Tropical Maui Weddings
We will help make your Maui wedding the one of your dreams. Enjoy your stress-free wedding day!
78 Auoli Drive
Makawao, HI 96768  | map
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (21)   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.5/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Marnie 5 Reviews
Lori of Tropical Maui Weddings was a joy to work with! After our first email and phone conversation, I immediately felt at ease with her. And since we were planning our wedding from the mainland and would not be able to visit Maui before our trip for the wedding, we really needed someone we could trust to set up the wedding of our dreams! My only criticism is that sometimes emails don't get responded to very quickly (though sometimes I could have been accused of the same!) and considering we started communicating over one year before the wedding, there was plenty of time to get everything in order. She did seem to sense when I was a bit panicky and would respond to those ones quickly! And in my opinion the fact that she is a busy wedding planner bodes well that she is good at what she does! And come the day of our wedding she was superb! She made sure everything was just as I wanted it, and she remained so calm even with the threat of rain, and possibly having to move the set up to the backup rain plan! Thankfully the rain passed with enough time that the original plan was still a go. She kept everything running so smoothly, and yet I barely noticed her there! She made my dream wedding come true all without ever meeting her until a few days before the wedding! We also used her husband Jamie as our musician for the ceremony, cocktail hour, and dinner music. He is so easy to listen to, and other than a few special requests we just let him decide on the rest of the set list and he was able to read our guests well. Everyone loved the music! He even learned a new song that my Mom wanted to perform at our wedding and accompanied her, that meant the world to us!
Wedding: 03/14/2014
Services Used: Ceremony Music, Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Working with Tropical Maui Weddings was likely the single best decision we made for our wedding in Maui. Jackie, Lori & Jamie provided us with stellar service before, during and after our big day. They were so gracious and an absolute pleasure to work with.

We reached out after a friend recommended them and got a very quick response from Jackie. We were planning about a year in advance and had enough time to fly out and meet the TMW team. Jackie had set up multiple meetings with vendors, had our cake tasting lined up and even had a list of restaurants to try for catering. When we left we thought we had everything planned. WRONG! We must have changed our minds on various details a million times, but the TMW team never seemed to miss a beat. They were extremely understanding & really patient with us.

We were a bit nervous at first, as we were planning a same-sex wedding, and unfortunately it’s difficult to know in advance how certain businesses will react, but TMW and all the vendors they recommended were absolutely great. We actually loved working with their team so much we ended up hiring Lori to officiate our wedding, and Jamie to sing during our ceremony.

Planning a wedding, especially a destination wedding, can be stressful. Having Tropical Maui Wedding and all of their connections and vendors made it feel like we had a relative on the island; one who knew exactly what they were doing and how to get things done. The day was as stress free as possible. Not even the smallest detail was missed, the day was truly perfect, and if I didn't know better I would have thought they actually invited a large pod of whales that started breaching during our ceremony! Amazing.
Wedding: 03/04/2014
Services Used: Ceremony Music, Officiant, Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding day was absolutely perfect thanks to Lori. She thought of absolutely every little detail, including the way the breeze would blow my veil during the ceremony. All our vendors were wonderful and the location just perfect. Lori recommended Olowalu Plantation House and I now completely understand why, a truly magical setting. It's definitely daunting to plan a wedding in another country but dont hesitate to put all your trust in Lori, she will make sure it's perfect. Our wedding day exceeded my expectations and many guests commented on how it was the best wedding they have ever been to. Thank you so much Lori and Jamie, we now have beautiful memories to last a lifetime!
Wedding: 01/02/2014
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Heidi 3 Reviews
We have one word to describe Tropical Maui Weddings: AMAZING. We were overwhelmed with the thought of planning a destination wedding; however, when we found Lori and Jamie Lawrence of Tropical Maui Weddings all of our stress went away. We were married at the Olowalu Plantation House in November and Troplical Maui Weddings is the perfect wedding planner to use for that venue. From the moment we began communicating with Lori we knew we had picked the right wedding planner. Lori and her assistant, Jackie, were unbelievable to work with: emails were answered promptly and telephone calls were returned and they really went above and beyond to answer questions and give suggestions. Our wedding day was extra special because of all of the work TMW put into it. All of the vendors recommended by Lori were fantastic and all of our friends and family are still talking about how wonderful the day was. We had Lori's husband, Jamie, sing during our ceremony and everyone thought it was a cd playing. Jamie's amazing voice put a unique touch to our ceremony and all of our guests loved his voice. You can't go wrong with Tropical Maui Weddings. A big thanks to Lori, Jamie, and Jackie! Without them our day would not have been what it was.
Wedding: 11/25/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jamie and Lori were an absolute pleasure to work with. I was married at Olowalu Plantation House on October 20th. A Maui beach-side wedding had been a dream of mine since I was a child and the day turned out to be more than I had hoped for. I've had many guests tell me it was the best wedding they had ever been to or will ever go to. I have no doubt that was due to all of Lori and Jackie's hard work and Jamie's heavenly voice. Jamie sang during our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception. He was absolutely amazing! Lori kept things running smoothly the entire day. She felt like a friend instead of our wedding planner. We hadn't met in person until a few days before the wedding and she made all the long-distance planning easy and stress-free. The vendors she recommended were all wonderful and worked so well together. There is not one thing I would change about the whole experience!

Olowalu is a magical place and I can't thank Lori and Jamie enough for making my day so special!!
Wedding: 10/20/2013
Services Used: Ceremony Music, Wedding Planning
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Anonymous 7 Reviews
Lori and Jackie were so easy to work with- they made our day stress-free! Good value for all the services they provided and both are very friendly. My rehearsal wasn't scheduled until last minute, which started to get me worried, but it all worked out. They would send me vendor options (eg for florist, limo companies etc), but I was able to find better deals and options myself sometimes. I was able to book whoever I wanted though and pay through TMW. It made everything very easy! We also hired Lori's husband, Jamie, to be our musician at ceremony and reception- wow he was incredible! Not cheap, but really made the ambiance of the night. Lori was not always quick to respond, but Jackie was on top of things 95% of the time. I would recommend TMW!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Planning
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
overall the service and professionalism was very pleasing. The wedding was perfect, the venue we selected was exactly what we had wanted and the added touches that Lori provided really made the day seem like a dream come true. She connected me and my husband from day one, understanding what we wanted. She was very flexible and always willing to provide advice and suggestions.
Wedding: 12/07/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
1.1 out of 5.0
1.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  1.5
  • Responsiveness:  0.5
  • Professionalism:  1.0
  • Value:  1.0
  • Flexibility:  1.5
This wedding planner was very helpful until I used a photographer who she didn't want me to use (even though he's on her website, which is odd). After I booked the photographer (I don't know that this was why, but the timing was odd), she was hard to get in touch with, and she would take forever to respond to me. For example, I asked her for a quote on a shuttle in March of last year. She finally gave me a quote at the end of September! I went almost all summer without hearing from her at all. I even started to wonder if she was still doing my wedding.

The day of the wedding, my makeup artist didn't show up. Well, come to find out, she was never hired by the wedding planner. She hadn't wanted me to use this makeup artist from the beginning, but I was adamant that I use her. Guess who ended up doing my makeup? The person the wedding planner wanted me to use. Convenient, huh?

I shed many tears from being stressed out, and ironically enough, the person who was supposed to ease my stress (wedding planner) was the one who caused the tears in the first place. Please don't use this person. I know she has many great reviews, but I can't for the life of me figure out why. I felt like I was fighting an uphill battle with her. It was beyond ridiculous. BTW, the photographer was fabulous!! The makeup artist was not. I loved the florist she recommended. Her husband was our singer, and he was wonderful! It's hard to plan a wedding when you're thousands of miles away, but this is still a business. She just didn't act like she was running one.
Wedding: 11/23/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Do not hesitate to work with Jackie and Lori with Tropical Maui Weddings. From start to finish they were flawless. Always responsive and ready to answer any questions we had. Lori even went to our location 3 hours early to set up for our event, just to make sure we had a spot. All of the beaches in Hawaii are public so that was very important. I really felt like they went out of our way to make us feel comfortable and special. Five stars!!
Wedding: 05/28/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Entertainer, Flowers, Officiant, Photography, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Lori is amazing!!!!!!! Sweet, smart, efficient and just wonderful! Jackie was amazing as well. Highly recommend them!
Wedding: 04/20/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 7 Reviews
Laurie and her team do an excellent job at what they do. They know the vendors, the venue and the details that make a wedding happen stress free. I am in event planning professionally but knew I would need a local coordinator to ensure a seamless day. Laurie is professional and an incredible service for value. The only comment is sometimes it takes a while to hear back via email (any phone calls were prompt, however!) but this is just the Maui time versus my OCD response rate and didn't affect the quality of service at all!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tropical Maui Weddings are amazing. I was going to Maui already for the wedding of friends, and became engaged four days before leaving for Maui. My husband, then fiancé, and I decided to get married later in the week, after our friends, while we were all still on Maui. Tropical Maui Weddings was the wedding planner my friends were using. They were so happy with Lori and the team, and immediately referred us when I told them our happy news and plans to wed in Maui as well. Lori is so wonderful. She thought the idea of an impromptu wedding was romantic, not hectic. Planning was stress free. Lori arranged the pastor, beach permit, the most stunning beach location I could ever imagine, and much more. I trusted Lori completely and because I did, we had the most amazing morning beach ceremony and breakfast reception. She ensured we had the wedding of our dreams, despite the short notice and tight budget. Thanks to Tropical Maui Weddings I have experienced two beautiful Maui weddings, my friends' and mine, both of which were unique, fun and fantastic. Mahalo!
Wedding: 07/11/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Lori, Jamie, and Jackie at Tropical Maui Weddings were amazing to work with for our wedding. I would recommend them to anyone getting married on Maui. We live on Oahu and they made the planning process so easy even though we weren't on island. They helped us plan our perfect day and we couldn't be happier. Everything went so smoothly and all our guests commented on how awesome our wedding planner was. We got married at Honua Kai Lani and my bridesmaids, mom, grandmother and I were able to arrive in the morning and relax and all get manicures while Lori coordinated all the vendors and decorating. She made everything so easy for us and stress-free and really took over the planning process. It was wonderful. She helped us select the best vendors for us and was always available to answer my many questions. Jamie played the guitar and sang beautifully at our ceremony. He has such an amazing voice. They make such a great team! I would highly recommend Tropical Maui Weddings to anyone planning a wedding in Maui and we feel so lucky that they were our wedding planner for our special day!
Wedding: 05/20/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Lori and Jamie at Tropical Maui Weddings were amazing to work with. They helped us plan our perfect day and as the bride, I was able to show up at our venue and relax and get ready while Lori coordinated all the vendors and decorating. She arranged our marriage certificate appointment and found Pastor Laki, who made our ceremony the most beautiful one many of our guests had attended. She helped us select awesome vendors and made sure we knew the pros and cons of various vendors. Our wedding was perfect and stress-free because of Lori and Jamie. Jamie's played the guitar and sang beautifully at our ceremony and reception. I feel like Lori is a good friend and she would spend hours talking to me on the phone and responded to my text messages at all hours during the days leading up to the wedding. I was able to stay calm and enjoy our time in Maui with family and friends knowing that Lori had all the details covered. I would highly recommend Tropical Maui Weddings to anyone planning a wedding in Maui.
Wedding: 05/18/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We booked Lori pretty early on in the process and she is such a lovely person. We were able to meet her in person on our scouting trip and then again in the week before the wedding. She did an amazing job in the lead up to the wedding and again on the day - it was so good not having to worry about anything on the day or the timing of everything. She made everything as stressfree as possible. Also I definitely had moments of indecisiveness all the way through the planning and she was really accommodating and never irritated with me for all the changes which was pretty impressive because there were moments when I was annoying myself! She also coordinates lots and lots of weddings at Olowalu so she has lots of suggestions for set-ups etc. Strongly recommended!!!!
Wedding: 04/30/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I worked with Lori Lawerence of Tropical Maui Weddings. She is an absolute delight and runs the whole day like a well oiled machine. I have to say it was best money we spent as the day of there was no stress. I put one less star for responsiveness as it really isn't until maybe 2 months before the wedding that her and the team start to run down every detail and respond ASAP to every email from you. But, I guess that makes sense as they do a ton of weddings and everything doesn't really come together until close to the big day anyway. She thinks of everything and truly feels like a friend after the whole experience!
Wedding: 02/17/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
 808-573-9393
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0