Tie That Binds
Custom Wedding Invitation and Reception Styling Details!
Portland, OR  | map
Products: Custom Products
Services: Assembly, Printing
Specialties: Color Matching Proofs, Embossed, Letterpress...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (38)   Photos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mekala is so talented, sweet, and easy to talk to! I searched the web for days looking for the perfect invitations for our wedding and finally saw what I wanted! The process for ordering and creating the invites was very clear and easy to do... any questions I had, Mekala was there to help. When we received our invitations in the mail, it was like opening our first wedding gift! The packaging was beautiful and they are what we will always have to remember the essence of that special day . Thank you Mekala!
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
LOVED OUR INVITATIONS!!! The quality was great and the customer service was incredible! Mikela was super patient and understanding through my bridal panic attacks and even though I was traveling in a different time zone during the finalization she was super responsive.

I had several of my invited guests go out of their way to call to tell me and my parents that these were the coolest and most creative invitations that they had ever received and a couple of them even put it on their facebook!
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mekala at Tie that Binds was amazing to work with! She created beautiful programs, menus, escort cards and an escort board, as well as table numbers for me. One of the most impressive things about Mekala is that she was really intuitive about what I wanted -- which was incredibly helpful as these items were all done in the last few weeks before my wedding, which meant there was a lot of things going on and I needed someone that could run with a project. Mekala was the perfect person for the job! After an initial conversation about the style of my wedding and sending her a few inspiration ideas on a Pinterest board, she came up with exactly what I wanted. When I saw everything in person, it was all even more beautiful than what I had hoped for.

She was also very responsive and quick with her production time-- which is almost as invaluable as a beautiful product!
Wedding: 09/28/2013
Services Used: Invitations
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ruth 1 Reviews
This was our first time working with Mekela. She was highly recommended by our wedding planner Sarah True of True Event. We had an amazing experience working with Mekela, despite her living on the opposite coast. She was ALWAYS available via phone or email to make any adjustments along the way. She was able to capture the theme of our wedding and added a lot of unique style features to complement our design. Mekela helped us work within our budget and went above and beyond to make sure our wedding experience was everything we had envisioned. We would highly recommend Tie That Binds not only for invitations but also for Mekela's creative design and decor. She is very talented and we look forward to work together again.
Wedding: 09/27/2013
Services Used: Flowers, Invitations, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mekala at Tie That Binds created the most beautiful party favors and signs for our wedding! She was such a pleasure to work with. She created stunning custom matchbox party favors based on a few details I gave her about the colors, theme, and feel of our wedding. It was like she read my mind, the first proof was perfect and very punctual. After seeing how amazing the matchboxes came out we had her also create our signs for our reception which were equally as gorgeous. I only wish I had known about her earlier in my planning process to help with other paper needs! She is very creative, talented, a genius at making your wedding vision come to life!
Wedding: 09/13/2013
Services Used: Favors & Gifts
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mekala is an absolute dream. She loved my quirky idea for an invitation that involved a creative "fold out" design, and she made it happen! She added her own designs to make it seamless and more professional and we both were freaking out at how much we loved them! I used her for my table seating, escort cards, and thank you cards as well. She is a doll and I would absolutely recommend her.
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Invitations
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mekala is extremely accommodating and has a great eye. We were glad to have someone who could help us narrow down color and style for our invitations, and she was very patient with us as we went back and forth before making any decisions. My only word of caution is that you MEASURE to see what size everything will be. We had expected the RSVP postcards to actually be "postcard" size, but they were significantly smaller. Still large enough to mail by USPS standards, but I wish we had known and possibly requested that they be bigger. That said, everything looked as great in person as it did online, we got a lot of compliments that our invitations were a great reflection of us and the kind of wedding we will be having. Thanks, Mekala!
Wedding: 06/23/2013
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We could not be more pleased with our invitations from Mekala at Tie that Binds. During the entire process she was extremely responsive and helpful. The finished product was an invitation that truly reflects our wedding style and what we had initially envisioned. I can't wait to work with her on the other details for our wedding!
Wedding: 04/20/2013
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
We LOVED our invitations and got so many compliments on them--they were exactly what we had been looking for: simple but elegant (and they were a great price for letterpress). Mekala is also a pleasure to work with--she is friendly, responsive and accommodating. We dealt with her directly and through our wedding planner (who deals with a lot of different vendors) and our planner also thought she was fantastic.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I love my wedding invitations! They are so cute, extremely well done, and are perfectly detailed. I absolutely love them and have already gotten compliments on them.
Thank you Mekala for all the hard work!
Wedding: 11/17/2012
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mekala designed the signage and programs for my wedding and I couldn't have been happier with the final product! She is easy to work with and kept my "vision" in mind throughout the whole process. Thank you again! :)
Wedding: 09/29/2012
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mekala is a joy to work with! Prompt, efficient, and soothing for a stressful time! I would use her all over again!
Wedding: 09/08/2012
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mekala from Tie That Binds was a dream to work with. From our first email to our last interaction she was prompt, professional, and supportive. She was so patient with me and my ideas and creativity designed the save the dates, invitations, and response cards for our wedding. After receiving these items I was so impressed with her beautiful work and attention to detail that I hired her to make a seating chart, table numbers, bride and groom signs, and guest place cards. Mekala was so sweet during the entire process and made our San Francisco and Paris theme come to life.
Wedding: 09/08/2012
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Thank you Mekala for making us the most beautiful invitations for our wedding! Not only did you try to do everything possible to accommodate our needs and requests, you were extremely professional at all times. Any design I wanted to alter you made happen. We received nothing but wonderful compliments on our wedding invitations and everything was received in a fast and speedy time! Thanks!
Wedding: 06/10/2012
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I could not possibly be more pleased with our wedding invitations from Tie That Binds. In addition to the fact that they had a style that matched our personality, Mekala (whom we worked with) customized everything to our exact specifications. The invites came out perfectly! Seriously, I feel like I've gotten so much wrong in planning this wedding, this feels like the one thing I did right. Without exaggeration, we have gotten more positive feedback about our invitations than any other element of the wedding. The materials were classy, the design was edgy, the color-scheme was modern... I'm telling you, they were perfect. I won't be having another wedding, obviously, but I would HIGHLY recommend that anyone who wants to wow people with their invites should use Tie That Binds. I couldn't be happier that I did!
Wedding: 05/12/2012
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Tie That Binds (Mekala) did a fantastic job with the stationery for our wedding (invite, RSVP card, thank you card, place cards, table numbers, menus, matchbox favours). I was one of those fussy brides; I didn't really know what I wanted, but knew what I didn't like. Mekala was fantastic with the design process and was quick to respond (all over email) and worked within our required time frame. We ended up creating a theme to the wedding that was beyond what I could even have hoped for. The cost of our stationery was very competitive and I had shopped around and found her to be the best value for money, and especially for letterpress.

The best part about dealing with Mekala was when I first recieved my wedding invitations. It was the first time I got REALLY excited about the wedding and they were just perfect. I was like a kid at Christmas time. When we sent the invites out we got so many compliments from our friends and family. They really loved them.

The second best thing was that I was living in Australia and didn't leave my house to organise the stationery - it was all over the internet. Not only was I living in Australia, but my wedding was in Greece, so Mekala was able to ship the reception stationery to the venue so that I didn't have to pack it all with me. I really could not have done it without her.

The wedding itself was much the same. The matchboxes were a hit with the guests and such a cool idea, and the menus and place cards perfectly fit the ambiance.

I would definitely recommend her to any brides to be, and have even recommended one friend of my own. She liked my invites so much she had Mekala do the exact same style for her wedding.



Wedding: 05/08/2012
Services Used: Favors & Gifts, Flowers, Invitations, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 845-596-8825
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0