Thomas Hughes Films
Northern
And
Southern, CA
Style: Cinematic, Documentary, Short Form, Storytelling...
Packages: 8mm Movie Film, Ceremony, DVD of Raw Footage, Edited...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (22)   Photos   FAQ   Blog    
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (3.5/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (3.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.0/5.0)
Value:
 (3.3/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (3.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
Have not seen the video yet, but I thought that the team was very professional
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Videography
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We are so glad we chose to have a videographer at our wedding! I didn't realize that it would take 4 months to get our video from them but it was worth it! We just watched the video and it was so nice! They got all of the right moments, some really funny things that I had forgotten about, and the gentlemen (sorry I don't remember his name) was very nice and had a good sense of humor. Definitely well worth using them.
Wedding: 06/09/2012
Services Used: Videography
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The manager, Alex Keyes, was extremely friendly and easy to talk to. He provided samples and cost options. He also followed up right before the wedding to let me know who our videographer would be.
When the ceremony was moved inside at the last minute due to rain, the videographer helped out the photographer by shining his camera light on us. Not his fault, but it was super hot!! (being in my dress, etc)
Silvin was extremely professional, fun and out of sight most of the time. My mom even asked if he was there through the reception since she didn't see him! I assured her that he was since he checked in with me right before he left.
Alex emailed me after the wedding with congratulations and some nice compliments from Silvin. Then asked me what songs I would like in the video. They also asked for a copy of the invitation, which was a great idea. The only copy I had at the wedding was under glass.
Great service... we will see the result of the video when I get it!
Wedding: 05/28/2011
Services Used: Videography
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The administrative staff and one of the two viedographers at Thomas Hughes were good, but the other was clearly lacking in skills. We later found out she was the girlfriend of the other photographer. She was a nice girl, but she often got in the way and found herself in awkward positions. Luckily, her boyfriend was the main person taking the footage and everything turned out very well.
Wedding: 05/15/2010
Services Used: Videography
3.0 out of 5.0
3.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding was 3 weeks ago so too soon to review the finished product. Unlike several of the other reviews, I've had no issues with Thomas Hughes. Heather, their office manager, has always been prompt in responding to my emails and phones calls. We hired two cameras for the first portion of the wedding to capture the ceremony, the first dance, Father/Daughter dance and toasts and then concluded the evening with one camera. Darren and Jason arrived on-time and remained inconspicuous rhroughout the evening. Darren checked with us at the end of the agreed period to find out if we wanted him to stay longer and had us stage a closing scene, which seemed cheesy, but inline with the way we concluded our ceremony...so it fit.

Shortly after our wedding we received a follow-up letter in the mail requesting a copy of our invitation and any other wedding "media" we might want included as well as any music selections.

I contacted Heather to let her know we were working on sending out the wedding "media" and that we definitely want to select our music, but that we needed to whittle down our choices and would let them know. We also referenced a video editing style we'd seen on one of there demo DVDs and gave some editing requests. Heather let me know that all notes had been forwarded to the editor and once they received all the additional materials, they'd be back in touch.

I'll update my post once we receive the finished product.
Wedding: 10/17/2009
Services Used: Videography
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0
So far, I have had a great experience working with Thomas Hughes. Heather the office manager there is very friendly and responsive. David Rogers, the videographer who shot my wedding, was very professional, friendly and courteous. He made a great effort at the wedding to shoot everything I had told him was important to me. They also sent me the raw footage in a very timely manner. I have not yet received the final product, but I feel pretty confident that it will turn out great (based on the raw footage). They are not the cheapest out there, but I was really impressed by their samples and they offer a variety of different packages. They also have a great reputation with other vendors in the wine country.
Wedding: 10/03/2009
Services Used: Videography
2.0 out of 5.0
2.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  2.0
  • Value:  1.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
Extremely dissapointed in the quality of the wedding dvd. We decided to have the wedding recorded because we had several relatives that could not fly out to the west coast to be with us. We did not even show the video to anyone!! A random person off the street with a video camera could have produced the same dvd. The music choices were horrible, you could here people chatting in the background, and could hardly hear our vows!! I felt that the sample dvds I was given as a preview of their work was extremely misleading from what I received as a final product!
Wedding: 06/06/2009
Services Used: Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Robbin 2 Reviews
I have had the pleasure to work with Thomas Hughes Films for 15 years and have been extremely happy with the various videographers I have worked with, quality of the videos and their follow up. I own a wedding planning company in the Sonoma and Napa wine country, A Dream Wedding, and my team of planners always highly recommend Thomas Hughes Films to our clients.
Robbin Montero
Owner of A Dream Wedding
Wedding: 01/06/2009
Services Used: Videography
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I originally wasn't going to have a videographer and in the end decided I would be so caught up in the day I wouldn't never remember the ceremony and little parts of the day- so we set out to find someone that didn't cost a fortune and would provide us with a recap of our day. Thomas Hughes did just that- of course after seeing their sample videos we really wanted all the fancy editing,etc but in the end went with a basic package. They allowed us to split our day since we had a couple hour break between the ceremony and the reception which was great. Our time ran out before the cake cutting and the videographer (who I honestly hadn't seen all day he was that good and out of the way) asked me if there was anything else I wanted- I was busy dancing and having a good time and should've sent him to my mom to make that decision, I said no thanks, so we don't have our cake or glass smashing caught on film- but that's not their fault it's mine. After we received our video I was not happy with the opening music and asked if they could change it- they were really accommodating and changed it along with a few small edits (I had them take out some of the fluff- statue shots- that I'm sure they put in to fill time since there was no cake cutting,etc) with no charge. They even asked for song suggestions to make sure we were happy with the final product.
Wedding: 09/06/2008
Services Used: Videography
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
cant give a full review, have not gotten video back yet. will update in november.
Wedding: 07/26/2008
Services Used: Videography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Thomas Hughes video is highly professional, nearly invisible which is great and very responsive!
Wedding: 07/12/2008
Services Used: Videography
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
In less than a month after my wedding, THF produced a very high quality video of my wedding. The highlight was great and the full length was spot on. We are very pleased with our final product for what we paid and Darren, our videographer was a complete gentleman and inconspicuous all night.

I will say that if you are looking for more of an artistic film, THF is probably not the vendor for you. While they include some creative editing, the videos are fairly straight forward. We are fine with this given what we paid, most of the more artsy vendors are well above THF.

Like I said, we enjoyed our videos but were not blown away. However, we invested more of our budget into photography for this purpose so we we were well satisfied.
Wedding: 05/31/2008
Services Used: Videography
3.0 out of 5.0
3.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  2.5
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
They were great, but you had to really stay on top of them. Get all details in writing and double check your package. They forgot to add a certain feature to my video, so I complained and they had to go back and do it again. Their quality is good and my husband loved that they shot and edited in HD. My friend also used them and got their basic package. She was happy with the result although her video took longer to get after the wedding than promised.

The videogrpaher was professional and was very discreet the entire day. I wished he'd been a bit more artsy with his shots, but I guess you can't try too many new things when you are doing standard videography.

People have asked if they should even get a videographer. My wholehearted answer is YES! I love my video and will treasure it for years to come.
Wedding: 04/19/2008
Services Used: Videography
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
This company does excellent work. They filmed practically every aspect of our wedding. The part I liked the most was they were not annoying in your face. You practically didn't know they were there half the time. I look very forward to receiving our video shortly!
Wedding: 09/01/2007
Services Used: Videography
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  2.5
  • Flexibility:  3.0
my mom LOVES THE VIDEO, My husband and I, like it but NOT AS MUCH. They definitely documented the event (Which is why my mom liked it), but its not very artistically edited, and they really didn't shoot from good angels we all look WORSE then we did in real life on the video, but in the photographs taken by everyone (snap shots from friends, and professional ones from the photographer) we look better ... was hoping the video would think about making people look good by not shooting from terrible angles! AFter all.. its a wedding not a home video. We did like the shots they got of us dancing and kissing.
Wedding: 08/12/2007
Services Used: Videography
0.0 out of 5.0
0.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0
How can I recommend a company when I couldn't even tell you what there work looks like. It has been over 4 months since our wedding, and I haven't seen or heard anythong. Maybe someday they willl return calls.
Thomas Hughes Films responded with the following comments:
Hi Sheila,
Hope you are enjoying married life. Thank you for taking the time to review Thomas Hughes Films. Since I am sure you have received your finished film at this point - I would love if you could update your review. Thank you!
Wedding: 07/21/2007
Services Used: Videography
 415-257-2600
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7
out of 5.0