Westgate Hotel
Romantic, Classic and Elegant, Steps from the Gaslamp District
    44 Reviews
1055 Second Ave
San Diego, CA 92101  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 1000
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (44)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had my baby shower at the Westgate and it was just beautiful! The service and staff were very helpful and professional. Jennifer the sales catering manager made it very easy for me to relax and not worry about anything leading up to the event. The hotel staff are very sweet and always had a helping hand to assist with anything and everything we needed the day of the event. I'm so happy I did my baby shower at this hotel!
Wedding: 07/18/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Westgate Hotel is an amazing venue for weddings and events. The staff is highly professional and strive to work with your needs in helping to make your event a success. Jennifer Emerzian is the best event coordinator I have met and worked with, she always addressed our questions quickly and was extremely helpful for our special day and she always treated us with the utmost kindness!
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Markus 1 Reviews
Anna was nothing short of incredible. As a matter of fact, I think incredible is short of Anna.
Wedding: 05/25/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

NALINI 3 Reviews
Excellent venue for our daughter's wedding and guest gave such positive feedback about the accommodations, staff and food.
Our wedding coordinator was truly amazing to work with and she went above and beyond to make the day a very special celebration for the wedding couple.
Wedding: 04/12/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Catherine... 3 Reviews
My clients and I worked with Anna for all the wedding preparations and, of course, the day of. She was attentive, accommodating, and lovely throughout our planning process. She made my clients so happy and helped me execute all the details required to make the day-of as perfect as possible. I would not only recommend Anna, I would recommend the Westgate Hotel as a whole. Both Anna and her property leaders went above and beyond. Thank you, Anna. I look forward to sharing more happy clients at your beautiful property!!
Wedding: 12/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The great hotel drew us to this venue, and Anna Travis was such a pleasure to work with. Her attention to detail ensured everything went well and her flexibility ensured that our wedding was everything we dreamed it would be. We couldn't be happier with our wedding, from the rehearsal dinner to the day of the wedding to the wedding ceremony and reception, Anna and the Westgate Hotel staff ensured that our day was as special as our marriage will be.

Thank you Anna, and pass on our thanks to everyone involved with our special day.
Wedding: 12/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Cathryn 5 Reviews
Anna was great throughout the entire planning process. Even when things got stressful or did not quite go our way she was always sweet and comforting. Our guests loved the Westgate and raved about how beautiful it was.
Wedding: 11/09/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
The Westgate Hotel is a beautiful venue to host your wedding ceremony and reception. We only had our reception at the Versailles Ballroom which is a room that screams elegance (think Parisian like the house of Versailles in Paris). The key to this venue is their coordinator, Anna. Professional, responsive, caring, and down-to-earth. We went to several venues, had several meetings, and did not find anyone close to the level of Anna. She will take care of you from start to finish. Food was fantastic by the way. Also in our package, the wedding couple gets a complimentary suite the night of the wedding. We definitely recommend this venue to anyone looking around the San Diego area.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Anna and the rest of the Westgate staff were simply amazing. From the time we were given an initial tour of the hotel to working out any kinks in billing after our event, my now husband and I were met with nothing short of excellent customer service. Anna and her team made everything so easy and they accommodated us as much as they could. Food and beverage at the Westgate was perfection. And their reception sites were breathtaking. Our wedding day was perfect thanks to the Westgate.
Wedding: 08/23/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I was so lucky to stumble upon this Hotel, I had a bit of a destination wedding so all of my guest stayed here and the experience was truly amazing, the hotels is beautiful on its own but to make things better the service and staff there are incredible, my wedding guest are still telling me of how great it was and thanking me for putting them there, and my photos look unbealiable thanks to the beautiful backgrounds, everybody in this hotel helped me so much and was super nice to me and my guest they truly where a key aspect of making my wedding day a dream come true for me, and i will never be able to thank them enough
Wedding: 08/16/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
Anna Travis was so great to work with. I'm obsessed with the Hotel, it absolutely gorgeous. As soon as you walk in your in Awww. The pictures for my Wedding are amazing because the place just sets the perfect theme. Everyone there is professional and proficient.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Laurie 1 Reviews
The assistance provided by Anna before the wedding as we were making plans and on the wedding day was extraordinary and extremely helpful. We had looked at many venues, and after meeting Anna and feeling assured of her expertise and attention to detail, and her explanation of how the Westgate could meet our needs (from hotel rooms for the guests to financial costs), to parking service, to brunch after the wedding, to bride/groom dressing room, to coordinating that the area outside of the Versailles ballroom was set up for guests on time, to accommodating our wedding timelines, to photo taking arrangements, my daughter (the bride) and I decided to have the wedding at this venue. And my daughter and my whole family felt everything went perfectly (and how many people can say that about a wedding?). We were treated with great care on the day of the wedding. The rooms for the wedding party to dress were great and the food service was quick and set up beautifully. Anna was able to calm our nerves, , and arrange the set up of the ballroom perfectly, organize the seating for the ceremony, and review the plans so everyone knew what to do. Her expertise and advice was excellent. I particularly remember that as the wedding party gathered before walking down the aisle, Anna was calming the groomsmen nerves and "suggesting or reminding them" of the proper line up, and I was so thankful. Best of all, my daughter, who is very particular, trusted Anna and felt that her wedding was perfect. Our guests also commented how wonderful the wedding was, and how beautiful the hotel is. We also felt very special with the treatment after the wedding. The Westgate Hotel is not only a special memory, but we are now "fans" and have visited for the music in the bar, eating at the restaurant, enjoying high tea, planning to go to brunch, and have selected dates to stay at the hotel in the future for special events. Thank you again, Anna!
Wedding: 04/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Westgate was my dream wedding. Anna Geiss-Travis was extremely accommodating and caring. She made my ceremony wedding planning very easy. I was very happy with the Westgate and pricing. We had our wedding in the fabulous ballroom. There was a large bridal room and a fancy groomsmen room. And they offered our family and out of town guests a great price for the rooms. On top of everything, we loved their food! All of the bridesmaids loved the lunch we ordered during the day, it was very fresh, tasty, and beautiful.
Thank you, Westgate, for giving me a wonderful wedding!
Wedding: 04/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Every aspect of our wedding at the Westgate Hotel was phenomenal. From the few days prior to the close of the reception, we could not have asked for a better overall experience. The staff in every facet was exceptional, the public and private rooms were pristine and perfectly maintained, and the food during the reception was great (180 guests). As the couple we had a great time and are continuously receiving positive feedback from our guests about their experiences. Separately, Anna did a fantastic job in delivering the event that we envisioned. She put forth every bit of extra effort to ensure that everything went smooth. Anna was also very easy to work with, which we greatly appreciated.
Wedding: 02/16/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
The Westgate Hotel and all their staff exceeded our expectations! We held our wedding ceremony, reception, and private day-after brunch at this hotel. Our 120 guests all loved their hotel rooms, the service, and the great location. Anna Geiss-Travis, Catering Sales Manager, provided endless assistance to us throughout the planning process and is an expert at event planning! She recommended nearly all the vendors that we hired and they were all great- no issues. We have seen a preview of our wedding photos and they are gorgeous since The Westgate is the backdrop! We wouldn't have changed a thing and highly recommend this venue for you special occasion.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding at the Westgate was something out of a fairytale. Everything turned out beautifully and we could not have asked for a more perfect day, or a more wonderful venue! Our guests are still raving about the food and how beautiful everything was. I can't thank Anna enough for all of her help over the past year of planning. She was always super flexible and really let us customize everything to make it personal to us. I really appreciated that she was always up front about pricing and that there were no last minute hidden fees, it made everything so much easier when planning our budget! But most of all she was SO much fun to work with! She really made the whole process so much fun and we will miss working with her. If we could do it all over, we would not have changed a thing.
Thank you so much again!!!
-James and Mandy
Wedding: 09/29/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 619-430-4516
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0