THE WEDDING CAKE SHOPPE
859 College St
Toronto, ON M6H 1A1  | map
Dietary options: Gluten Free, Lactose Free, Vegan
Desserts: Cookies, Cupcakes
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (26)   FAQ   Map    
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.5/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.5/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.5/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Cake was better than expected and extremely yummy ! The sugar flowers were made by hand and were gorgeous! I had a vision in my head and they helped make it a reality :)
A big thank you to the wedding shoppe team
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Wow, wow, wow. Everything about this vendor was amazing! From first contact, cake tasting, correspondence, customization and especially the final product.

Cindy was always professional and prompt to reply. The price was less than some other quotes I had received. They were able to customize the cake to a picture without any added costs. My cake was beautiful!

They use natural ingredients and it makes a huge difference. This was the best cake ever and I do not really like cake!
Wedding: 03/01/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Michelle 5 Reviews
It was exactly as I designed it. Delicious too
Wedding: 10/13/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Wedding Cake Shoppe made our wedding cake and I cannot begin to describe how absolutely amazing it looked and even more importantly how incredible the different layers of cake tasted!! We were so happy with everything Cindy did for us! We received so many compliments! I would recommend the Wedding Cake Shoppe for anyone looking for amazing quality in the final product and service!
Wedding: 09/28/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
0.0 out of 5.0
0.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0
DO NOT get your wedding cake here. We heard about this shop as the owner, Cindy, was in several cake competitions on the good network. We went for a tasting which was in cupcake form. We were happy and decided to go with Cindy immediately. After we had paid, communication was very poor. We assumed everything was okay. On the wedding day, the cake arrived. The flowers were sloppy and amateur, there were cracks in both the flowers, fondant, and fondant ribbon, and best of all, you could see fingerprint indentations on the cake. The cake was dry and was crumbling like crazy. And the cake stand... I've never seen a cake stand so filthy. The silver wasn't polished and it was beyond rusted. I was embarrassed when our event coordinator at the hall gave it to us, not thinking it was ours because it looked so dirty. We told Cindy how disappointed we were and she wiped her hands clean of the whole situation. She said she hadn't personally made the cake nor the delivery. And she also indicated that had we expressed our disappointment better, she would have offered us some sort of compensation.... When really all we did was approach her nicely about how much of a downer the cake was. There was no professionalism on her part. Indeed, the cake was the worst part of our wedding. It was the only aspect we were upset with. So save yourself the trouble. You may think you are paying for quality and brand because the cakes are really expensive, but the quality is sloppy and not up to par, and the customer service is horrendous.
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Cindy was amazing to work with, she did both our wedding cake and our favours. The cake was delicious, the best wedding cake I've ever tasted. I gave her a photo of what I wanted the cake to look like and she did it exactly right! The cake and favours were delivered on time and without any issues. I would recommend the Wedding Cake Shoppe for cakes, cupcakes and any other sweets! Cindy will work with you for what you need.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Fernanda 7 Reviews
Cakes not only look flawless, but they are also the best tasting cakes in Toronto! All of their ingredients are organic, and it definitely shows in the taste. I HIGHLY recommend them and I cannot wait to order for cakes in the near future. I will never go to anyone else!
Wedding: 06/01/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Thank you for your wonderful service! We ordered our wedding cake from The Wedding Cake Shoppe and everything was flawless. I sent them a photo of a cake I found online that matched our colour scheme and it was no problem for them. They reviewed the cake with us and were able to modify the flowers to match the flowers in the bridal party bouquets. They also provided us with a cake stand for the day. The cake tasted delicious!
Wedding: 05/25/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

nuffs87 5 Reviews
Cindy was absolutely fantastic and did a great job with our cake! I took her a picture of what I wanted, with some modifications and she followed the instructions to a T, and knew exactly what I wanted. Overall the final result was beautiful! Our cake was gorgeous, the cake topper was put on carefully, and the stand Cindy provided was polished silver, and shiny, and clean! Our cake looked fantastic at our head table, and the cake tasted great too! I would definitely recommend this store for your wedding cake, as the price is reasonable and the quality was fantastic! Not to mention her cupcakes are amazing too. :)
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jen 7 Reviews
Cindy is amazing. At the busiest stages of wedding planning she made things calm and fun. The taste testing was so delicious that we wanted to choose all the flavours. In the end we had the most perfect looking and tasting wedding cake ever! My new husband and I highly recommend The Wedding Cake Shoppe!
Wedding: 09/30/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We simply LOVED our cake. Cindy thank you so much! We were thrilled and everyone delighted. We had a small wedding and The Wedding Cake Shoppe did a fantastic job creating our perfect cake! Thank you thank you thank you! Highly recommend!
Wedding: 09/29/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Trying to find a wedding cake was a huge ordeal. We went to try tons of places but WeddingCakeShoppe had the most diverse flavours including Ferreo Rocher and Green Tea which we got.

The biggest problem with wedding cake shopping is that cost is so variable. It's based on the number of servings but serving sizes for all different companies were all different ! In addition, isnt that up to the venue itself web they cut the cake for you ? in order to correct compare prices for different cakes we had to price it out by square inch per dollar like true engineers. And WeddingCakeShoppe had the best value !

Working with Cindy was really easy. Calling was easier than email but when we met she guided us through and we found our perfect design.

The only thing was she told us we didn't need a cake topper due to the nature of the cake. But when we saw it , it was a lot more simpler than we had hoped. I kind of wished we had a topper but in the grand scheme of things didn't really matter.

Everyone loved the cake !
Wedding: 09/02/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.5
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  2.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Aileen 5 Reviews
I was really excited to work with this vendor because their cupcakes are so amazing! The tasting/booking process was seamless and quick (we knew we wanted them, so we only compared a few bakeries), so there were no issues there! However, I did have issues with communication after the contract was signed. Cindy emailed us upon first signing and said that she would provide a sketch - we were excited! Weeks went by, and no sketch. After emailing her back, she finally responded (weeks later) and told me that she didn't need to send a sketch because we had a photo of what we wanted. Okay... then why tell us you were going to send us a sketch anyway? There were several times when I tried to email or call the bakery for questions/changes (additions based on final head count) and it was like pulling teeth trying to get someone to answer. The week before the wedding, no one called and confirmed, so I went ahead and called them a few days before to make sure everything is on track and they would be there on the day. Thankfully, the cake was delivered (though not quite what I had asked for) but being the newlywed couple, we didn't get a chance to eat much of it - however, what we did taste we didn't like (felt stale compared to their cupcakes). Overall, mediocre, and probably not worth the exorbitant amount we paid (for the details on the cake based on the picture, that they did not replicate).
I guess you can say that they're a bakery and technology is not their forte, but there are a lot of other bakeries that are willing to communicate with their paying customers.
Wedding: 09/01/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Anonymous 9 Reviews
Great cakes. They don't always call back in busy season but do a great job with customer service in person.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Cindy and Sarah did an amazing job with our cake, it was beautiful and very tasty. They took our designs and our wedding into their care and we couldn't have been happier with the result. Thanks!!
Wedding: 07/14/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Even though all of my guests were full from dinner, nobody could stop talking about how good the cake tasted and looked. I even found out that people went back to try and get seconds and thirds! Cindy was very helpful as I kept on changing my mind regarding design and flavours. At the end of the party, everyone couldn't stop talking about the cake and how good it tasted!
Wedding: 06/09/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 416-916-2253
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0