Thomas Sanderson Photography
International Award Winning Wedding Photographer
Williamsburg, VA 23185  | map
Style: Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
Packages: Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (50)   Photos   Deals   FAQ   Map    
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.4/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.2/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.2/5.0)
Value:
 (4.3/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.4/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We hired Tom for our wedding photos and he was amazing from beginning to end. He customized his photo packages to fit what we were looking for. In our first consultation, we knew that we was right one by the way he was comfortable talking about the couples he has worked with in the past, and the vision he captured for each event.

My husband and I are the type of couple that are always a bit camera shy, and I have a small scar on my face that has made me self-conscious when taking photos in the past. Tom really made us feel so comfortable that we didn't even know the camera was there and he got really amazing photos. I appreciate the efforts he took in making sure we had great photos because we will never be able to have that moment again. Tom was even in the middle of the street at night, at the end of our reception, getting the perfect shot as cars were driving by and we made our grand exit.

As soon as the wedding was done, people were already getting excited to see the photos and we received a ton of compliments on how great they turned out.
Wedding: 08/23/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If I could give more than 5 stars for Tom, I would! I am beyond happy with the service I received from him. Tom worked with me to create a package that met my needs and budget. Now that the wedding is over, I cannot believe what great service I received for my money! My husband I met Tom for the first time for our engagement session, which went great. The day of our wedding, Tom was fabulous! He worked so hard to get wonderful shots. My wedding was outside in the heat and humidity, and Tom worked tirelessly to get our shots done, and done well! I can say that he worked every minute of our wedding day to ensure we would get the shots needed and wanted. Tom's work is simply amazing and I am so happy to have found him and had the chance to work with him!!
Wedding: 08/10/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We couldn't have asked for a better photographer than Tom. Hw was calm, professional and pleasant from day one, and really made everything as easy as possible.

We found out about Tom through a woman at one of the bridal boutiques. After checking out examples of his work and having a Skype meeting, we knew it would work out great. Not only did all of our guests (and us) enjoy his easy-going personality on the day-of the wedding, the photos came out beautifully! There are so many photos to choose from! We love his creative eye and unique ideas. Tom also provided our photo booth, which our guests absolutely LOVED. We got to design our own background for the prints, which he was very flexible about.

Overall, the whole experience was seamless before, during, and after the wedding, and we are absolutely thrilled with the way our wedding will be remembered through the photos Tom took.
Wedding: 07/26/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Words cannot describe how thankful my husband and I are to have had Tom as our wedding photographer! We heard about Tom and his company when we attended my friend's wedding back in July 2010. After looking at my friend's amazing wedding pictures, I knew I HAD to contact Tom immediately! A few weeks later, we met and knew we wanted to book him for our wedding. Shortly after our meeting, we also booked him for our engagement photos as well. During the engagement session, he was SO comfortable to work with! At first we were nervous to pose in front of the camera, but he made everything so easy and fun. That day felt like we were just hanging out with one of our good friends from college for the day...completely stress-free. :) About a year later, it was time for the BIG day. Tom was a true God-send on the wedding day...keeping everyone to the timeline we set for the day. To say that Tom was wonderful on the most important day of my life is an understatement. He truly exceeded our expectations! Watching the slideshow of images after the wedding brought tears to my eyes because he truly captured all of the wonderful moments from our wedding...from my husband's expression as I walked down the aisle to the wild excitement on my maid of honor's face as she caught my bouquet and everything in between. As I look through each photo he sent us, I feel so thankful we chose him as our photographer. We will always be forever grateful for the wonderful moments Tom captured on our wedding day, and for his gracious and professional demeanor as well.
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
f I could give Tom a 10 star rating, I would!! I'm so impressed with my experience with his company, and I felt I needed to leave a review. I reached out to Tom after seeing his pictures of a friend's wedding, and the second I called I knew I had made the right decision. Tom was absolutely wonderful to work with. We used him for our engagement shoot, rehearsal dinner and wedding. He drove all the way from Richmond to Charlottesville to take our engagement photos last fall because that was my dream and he said "whatever it takes to make it happen!" Talk about passion for your work, your clients and dedication to getting the perfect images. The photos were super creative and beautiful, and I was amazed at the things he captured that I wasn't even aware of during the wedding. I think he gave us an exceptional value for what we received. I would say he's 'middle of the road' in terms of what we found for prices in this area. Not cheap, but a lot less than others we interviewed, and Tom's work was easily as good as the more expensive photographers. Booking Tom was the best vendor decision we made, because after the wedding you only have your photos to remember the day by, so it's important.
Wedding: 06/06/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We hired Tom to do the photographs for our wedding at The Mill at Fine Creek in Richmond. The photos were perfect and our entire family was impressed with the job he did. In addition to taking the pictures, he helped organize the timeline for the entire day, and coordinated with our other vendors to make everything run more smoothly. He was really an asset to our wedding day, and I'm very happy to have found him through our wedding planner. I highly recommend Tom, and please contact me if you would like more details. He also did my bridal portraits at Maymont and they were just as fantastic as the wedding day photos!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding photos turned out amazing!!! We're so glad we decided to go with Tom as our photographer. He was easy to work with, very flexible and professional, and very artistic. He also did my bridal portraits at Maymont, and they were fabulous as well. On the day of the wedding everyone enjoyed working with him, and he went out of his way to make sure all of my crazy photo requests were accommodated. We both highly recommend hiring Tom.
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tom really took the time to understand our wedding vision and what we were looking for from our photographer. We met with several other photographers in the area, and he was the only one we really felt made a huge effort to make sure he understood our needs. His work was also much more artistic and exactly what we were after. We had him take our engagement photos, which we're totally in love with. On the day of the wedding we really enjoyed working with Tom. He was open to our suggestions and had plenty of his own. When we received the wedding photos we couldn't believe how great they were! I knew they'd be good, but he fully exceeded our expectations and blew us both away (and my husband isn't easily impressed, so that's really saying something.) We are beyond happy that we hired Tom, and of course we recommend him highly!
Wedding: 04/26/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Working with Tom was easy from the first meeting all the way through the wedding itself. He was flexible when scheduling our meetings, which was important because I live out of town and have a busy work schedule. The wedding day flew by before I knew it, but I remember Tom being there early and ready to start taking pictures. He was really upbeat and had lots of ideas for the photos. He finished the photos for us quickly and I'm truly beyond happy with the results! He took so many fantastic photos and caught things happening that I had no idea were even going on because we were so busy. I received so many compliments on how professional Tom was compared to other vendors (who I will also be reviewing).
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding photos turned out perfect!! They were very artistic and fun, and working with Tom was a great experience. He showed up early and I think he even stayed a little past our contracted time with him. He gave us way more photos than we expected, and my whole family was really impressed Witt the quality.
Wedding: 03/15/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Photography was very important to us so I really did a lot of research before selecting one. Tom's work was outstanding and we definitely made the right decision by picking him. He made suggestions for our outfits for our engagement photos, and made a really nice canvas print from one of the photos. On the wedding day, he was very professional but also outgoing and friendly. The photos came out amazing and we got more than we expected. If photography is important to you, I highly recommend using Tom!
Wedding: 03/01/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When we got our photos back we couldn't believe how great they were! We really felt like we were experiencing the day all over again. Tom really has a special talent when it comes to photography, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend using him for your wedding.
Wedding: 02/15/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The photos are all you have left after the wedding, and for that reason I'm so happy I selected Tom to be my photographer. The photos are simply perfect. They just have a timeless feel to them, and the expressions are priceless. He was very professional to deal with throughout the entire process, and I was completely happy with his performance and service.
Wedding: 02/14/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We selected Tom to photograph our wedding at Kingsmill Resort in Williamsburg, and are very happy with his performance. My husband is not really into photography, so for him to exclaim "wow these are outstanding!" then you know they really must be! We both felt Tom did an admirable job handling our rather large bridal party and families. Our families are fun, but more than a handful, and Tom kept everyone relaxed and quickly got us through the formal photos after the ceremony. During the reception he captured so many amazing shots of our friends and family, as well as pictures of us doing things that I don't even recall doing! A few drinks will do that to a bride! It was an amazing wedding and Tom captured our memories perfectly!!!
Wedding: 02/02/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We found Tom after a lot of searching, and photography was one of our top priorities. It's hard to explain, but he brought a special dynamic to our wedding, he felt more like a friend of the family as opposed to just another vendor. He took a lot of care in discussing the vision we had for our wedding day, and made certain he captured everything (and more) that was important to us on our wedding day. Tom was very responsive throughout the planning process, and offered a lot on insight on the wedding process, not just things related to photography. He was very professional at the wedding, which was very important to us. When we got the photos back we were amazed; they look incredible. they were artistic but not pretentious, if that makes sense. My mom commented that the photos were timeless, and I definitely agree. I'm sure when we look at these years from now, we'll feel like we are back in the moment. The wedding went by so fast, and as cliche as it is, the only things you have after the wedding are your pictures, and the top layer of the cake! So I highly recommend Tom!
Wedding: 01/25/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tom was our wedding photographers for our January 2014 wedding at the Yacht Club at Marina Shores.  We had a decent budget for photography and found his pricing to be more than fair.  Tom's communication was excellent throughout the planning process.  I do not live in the area so we were unfortunately not able to meet in person before the wedding; however we spoke over the phone and through email and I had no doubt that he would be the perfect wedding photographer for us.

On the wedding day, Tom arrived on time and got to work right away.  Let me say that my husband is not the picture taking kind of guy.  Tom fit in with my husband and all his groomsmen like he'd known them for years and made my husband feel comfortable taking pictures.  A number of our guests that had a chance to talk with Tom mentioned just how easy to work with they thought he was.  After our ceremony, Tom enthusiastically ran across the street with us to the beach to take pictures in time for sunset. Keep in mind this was January, and freezing, and he had no hesitations in doing this for us.

About 3 weeks after our wedding, we had all of our pictures in hand.  I am soooo not photogenic, so I couldn't believe how good they turned out.  Tom absolutely exceeded our expectations and I can't wait to start working on the wedding album with him.
Wedding: 01/11/2014
Services Used: Photography
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3
out of 5.0