Well Dunn Catering
    39 Reviews
510 11th Street
Washington DC, DC 20003  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French...
Bar services: Cash Bar, Limited Bar, Open Bar
Alcohol services: Champagne Toast, House Beer, Premium Liquor...
Maximum capacity: 2000
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (39)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We couldn't be happier with the job Well Dunn and Madeline did for our wedding. From our early discussions about menu options through the tasting event and all the way until the end of our wedding, everything was top-notch, professional and very flexible. Madeline was very easy to work with and made excellent suggestions throughout the process.

We had special beer and dessert requests that were fulfilled without any problems, and the service on the night of our wedding was impeccable, as many guests noted. And the lines at the bars never got more than a couple people deep. The hors d'oeuvre and entrees were delicious; we even had one friend tell us that he's never had good short ribs at a wedding but that these were amazing.

We didn't realize how amazing and helpful it would be to have a server dedicated to just the two of us, but it really made us feel even more special and make sure we didn't go hungry or thirsty as we've heard other couples have at their weddings.

Next time we have a big event that needs catered or if anyone asks us for a caterer recommendation, Well Dunn will be our immediate answer.
Wedding: 03/01/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
One of the best decisions I made was working with Well Dunn. Yulia and her team were outstanding.

We were able to enjoy every moment of our wedding because we had full confidence in Yulia and her team and knew everything was taken care of.

Throughout the planning process, our questions were always answered in a timely manner. it was also extremely helpful to be given options/recommendations when we had trouble making decisions.

Equally as important, I have received numerous compliments on the quality and quantity of the food.

Part of me wishes I could do it all over again so I could work with Yulia and Well Dunn because they were simply the best!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I worked with Madeline at Well Dunn and I couldn't have been happier with the whole experience. She was such a pleasure to work with, always so responsive, and was really good at suggesting things when I would get indecisive. Everything at the wedding turned out amazing and our guests still continue to talk about how delicious the food was. My dad even wanted to ask for leftovers so he could eat it the next day! They were super accommodating and all the servers we had were professional and very attentive to us and all our guests. They certainly played a huge role in making our day so special!
Wedding: 10/11/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Choosing Well Dunn as the caterer for our wedding was one of the best decisions that we made throughout the whole process. The food was amazing, the service spectacular, and the pricing incredibly reasonable for the quality you get!

I contacted several different companies and in terms of food selection and price Well Dunn far surpassed every one of them. We provided our guests with the option of a filet or a crab cake. There was not a single plate with food on it at the end of dinner- it was absolutely delicious. We had so many guests come up to us raving about the food, and we are still receiving compliments two weeks later. The wait staff was unbelievable. They were quick, professional, and most importantly kept the wine glasses full all night long! I do not have a single complaint about working with this company and will be recommending them to everyone I know for weddings and parties. They were AWESOME!

I can't emphasize enough how important your caterer is to making your special day go smoothly and look beautiful. Madeline, at Well Dunn, is absolutely fabulous and I am so thankful that we had the opportunity to work with her. She understands the big picture of your wedding day and provides ideas, suggestions, and advice for how Well Dunn can help make it perfect. She's pretty much doubles as a wedding planner! Madeline worked with all of the other wedding vendors to make sure everything was in sync and running on the same timeline. Moreover, she went above and beyond to give me my fairy tale wedding. We met at least 5 times and emailed constantly to get the table settings and menu selection perfect. Madeline is so kind and professional and is never annoyed with all of her bride's demands :) She even made a s'more bar possible at our wedding! We supplied all of the s'more components and she had her waitstaff set up the table and man the fire. I hope to have the opportunity to work with Madeline at Well Dunn again in the future!








Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
The food was amazing! Everyone was raving about how delicious it was. The service was excellent throughout the whole process. The drinks were great too! And they took great care of us and our guests on our big day! I would highly recommend them for a wedding or special event!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I couldn't be happier with the services provided by WellDunn! Everything from the initial contact/outreach to the final product and service was great. Yulia and Hallie were great to work with and were very accommodating to some of my last minute requests and changes. And, the service for the beverages and food at our wedding were amazing. All of our guests had a wonderful time and we continue to get comments about how good the food was. Also, we had someone making sure we had food and drinks throughout the evening. They even made up warm plates for us because we had been busy visiting with some guests while dinner was served. Also, I didn't have an official wedding planner, so my close family friend who was also attending the wedding as a guest was helping. She was so pleased with all of the help she got from all of the staff at WellDunn throughout the evening with logistics, etc.

Overall, I was very pleased with the results and had a wonderful time at my wedding!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Well Dunn catered our daughter's wedding last week. Everything was perfect. Madeline Zavesky was a pleasure to deal with. She responded immediately to every request and made great suggestions. We loved that a waiter was assigned to the bridal party and remained attentive throughout the event. The food was excellent and many of our guests noticed the outstanding service. Well Dunn was in large part responsible for the success of our event. I would definitely use them again.
Wedding: 06/16/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
BEST DECISION EVER!!
Using Well Dunn for our wedding catering was the best decision we could have made. I read a lot of reviews during our wedding planning and found them very helpful. So believe me when I say all of my comments here are honest and fair.
Customer Service:
Madeline Zavesky was a dream to work with from our very first contact to the final dance of the evening. She made herself available throughout the planning process and even helped us with some non-catering details. When we arrived at the venue she was the first face we saw. Madeline quickly made sure we were pleased with how everything was set up and we immediately knew she had everything under control and we could just enjoy the evening. Because of her attention to detail the entire night went off without a hitch. Amazing!
My daughter was assigned a waiter who stayed with her all night. He made sure the bride & groom got hors d’oeuvres while they were having their photos taken, brought them drinks, and even fanned her when she got hot. He was her personal attendant.
Many of our guests have remarked on how fantastic the dinner service was. The formal style service with all the meals being placed for each guest at the table simultaneously was impressive.
Food
The food was delicious. We knew how good the food was from out tasting but when you are preparing so many meals at once, sometimes the quality suffers, not with Well Dunn. I wouldn’t have thought it possible but the food was actually better at the wedding than it was at the tasting, and better than any high end restaurant I have been to. Madeline and the chef even took great care to serve one of our guests with celiac disease a gourmet gluten free meal, and two vegetarian meals as well. Our guests are still calling us to rave about the food.
Overall, Well Dunn gets an A+
Wedding: 06/14/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I am so glad that I worked with Yulia from Well Dunn for our wedding catering! She was an absolute joy to work with – she was very responsive, diligent, and thoughtful. Well Dunn helped me understand all my options and choices, and I never felt pressured. Yulia was extremely thorough, cheerful, and made the whole experience fun. Our tasting was unbelievable – we got to try all the items we had previously picked out, plus a few others they wanted to show us. We ended up selecting some of their suggestions, and we were so glad they had prepared them for us. On the wedding day, everything was seamless, from setup, to cocktails, to dinner, and cleanup. They were especially good at making sure that my groom and I had everything we needed, and that we had plenty to eat and drink. My dad (who is a tough customer!) even said the food was delicious and the service was outstanding.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Well Dunn was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding. We worked with Yulia and she was exceedingly responsive, accommodating and professional. She was very quick to answer every one of my many, many emails and made wedding planning from overseas very simple. Yulia already knew our venue and was great at giving suggestions for the layout and flow of the evening.

We and our guests loved the quality of the food and professionalism of the staff at the wedding. Everything was delicious and was just as we had remembered from the tasting.

We had Javier assigned to us through the night and he really made the whole evening run so smoothly. He was always there with a drink, something to eat or even a fan when I got off the dance floor!

I would highly recommend Well Dunn to any bride in the DC area.
Wedding: 05/10/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
Excellent job Very easy to work with - offering guidance when asked. Food was outstanding.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Catherine 6 Reviews
Hands down the best catering food and service ever. Our wedding was perfect!
Wedding: 04/13/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Well Dunn catered my wedding this past year, and they were fantastic. A little hard to nail down at first, but once we were able to meet with them in person, they were fantastic. Prices were really reasonable and they knew everybody involved in the wedding from the florist, to the venue manager which made things so much easier logistically. We worked with Ric, and he was a total professional and managed everything wonderfully. The appetizers were so delicious (mushroom tarts are to die for), and the main course was great, too.

My only complaint was that they ran out of main courses, which I think was due to the way they served the food (they brought out platters of the main courses and served table side vs. plating beforehand). A lot of our vegetarian guests ate fish, and so they ate up some of the fish dishes instead of the ravioli they were supposed to get.

Additionally, Well Dunn brought along what they called our "personal butler", Javier. His job was to make sure my husband and I ate first, constantly brought us drinks, and even fanned me when I got too hot! He was wonderful - I couldn't have asked for a better experience!

At the end of the night, Well Dunn packed a little basket with leftovers and desserts for us with a bottle of champagne. It was such a nice touch and we devoured it in the hotel after!

All in all, I'd totally recommend them!
Wedding: 10/06/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Well-Dunn Catering did an exceptional job catering my September 2012 wedding. I worked with Madeline M. and she did a fantastic job from start to finish. First, Well Dunn is incredibly organized and detail oriented. Madeline made sure that every detail was taken care of during both the planning process and during the event. She patiently answered every question I had, and made sure that we had everything we needed. I trusted her judgment and left all the details (and even some decisions!) to her. Having never planned a wedding before, I was so grateful to have someone made sure I didn’t forget anything.

Second, the execution on my wedding day was flawless. The setup was on time and looked amazing. Most importantly, I didn’t have to spend any of my time or energy making adjustments or following up on anyone. Everything was taking care of in the assigned time framed and was perfect. In addition, Well Dunn assigned a server just to take care of the wedding couple; I can’t say enough about how helpful it was to have her. She made sure that we had everything we needed throughout the night—she even made sure we sat down to eat our dinner!

Finally, the food was excellent. I received so many compliments on the food. I wanted simple, delicious, and local food. Well Dunn put together the perfect menu. This is not your average wedding fare of dry chicken and boring salad—this was restaurant quality on a large scale. Plus, the tasting was phenomenal. We sampled many hors d’oeuvres, wines, and entrees in their beautiful townhouse/office.

I would highly recommend Well Dunn catering.
Wedding: 09/08/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Where do I begin? How about from the beginning? I am sure you can understand that when I first started shopping around for caterers, the possibilities were endless. Well look no further. I narrowed down my (extremely thorough) list of caterers to 2. The menus were similar, the prices were similar, the reviews were similar... but the one thing that the other company was missing was YULIA. She was responsive, friendly, patient and helpful. She is the #1 reason I chose Well Dunn.. and boy, what a great decision that was.

She remained all of the above throughout the entire process. We invited our mom's to DC for the tasting. My mother is quite a "food snob", and my mother in law is quite picky with her food, so Well Dunn was up for a big challenge. Not only were were all impressed, but they were more than happy to make the changes that were requested.

Now, I need to talk about Javier. Javier was our waiter during the tasting. We were so impressed with his professionalism that we requested that he be at our wedding. Well, we got lost in the piles of to-do-lists and forgot to follow up with this request. To my surprise, Javier approached me on our wedding day (needless to say I was so happy to see him), and said that he made sure that he kept his schedule open for our wedding day, and that he would be our own PERSONAL waiter throughout the night. Trust me when I tell you, you will not have time to eat. Well, Javier made sure that we had our own appetizers during cocktail hour (he was standing to the side with a silver platter as our pictures were taken), my champagne glass was never empty... and when I was sweating from dancing... Javier pulled out a fan to cool me down. I literally felt like a Princess. We nicknamed him "Saint Javier".

Well Dunn has amazing food and most importantly (trust me on this one) the best staff you could ask for. You WILL NOT regret choosing them as your vendor!
Wedding: 09/08/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lisa 6 Reviews
Working with Well Dunn Catering and Yulia specifically was a wonderful experience. They listened to us and helped craft a perfect wedding day menu for us. We're both foodies and didn't want "typical" wedding fare. Yulia gave us many great suggestions and incorporated our suggestions and changes to create amazing food. Our guests are still raving about the food saying it was the best wedding food they've ever had.

Yulia and her team were wonderful from the beginning. They took an interest immediately and were attentive and responsive from day one. We talked to several caterers and none of them had the warmth and interest that Yulia and her team did. Creating great food is only part of it. The details make or break things and Well Dunn's attention to detail made our wedding extraordinary. From the linens to the place settings to the wait staff - everything was perfect.

I HIGHLY recommend Well Dunn Catering. They made our wedding truly an amazing experience.
Wedding: 08/18/2012
Services Used: Catering
 202-543-7878
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0