Waterview Loft at Port Detroit
Downtown Sophistication on Detroit's Riverfront
    14 Reviews
130 E. Atwater Street
Detroit, MI 48226  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 400
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (14)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.6/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We absolutely loved our wedding at the Waterview Loft! Dawn and the rest of the team, especially the service team were incredible! The inclusive package is the way to go especially if you are a busy bride like myself. All the vendors they work with are amazing! Overall just a wonderful unique venue with an amazing crew!
Waterview Loft at Port Detroit responded with the following comments:
Thank you so much for your kind words Kristi. We loved hosting you, your friends and family!
Wedding: 09/14/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
We were absolutely blown away on the day of our event with this venue and team. Our guests are still raving about it weeks later.
If you are planning a event here you want to make sure you are working directly with Jackie Carden!! She is hands down the best in the business and one of the most talented people we have ever dealt with.
She is the type of person that loves what she does and it shows. She was very attentive to our unique needs and really listened to what we were trying to accomplish.
The team at the loft is was also amazing. Literally at our event the staff was incredibly nice/funny/ and attentive. As the bride and groom they treated us like celeb's. Dawn Baldini helped with the final details of our event and made a huge impact on us with her level of service the night of. So nice to us, our parents, and guests. She was a blast to work with. Another person you can tell loves what she does. She is very creative, and had a ton of awesome ideas for us. Darkest Hour, late night grill station, dance party down stairs, hot choclate late night....all these touches our guests wont stop talking about! Not to mention the insane view. You also want to work directly with Dawn! Dont forget to ask for her! Dont forget!
I wish I could thank everybody individually, but Jill, and Jon blew us away at the event. All night they made sure we were taken care of, and all of our family and firends. The bar staff, servers, cooks, basically every employee in the building that night exceeded our expectations
We would reccommend this team to anyone looking to make their wedding day/night truly something amazing. Best wedding venue in Detroit. Our friends loved that we had the ceremony/reception/hotel all within walking distance. Thanks again to the team at the loft, keep up the great work! Unforgettable.
Waterview Loft at Port Detroit responded with the following comments:
We're so happy for you both and happy we were able to exceed your expectations! Best wishes from the whole team!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner Location, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This was one of the most amazing days of my life and Waterview Loft made it that much more special!!! The coordinator I worked with (Dawn) was wonderful from start of planning all the way to the wedding day! I could not have asked for a better wedding coordinator! Thank you Dawn for being so attentive, professional and flexible with all of the planning. You made it such a smooth planning process and I could not have done it without you! .......Our wedding day was incredible from start to finish.When I tell you this is the best place off off the water to have an event, whether it is for a wedding or special occassion, you will not be disappointed. The service was impeccable! Service is very important to me and they definitely exceeded my expectations. As the bride and groom we had our own specific waiters/attendants taking care of us the entire night as well as a coordinator! Not only did they make sure my husband and I were ok, they also showed the same service to our guests, I was floored! The wedding day ran smooth from start to finish, there were no hiccups at all, completely blew my mind.... On top of the service the food was soooooo good!!! There was so much food, my guests never went hungry and partied all night long! Another thing that happended that I was told by guests later on was that the attendants even offered rides to guests that might have had too much to drink, if that's not great service I don't know what is!....All of my guests said this was the best wedding they have ever been to and that it would be a hard one to top! I completely agree! I would not have changed a thing and I am so glad I chose Waterview Loft at Port Detroit for my wedding day! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!!!!!!!!
Waterview Loft at Port Detroit responded with the following comments:
Thanks for the great review Mya. We are so happy we made planning smooth for you and that you enjoyed everything to the fullest!
Wedding: 08/30/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Happy Bride 3 Reviews
This was the best day of my life. The staff was amazing and the food hit the spot. I loved everything from the flowers, to the music, to the level of service. Jackie Carden was a gem to work with! I would recommend her to everyone!!!! This place is amazing and the view is so great. I would tell everyone to come here for their weddings!
Waterview Loft at Port Detroit responded with the following comments:
Thank you for the recommendation to future couples! We have enjoyed working with you!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner Location, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When we planned our event at Waterview Loft we thought the highlight of the trip would be the views of the Detroit River and access to the Detroit Riverwalk. The water and the views were fantastic, but the highlight was the venue itself and the staff. The levels of professionalism and hospitality far exceeded our very high expectations.
Waterview Loft at Port Detroit responded with the following comments:
Thank you so much Brian. We love our location and really bringing everything together for our guests!
Wedding: 07/29/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We just got married last night and our reception was at the waterview loft. We had 170 guests and it went absolutely flawless. My phone has been blowing up with friends and family.saying it was the best wedding they have ever attended. The level of service was unreal. Jackie and Dawn ran the show like a well oiled machine. We can't express our gratitude for making our awesome day 100% perfect. If anyone is considering this venue, you won't be disappointed. You guys rock! - Mike & Melissa
Waterview Loft at Port Detroit responded with the following comments:
Thank you so much Mike! We loved having your and Melissa's wedding on the waterfront!
Wedding: 07/12/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We had our perfect wedding reception at this new - amazing - venue. I couldn't have asked for more. They exceeded our expectations! If you want to have a unique wedding reception in downtown Detroit look no further. Its a new hidden gem!
- The venue speaks for itself - the water, the balcony, the view. Our pictures are amazing because the natural light from the day was coming through the windows during toasts. For the "anniversary" dances, the sun was setting and when the dancing really kicked in - it was nighttime with candles everywhere.
- The food was fabulous. Everyone loved our strolling menu. Get the "Darkest Hour"! People will flip out! We ordered late night food for our guests. I saw the staff carrying food out to the dance floor so people could keep dancing while eating!
- The staff - I am still hearing about how polite, funny and friendly the staff was. I've never heard anyone speak about the staff at a wedding and two weeks later - it is still a topic of conversation
- Sales/Event Managers - LOVE. So helpful and patient. Kept me at ease during the months leading up to our wedding reception.

I loved our wedding reception. It was a fantastic party and I would not change a thing!




- Accommodations - All of our out of town guests stayed at the Marriott in the Ren Cen so there was no driving needed.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The staff at the waterview loft went above and beyond to help service our event. Everything from the food quality, staff expertise, decor etc was top notch. I would recommend the waterview loft to any future bride looking a venue to host her wedding reception. Shout out to Mrs. Kathy Baker for taking such great care of me :) XO
Waterview Loft at Port Detroit responded with the following comments:
Thank you so much Lindsay! We were so happy to host your wedding day on the waterfront!
Wedding: 10/05/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Dear reviewers and the Waterview Loft team,

Maureen and I wanted to share our deepest gratitude and appreciation for your extra efforts and coordination of our special day. You guys absolutely exceeded our expectations! We were so worried about all of the delicate intricacies of our unique day, and we were amazed at how well you all handled every part of it. Dawn and Jackie- You guys were amazing!!!! The ceremony was perfectly executed! I wish you could see all the kind words and sentiment that is being shared on facebook and Instagram from our guests. They were simply stunned at the venue, food, riverfront, environtment, etc. Everything you guys did was absolutely spectacular! EVERY SINGLE employee went the extra mile. Thank you for all your patience and diligence. We hope that our wedding adds to your venue’s reputation. You are all truly a special team. Please make sure to fw this to the rest of the staff that worked our ceremony and reception. And of course, we apologize for any of our guests or vendors that may have caused you any headache.
For those looking for a unique Detroit wedding- I am not sure you will find a more beautiful venue. My advice- look through photos of actual weddings at the venue, they are breathtaking.

Thank you!
Waterview Loft at Port Detroit responded with the following comments:
Thank you for the kind review. And great advice about photos, some just don't do the space justice!
Wedding: 08/08/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
Stunning venue! We were blown away with the whole staff leafing up to the wedding and the day of! Everyone was so helpful and a laws making sure everything was running smoothly and the way we wanted! The actual venue is breathtaking and hit a home run with our guests! Our wedding is still being talked about! The pictures also turned out gorgeous with the Waterview Loft having stunning photography opportunities! I highly recommend them!
Waterview Loft at Port Detroit responded with the following comments:
We are so happy everyone enjoyed the event. Thank you for sharing!
Wedding: 06/08/2014
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner Location, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Waterview Loft at Port Detroit was the venue for a gala fundraiser to benefit The Water Access Volunteer Effort (WAVE) Fund. Dawn Baldini was our event coordinator/contract manager for the two months or so leading up to the event. Dawn was very professional, responsive and very flexible in regards to changes and/or requests for the event. She is on top of all details and thorough with the planning. I am thankful to have had such a pleasant person to work with. On the day of the event, Nina was assigned as the 'day-of' event liaison for the Port Detroit Staff and was also an absolute pleasure and very easy to work with. With Dawn and Nina handling the event, I knew that I was in great hands which relieved me of worry and stress concerning the event. On the night of the event, the entire staff was pleasant, professional and extremely helpful. A great evening was made even better thanks to the Waterview Port Authority staff.
Waterview Loft at Port Detroit responded with the following comments:
Thank you for your kind review Vertrice! We were happy to host your waterfront event! Hope to see you again soon!
Wedding: 06/27/2014
Services Used: Catering, Unique Services (Other)
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  2.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I were married here on 6/28/14 with 150 guests in attendance. Our day was wonderful and our guests are still raving about how beautiful the venue was, how tasty the food was, and how marvelous the service was. The preferred vendors associated with this venue (Emerald City Designs, Baked Impressions, Elysium Experience) all exceed expectations and worked impressively well together to coordinate all services smoothly.
The venue itself is stunning; complete with new modern carpet and paint, nicely updated bathrooms, and surreal views of the riverfront. We found the facilities to be very clean and well maintained. The service team that ran the show on the day of was amazing and largely responsible for the success of our event. The bar and service staff were very quick and efficient, and appeared just outright happy to be there. Jackie was the operations manager responsible for our day (w one other whose name I forget now). These two were very attentive and communicated well to orchestrate all the vendors.
I deducted 'stars' from this review due to the experiences I had while planning. While all the management/ coordination staff were very nice and eager to please, the communication and organization of the team was lacking. We were originally assigned a coordinator named Christy, who then was fired/disappeared. Then had a second Kathy who was a manager just subbing as my coordinator, then finally Dawn. During this shuffle we actually hired an outside planner to help us. Poor Dawn was in the difficult position of having to deal with all the impossible promises the first coordinator had made (byob rules, rehearsal times, several prices). On the day of several details that had been discussed at length went awry leading me to believe communication between the many "coordinators" was flawed.

Despite the challenges I cannot express how kind the people were (especially Dawn), and how beautiful this place is. We would recommend this venue and it's team.
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Pound for pound they were real good. For my money it doesn't get any better than the waterview review.
Wedding: 10/01/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.0 out of 5.0
3.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  1.5

Private User 4 Reviews
We had our wedding ceremony and reception at the Waterview Loft at Port Detroit. Let me start by saying the day ended up being AMAZING. However, the planning process was an absolute nightmare. We were made a lot of false promises, responsiveness was typically slow and we were told we CAN'T do a lot of things we had wanted. If we had not hired independent wedding planners, I cannot say the event would have been successful. Also, this venue is a little bit "shady" with their pricing. They will not give a break down of what everything costs and truthfully I think we overpaid... but, the venue is gorgeous and in a premiere location so it makes sense.

The Day Of : again, was amazing. The service staff working at this venue was better than great and everyone had a fantastic time. I hope this new venue works out the kinks in management to make the planning process easier for couples coming in.

This venue as it is very unique and the service staff was outstanding. Just be prepared for the headaches dealing with management.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 313-656-6000
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook Follow Me on Pinterest
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0