is, until I look at the pictures! Charo and Mike did such an amazing job capturing the real events of our wedding. From the emotions running high during our preparations earlier that day, to the first dance that was interrupted by our kids, down to the picturesque view over looking the river from our reception. They were able to be my eyes during a time when my brain was so overloaded with joy that I couldn't take a moment and enjoy everything I had worked so hard to create.

I couldn't have asked for a more wonderful pair of photographers. If you are looking for real photographic coverage of your event, not just posed shots, these are the people you need to call. They also work very hard to make sure you get the end products you need to enjoy your days for years to come.

They are responsive, mature, realistic photographers that understand how important your day is to you!

Profile Picture Joanna, 10/13/12, 1 Review
Category: Photography

Charo and Mike Pricing

Charo and Mike Price Rates

Wedding Photography Pricing
Starting Price
$2,400.00
Starting Price Includes:
1 Event Per Day
2nd Shooter
Digital Files
High-Res
Multi. Locations
Wedding Photography Package Pricing

Charo and Mike FAQ

Photojournalism
Contemporary
Film
Natural
Traditional
Vintage
Additional Hours
Boudoir Shoot
Engagement Shoot
High-Res Images
Liability Insurance
Multi. Locations
One Event/Day
Second Shooter
Custom Graphics
Destination / Travel
Hand-Coloring
Slideshow
Toning
Trash The Dress
Video
Wedding Portraits
Albums
Canvas
Digital Files
Flush Mount
Matted Prints
Prints
Proofs
Save the Date
Thank You Cards
Negatives
6 AWARDS

Photos

33 Photos

portfolio

33 Photos
220x220 sq 1479833650458 201608200001 5
220x220 sq 1479833215669 img1027
220x220 sq 1479833231218 img8053 2
220x220 sq 1390088311897 20131012005
220x220 sq 1479833191983 201610020005
220x220 sq 1390088220409 20131130064
220x220 sq 1479833166301 201609171209 2
220x220 sq 1398094508739 20140412img937
220x220 sq 1479833117546 200807130001
220x220 sq 1479833116984 201409050001
220x220 sq 1479833147578 201608200192
220x220 sq 1470831288315 200906270082
220x220 sq 1479833222336 img5119
220x220 sq 1465079127566 201604210001 2
220x220 sq 1470831288562 200804050029
220x220 sq 1470831513797 200611040085
220x220 sq 1465079143640 img4233
220x220 sq 1470831536415 200712280007
220x220 sq 1470831618517 200909060021
220x220 sq 1470831465818 201509150357
220x220 sq 1470831330436 201103190165
220x220 sq 1470831393085 201411190301
220x220 sq 1465079164560 img5686
220x220 sq 1465079169889 img7186
+9
Photos
220x220 sq 1470831348880 201401150256
220x220 sq 1390088500613 20131108022
220x220 sq 1470831443869 201503180330
220x220 sq 1390088265227 20131012018
220x220 sq 1470831558937 200807130013
220x220 sq 1390088693086 20131207098
220x220 sq 1470831311069 201005300121
220x220 sq 1470831579091 200907030016
220x220 sq 1470831598837 200907030018

Professional Network & Endorsements

2 ENDORSEMENTS
Charo and Mike are the perfect photography team! They are extremely talented and super fun to work with. They are also super professional. I've worked with photographers that I've had to find when it's time to cut the cake, etc. but this is not the case with Charo & Mike. They are always around during the wedding and never miss a beat.

We cannot say enough about Charo & Mike! We have known them almost since the beginning of A Paradigm Shift Event and love when we get the chance to work with them. They are some of the best photographers around -- speaking in terms of skill/craft as well as personality. We truly enjoy working with them. If you know me, you know I love to laugh and Charo & Mike keep me in stitches. They are professional, organized, communicative, and pretty much all around fabulous. Their work is AMAZING. The images are absolutely drop dead gorgeous and they have an eye for details, which as a planner and designer, I am all over! Earl and I love working with other great teams and this is one of them! We highly recommend Charo & Mike!

Map

Wilmington, NC 28409   See On Map
910-297-4991 (phone)