The Red Sky Cafe
Duck , NC 27949  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors...
Bar services: Open Bar
Alcohol services: Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium...
Maximum capacity: 700
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (20)   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.7/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We could not have made a better choice having The Red Sky Cafe cater our wedding. Our food was delicious, and they were so sweet to leave us leftovers afterwards! Thank you Jenn and Wes for helping us make our day so memorable! Our guests are still raving about how perfectly the food was cooked!
Wedding: 08/12/2013
Services Used: Catering
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Catie 9 Reviews
Great food, great price, great experience! We planned a destination wedding in the Outer Banks from New York City. Chef Wes and Jenn prepared a 5 star tasting when we came down for our ONE tasting visit to OBX. They were the only caterer who had an entire presentation of food prepared for us upon arrival. That sold us on the spot! We still went to another 5 caterers just to be sure, and other caterers all just sat us down and asked us what food we wanted, and took notes. Isn't the point of a tasting to actually taste the food?! Red Sky Cafe's food is SO good and it will always be a necessary stop in the Outer Banks for us for every trip we make. It was sometimes difficult to get a response, and there was one time that they lost the updated menu we had set with them but I would not let that deter you. They made up for it by offering GREAT discounts and treated us like royalty whenever we came in. Chef Wes and Jenn were very focused on serving an amazing menu. Everything went off without a hitch. My wedding planner did say that the serving staff they had at my reception were pretty rude and unprofessional younger kids (hence my 3 stars on professionalism) but I still love this place and think it is the best option for catering in the Outer Banks. Their food is amazing and they just have a few service kinks to sort out. Once they do that, they will be unstoppable!
Wedding: 07/06/2013
Services Used: Catering
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jessica 5 Reviews
As always at Red Sky, the food was amazing. Working with Jenn and Wes was one of the easiest tasks that we had in planning our wedding. We had them cater our rehearsal as well. The only drawback to that was that the guy who brought the rehearsal food was an hour early and said that we did not get sternos. So, the food was a little cold, BUT still delicious!!!
Wedding: 10/07/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had a lot of conditions which made the catering job pretty difficult. But they came through! There food was just amazing. They are flexiable and really will give you want you want and need. They a did an amazing job and people just raved about how good the food was.........I would HIGHLY recommend them.
Wedding: 07/08/2012
Services Used: Catering
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
All of the guests at my wedding said that our food was the best food they ever experienced at a wedding. My mouth still waters when I think about the shrimp and grits and prime rib that was served on our wedding night. If you are looking for a cater that will blow your guests away, I would definitely chose Red Sky Cafe. My only complaints are that is was a little pricey.... but then of course, you get what you pay for and also there was a change in catering managers during my engagement and the wedding. I worked with Eric and he was so wonderful and very responsive. When the new management came in, I found it quite difficult to get in contact with her and it took her awhile to get back in touch with me. Despite the communication problem, on the day of my wedding, the food was fantastic and so was the service. I highly recommend Red Sky Cafe for any catering needs that you may have.
Wedding: 06/30/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Every year my family and I pack everything up to head to the Outer Banks and we make sure to stop at least twice for dinner at Red Sky, which made it a no brainer that they would be our caterer. They met with us for a tasting and it was so professional prepared and delicious!! It made it very hard to choose what to have for our big day. We hired them for rehearsal as well and it was definitely worth it. Everyone was raving about our food. They said it was better than any food they've ever had at a wedding. Thanks Wes and all of the Red Sky Staff.
Wedding: 05/16/2012
Services Used: Catering
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Awesome food and service! We used them for our wedding and rehearsal dinner. They really were great. They cooked right at our rental house so everything was fresh and hot. The food was amazing, and it was a pretty good value. They offered us 10% off for doing both events with them-which made it a better value. We will use them again anytime we need a caterer in OBX.
Wedding: 05/10/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough positive things about Red Sky Catering. Eric and his staff did an amazing job from start to finish. Every interaction my husband and I had with Eric for our wedding was a pleasure. He is organized, responsive, knowledgable, and a pleasure to work with. The food at our tasting got us so excited about the food at our wedding, and it was just as great as we thought it would be. Many of our guests have let us know they loved the food and have asked who catered our reception. Thanks to Red Sky for making it so easy to select the catering and enjoy our wedding. They did an awesome job. You cannot go wrong in choosing this vendor for your event!
Wedding: 11/12/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I met with 5 caterers from the OBX. The one I picked after the first round of meetings ended up falling off of the face of the earth and were terrible communicators. I am glad that happened because we decided to rethink our decision and talk to 2 more options. As soon as we met Eric and did a tasting we went with Red Sky, and GREAT decision. Creative, yummy, organized, and responsive. Also- many of the caterers have hidden fees. Red Sky ended up being the best price on top of everything else once you considered how they had no hidden fees. Things went very smoothly and I highly recommend them.
Wedding: 10/15/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
DELICIOUS! Everyone raved about the food at our wedding and said it was the best wedding food they had ever had. They worked with us to customize and change our menu in order to make it just perfect. Shrimp 'n grits is the best. Their proefessionalism was so great and we barely even noticed they were there running all the food.
Wedding: 09/24/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Eric was great to work with. He had wonderful ideas and suggestions. The food was unbelievably yummy. The wait staff was friendly. We had to contend with mother nature with an outdoor reception, and they remained professional and friendly through it all.
Wedding: 06/27/2011
Services Used: Catering
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
While the food itself was very good, this was the only vendor we were disappointed in. They ran out of ice so there was a long line at one bar at the start of the reception. Then they ran out of food at one buffet which led to a long line at the other and confusion among guests. In addition to this, the wine that was supposed to be served at the beginning of dinner wasn't served until the end.
Wedding: 06/11/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The food provided by the Red Sky Cafe was outstanding! We got so many compliments on how good it was. The variety was amazing and their staff was just outstanding! I would highly recommend them to anyone. I think if you dont use them, you will actually be missing out on some fabulous food!

They also did our cake which was absolutely delicious and looked amazing!
Wedding: 05/20/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Red Sky Cafe was phenomenal! We had the best service, the best food and couldn't ask for anything better. From meeting and tasting at the Wedding Expo to the clean up after the wedding everything was Great! The sales coordinator Eric Kallestad was wonderful to work with. Extremely personable and did a fantastic job helping us stay within our budget. The Chef Wes was remarkable with his talent. Food was excellent and still today receiving compliments of our wedding. Red Sky is highly recommended!
Wedding: 05/12/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Caroline 6 Reviews
We created our own menu with cheeseburger sliders, rolled sushi, our favorite pastas, marinated shrimp, Ceviche shooters, arancini balls, bone in rib roast, gourmet Mac and cheese, etc. Red Sky was willing to work with us in every way possible and catered to our dream menu. So great that they are willing to work off their menu. My only complaint was after the wedding I was looking at pictures and noticed that the plastic glasses they provided were red solo cups! Not quite. The look I was going for.
Wedding: 09/07/2010
Services Used: Catering
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Red Sky did a fantastic job for our wedding reception in Duck, NC. The food was delicious, the presentation beautiful, the service attentive and thorough, and Eric was a pleasure to work with up to, and throughout the event. Bartending was great, and overall response from all guests was two thumbs up. Thanks for making our day that much better!!
Wedding: 09/05/2010
Services Used: Catering
 252-261-8646
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0