The Conference Centers of Western Michigan University
"At your Service"
200 Ionia SW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 290
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (36)   Photos   Deals   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Alexis 2 Reviews
Loved everything about the building and the people were great to work with. Great value too! Not too expensive.
Wedding: 11/02/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kate 3 Reviews
The staff at WMU was ABSOLUTLEY fabulous! They were professional and kind and were on point with all of the details. They answered all of my questions and knew the questions I was forgetting to ask. Everything went off according to schedule. They were AMAZING
Wedding: 04/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 6 Reviews
We were very happy with this venue. WMU made every effort to make our day go smoothly from setting up the reception hall, to making things go smoothly throughout the day, to following up with us afterward. Rachel was so helpful throughout the entirety of our day!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Angela 1 Reviews
We received a ton of compliments on the wedding - a lot of people commented on how nice the venu was. The service was wonderful, every time there was a question there was someone there very quickly to help. My parents were very pleased with all the help they got getting a cart to bring gifts out to their car. All around, this was a great venue. I have no regrets whatsoever about having our wedding there!
Wedding: 10/13/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Rachel 1 Reviews
Absolutely fabulous. We enjoyed working along Andrea; her efforts to remain relaxed, excited, and helpful did not go unnoticed.
Wedding: 08/18/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
Andrea was very helpful and flexible. I was nervous at first because we were living out of state, but Andrea made it easy and stress free. We really enjoyed ourselves!!!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Catherine 5 Reviews
The location was perfect for my wedding. I absolutely loved the restored factory building, the exposed wood, old windows; it was perfect. There was more than enough space for all of my 220 guests. I also loved that the dance floor was included in the building cost. There was plenty of space for the DJ as well. Andrea was a joy to work with. She was able to meet with me early, and again was there the day of the wedding for set up and through almost the entire reception. She was extremely helpful at every stage of planning.
Wedding: 07/14/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Soon to be... 6 Reviews
We had an excellent time at the venue. Rachel did a fabulous job accommodating us. Our guests loved the venue at Downtown location.
Wedding: 06/30/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Andrea and the rest of the staff were so friendly, very quick to respond, and super helpful with every step of the process. She was always available to answer even the smallest questions, and helped us take care of everything. They did a great job and we knew even before the big day that everything would go smoothly with them behind the scenes. They are great at helping plan the order and timing of events, and at how to arrange the reception hall and area outside of it. The building itself is beautiful inside with all of it's exposed brick, and at a great location downtown and walking distance to many hotels, bars and restaurants. We highly recommend using WMU Conference Centers!
Wedding: 06/09/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My wedding reception and all the planning leading up to it was an absolute joy (and fun process!) thanks to Andrea and the kind folks at WMU. We had our event at the downtown Grand Rapids location and everything went off without a hitch. The service, the people, and the awesome venue made it such a memorable day. Planning the reception was a smooth process, too, because Andrea was always one step ahead of me.

We had many out of town guests who were amazed at the location and building. Our guests all stayed downtown and were able to walk to the reception without a problem. Perfect all around! Thank you so much, Andrea and WMU! We are so happy with your service!
Wedding: 04/14/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I could not have thought of more professional, personal and quality people. They were able to help out with so many things that I would not have thought they'd be willing to do. I would recommend them to anyone considering an event.
Wedding: 02/25/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Loved working with Andrea at the Downtown location.

GREAT value for what you get! The room is brand new and the space is modern.

She was willing to meet after 5 for meetings, which I found was invaluable for me, a working bride!
She had great suggestions on where to put things in the room.

Over all, it was a great experiences. We did not have a single problem with WMU.
Wedding: 10/14/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had a wonderful experience with WMU Conference Center Downtown and would not hesitate to recommend the venue to anyone! Its a perfect location that I don't think many people are aware of! Our guests all commented on how cool the space was and and overall layout. In particular the cocktail hour area was a huge hit! Andrea was so professional and easy to work with, she was very responsive to any calls or emails. They do require you to use their contracted caterer and beverage provider, but don't worry both are excellent! Do yourself a favor and check this place out!
Wedding: 09/24/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can't say enough good things about this venue. I would recommend it to anyone looking for great service. Our wedding planner, Andrea, was especially awesome! We didn't have to worry about anything the day of the wedding. She was also extremely flexible the months and days leading up to the wedding.
Wedding: 07/30/2011
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our wedding receptiong at Western Michigan University's Conference Center in downtown Grand Rapids and it was a wonderful experience. Many people didn't know such a great venue existed, but it really provided us all we needed in affordability, great location, service, decor/ambiance appeal, and overall experience. Andrea Scheckel was always accommodating and able to help with all requests. She was always very kind and easy to work with. Many of our guests were overwhelmed by how exciting and wonderful our wedding experience was and a lot of the credit is due to everything our location and what the workers had to offer. We'd do it all over again if we could!
Wedding: 06/25/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
WMU, Andrea, and Kim were fantastic to work with and very approachable for all of my questions. They were quick to respond and always willing to provide suggestions when asked. They did a tremendous job and everything was amazing. We received so many compliments. I would definately reccommend this again:)
Wedding: 05/14/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 616-771-4141
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0