Thomas Sanderson Photography
International Award Winning Wedding Photographer
Williamsburg, VA 23185  | map
Style: Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
Packages: Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (42)   Photos   Deals   FAQ   Map    
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.2/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.2/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.3/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We hired Tom to do the photographs for our wedding at The Mill at Fine Creek in Richmond. The photos were perfect and our entire family was impressed with the job he did. In addition to taking the pictures, he helped organize the timeline for the entire day, and coordinated with our other vendors to make everything run more smoothly. He was really an asset to our wedding day, and I'm very happy to have found him through our wedding planner. I highly recommend Tom, and please contact me if you would like more details. He also did my bridal portraits at Maymont and they were just as fantastic as the wedding day photos!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tom really took the time to understand our wedding vision and what we were looking for from our photographer. We met with several other photographers in the area, and he was the only one we really felt made a huge effort to make sure he understood our needs. His work was also much more artistic and exactly what we were after. We had him take our engagement photos, which we're totally in love with. On the day of the wedding we really enjoyed working with Tom. He was open to our suggestions and had plenty of his own. When we received the wedding photos we couldn't believe how great they were! I knew they'd be good, but he fully exceeded our expectations and blew us both away (and my husband isn't easily impressed, so that's really saying something.) We are beyond happy that we hired Tom, and of course we recommend him highly!
Wedding: 04/26/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Working with Tom was easy from the first meeting all the way through the wedding itself. He was flexible when scheduling our meetings, which was important because I live out of town and have a busy work schedule. The wedding day flew by before I knew it, but I remember Tom being there early and ready to start taking pictures. He was really upbeat and had lots of ideas for the photos. He finished the photos for us quickly and I'm truly beyond happy with the results! He took so many fantastic photos and caught things happening that I had no idea were even going on because we were so busy. I received so many compliments on how professional Tom was compared to other vendors (who I will also be reviewing).
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding photos turned out perfect!! They were very artistic and fun, and working with Tom was a great experience. He showed up early and I think he even stayed a little past our contracted time with him. He gave us way more photos than we expected, and my whole family was really impressed Witt the quality.
Wedding: 03/15/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Photography was very important to us so I really did a lot of research before selecting one. Tom's work was outstanding and we definitely made the right decision by picking him. He made suggestions for our outfits for our engagement photos, and made a really nice canvas print from one of the photos. On the wedding day, he was very professional but also outgoing and friendly. The photos came out amazing and we got more than we expected. If photography is important to you, I highly recommend using Tom!
Wedding: 03/01/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When we got our photos back we couldn't believe how great they were! We really felt like we were experiencing the day all over again. Tom really has a special talent when it comes to photography, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend using him for your wedding.
Wedding: 02/15/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The photos are all you have left after the wedding, and for that reason I'm so happy I selected Tom to be my photographer. The photos are simply perfect. They just have a timeless feel to them, and the expressions are priceless. He was very professional to deal with throughout the entire process, and I was completely happy with his performance and service.
Wedding: 02/14/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We selected Tom to photograph our wedding at Kingsmill Resort in Williamsburg, and are very happy with his performance. My husband is not really into photography, so for him to exclaim "wow these are outstanding!" then you know they really must be! We both felt Tom did an admirable job handling our rather large bridal party and families. Our families are fun, but more than a handful, and Tom kept everyone relaxed and quickly got us through the formal photos after the ceremony. During the reception he captured so many amazing shots of our friends and family, as well as pictures of us doing things that I don't even recall doing! A few drinks will do that to a bride! It was an amazing wedding and Tom captured our memories perfectly!!!
Wedding: 02/02/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We found Tom after a lot of searching, and photography was one of our top priorities. It's hard to explain, but he brought a special dynamic to our wedding, he felt more like a friend of the family as opposed to just another vendor. He took a lot of care in discussing the vision we had for our wedding day, and made certain he captured everything (and more) that was important to us on our wedding day. Tom was very responsive throughout the planning process, and offered a lot on insight on the wedding process, not just things related to photography. He was very professional at the wedding, which was very important to us. When we got the photos back we were amazed; they look incredible. they were artistic but not pretentious, if that makes sense. My mom commented that the photos were timeless, and I definitely agree. I'm sure when we look at these years from now, we'll feel like we are back in the moment. The wedding went by so fast, and as cliche as it is, the only things you have after the wedding are your pictures, and the top layer of the cake! So I highly recommend Tom!
Wedding: 01/25/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tom did our wedding photos and they look amazing! We didn't want any cheesy poses or anything like that, and he came up with some great ideas. He also helped coordinate things with other vendors (like getting our bouquets in time for the photos with my bridesmaids) and helped us come up with a realistic timeline for the wedding day. We had a winter wedding but Tom did an excellent job with the indoor portraits after the ceremony, they were very creative. I was amazed at the talent he has for capturing the little moments throughout the day, things we didn't even know were happening since we were busy with other things at the time. He's very accommodating and friendly, which is important since you spend a lot of time with your photographer on the wedding day.
Wedding: 01/04/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We met time at a bridal show and were immediately captivated with his photos. We set up a meeting with him to view some more of his work, as well as wedding albums. He seemed like a perfect fit for us, and we hired him on the spot. It was a great decision! We did our engagement photos on the beach, and then for the second half of the shoot we went to a park that was sentimental to us both - it was where we went on our first date. The photos turned out gorgeous! We had a canvas print made from one of the engagement photos to display at the wedding reception. On the day of the wedding tom was also great. He helped all of us stay relaxed during some of the busier parts of the day, and he did an awesome job managing my huge family during the portraits (this was important to us because we wanted outdoor portraits even though we had a winter wedding). When we got the wedding photos back we were beyond thrilled, and we were really glad we picked Tom to capture our day!
Wedding: 12/29/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Working with Tom Sanderson was one of the best things about our wedding. He took engagement photos, a bridal photo session (something my mom really wanted) and of course the wedding photos. One of the biggest pluses about working with him was how he made us feel at ease in front of the camera. We're both a bit camera shy but Tom was able to help us relax and bring out our personalities for the photos. He did the same thing on the wedding day, handling the entire bridal party with ease. The photos turned out beautiful and I couldn't be happier!!! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to any of my friends!!! Overall it was an outstanding experience and he definitely exceeded our expectations.
Wedding: 12/14/2013
Services Used: Photography
0.0 out of 5.0
0.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0

Private User 7 Reviews
I contracted Mr. Sanderson to shoot our wedding because I admired his work. When I finally got to view my pictures online, I was a bit let down as I did not see the same quality in the shots or in post production. It's almost as if he did not care and quickly ran the pictures through a batch process with no actual touching up. To this day I have not received my actual pictures. He has refused to return my phone calls. He emails when it is convenient for him (I can only imagine) and with half-truths or lies (not sure which). I am upset because you only get to live this day once and all I have are fuzzy memories of a day that went by too quickly. It's impossible to reshoot a wedding. To even come close by shooting pictures of just me and my husband dressed up would cost a pretty penny. Heartbroken and shattered.
Wedding: 12/07/2013
Services Used: Photography
0.1 out of 5.0
0.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.5
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Our wedding planner referred us to Thomas Sanderson, and unfortunately we contracted him to be our wedding photographer. We paid his fees upfront, before our wedding date, and since then, he has not delivered our photos. He had contractual agreed to deliver our photos in 5 – 7 weeks after the wedding date but this deadline has passed many months ago. We have tried to reach out to him innumerous time, but he does not return any of our calls, text message or emails. We are seeking legal actions at this point.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tom was so great to work with and he took a million pictures . I was amazed at how many times i heard the shutter click. He was very nice the day of the wedding and he took us all over to get great shots.
He was very good at controlling the family and getting us to the party. I would highly recommend Tom!
Wedding: 06/15/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tom was the easiest of our vendors to work with. From the start, he took a genuine interest in my vision of the wedding day, and what was really important to me in the photos. He showed an attention to detail that made me realize he really loves his job. It really showed throughout the day, and of course in the amazing photos! I think his easy-going personality helped us all relax on the wedding day, which showed in the photos. My friends were so impressed when I showed them the photos, and I couldn't be any happier. I can highly recommend Tom without any reservations.
Wedding: 11/03/2012
Services Used: Photography
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2
out of 5.0