The Langham, Boston
Enchanting Encounters
250 Franklin Street
Boston, MA 02110  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 250
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (19)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.7/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.7/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  3.5

Private User 1 Reviews
We recently had my daughters wedding At the Langham. The setting is beautiful and the Wyeth Room is a gorgeous setting for the cocktail hour. However, at the reception, it seems that someone dropped the ball. For first course the soup took about 20 to 25 minutes to be served. When I asked about the delay, I was told that it was due to the guests changing their orders. I was not sure of the purpose of having us get in the food orders and where guests would be sitting if they retook the orders. Most people did not remember what they had ordered three months ago, including myself. The entree was served quickly after. For dessert, we requested that the dessert be plated and served. Soon after the entree was cleared, coffee and cake was served in stations in the corners of the dance area. We were not informed, so we could not if let the guests know dessert was served. The Langham is a beautiful hotel, but for this particular event we did not get our money's worth.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
After looking at over a dozen options for wedding venues in the Boston area, we finally decided on the Langham Hotel as our location, and we could not be happier with the decision! The value was by far the best of all the places we looked at (we checked out both hotels and "alternative" venue options). We originally signed our contract with Nicola, but she ended up leaving the hotel and we were transitioned to Kara. The change was easy and Kara already had all the information we had discussed with Nicola. She was able to offer us a lot of direction so that everything ran the way we wanted it to on the day of. She was away on our wedding date, but our day-of coordinator, Abigail, was constantly communicating with us throughout the planning and made sure things went smoothly. The space was fantastic, the food was delicious, and people are still raving about the whole event more than 6 months later!
Wedding: 09/28/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Anonymous 1 Reviews
Our wedding at the Langham Hotel went off without a hitch thanks to our wedding planner from the Langham, Kara Townley. She made sure everything was perfect, from the food to the DJ to the presentation of the room. The service at the Langham is IMPECCABLE. Everyone was at my beck and call, and the went above and beyond to treat us like royalty as the Bride and Groom.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
Our daughter was married recently and the reception was at the Langham Hotel in Boston.

From the time we arrived at the hotel on Friday afternoon until we left on Sunday, everything ran flawlessly. Check in was a breeze, the rooms were terrific, service outstanding, and the wedding itself (which I will address later) was absolutely phenomenal! Everyone with whom we interacted was a true professional and tried to do everything they could to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The rooms were extremely clean and the amenities (turn down service, etc) were truly first class.

Now for the wedding. When so much time and effort goes into planning such an event, you can only hope that when the day comes everything goes according to plan. The wedding ran as well as we could have ever hoped! It started with the cocktail hour where the atmosphere was perfect and service was, again, exceptional. We moved into the main dining area where the room was beautifully arranged. The timing of everything was like clockwork – everything moved along very smoothly and nobody ever felt rushed at any time. The food was perfectly prepared and served; and it was delicious.

Although everyone on the staff was terrific, we really appreciated the efforts of Kara Townley in making this day so enjoyable for us. From the first time we met her, her demeanor and attention to even the most minor detail made us feel very confident that the event was in good hands… and it most certainly was. Her entire focus was on making this as wonderful a day as it turned out to be.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I were recently married and the reception was held at the Langham in Boston. We decided on the Langham after researching many locations in the City of Boston, and it proved to be a terrific choice as it was truly a memorable experience!

From the time we arrived at the hotel on Friday afternoon until we left on Sunday, everything ran flawlessly. The rooms were incredible, service outstanding, and the wedding itself (which I will address later) was absolutely phenomenal! Everyone with whom we interacted was a true professional and tried to do everything they could to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The rooms were extremely clean and the amenities (turn down service, etc) were truly first class.

Now for the wedding. When so much time and effort goes into planning such an event, you can only hope that when the day comes everything goes according to plan. The wedding ran as well as we could have ever hoped! It started with the cocktail hour where the atmosphere was perfect and service was, again, exceptional. We moved into the main dining area where the room was beautifully arranged. The timing of everything was like clockwork – everything moved along very smoothly and nobody ever felt rushed at any time. The food was perfectly prepared and served; and it was delicious.

The entire staff was so helpful and made the day better than I could have ever dreamed of. My husband and I would highly recommend holding your wedding reception at The Langham, Boston!
Wedding: 06/16/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had such a great time at the Langham. My wedding reception couldn't have been more perfect! Kara was phenomenal to work with and made everything so easy! We wish we could get married there every weekend! Our guests are still talking about how fabulous our reception was. The Langham is the perfect spot for a wedding reception! My husband and I have endless positive things to say!
Wedding: 04/14/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Last weekend our daughter was married at the Langham Hotel in Boston. Her ceremony was in the Wilson Ballroom, her cocktail hour in the amazing Wyeth Room, and her dinner and dancing in the glass ceilinged Cafe Fleuri. From start to finish the Langham Hotel was perfect under the supervision of Nicola the Langham wedding coordinator. Almost 100 % of our guests stayed at the Langham and came from all up and down the Eastern Seacoast. The entire celebration was impeccable, the rooms were beautiful, the food delicious and the service divine. We even had a private brunch on Sunday.

The Langham also has a pool, spa, amazing cocktail lounge...The Bond, and an excellent location. Many of our guests felt as if they were on a mini-vacation. They took advantage of the historic neighborhood, and enjoyed their surroundings. Our guests are still raving about the wedding. All of them said that it was the best wedding they had ever attended!

Nicola and her staff were the most professional we had encountered on our search for a venue last February and we went to 8 of them! The Langham was perfect. It was elegantly appointed without being overdone. They only have one wedding at a time and gave utmost attention to detail. If you want to enjoy white glove service during your wedding I
Wedding: 12/10/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Nicola (as well as the whole staff at The Langham) was wonderful to work with! She was extremely helpful and responsive to any questions I had throughout the planning process and did a great job making sure everything went smoothly on our wedding day! The Langham is a beautiful hotel and "The Esplanade" area provided a unique and perfect setting for our reception.
Wedding: 10/01/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our wedding reception in Cafe Fleuri at the Langham on 7/9/11 and it was perfect. We used the Wyeth Room for cocktail hour and that room was also great! Nicola was so easy to work with and everything went nice and smoothly on the wedding day. All the staff was so nice and friendly and the Cafe looked beautiful. The food was delicious and all the guests loved it!
Wedding: 07/09/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Langham was a wonderful place for our wedding. We had the cocktail hour in the Wyeth Room and reception in Cafe Fleuri. We loved it because it was different from your average ballroom and had views of Post Office Square. Nicola and the staff at the Langham were wonderful throughout the planning process and especially the day of the wedding. We could not have asked for more.
Wedding: 06/25/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

MO 5 Reviews
The Langham Hotel is a beautiful venue. We had our ceremony at a nearby church and then the cocktail hour and reception at the hotel. We were looking for something a little different than a normal hotel ballroom, and Cafe Fleuri at the Langham was perfect. With high vaulted ceilings of glass and floor to ceiling windows, it is as close to a tented wedding you can get without risking the weather. Everything over the course of the weekend was wonderful. Guests were thrilled with their accomodations and the conceirge was helpful in directing guests to activities or restaurants. The food, displays and service were great the evening of the wedding. We had provided guests with vouchers for the breakfast buffet on Sunday morning which was also wonderful. The weekend couldn't have gone any smoother and I was so pleased with the location.

There were a couple of annoyances during the planning process with things like the prcie of the blocked rooms, the cost of parking, the per head minimums required to block of space at bond (yes, $60pp to reserve an area after a 5 hour reception at the hotel), etc. Everything worked out, but it often took a few phonecalls. The only other comment is that there is not one point of contact. We worked closely with the coordinator but had to speak with different areas of the hotel for things like the room block or arranging anything at Bond. Feels like the admin fee should mean we work with one person that takes care of it all. Nothing significant, just things that would make the planning easier.

Overall, I would highly recommend the Langham as a reception venue and am thrilled with the way our party turned out.
Wedding: 06/11/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I recently celebrated our wedding weekend at the Langham with a new year's eve wedding. The entire process was amazing. From our first meeting with Nicola through the brunch, Nicola and the whole staff was easy to work with, accommodating, flexible, organized, and a real pleasure to work with. Nicola took the stress out of the process and we were truly treated like the special bride and groom throughout the year. The tasting was amazing and the food was delicous. All the guests loved the hotel accomodations and service. My bridesmaids and I spent the wedding day getting ready in the amazing bridal suite. The Langham thought of every little detail to make me feel special... and the whole event was at a reasonable costs. I would definitely recommend the Langham on all aspects for a magically wonderful wedding experience!!!
Wedding: 12/31/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our whole wedding weekend at the Langham was amazing. We took over the entire hotel! We used Bond, the hotel bar, for our pre-wedding out-of-town guest get-together on Friday night. The bar is beautiful and our guests were very impressed. Saturday for the wedding, my bridesmaids and I got ready in my suite at the hotel and when a few things went wrong with my programs, the hotel staff ran out and found white-out for me so I could fix the programs! Then when we were leaving for the church, Nicola made sure everyone got in the limos and on the shuttle, and everything went so smoothly. Then the cocktail hour and reception were equally amazing. The food was spectacular! Everyone (even the people in our family who aren't easily pleased) loved the food. The next morning, we had a brunch for our out-of-town guests in our own private room and again, the food was great! The whole weekend was really wonderful and the staff at the hotel were so responsive and took such good care of us and our guests.

I highly recommend the Langham!!!
Wedding: 10/16/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had a small 50-60 person wedding in the Wyeth Room at the Langham Hotel and it could not have been more perfect. The service and professionalism of the Langham staff are unrivaled. We had a Sunday jazz brunch, and the food was spectacular (which made our guests happy!). The room is stunning (very old world Boston), and the after party at Bond was the perfect way to end the day. The brunch is very reasonably priced for what you get, and compared with similar venues (specifically, the Boston Public Library), the Langham is the obvious choice.

I highly recommend the Langham!
Wedding: 10/03/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

clawtiger 5 Reviews
We worked with Nicola and our entire experience at the Langham was amazing. Our friends had previously had a wedding there and the food was quite memorable. The tasting menu is a lot of fun. Our favorite was the lobster bisque. Everyone at the Langham was very professional and organized. Nicola was very detailed-oriented, always very helpful with decision-making and keeping us on schedule. The venue is classy with an open-air feel with the high-ceilings. We had a gorgeous loft room the night of the wedding. We can't wait to return for our first anniversary.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When searching for a place for our wedding, we wanted a downtown Boston location where we could have both the ceremony and reception and where there would be a sense of classic elegance. The Langham was a perfect choice for us and provided an unforgettable weekend for us and our guests. We had initially begun working with Gina and were very happy with the service she provided. Unfortunately, she left about a month before our wedding which initially had me very concerned. We then began working with Nicola who easily stepped in and took care of all the details...and we were very detail oriented! Overall, it was an amazing wedding and I could not have been happier.

My one regret was that I was not clear which items from the ceremony and reception were to be returned to me afterwards. We had several baskets we used for programs, etc which we never got back. Also, the cleaning staff cleaned our room during the reception (I got ready in the suite and then we were staying in the same room that night) and threw out the garment bag to my dress. Not a disaster, but I wished those things were not thrown out. Nicola has offered to reimburse me for the bag. So, my advice would be to be clear if there are items you do want returned to you. Luckily, we had no problems with our toasting glasses, cake knife, etc.
Wedding: 10/03/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 617-451-1900
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0