Thunderbird Chapel
Outdoor beauty without the worries.
    34 Reviews
11395 E State Hwy 9
Norman, OK 73026  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 130
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (34)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jaime 1 Reviews
We were really struggling with finding a place to get married since we don't belong to a church. Thunderbird chapel was perfect for us. Having the church-like feeling in the chapel was great! Also, having the reception immediately following was nice too. Guests didn't have to leave to go somewhere else for reception.
Wedding: 03/22/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jessica 2 Reviews
Thunderbird Chapel along with their staff were absolutely amazing. Everything turned out perfect!!! Goldie was beyond helpful when it came to helping me plan the details out for our ceremony and rehearsal. We had our wedding in the evening and the chapel looked very beautiful! Upon walking into our rehearsal my breath was taken away. They exceeded my expectations!!! Thank you very much to the staff at Thunderbird Chapel!
Jessica Squibb
Wedding: 01/18/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

elizabeth 1 Reviews
Our wedding was absolutely wonderful! Your staff was always nice and professional. My coordinator worked so well with my family and wedding party. The wedding and reception went smoothly thanks to you all.
Wedding: 12/28/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jennifer 1 Reviews
I'd recommend them to anyone. I loved it and they were exceptionally wonderful!!
Wedding: 11/08/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Brittany 2 Reviews
All of our guests commented on how beautiful the venue was. It was a stress free day for me, David, and our families thanks to your staff! Kara and Goldie were great!
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jennifer 2 Reviews
Our wedding was fantastic and we wouldn't want it at any other venue. We were searching for a venue with an outdoor, intimate feel that was customizable to our homemade decor. Thunderbird Chapel was PERFECT. Not only was the setting just plain beautiful, but the staff was wonderful. We had loads and loads of homemade decorations, homemade wine, homemade soap, etc. and the staff made sure everything came back with us. We didn't worry about a single thing all evening. The staff was so fantastic - they even made small plates of food for us and left them at our table (they wanted to be sure we ate something during our own reception). We were so happy with the venue and the staff that we would HIGHLY recommend this venue to any couple looking for a beautiful, intimate wedding that is care-free on your big day.
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
As soon as I got engaged I searched for wedding chapels and venues in the OKC area. Thunderbird Chapel was the first one I seen. I looked at the website and loved it. Over the next couple of months I looked at other venues, but, to me, neither compared to the beauty of the chapel or the price of the package. I had my heart set on Thunderbird and was able to book if for my wedding and reception. The staff is very nice and willing to work with you. I am a pretty indecisive person and a little unorganized, but the staff still responded to my questions and requests politely and professionally. I had last minute changes to my decor, but the staff was right on it and everything looked so wonderful. I added in my own chair sashes and it went very well with the decor. I was not even able to make it to my rehearsal because of traffic from the recent tornado! Even with that unfortunate event, the staff was still able to direct my wedding party to the best of their abilities and the end result was a lovely ceremony. I received many comments on how beautiful the entire wedding and chapel was. I had a vision for my wedding and Thunderbird Chapel made it come true!
Wedding: 05/24/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Heather 5 Reviews
The staff at Thunderbird is the best around. They helped me plan the most perfect wedding i could of ever imagined. The value is great, and incredibly stress free. Having a location that provides a bundle helped me focus on the more important factors of the wedding, rather than stressing of the details! i would highly suggest you take a look at their beautiful location and wonderful people!
Wedding: 08/18/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This place was absolutely wonderful!! The coordinator was super friendly and caring and we have a very special experience. They are very efficient and have everything provided that a bride might forget to bring the day of her wedding (ex. bridal room stuff). The food tasted so good. I would 100% recommend this venue to everyone.
Wedding: 04/21/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The people working here were so friendly and helpful. Always ready to answer questions before wedding and always had a pleasant, patient response. During rehearsal they kept us focused and on time. The wedding day was amazing with smooth coordinated work by professionals. We did not have to think about hardly anything except having fun. I thought clean up would be hectic but they had everything together and all we had to do was carry it out. Thank you Thunderbird for a memorable day.
Wedding: 04/14/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The staff at Thunderbird Chapel were the absolute best from the first moment we walked in the door. Every time we asked a question, they always answered us promplty. The day of the wedding could of not gone more perfectly. The chapel and reception were set up perfectly and beautifully. The food was very good and plentiful. Staff was very good and polite. We were thrilled with Thunderbird and made our daughter's wedding day perfect.
Thunderbird Chapel responded with the following comments:
This makes us very happy! We want every wedding to be perfect and we work hard at ensuring that they meet our standards and, hopefully, exceed our couple's expectations. Thank you.
Wedding: 03/03/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Everything was absolutely perfect for our wedding day! Kara was our wedding coordinator and she was amazing! If given the option to go back and do it all over again, I would not have changed a thing!!
Wedding: 11/19/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I was told by a friend that this venue will take care of literally EVERYTHING. And they were right! Even a decoration that was put in last minute they quickly verified what I wanted and took care of it! It was phenomenal! Beautiful everything.
Wedding: 06/04/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Thunderbird Chapel is absolutely beautiful. My daughter was married 4 weeks ago and we couldn't have dreamed of a better experience. The staff took care of everything. We brought our decorations to rehearsal and on her wedding day all we had to do was show up. Everything was set up and it looked amazing. At the end of the reception they had everything packed up and ready to go home by the time we got back inside after the send off. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were happy. Sugars made the cake exactly the way my daughter requested. The DJ, Ray, of Ray's Kickin' Karaoke, did an outstanding job with the reception. As the mother of the bride it was a pleasure to get to enjoy my daughters special day without worrying about the details.
Wedding: 05/07/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
After what felt like an exhaustive internet search to check out all possible ceremony and reception venues, I seemed to keep coming back to Thunderbird Chapel. I didn’t have a home church with a building suitable for a wedding and the idea of holding the ceremony and reception at two different locations didn’t appeal to me as most of my family and other guests would be coming from out of state for the wedding. Once we finally narrowed it down to a place that could host both ceremony and reception, Thunderbird rose to the top. We visited and fell in love. The chapel’s soaring ceilings, wood interior, and windows looking out onto Oklahoma greenery were simple and natural but very elegant. The attached reception area had room for everything necessary…tables, chairs, buffet line, and a dance floor! The package included a day of the wedding coordinator, décor & clean up in the reception area, and a $300 cake voucher at one of three vendors. There were no strange and unnecessary things in the package to up the cost (things we saw at similar places were ice sculptures, limos, chocolate covered strawberries…nice but not necessary).We booked immediately without visiting any other venues and began the 11 month countdown to our wedding. The staff were very responsive to phone calls and e-mails and had great insight for all of my questions. Leslie was especially helpful and fielded my stressed out calls the week of the wedding about random things like whether she thought there would be a tornado on my wedding day. The rehearsal the day before the wedding was run very efficiently and yet was still fun. On the day of the wedding, I felt a great sense of peace and excitement as soon as I got to the chapel because I knew everything would be ok from there on out. Our coordinator was careful to check in with us about all the details and helped everyone know where to be when. The décor in the reception area was just as we had asked it to be and looked lovely. I was so glad that my female relatives didn't get stuck staying up till midnight working on table decor! The only hitch in an otherwise perfect wedding was that our recessional song was begun too early and drowned out a special benediction written for us that was being read by our pastor. It was likely due to lack of very specific communication with the sound tech about the exact moment it needed to start, but he played it again at the right time and we skipped down the aisle in glee. We did not use Thunderbird’s catering service because my husband and I are both foodies. I was not impressed with the menu choices, so we used an outside caterer. However, a friend who was married here used their service and said the food tasted good. It would probably be a good choice for budget conscious brides who aren’t as interested in a super cool menu. Because we used an outside caterer, we had to pay $2 per person. However, this covered the use of the dishes, silverware, and glasses from the chapel so it wasn’t a big deal to us. The Thunderbird Chapel wait staff seemed to be interacting well with our caterer’s staff, and there were plenty of people to refill drinks or clear plates. Two things that I was a bit worried about were the strict space restrictions on guests and the time limit of five hours. However, each of these turned out fine for us. Thunderbird Chapel can only seat 130 people and charge a fee per person above that. I was so worried that we would be close to or above our limit. But as all the wedding experts tell you, there were people who canceled on us in the last week or two and then quite a few no shows the day of the wedding. So we were well under our RSVP list of 120 guests. Also, we had the chapel from 5-10 on a Saturday night with the wedding starting at 7:00. Although we had the option to purchase another hour, we hoped we would be able to squeeze everything into our allotted time. By choosing to see my groom before the wedding, we breezed through our post-ceremony pictures in 20 minutes and had plenty of time to eat, greet, and dance before leaving about 9:40pm. The staff were wonderful and helpful with anything we needed, including bustling my dress. Our deposit was waiting for us when we got home from the honeymoon, which was a pleasant surprise. Overall, I would recommend this venue for anyone who is confident that 130 spots would hold their nearest and dearest family and friends. The beauty of the venue, the great service, and the value for what you receive make it a great choice!
Thunderbird Chapel responded with the following comments:
Just a couple of points on Courtney's review that might help future brides. Our food menu is, by design, simple because most brides want food with which they are familiar. As Courtney pointed out, if you are a foodie or you simply don't want to use our catering for some reason, you are welcome to use an outside caterer and I don't know of other chapels that allow that. And, as she mentions in her caterer's review, Kris with Abbey Road Catering is one of the best.

Courtney mentions our charge per person above 130 guests and while it's true we have that charge it's really there to safeguard us from being abused. If you honestly expect 130 guests and 136 show up there probably won't be an extra charge. If we feel like you expected 150 all along we've got the ability to charge you. The problem with 150 guests is that they blame us for being too small! So if you expect 150 guests ask us and we'll refer you to a chapel better suited to your event. My main point is that you shouldn't worry about it and I'm sorry Courtney was worried - we could have eased her mind.

Our package is five hours long and that works great for 93% of our couples but, if your guests are really feeling it and you want to extend, you've got that option for any wedding except Saturday daytime. We're very flexible.

That's all. We really enjoyed working with Courtney and Daniel and may they live happily ever after.
Wedding: 04/09/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Thunderbird Chapel was the most amazing part of my Wedding I felt like a true princess. The staff was amazing, they took care of everything. Everyone that came to my wedding had nothing but wonderful things to say about the staff and the beauty of the place it was magical and I would recommend it to any bride that is thinking about getting married. The only thing that I would have done different is I would have had a microphone up on stage so everyone could hear what we was saying which the chapel would have supplied. Thank you thunderbird chapel for everything you did you trul;y made my day a special event
Wedding: 03/12/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 405-329-4848
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0