Thomas Sanderson Photography
International Award Winning Wedding Photographer
Williamsburg, VA 23185  | map
Style: Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
Packages: Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (46)   Photos   Deals   FAQ   Map    
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.3/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.1/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.1/5.0)
Value:
 (4.2/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.4/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We couldn't have asked for a better photographer than Tom. Hw was calm, professional and pleasant from day one, and really made everything as easy as possible.

We found out about Tom through a woman at one of the bridal boutiques. After checking out examples of his work and having a Skype meeting, we knew it would work out great. Not only did all of our guests (and us) enjoy his easy-going personality on the day-of the wedding, the photos came out beautifully! There are so many photos to choose from! We love his creative eye and unique ideas. Tom also provided our photo booth, which our guests absolutely LOVED. We got to design our own background for the prints, which he was very flexible about.

Overall, the whole experience was seamless before, during, and after the wedding, and we are absolutely thrilled with the way our wedding will be remembered through the photos Tom took.
Wedding: 07/26/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Words cannot describe how thankful my husband and I are to have had Tom as our wedding photographer! We heard about Tom and his company when we attended my friend's wedding back in July 2010. After looking at my friend's amazing wedding pictures, I knew I HAD to contact Tom immediately! A few weeks later, we met and knew we wanted to book him for our wedding. Shortly after our meeting, we also booked him for our engagement photos as well. During the engagement session, he was SO comfortable to work with! At first we were nervous to pose in front of the camera, but he made everything so easy and fun. That day felt like we were just hanging out with one of our good friends from college for the day...completely stress-free. :) About a year later, it was time for the BIG day. Tom was a true God-send on the wedding day...keeping everyone to the timeline we set for the day. To say that Tom was wonderful on the most important day of my life is an understatement. He truly exceeded our expectations! Watching the slideshow of images after the wedding brought tears to my eyes because he truly captured all of the wonderful moments from our wedding...from my husband's expression as I walked down the aisle to the wild excitement on my maid of honor's face as she caught my bouquet and everything in between. As I look through each photo he sent us, I feel so thankful we chose him as our photographer. We will always be forever grateful for the wonderful moments Tom captured on our wedding day, and for his gracious and professional demeanor as well.
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
f I could give Tom a 10 star rating, I would!! I'm so impressed with my experience with his company, and I felt I needed to leave a review. I reached out to Tom after seeing his pictures of a friend's wedding, and the second I called I knew I had made the right decision. Tom was absolutely wonderful to work with. We used him for our engagement shoot, rehearsal dinner and wedding. He drove all the way from Richmond to Charlottesville to take our engagement photos last fall because that was my dream and he said "whatever it takes to make it happen!" Talk about passion for your work, your clients and dedication to getting the perfect images. The photos were super creative and beautiful, and I was amazed at the things he captured that I wasn't even aware of during the wedding. I think he gave us an exceptional value for what we received. I would say he's 'middle of the road' in terms of what we found for prices in this area. Not cheap, but a lot less than others we interviewed, and Tom's work was easily as good as the more expensive photographers. Booking Tom was the best vendor decision we made, because after the wedding you only have your photos to remember the day by, so it's important.
Wedding: 06/06/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We hired Tom to do the photographs for our wedding at The Mill at Fine Creek in Richmond. The photos were perfect and our entire family was impressed with the job he did. In addition to taking the pictures, he helped organize the timeline for the entire day, and coordinated with our other vendors to make everything run more smoothly. He was really an asset to our wedding day, and I'm very happy to have found him through our wedding planner. I highly recommend Tom, and please contact me if you would like more details. He also did my bridal portraits at Maymont and they were just as fantastic as the wedding day photos!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding photos turned out amazing!!! We're so glad we decided to go with Tom as our photographer. He was easy to work with, very flexible and professional, and very artistic. He also did my bridal portraits at Maymont, and they were fabulous as well. On the day of the wedding everyone enjoyed working with him, and he went out of his way to make sure all of my crazy photo requests were accommodated. We both highly recommend hiring Tom.
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tom really took the time to understand our wedding vision and what we were looking for from our photographer. We met with several other photographers in the area, and he was the only one we really felt made a huge effort to make sure he understood our needs. His work was also much more artistic and exactly what we were after. We had him take our engagement photos, which we're totally in love with. On the day of the wedding we really enjoyed working with Tom. He was open to our suggestions and had plenty of his own. When we received the wedding photos we couldn't believe how great they were! I knew they'd be good, but he fully exceeded our expectations and blew us both away (and my husband isn't easily impressed, so that's really saying something.) We are beyond happy that we hired Tom, and of course we recommend him highly!
Wedding: 04/26/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Working with Tom was easy from the first meeting all the way through the wedding itself. He was flexible when scheduling our meetings, which was important because I live out of town and have a busy work schedule. The wedding day flew by before I knew it, but I remember Tom being there early and ready to start taking pictures. He was really upbeat and had lots of ideas for the photos. He finished the photos for us quickly and I'm truly beyond happy with the results! He took so many fantastic photos and caught things happening that I had no idea were even going on because we were so busy. I received so many compliments on how professional Tom was compared to other vendors (who I will also be reviewing).
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding photos turned out perfect!! They were very artistic and fun, and working with Tom was a great experience. He showed up early and I think he even stayed a little past our contracted time with him. He gave us way more photos than we expected, and my whole family was really impressed Witt the quality.
Wedding: 03/15/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Photography was very important to us so I really did a lot of research before selecting one. Tom's work was outstanding and we definitely made the right decision by picking him. He made suggestions for our outfits for our engagement photos, and made a really nice canvas print from one of the photos. On the wedding day, he was very professional but also outgoing and friendly. The photos came out amazing and we got more than we expected. If photography is important to you, I highly recommend using Tom!
Wedding: 03/01/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When we got our photos back we couldn't believe how great they were! We really felt like we were experiencing the day all over again. Tom really has a special talent when it comes to photography, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend using him for your wedding.
Wedding: 02/15/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The photos are all you have left after the wedding, and for that reason I'm so happy I selected Tom to be my photographer. The photos are simply perfect. They just have a timeless feel to them, and the expressions are priceless. He was very professional to deal with throughout the entire process, and I was completely happy with his performance and service.
Wedding: 02/14/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We selected Tom to photograph our wedding at Kingsmill Resort in Williamsburg, and are very happy with his performance. My husband is not really into photography, so for him to exclaim "wow these are outstanding!" then you know they really must be! We both felt Tom did an admirable job handling our rather large bridal party and families. Our families are fun, but more than a handful, and Tom kept everyone relaxed and quickly got us through the formal photos after the ceremony. During the reception he captured so many amazing shots of our friends and family, as well as pictures of us doing things that I don't even recall doing! A few drinks will do that to a bride! It was an amazing wedding and Tom captured our memories perfectly!!!
Wedding: 02/02/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We found Tom after a lot of searching, and photography was one of our top priorities. It's hard to explain, but he brought a special dynamic to our wedding, he felt more like a friend of the family as opposed to just another vendor. He took a lot of care in discussing the vision we had for our wedding day, and made certain he captured everything (and more) that was important to us on our wedding day. Tom was very responsive throughout the planning process, and offered a lot on insight on the wedding process, not just things related to photography. He was very professional at the wedding, which was very important to us. When we got the photos back we were amazed; they look incredible. they were artistic but not pretentious, if that makes sense. My mom commented that the photos were timeless, and I definitely agree. I'm sure when we look at these years from now, we'll feel like we are back in the moment. The wedding went by so fast, and as cliche as it is, the only things you have after the wedding are your pictures, and the top layer of the cake! So I highly recommend Tom!
Wedding: 01/25/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tom did our wedding photos and they look amazing! We didn't want any cheesy poses or anything like that, and he came up with some great ideas. He also helped coordinate things with other vendors (like getting our bouquets in time for the photos with my bridesmaids) and helped us come up with a realistic timeline for the wedding day. We had a winter wedding but Tom did an excellent job with the indoor portraits after the ceremony, they were very creative. I was amazed at the talent he has for capturing the little moments throughout the day, things we didn't even know were happening since we were busy with other things at the time. He's very accommodating and friendly, which is important since you spend a lot of time with your photographer on the wedding day.
Wedding: 01/04/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We met time at a bridal show and were immediately captivated with his photos. We set up a meeting with him to view some more of his work, as well as wedding albums. He seemed like a perfect fit for us, and we hired him on the spot. It was a great decision! We did our engagement photos on the beach, and then for the second half of the shoot we went to a park that was sentimental to us both - it was where we went on our first date. The photos turned out gorgeous! We had a canvas print made from one of the engagement photos to display at the wedding reception. On the day of the wedding tom was also great. He helped all of us stay relaxed during some of the busier parts of the day, and he did an awesome job managing my huge family during the portraits (this was important to us because we wanted outdoor portraits even though we had a winter wedding). When we got the wedding photos back we were beyond thrilled, and we were really glad we picked Tom to capture our day!
Wedding: 12/29/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Working with Tom Sanderson was one of the best things about our wedding. He took engagement photos, a bridal photo session (something my mom really wanted) and of course the wedding photos. One of the biggest pluses about working with him was how he made us feel at ease in front of the camera. We're both a bit camera shy but Tom was able to help us relax and bring out our personalities for the photos. He did the same thing on the wedding day, handling the entire bridal party with ease. The photos turned out beautiful and I couldn't be happier!!! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to any of my friends!!! Overall it was an outstanding experience and he definitely exceeded our expectations.
Wedding: 12/14/2013
Services Used: Photography
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2
out of 5.0