The Silver Starfish
Come visit us at our King Street studio!
    24 Reviews
237 King Street
Suite 2A
Charleston, SC 29401  | map
Products: Catalog Products, Custom Products
Services: Assembly, Design, Printing
Specialties: Color Matching Proofs, Embossed, Letterpress...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (24)   Photos   Deals   FAQ   Blog   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kristen was AMAZING! I searched ALL of the invitation online websites but couldn't find what I wanted. I found The Silver Starfish on weddingwire.com and checked out her website and fell in love with her work.

Kristen checked out my Wedding Invitation Pinterest board before our meeting and she was so prepared! We designed my invitation, RSVP postcard, Reception/Accomodations cards so quickly.

The proofs were great and when I got the finished product - they looked EXACTLY like the proofs.

I've gotten MULTIPLE compliments on the invitations and the RSVP cards.

Kristen was so great to work with. She made my vision a reality. She's flexible to work with, quick with responses and very detail oriented.

DEFINITELY use Kristen - she's worth it!
The Silver Starfish responded with the following comments:
Hi Jessica,

Thank you so much for your kind words!! It was so great to meet you and work with you on these! Can't wait to see pics from your beautiful wedding :)

- Kristen
Wedding: 03/07/2014
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kristen from The Silver Starfish was to say the least amazing! Given that I came to her under a bit of a time constraint, she still managed to help me pull off wonderful invitation cards, ceremony cards, and guest cards. They were more than I had expected (given that I was under a certain budget and seriously crunched for time). She was not only helpful but she really guided me in the right direction, which produced fantastic results! I would definitely recommend her to anybody, especially to those brides living in the south. She brings decorative flair to every product that she helps produce! Definitely a true gem in Charleston!
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
From the moment I choose The Silver Starfish as one of my vendors, I knew I was in great hands! Working with Kristen was the most relaxing and fun experience of my entire wedding planning! Kristen’s design work is incredible! Having gotten married in September, and not liking the typical fall colors ( browns/ reds/ oranges), I knew I needed a theme that would still reflect the change of the season, but give way to those last warm summer nights of September. Charcoal grey and light pink were the perfect fit! With very little direction, Kristen took the ball and ran with it! The end result was a totally romantic letterpress suite that I fell in love with! I was so impressed with how amazing everything turned out! Kristen is professional, fun to work with and mindful of her customers along the way! Kristen stuck to my budget, helping me to adjust when necessary! I can’t say enough good things about this company, and will be raving about her work to my friends and family for years to come! Thank You, Kristen, for all of you help!
xoxo Felicia
The Silver Starfish responded with the following comments:
Felicia, thank you so much for taking the time to write this awesome review! I loved getting to work with you (even if it was long distance!) to create the perfect wedding stationery for your day. Thanks for sending your beautiful pictures, congrats Mrs. Silva :)
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Caitlin 1 Reviews
From the second I walked into The Silver Starfish studio, I was in love. So bright, so clean, so stunning in design...all things that I was of course looking for our invitations to be, too!

As I took a seat and unloaded all of my questions, (and I mean ALL of them...I am an inquisitive person and a detail-oriented perfectionist), the owner listened kindly and answered very professionally. Before I even shared how much I was looking to spend, she proved that she had my best interest in mind by directing me towards a product that was a bit more inexpensive than another, but in her opinion, equal in quality.

She had a plethora of samples on hand of every sort of design you can imagine- which was crucial for me since I am a visual learner and the other companies I had gone to had NOT pulled out nearly as many samples for me to look at. I was especially pleased to hear that it would be no problem for The Silver Starfish to create a custom design, since my fiance and I had attached ourselves to a particular image that was to essentially be the centerpiece/theme of our entire wedding.

As any bride out there reading this will know, planning a wedding is probably one of most stressful things you have ever done. The last thing you want is a vendor that doesn't respond to you promptly or respectfully. I can honestly say that from all the various vendors I dealt with throughout the wedding planning process, Kristen at The Silver Starfish was the MOST responsive, the MOST professional, and the MOST creative.

I could go on and on with how phenomenal my experience with The Silver Starfish was, but suffice it to say that while I had a wonderful experience finding my wedding dress, I didn't cry over it the way that I cried over the invitations when I received them in the mail!

Two thumbs way up for The Silver Starfish!!!
The Silver Starfish responded with the following comments:
Caitlin, thank you so much for your kind words!! It was such a pleasure getting to work with you, and I wish you and Kyle nothing but the best for the future! Thanks again :)
Wedding: 08/16/2013
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough great things about my experience with The Silver Starfish! Kristen was amazing to work with! She is so talented and created such beautiful invitations and programs for me! I have received so many compliments from my guests about them! In a stressful time of planning it is refreshing to work with such a flexible and genuine vendor like Kristen! She treated my wedding as if it were her own and gave so much attention to details. I would highly recommend her to any bride needing invitations, programs, seating charts, escort cards, ANYTHING!
Wedding: 05/26/2013
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kristen did an amazing job with my wedding invitations. I had many changes through-out and she was always so patient and helpful with suggestions. Thank you so much!
The Silver Starfish responded with the following comments:
Thank you so much for the review Ashley! It was an absolute pleasure working with you! I hope the wedding was amazing, send us pics! Congrats again :)
Wedding: 05/04/2013
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had chased down the owner of the Silver Starfish, Kristen, after seeing her business at a wedding expo. Of all of the invitation vendors I had met with, without even talking to Kristen, I knew I wanted her to do my wedding invitations because of the gorgeous and unique portfolio she had at the expo. And boy, was I right on the money! She was the most friendly, easy-going vendor I have worked with through the whole wedding planning process. I could tell she was smiling in our emails without ever even seeing her face. Her willingness to change things as they came was amazing and reassuring. She sent me multiple samples and never got even the slightest bit flustered as I changed my mind over and over again. Her friendly attitude was not only the amazing thing about Silver Starfish, the invitations were flawless - everything I imagined them to look like. I would use Kristen again and again and have actually already recommended friends to use her and I just received my invitations 2 days ago. If you like fast, friendly and helpful people, the Silver Starfish is the way to go! I can't wait to have a baby so I can use Kristen for THOSE announcements too!! :) :) :)"

-a very pleased customer: Nicole Butler
Wedding: 10/13/2012
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kristen was fantastic. She was always easy to contact and replied quickly to emails. She came to our house, helped us pick out the perfect invitations, and worked with us on price to find us stunning letterpress invitations at a very reasonable price. I would definitely use her again.
The Silver Starfish responded with the following comments:
Kieran, you were wonderful to work with as well, and thanks so much for taking the time to review us! Your mother sent me a beautiful picture of you and Spencer from your wedding day - you looked absolutely gorgeous! Best wishes to you both, and do let us know if you ever need any other printed stationery! :)
Wedding: 07/14/2012
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Amanda 5 Reviews
Beautiful craftsmanship and Kristen took every detail into consideration and was so helpful and responsive. Only a minor error on the program but remember to double check your proofs!! I think she was the cheapest letterpress option out there and I'm so glad we went with her. She even offered the bridal showcase discount which was a nice bonus!
The Silver Starfish responded with the following comments:
Mandy, thanks so much for the great review! It was such a pleasure to work with you and Ben, and I hope married life amazing so far! Feel free to send along any pictures from the big day if you get the chance and think about it! :)
Wedding: 07/07/2012
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kristen at the silver stafrfish was great. She had exactly what we needed, worked with our budget and delivered on time. I would recommend the company to anyone!
Wedding: 06/09/2012
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Working with Kristen at the Silver Starfish was great. For our first meeting she came and met em at a location of my choosing nd brought along many samples to review. Once we had choosen my invitations she was very responsive to any emails I sent her and provided proofs in a very timely manner. Great value for letterpress as well! Our invitations, programs, menu cards, and name plates were amazing!
Wedding: 05/11/2012
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kristen at the Silver Starfish was AMAZING! I would absolutely recommend her to anyone that wants the best quality and most beautiful invitations around. We ordered all of our stationary through the Silver Starfish and myself and all of our guests loved everything. We received so many compliments on our invitations! I cannot express enough what a joy it was to work with Kristen. She was so responsive and was so willing to work with us on everything we wanted. All I can say is LOVE LOVE LOVE the Silver Starfish! Looking forward to working with them again on whatever our next stationary need is!
Wedding: 03/24/2012
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kristen with The Silver Starfish was simply AMAZING!!! I went to a bridal expo and saw all of the custom invitations that she produced and was totally impressed! I was initially going to design my invitations online, but I just couldn't find what I wanted, which was a gardenia flower on the invitation. I figured I'd meet with her to see what she could do within my budget, and let me tell you, she did an awesome job. I only met with her once to see her products and the rest was online communication, which was very convenient! Even though I couldn't afford all the bells and whistles, she worked with me to try to keep me within my budget range and did not try to up-sale me! She designed a monogram with gardenia flowers around it and it was exactly what I was looking for. I was even able to buy the artwork for a nominal fee and use it to design my wedding programs and get a GoBo made for the reception. If you're looking for creativity, customization and professionalism, you can't go wrong with THE SILVER STARFISH! It is well worth the money!!!!
Wedding: 03/10/2012
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Sliver Starfish was a wonderful company to find that met all of my wedding paper needs! I used them for my Save the dates, menus, programs, table seating chart, thanks yous, and other items.

Kristen, the owner of the Sliver Starfish, was exceptional to work with--she is professional, fun, and knowledgable of paper products. She was very aware of my budget and my wedding vision--and kept both of the balanced (which is not always easy to do). Her products are of the highest quality and everyone at our wedding loved them! The Sliver Starfish is highly recommended and we would use them again in the future!
Wedding: 11/27/2011
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kristen and her studio went above and beyond for our wedding invitations and we could not be happier with the results! I have repeatedly told everyone that Kristen has been my absolute favorite vendor out of all the people we have had to deal with for our wedding. It took us what seemed like forever to finalize our invitations because we are perfectionists and Kristen NEVER became pushy or impatient with all of my e-mails and changing my mind about the details. She was always available and quick to respond to my e-mails, even when she was on vacation! Not only was Kristen professional, talented, and efficient, she was always patient and encouraging and motivational! She always went above and beyond when it came to our wedding and it made me feel so relaxed and excited for our big day. I would send Kristen emails about my ideas, and she would encourage the ideas and explain how easy it would be to turn the ideas into reality -- even including pictures when possible. I even felt comfortable talking to her about ideas that I was hoping to do myself, even though they were services that she offered. She completely understood my goal of staying within budget and helped me find ways to keep things affordable

Coincidentally, our theme is also a starfish theme so it helped tremendously and Kristen was even kind enough to send photos from her own wedding as examples of the work she has done. We received compliments from so many of ours guests about how beautiful the invitations were and many people even said that they have never seen a more beautiful and detailed wedding invitation. I even have a few girlfriends that are keeping the invitations as a sample for their own weddings in the future!

I can't say enough wonderful things about the Silver Starfish and Kristen!
Wedding: 11/11/2011
Services Used: Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Kristen at the Silver Starfish is extremely talented at what she does! I had met with several invitation vendors at their shop presenting my vision and my budget, only to be told that what I wanted could not be done on the budget I was on, or being limited to the preset designs they had with other third party vendors, or forcing me to order in packages of 25, when I really didn’t need no more than 5 or 10 extras therefore inflating my budget. BUT, when I took it to Kristen, whom I had met at a bridal expo, she not quickly recreated my vision digitally for me to view, she also gave me excellent pricing on creating my vision, AND gave me several options in pricing to even create the look for less…all without compromising style or quality, and in the exactly quantity I wanted, leaving no money wasted on unnecessary extras. I was so excited to see the final product when it arrived at my doorstep! The invitations really set the tone for my guests on what type of wedding I was going to have. From beginning to end, Kristen made the process seamless as I went back to her for the other stationary items, including wedding programs and table cards. The online proofs were simple and easy and quick! And everything arrived to me just as expected. Kristen has a keen eye for details. She is a professional. She is super timely, not only with her designing and final products, but just with her overall communication be it via phone or email. Overall – excellent vendor for all your stationary needs!
Wedding: 10/09/2011
Services Used: Invitations, Unique Services (Other)
 843-818-4292
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0