Town Shop Bridal
2585 South Road
Hudson Plaza
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601  | map
Services: Bride, Bridesmaids, Flower Girls, Mother of the...
Accessories: Garters, Hair Accessories, Jewelry, Shoes...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (75)   FAQ   Map    
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (3.6/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (3.5/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (3.3/5.0)
Value:
 (3.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (3.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 

Private User 1 Reviews
This review is currently being verified This review is currently being verified.
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I went in looking for a veil for my dress that I purchased at another shop. The woman were extremely friendly and helpful, even though they were very busy. Carol even pulled my dress, that they also carried, so that we could compare the lace. She sold me the veil off the rack even though it was new and she did not have another to put out right away.
Wedding: 08/23/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
My experience at the Town Shop was fantastic. Carol, my dress consultant, could not have been better. She was genuine, friendly, and helpful, and made me feel extremely comfortable. I knew the kind of dress I was looking for before I went in, and I found THE DRESS on my third try. I was a bit nervous about finding a dress since I needed to buy one off the rack and have it altered before I flew back to England, but the consultant assured me I could have it fitted and altered before going back, which was a huge relief. After finding the dress, the owner even informed me a brand new, smaller size was coming in at the end of the week and I could have that one. Even paying the deposit was stress free as I was able to put only a small amount down until I was able to pay the full amount. I highly recommend the Town Shop if you are looking for a gorgeous yet affordable dress with a quick, stress-free, and great experience.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Dress & Attire
0.0 out of 5.0
0.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Extremely rude and pompous. What a terrible atmosphere. They will disgust you with their filled up non-sense egos. Don't even bother calling--I was informed of their rudeness but had to see first hand i guess. What a waste of beautiful dresses accompanied by rude snobs.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Town Shop in Poughkeepsie, N.Y 12601 at 2585 South Road and phone # is 845-471-1580 is amazing. Over the years I have uses them numerous occasions. Every time I going there the staffing is very attentive and go out of there way to make you happy. I am getting married this year and just order my dresses from them, which is being custom made and honestly can,t said enough good things about them.
Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire, Jewelry
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0

MrsKPS 7 Reviews
I got my wedding dress and bridesmaids dresses here. Everything turned out perfect in the end. They are not super flexible and rushes aren't their specialty. Go in as early as possible for the best experience.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
My friends and I have shopped at the townshop for every prom since freshman year. The store has such great staff and wide variety that I would be willing to fly from wherever I choose to get married just to buy my dress there. Love this store!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Dress & Attire
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Love This Place!!! Like walking into a fairyland! The assortment, the quality, the professional sales help! My girls and I shop there for all of our special occasions. The prom dresses are to die for!
Wedding: 12/06/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
0.0 out of 5.0
0.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I have dealt with them in the past, and had issues however my best friend is getting married and she wanted to go to them, so I wanted to make this easy and painless for her so I went. We got fitted for the dresses on May 5th, 2013. We all started asking the bride when the dresses would be in because if there is something wrong we need time. I got there today to pick mine up after getting a call this week (one month before the wedding) I paid the balance and left because when they fitted us in May I was told I was between a 16 and 18, they told me it was up to me on what size however I am not in the professional dress industry so asked the girl that measured me what she thought, she then turned to the owner Gary and asked him he said the 16 should be fine for me. So I went with it. Today I went to put it on and the back would not even zip up!!! I called them, they put Gary on the phone he obviously as I learned a 2nd time does not believe in the customer being right! He told me they did "nothing wrong" I said I do not care, I just need an 18, he proceeded to tell me because the wedding is in one month there is no time to order another size it will not be here in time. But come back have his seamstress look at it, and then I can have them fix this when I live an hour away. I said well if I do that I will be charged by then to do so, he laughed at me and said well of course you will be. Next I went to the alterations shop he did his measurements realized the dress is a 14 with a 16 label on it!!! Furthermore it was labeled a petite 16 when if anything the dress needed to be woman's. Gary was continuously oblivious to the idea they messed up and would not fix it. Now I have to pay another $125 to have the dress taken out and extra material put under the arms!! This establishment is a scam because they wait till last minute to get orders just so that they give the consumer no choice but to use them for everything!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Dress & Attire
1.5 out of 5.0
1.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  1.5
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  1.0
  • Value:  1.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0

Jennifer 9 Reviews
I had a disappointing experience at the Town Shop. So, many of our vendors were absolutely amazing but the Town Shop can not be added to that list. It started from the selection process, where the sales lady that I worked with was pushy and rude when it came down to if "I was saying Yes to the dress". I ultimately decided to purchase my dress with them because it was the dress that I loved. When the dress came in I set up appointments for my fittings. The first one was great, the seamstresses were friendly and made me feel comfortable through the fitting process. I then scheduled my second fitting which was about 3 weeks away from my wedding day. They had to cancel because it was not ready. I rescheduled about a week and half later and when I came in ready to see the progress I was told that I needed to come back in a half an hour because it wasn't ready yet. When I came back and put the dress on the only alterations that had been done was a single button for the bustle (my dress had only minor alterations needed, the primary alteration was a hem at the bottom). I was very upset because at this point my wedding was almost a week away! I asked to talk to the manager and they told me they were behind and that it is like that during this time of year because of that large amount of weddings in the fall. 5 days after that my dress was due for pick up. Thankfully it was ready and was everything I wanted it to be but the process to get there was disappointing for one of the few dress shops local to the Hudson Valley. My bridesmaids also purchased their dresses through the Town Shop. Each of my bridesmaids needed alterations to the dress because the size was not ordered correctly. Bridesmaids alterations were not included in their cost of the dress like they are for the brides dress. Looking back I would have gone to a few dress shops before choosing the Town Shop. I ultimately purchased the dress there because of convenience and location.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Dress & Attire
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  2.5
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The town shop was my 3rd stop to find a dress. I loved how they had so many wedding dresses to choose from in stock. My consultant was Grace and she was very helpful and gave me the advise I needed and was looking for. Once I new what dress was "the one" the order was placed. I received amazing help to find the perfect bridesmaids dresses. There was even a problem with my veil (which I bought at another store), Gary helped me find a new veil a week before the wedding and marked it down. Very helpful staff. My only complain would be that they are horrible for returning phone calls. But overall a great experience.
Wedding: 09/20/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I live out of state and literally had 1 day to find a wedding dress. My friend had told me about this place in Poughkeepsie, which was a little far from where I was staying in NY, but when I called them and told them I had 1 day, they seemed accomodating so i decided to give them a try.
When I drove up to the place, I thought oh man, is this really it? It is in an old shopping center in the middle of no where!
To my suprise, when I walked in, they had a whole bunch of books for me to look at to give them an idea of what i was looking for. Within 10 minutes, they had half of a dozen dresses ready for me to try on. I fell in love with one of them within 30 minutes.
They never once even blinked at the suggestion that I may be for hours trying on, with my 4 bridesmaids, step mother, and future mother in law. ( luckily for all it was much quicker )
They were also great about the fact that I was not going to be able to come back until 2 days before the wedding, as that was the next time I was making it to NY.
I went in, had a fiiting, and picked up the dress of my dreams the next day....perfection!
Wedding: 09/13/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
0.9 out of 5.0
0.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  1.0
  • Responsiveness:  1.0
  • Professionalism:  0.5
  • Value:  1.0
  • Flexibility:  1.0

Private User 1 Reviews
If I could give Town shop Bridal all ZERO's I could. We went in 8 months prior to the wedding date to order bridesmaid dresses because my bridesmaids live all over the united states and ordering these dresses early was important to be able to ship them out and get their fittings in plenty of time. They said it would take a few months. We started to call to check the status of the dresses 3 months after placing the order, the response from the staff there is that the manufacturer is taking a long time they should be in within a week or two. A week or two would pass, we would call again and get the same answer. Do you know that in August, literally a month before the wedding, these people had the nerve to call and say there was an issue with the manufacturer and they never got the order??!! How do you tell a client for months that the dresses have been ordered and should be in any minute and come to find out they really did not even make an effort to ensure the order went through properly? My calls were ignored, the staff was rude. I was so worried about my bridesmaids getting their fittings in time and having the dresses ready for the wedding which when the dresses finally came in was 3 weeks away and my girls were all over the united states. So the dresses still needed to be shipped out and fitted in 3 weeks. Kathy is a BIG ZERO, when I asked her how she ran a business with such terrible professionalism her response was, "technically all we need to do is provide you with the dress the day before the wedding" She didn't care if the dresses fit the girls or not. She was rude, curt, ill-mannered, just the worst. I can't imagine anyone would give any decent reviews to this place. They did a terrible job fitting the girls, one of my bridesmaids had her fitting and tailoring done in a different state and her dress looked so much better than those from Town shop. The whole staff is a big ZERO. I would never recommend them to anyone, unless I hated that person.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Dress & Attire
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5
The selection of gowns here was amazing! They had the entire collection I wanted to look at, and they are the only shop in a 50 mile radius that carried the collection (Alfred Angelo Color).
The woman who worked with us the day I found my gown was a bit on the rude side, but everyone else I worked with there was wonderful!
The seamstress was very precise in all of the information she took from me about how to alter the dress to my specifications as well as double and triple checking everything.
They were a bit cold shoulder-esque when my bridesmaids went to shop for dresses, so they went elsewhere.
The alterations for the gown are included in the price which was nice, but they failed to let me know that the bustle alterations were NOT included until after I'd had them done... Overall, I would still recommend the shop for the selection and the value, but I wasn't 100% thrilled.
Wedding: 08/04/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I had the most amazing experience at the Town Shop! The staff was professional and welcoming. They answered all of my questions and made every accommodation to make my experience special. The Town Shop Staff was very patient and devoted all of the time that I needed to find the wedding gown of my dreams! I highly recommend the Town Shop and will go to them for any special event that I attend in the future!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Amelia 4 Reviews
There is not a better selection of dresses anywhere, truly! My experience was unsurpassed by none. It was perfect!!! From my dress, veil and fittings everything was seamless ( and I was a cross country bride!) the seamstresses are impeccable and truly that is not something you can overlook!

The staff is amazingly helpful and the owner, Kathy, actually was the one who found my dress for me! she said try this one and I didn't want to take it off. When you work with people who have been in the industry as long as they have it just made me feel comfortable in knowing I made the right choice! I felt amazing and beautiful on my wedding day and that is 100% credit to Town Shop!

Go to Town Shop, it will be the easiest/best decision in your wedding planning!!
Wedding: 07/27/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
 845-471-1580
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5
out of 5.0