Waterford at Fair Oaks
“Best Reception Sites” by Washingtonian Magazine
12025 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway
Fairfax, VA 22033  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 550
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (63)   Photos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.5/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.5/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.6/5.0)
Value:
 (4.5/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.5/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Great service, the staff were professional and friendly. We only have a problem with the steak, its very raw. Most of our guests approached us about it and did not eat the steak. :( Other than that, Charlena and the rest of the staff did a superb job.
Wedding: 10/17/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

MS 5 Reviews
By far the easiest vendor and decision to make. The staff was very helpful and were really great about working our timeline. The Banquet Manager helped correct our lack of punctuality with the timeline and saw to it that we did everything we wanted. Charlena was super nice, professional, and knowledgeable. Beautiful location, ample parking, cost-effective, and wonderful food. I would suggest the Waterford in Fair Oaks to everybody.
Wedding: 09/26/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Waterford staff was extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and professional. The waiters catered to the bride and groom and were excellent in assisting and helping guests.
Wedding: 06/20/2009
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
The food was good, the filet mignon was extremely tender. The staff was friendly and professional. Would recommend the Waterford at Fair Oaks. I do think the wedding costs in the DC Metro Area are too high, but the Waterford was cheaper then many place and they provided very good service.
Wedding: 05/02/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Waterford of Fair Oaks absolutley hands down was the easiest vendor to work with. If I had the ability to rate them 100 stars, I would. From our initial communication, down to their organization on the day of my wedding on Oct 5th, my reception went above and beyond my expectations. The food was outstanding, the venue was beautiful, and the staff is professional and extremly helpful.
I cannot express how overjoyed I was to walk into a breathtaking ballroom for my reception. They made my dream wedding a reality.
A big thanks to Charlena and Erin who were extremly helpful, and to the chef, who made delicious food.
Wedding: 10/05/2008
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The food was excellent and they were quite flixible with us.
Overall, we would reccomend.
Wedding: 06/20/2008
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Can not say anything negative about this place. On top of things and a one stop shop for a great price!! This place is awesome fora reception and ceremony.
Wedding: 05/25/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Everything turned out to be amazing. I knew the wedding ceremony and reception were going to be beautiful, but it was even MORE than I imagined. The staff was extremely professional and friendly. I did not have to worry about a thing.
Wedding: 05/24/2008
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had my ceremony and reception there and it was so beautiful. I never had a problem at all. From the start anytime I needed anything all I had to do was call them and they would take care of it. The food was wonderful, and all my guests commented on how good it was.

On the day of the wedding I was so happy because all I had to do was let them know what I wanted done and they did it.

I would reccommend having your wedding done their, including the ceremony. The price is really good for what you get and the service they offer.
Wedding: 05/17/2008
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  3.0
I would recommend Waterford to anyone who was like me and wanted everything in one package. I would also recommend it to couples who aren't on a tight budget.
While our reception was very lovely, it was a bit over priced, even for the buffet.
We also had to follow a very tight schedule of our start and end time. Which is reasonable considering they are a reception hall. Our wedding was at 11:30 in the morning. Our cocktail house began at 12:30 and ended at 5. Even though we were taking up a half hour less of their room time, they refused to budge for their per person price. Our package was a buffet. We could pick two entrees, two greens, and one starch. To add on another starch was two dollars a person extra! The food was excellent though. The salmon was cooked perfectly and the chicken was juicy. The open bar with the package was very worth it though. I do believe some of my guests drank as much alcohol as the per person price was!
My father had one complaint. He arrived to the cocktail hour a little late, as they were taking down the bar and getting ready for the reception. He had tried to order a drink and was told he couldn't. When he told the tender he was the Father of the Bride, the bartended didn't seem to care. Only when my father asked to see a supervisor did the supervisor tell the bartender to give my dad whatever he wanted.
While my DJ was announcing my husband and I for the first time, one of the employees was talking in his ear telling him to speed it up! It resulted in my DJ calling us Sgt. & Brad Sanders, instead of Sgt. and Mrs. Brad Sanders. A minor slip up, but still was caught on film.
Also, the man in charge of calling up tables to go to the buffet forgot about our head table! Mine and my husbands meal was plated for us, but he called our table one before he called the bridal party table! I quickly saw this and asked him if my table could go next. He was very very apologetic and it looked like he just had a brain slip.
Other than that the wait staff was very attentive, espcially to my husband and I. The food was great and the drinks very well made.
Like I said, I'd recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind a reception at a reception hall and who isn't on a tight budget.
Wedding: 05/10/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Staff was so welcoming and helped me with a lot of decisions and helped out tremendously throughout the whole day. They helped with the set-up, and accommdated all our needs. Everything was planned really well, everything was kept clean and staff was there throughout the event. You will be very happy and your wedding day will always be cherished.
Wedding: 11/24/2007
Services Used: Catering, Flowers, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I really enjoyed working with the Waterford. I had several challenges that were taken care of with no problem.

My guest list continued to grow and 60 days before my wedding I was looking at 200 - 250 instead of the original 180 max I had contracted for. I was so happy that they worked with me to upgrade me to a larger room so that my guests were better accomodated.

My cousin made the cake for the wedding and since I was not having the ceremony at the Waterford (instead I had it in Manassas), the cake needed to be dropped off well in advance (3:00pm for a 5:30 reception). The staff at Waterford was very flexible and worked with me in order for that to happen with no problem.

I only had a minor flop and this was partly my fault for not being more descriptive. The way I wanted my table centerpieces arranged was a little messed up. I think it was just a miscommunication and it really didnt affect my experience. It was a little annoying, but they worked to fix any little detail that I needed taken care of.

The only other little miff I had with them was it wasnt until the last month that I knew who would be working my event. My suggestion would be to make sure you know who your consultant is when you go into the contract.

All in all, my experience was rather good and I enjoyed my event. The food was awesome and the drinks were exceptional. I also enjoyed the level of service we recieved on our special day. I would definitely reccommend to anyone looking for a beautiful facility at a great price!
Wedding: 10/20/2007
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.5
  • Professionalism:  2.0
  • Value:  2.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0
They forgot to put out our wedding favors, booked a pretty noisy event right next to our room, and the room was actually not even ready to be set up for the ceremony so our florist was delayed. Overall, I was not a very happy bride. Definitely would not reccommend this venue for weddings.
Wedding: 10/14/2007
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0
The Waterford did a great job! We had a little trouble with our tasting. The Events manager mixed up the times and was not too nice to us we she claimed we were late. We requested not to work with her any longer. After that the General Manager & assistant worked with us and they were great. We had a buffet dinner, but they served the bride & groom (which was great, or we would have never eaten)!.
Wedding: 09/08/2007
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Waterford Receptions is a great place for a Wedding reception. They provide exquisite food and a sophisticated atomsphere. I really enjoyed having my reception at Waterford at Fair Oaks. The staff really cater to your every need and you really need not do anything but enjoy your day.
Wedding: 08/04/2007
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Private User 5 Reviews
They need new carpets and some minor improvements and the food was bit undercooked.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 703-352-3200
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook Follow Me on Pinterest
 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0