The Red Sky Cafe
Duck , NC 27949  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, Hors...
Bar services: Open Bar
Alcohol services: Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium...
Maximum capacity: 700
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (30)   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We used Red Sky Cafe for the food at our Rehearsal Dinner, our Wedding Reception, and our Brunch on the morning after the wedding. Each of the three meals was delicious and unique. We had the same serving team for all three occasions and they did their jobs skillfully and professionally. They made us feel like guests at our own parties and took the extra steps to insure that everything from the food to the service to the cleanup of the kitchen area and boxing up of the leftovers was nothing short of perfection. Jenn, the banquet manager, helped us plan meals that our guests raved about and even went off of the menu to allow us to add some special requests. I would highly recommend Red Sky Cafe to anyone looking for delicious food on the Outer Banks.
Wedding: 06/25/2014
Services Used: Catering
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Private User 2 Reviews
Great decision to hire Red Sky! Delicious and professional. So many people commented how wonderful the staff were. And the chef came to our Wedding to ensure everything was perfect. They made sure the bride and groom got appetizers too!!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Red Sky did a fantastic job catering our wedding! Everyone raved about the food, presentation, and the friendly staff! Chef Wes was so awesome. He even came out to check on everything and take pictures with us. Everything was delicious, but so many of our out of town friends especially loved the shrimp and grits! It's something a little different, and we definitely recommend it!
Wedding: 05/30/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Erin 4 Reviews
Jen was awesome! Very professional tasting & interview process. Delicious food! They came down to Hatteras to cater our destination wedding. Jen made coordinating from a distance easy via phone and email. I would definitely hire Red Sky again for another event. They know what they're doing and they do it well. Also, we got MANY compliments from guests on the wedding food. This was one of our top goals - to serve guests non-traditional wedding fare, and have them love it. Red Sky delivered!
Wedding: 05/30/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Chef Wes and his crew at Red Sky did an amazing job at our wedding. We knew when we sat down for the tasting and met Chef Wes and Jenn the GM, that it was the right fit. The tasting was absolutely delicious and the presentation breathtaking. It was so hard just making a decision on our favorites. The wedding reception turned out perfect, the service, the food, the presentation was outstanding! All we heard that night and the rest of the week after the wedding was how amazing the food was. We had guests say it was the best food they have ever had at any wedding, and the shrimp and grits were a huge hit! Thank you everyone at Red Sky Cafe for making our wedding perfect with the best food, hospitality and all around service!!!
Wedding: 05/25/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Chef Wes and Jenn were great to work with. They easily accommodated our food prep requirements. After meeting with Black Pelican, Kelly's and Good Life Gourmet, we felt Red Sky provided the best menu at the best value. We couldn't have been happier with how everything turned out.

Our Menu:
Fish Tacos
Shrimp & Grits
Pad Thai
Grilled Asparagus
Passed Appetizers: Arancini Balls & Crab Cakes

All of their on-site staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We also hired a bartender through Red Sky, and they provided a very nice younger guy who interacted exceptionally well with guests. I highly recommend Red Sky!
Wedding: 05/23/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Red Sky catered our wedding reception- we couldn't have been more pleased! The food was absolutely delicious, and the service was incredible. You will not be disappointed if you hire Red Sky to cater your event!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Red Sky was absolutely incredible to work with! They help craft a package to meet your exact needs, and they go out of their way to make it fit your budget (and don't add a bunch of little charges for every detail). Jenn, the catering coordinator, was a lifesaver and saved me many headaches in weeks before the wedding. She saved us money by recommending we use the house's coffee mugs rather than renting, and she let our external dessert be delivered to Red Sky and driven up by their team. Of course, on the day of, the food was absolutely incredible. Our guests are still raving about it, and we were told by multiple people that the scallop appetizers were the best thing they'd ever eaten. I highly recommend Red Sky and have been encouraging friends to get married on OBX so they have the chance to use them.
Wedding: 05/09/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 9 Reviews
Wes Stepp and his Red Sky team did an amazing job on the catering of our wedding. Wes and his associate, Jennifer, were always there for us to answer questions and help us. The food was incredible! The presentation was outstanding and staff working the event were so helpful and kind. We had MANY guests tell us it was the best food they had ever eaten at a wedding and we are still hearing about how much people enjoyed it.

Hayley and Ryan
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We could not have made a better choice having The Red Sky Cafe cater our wedding. Our food was delicious, and they were so sweet to leave us leftovers afterwards! Thank you Jenn and Wes for helping us make our day so memorable! Our guests are still raving about how perfectly the food was cooked!
Wedding: 08/12/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

John 2 Reviews
If you want your Wedding guests to continue to talk to you about the food that was at your wedding using such phrases as "That was the best food I have ever had at wedding." Then Red Sky Cafe is the place. We started with Heavy Apps went to a tailored dinner menu and then finished it off with a dessert bar of our choosing. Al prepared on site by Chef Wes. Start to Finish it was absolutely delicious and completely worth the money.

Additionally of all the vendors we looked at they were the most accomodating and really took time to talk to us about our choices and tailor thier menu to our vision. This was especially important to us as we had a destination wedding and it was great to have something we did not have to worry about at all.

This year we visited Duck for our anniversary and the staff at Red Sky Cafe including Chef Wes were superb and prepared a sample platter of the food from our wedding to help us celebrate. Truly a great dining experience.
Wedding: 07/23/2013
Services Used: Catering
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Catie 9 Reviews
Great food, great price, great experience! We planned a destination wedding in the Outer Banks from New York City. Chef Wes and Jenn prepared a 5 star tasting when we came down for our ONE tasting visit to OBX. They were the only caterer who had an entire presentation of food prepared for us upon arrival. That sold us on the spot! We still went to another 5 caterers just to be sure, and other caterers all just sat us down and asked us what food we wanted, and took notes. Isn't the point of a tasting to actually taste the food?! Red Sky Cafe's food is SO good and it will always be a necessary stop in the Outer Banks for us for every trip we make. It was sometimes difficult to get a response, and there was one time that they lost the updated menu we had set with them but I would not let that deter you. They made up for it by offering GREAT discounts and treated us like royalty whenever we came in. Chef Wes and Jenn were very focused on serving an amazing menu. Everything went off without a hitch. My wedding planner did say that the serving staff they had at my reception were pretty rude and unprofessional younger kids (hence my 3 stars on professionalism) but I still love this place and think it is the best option for catering in the Outer Banks. Their food is amazing and they just have a few service kinks to sort out. Once they do that, they will be unstoppable!
Wedding: 07/06/2013
Services Used: Catering
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jessica 5 Reviews
As always at Red Sky, the food was amazing. Working with Jenn and Wes was one of the easiest tasks that we had in planning our wedding. We had them cater our rehearsal as well. The only drawback to that was that the guy who brought the rehearsal food was an hour early and said that we did not get sternos. So, the food was a little cold, BUT still delicious!!!
Wedding: 10/07/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had a lot of conditions which made the catering job pretty difficult. But they came through! There food was just amazing. They are flexiable and really will give you want you want and need. They a did an amazing job and people just raved about how good the food was.........I would HIGHLY recommend them.
Wedding: 07/08/2012
Services Used: Catering
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
All of the guests at my wedding said that our food was the best food they ever experienced at a wedding. My mouth still waters when I think about the shrimp and grits and prime rib that was served on our wedding night. If you are looking for a cater that will blow your guests away, I would definitely chose Red Sky Cafe. My only complaints are that is was a little pricey.... but then of course, you get what you pay for and also there was a change in catering managers during my engagement and the wedding. I worked with Eric and he was so wonderful and very responsive. When the new management came in, I found it quite difficult to get in contact with her and it took her awhile to get back in touch with me. Despite the communication problem, on the day of my wedding, the food was fantastic and so was the service. I highly recommend Red Sky Cafe for any catering needs that you may have.
Wedding: 06/30/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Every year my family and I pack everything up to head to the Outer Banks and we make sure to stop at least twice for dinner at Red Sky, which made it a no brainer that they would be our caterer. They met with us for a tasting and it was so professional prepared and delicious!! It made it very hard to choose what to have for our big day. We hired them for rehearsal as well and it was definitely worth it. Everyone was raving about our food. They said it was better than any food they've ever had at a wedding. Thanks Wes and all of the Red Sky Staff.
Wedding: 05/16/2012
Services Used: Catering
 252-261-8646
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0